DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I in the reply filed on 9/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 32-38 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/26/2026.
Claims 21-31 and 39-40 remain pending and under prosecution.
Claim Interpretation
No claim elements are interpreted under 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-22, 26-31, and 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chickering III et al (US Pub No. 20180008183 – cited by applicant).
In regard to Claim 21, Chickering III et al disclose a collection device for collecting bodily fluid extracted from a patient, the collection device comprising:
a collection reservoir 2 defining a lumen (storage chamber) and having a first end portion and a second end portion – defined as the top portion, best seen in Figure 3 – “the fluid receiving portion 2 may include an opening through which fluids from the body may be received” (0056),
wherein the first end portion is closed due the known structure of a storage chamber – “The fluid receiving portion 2 may include a storage chamber in which fluids that are received by the fluid receiving portion are stored. A channel may fluidly connect the opening to the storage chamber” (0058), and
wherein the second end portion includes an opening configured to receive bodily fluid therein – “the fluid receiving portion 2 may include an opening through which fluids from the body may be received” (0056); and
a cap 3 configured to be coupled to the second end portion of the collection reservoir to seal the lumen and maintain the bodily fluid within the lumen – “cover 30 [of portion 3] may surround at least a portion of the fluid receiving portion 2. The fluid receiving portion 2 may attach to the information collecting portion 3 by an interference fit, mechanical interlock, hook and loop type fasteners, threaded connection, mechanical fasteners, pressure sensitive adhesives, magnets, or by any other suitable arrangement. The two portions may be constructed and designed to attach to one another via a third intermediate component such as a coupling, or may be directly attached to one another” (0037),
wherein the cap comprises—
a switch 48, best seen in Figure 11 which shows switch 48 positioned within portion 3 – “switch 48 on the underside of the circuit board 40 (seen in FIG. 15)” (0042),
movable between a first position – concave down – and a second position – concave up – “ the switch comprises a snap dome, where tripping of the snap dome closes a circuit… the circuit includes two contacts… Tripping of the snap dome (e.g., deflection of the snap dome to a concave up configuration) causes the center of the snap dome to contact the second contact. Contact of the snap dome with the second contact closes the circuit… With a monostable snap dome, an applied force may trip the snap dome and move it from a first configuration to a second configuration (e.g., concave up to concave down)” (0043),
wherein the switch is configured to be in the first position when the cap is decoupled from the second end portion of the collection reservoir – defined as the concave down position and spaced from the contact (0043), and
wherein the switch is configured to move from the first position to the second position when the cap is coupled to the second end portion of the collection reservoir – defined as the concave up position to contact the second contact (0043); and
an electronics subsystem 40 (circuit board) operably coupled to the switch, best seen in Figure 14 (0039-0040, 0042)
wherein the switch is configured to activate the electronics subsystem in the second position – “Contact between the top of the actuator 20 with the switch 48 actuates the switch 48 and triggers the information collecting portion 3 to begin collecting information” (0042).
22. The collection device of claim 21 wherein the electronics subsystem 40 includes a timer 46 configured to record a time elapsed after activation of the electronics subsystem – “when the switch is tripped, the microcontroller 42 begins counting upward in time, using the crystal oscillator 46 to maintain an accurate count” (0050).
26. The collection device of claim 21 wherein the electronics subsystem 40 includes a sensor configured to measure a characteristic of the bodily fluid after activation of the electronics subsystem 40 – “Sensor(s) may be located in any suitable way or location with respect to the device, such as in a storage chamber, in a channel, etc. For example, the device may include a pH sensor, an optical sensor, an oxygen sensor, a sensor able to detect the concentration of a substance, or the like” (0067).
27. The collection device of claim 21 wherein the electronics subsystem 40 includes (a) one or more processors 42 and (b) a computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronics subsystem to measure a time associated with movement of the switch 48 from the first position to the second position – “When the switch is tripped, the microcontroller stops counting and/or marks the time at which the switch was tripped” (0053, also 0046, 0048, 0050, 0051).
28. The collection device of claim 21 wherein the electronics subsystem 40 includes a communication component configured to wirelessly transmit information associated with the collection device to an external recipient after activation of the electronics subsystem 40 – “wireless modalities (e.g., Bluetooth, low energy Bluetooth, infrared, etc.)” (0052, claim 53).
29. The collection device of claim 28 wherein the electronics subsystem 40 includes a sensor configured to measure a characteristic of the bodily fluid, and wherein the information associated with the collection device includes information associated with the measured characteristic of the bodily fluid – “Sensor(s) may be located in any suitable way or location with respect to the device, such as in a storage chamber, in a channel, etc. For example, the device may include a pH sensor, an optical sensor, an oxygen sensor, a sensor able to detect the concentration of a substance, or the like” (0067, also 0066).
30. The collection device of claim 21 wherein the second position of the switch 48 is nearer to the first end portion of the collection cartridge because of the concave down position (would be closer to the bottom) than the second end portion, defined as the top portion in Figure 3 – a first configuration to a second configuration (e.g., concave up to concave down) (0043).
31. The collection device of claim 21 wherein the electronics subsystem 40 includes (a) one or more processors 42 and (b) a computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronics subsystem to detect and record movement of the switch from the second position to the first position after activation of the electronics subsystem – “the information collecting portion is set to a universal clock and begins counting as soon as the circuit is assembled and the microcontroller is programmed. When the switch is tripped, the microcontroller stops counting and/or marks the time at which the switch was tripped” (0053).
In regard to Claim 39, Chickering III et al disclose a collection device for collecting bodily fluid extracted from a patient, the collection device comprising:
a collection reservoir 2 defining a lumen (storage chamber) and having a first end portion and a second end portion – defined as the top portion, best seen in Figure 3 – “the fluid receiving portion 2 may include an opening through which fluids from the body may be received” (0056),
wherein the first end portion is closed due the known structure of a storage chamber – “The fluid receiving portion 2 may include a storage chamber in which fluids that are received by the fluid receiving portion are stored. A channel may fluidly connect the opening to the storage chamber” (0058), and
wherein the second end portion includes an opening configured to receive bodily fluid therein – “the fluid receiving portion 2 may include an opening through which fluids from the body may be received” (0056); and
a cap 3 configured to be coupled to the second end portion of the collection reservoir to seal the lumen and maintain the bodily fluid within the lumen – “cover 30 [of portion 3] may surround at least a portion of the fluid receiving portion 2. The fluid receiving portion 2 may attach to the information collecting portion 3 by an interference fit, mechanical interlock, hook and loop type fasteners, threaded connection, mechanical fasteners, pressure sensitive adhesives, magnets, or by any other suitable arrangement. The two portions may be constructed and designed to attach to one another via a third intermediate component such as a coupling, or may be directly attached to one another” (0037),
wherein the cap comprises—
a switch 48, best seen in Figure 11 which shows switch 48 positioned within portion 3 – “switch 48 on the underside of the circuit board 40 (seen in FIG. 15)” (0042)
movable between a first position – concave down – and a second position – concave up – “ the switch comprises a snap dome, where tripping of the snap dome closes a circuit… the circuit includes two contacts… Tripping of the snap dome (e.g., deflection of the snap dome to a concave up configuration) causes the center of the snap dome to contact the second contact. Contact of the snap dome with the second contact closes the circuit… With a monostable snap dome, an applied force may trip the snap dome and move it from a first configuration to a second configuration (e.g., concave up to concave down)” (0043),
wherein the switch is configured to be in the first position when the cap is decoupled from the second end portion of the collection reservoir – defined as the concave down position and spaced from the contact (0043), and
wherein the switch is configured to move from the first position to the second position when the cap is coupled to the second end portion of the collection reservoir – defined as the concave up position to contact the second contact (0043); and
an electronics subsystem 40 (circuit board) operably coupled to the switch, wherein the switch is configured to activate the electronics subsystem in the second position – “Contact between the top of the actuator 20 with the switch 48 actuates the switch 48 and triggers the information collecting portion 3 to begin collecting information” (0042), and
wherein the electronics subsystem is configured to (a) record a time elapsed after activation of the electronics subsystem – “the information collecting portion is set to a universal clock and begins counting as soon as the circuit is assembled and the microcontroller is programmed” (0053) and
(b) detect and record movement of the switch from the second position to the first position after activation of the electronics subsystem – “when the switch is tripped, the microcontroller stops counting and/or marks the time at which the switch was tripped” (0053).
40. The collection device of claim 39 wherein the second position of the switch 48 is nearer to the first end portion of the collection cartridge because of the concave down position (would be closer to the bottom) than the second end portion, defined as the top portion in Figure 3 – a first configuration to a second configuration (e.g., concave up to concave down) (0043).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chickering III et al in view of Liepold et al (US Pub No. 20190015031 – cited by applicant).
Chickering III et al disclose the invention above but do not expressly disclose the electronics subsystem includes a sensor configured to record an identity of the patient after activation of the electronics subsystem, which is considered to begin after the device is assembled (0053).
Liepold et al teach that it is well-known in the art to authenticate the identity of a patient prior to use of an analogous body fluid sampling device such as by using a fingerprint sensor to record a fingerprint of the patient or the sensor is configured to record an image or pattern of an eye of the user as effective means to verify the identity of the user (0106).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Chickering III et al such that the electronics subsystem includes a sensor configured to record an identity of the patient as taught by Liepold et al to effectively verify the identity of the user.
Conclusion
/H.Q.N/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JENNIFER ROBERTSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791