DETAILED ACTION
Amendment Entered
This Office action is responsive to the Amendment filed on August 11th, 2026. The examiner acknowledges the amendments to claims 1, 4, 5, 7, and 9, as well as the cancellation of claims 3 and 6. Claims 1-2, 4-5, and 7-10 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, filed 8/11/2026, with respect to the drawing objections have been fully considered. The drawing objections are withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, filed 8/11/2026, with respect to the claim objections have been fully considered. The claim objections are withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, filed 8/11/2026, with respect to the claim interpretations have been fully considered. The claim interpretations are withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, filed 8/11/2026, with respect to the double patenting rejections been fully considered and are withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made over claims 1 and 4 of (US 12453492 B2) in view of the amendments.
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, filed 8/11/2026, with respect to the rejections under 35 USC § 112 have been fully considered. The rejections under 35 USC § 112 are withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 8/11/2026, with respect to the rejections under 35 USC § 102/103 and “wherein a protruding guide configured to be protruded along a movement direction of the movable pressurizing body is formed at the movable pressurizing body, and the protruding guide is configured to pass through the another end portion of the sensor” have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. US 12453492 B2 in view of Naftalovitz (US 20160228016 A1), and further in view of Fan (US 20170194721 A1).
Instant Application No. 18/766511
1. (Currently Amended) A body attachable unit for glucose measurement, the body attachable unit comprising: a housing including a bottom surface configured to contact a skin; a printed circuit board (PCB) disposed inside the housing; a sensor including one end portion outwardly protruding from the bottom surface of the housing to be insertable into a body when the housing contacts the skin, and another end portion installed in the housing; and a pressurizing operator installed at the housing, the pressurizing operator configured to pressurize the another end portion of the sensor to be contacted to an electrical contact of the PCB, wherein at least a portion of the another end portion of the sensor is movable to the electrical contact to be contacted to the electrical contact, wherein the pressurizing operator comprises: a movable pressurizing body configured to be movably coupled to the housing and to pressurize the another end portion of the sensor; and a button cover coupled to the housing to be exposed to an outside of the housing and covering an upper surface of the movable pressurizing body, wherein a protruding guide configured to be protruded along a movement direction of the movable pressurizing body is formed at the movable pressurizing body, and the protruding guide is configured to pass through the another end portion of the sensor.
U.S. Patent No. US 12453492 B2
Claim 1. A body attachable unit for continuous glucose measurement, the body attachable unit configured to be insertedly attachable to a body by an applicator for the continuous glucose measurement, the body attachable unit comprising: a housing, wherein a bottom surface of the housing is to contact a skin; a printed circuit board (PCB) disposed inside the housing; a sensor unit installed in the housing, wherein one end portion of the sensor unit outwardly protrudes from the bottom surface of the housing to be inserted into the body when the housing contacts the skin, and an other end portion of the sensor unit is disposed to be separated from an electrical contact point of the PCB in the housing; and a pressurizing operation module configured to pressurize the other end portion of the sensor unit to be contacted to the electrical contact point of the PCB according to manipulation of a user, wherein a shape of at least a part of the other end portion of the sensor unit is configured to be deformable by the pressurizing operation module such that the other end portion of the sensor unit contacts to the electric contact point of the PCB, wherein the pressurizing operation module comprises a movable pressurizing body movably coupled to the housing, and configured to be movable in a direction pressurized by a pressurizing force of the user, wherein at least a part of the other end portion of the sensor unit is configured to be transformable by being pressurized by the movable pressurizing body according to movement of the movable pressurizing body to be contacted to the electrical contact point of the PCB, wherein a protruding guide unit configured to be protruded along a movement direction of the movable pressurizing body is formed at the movable pressurizing body, wherein a locking hook is formed at an outer circumferential surface of the protruding guide unit, wherein an interlocking projection is formed at the housing to be interlockable with the locking hook of the protruding guide unit in the state that the movable pressurizing body is moved toward the direction pressurized by the pressurizing force of the user, and wherein a position of the movable pressurizing body is fixed by interlocking the locking hook to the interlocking projection.
Claim 4. The body attachable unit for the continuous glucose measurement of claim 1, wherein the pressurizing operation module comprises a button cover having soft material, coupled to the housing to be exposed to an outside of the housing for pressurizing manipulation of the user, and having a structure covering an outside space of the movable pressurizing body, and wherein a portion coupled between the button cover and the housing is sealed.
Claims 1 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. US 12453492 B2 do not explicitly recite wherein at least a portion of the another end portion of the sensor is movable to the electrical contact to be contacted to the electrical contact.
However, Naftalovitz (US 20160228016 A1) directed to medical sensors and mounting assemblies discloses at least a portion of the another end portion of the sensor is movable to the electrical contact to be contacted to the electrical contact (“medical sensor assembly … electrical connector engagement element operative to move the electrical connector from the first non-electrically connected operative orientation to the second electrically connected operative orientation … medical sensor assembly slidingly engages the mounting assembly to move the electrical connector”, para. [0006, 0012]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claims 1 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. US 12453492 B2 such that at least a portion of the another end portion of the sensor is movable to the electrical contact to be contacted to the electrical contact, in view of the teachings of Naftalovitz, as this would aid in establishing electrical contact to facilitate an electrically connected operative sensor (Naftalovitz, para. [0006, 0012]).
Claims 1 and 4 of US 12453492 B2, as modified by Naftalovitz (US 20160228016 A1), do not recite that the protruding guide is configured to pass through the another end portion of the sensor.
Fan, Annotated Fig. 3
In a similar technical field, Fan directed to electrical connectors used in medical electronic devices teaches a PCB (circuit element 54, fig. 3, “rigid PCB”, para. [0094, 0138]), another end portion of a sensor (circuit element 52, fig. 3, “flexible printed circuit”; “sensor module”, para. [0094, 0138]) and a pressurizing operator (spring clip 68, fig. 3) comprising a movable pressurizing body (spring clip 68, as seen in fig. 3, “provide a normal force”, para. [0138]), wherein a protruding guide (protruding guide, as seen in annotated fig. 3) configured to be protruded along a movement direction of the movable pressurizing body (as seen in fig. 3, “align, compress, and retain ... provide a normal force on a plurality of spring contacts”, para. [0138]) is formed at the movable pressurizing body (as seen in fig. 3, “spring clip”, para. [0138]), and the protruding guide (protruding guide, as seen in annotated fig. 3) is configured to pass through the another end portion of the sensor (“align, compress, and retain ... spring clip 68 requires two through holes in each of circuit elements 54 and 52 as well as in connector 50”, para. [0138], 64 as seen in fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claims 1 and 4 of US 12453492 B2 such that the protruding guide is configured to pass through the another end portion of the sensor, in view of the teachings of Fan, as this would aid in providing a normal force on the contacts and would aid in aligning, compressing, and retaining the electrical contacts.
Claim 2, 5, and 7-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. US 12453492 B2 in view of Naftalovitz (US 20160228016 A1) and Fan (US 20170194721 A1), as applied above, and further in view of Rao (US 20170290535 A1).
Regarding claim 2, claims 1 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. US 12453492 B2, as modified by Naftalovitz and Fan, do not recite wherein, when operation is completed, the pressurizing operator is fixed in a state different from a state before the operation.
However, Rao discloses wherein, when operation is completed, the pressurizing operator is fixed in a state different from a state before the operation (“upper and lower housings are connected … elastomeric connector is biased”; “compress … push button/switch … elastomeric connector 1350 has been compressed … connects the upper sensor pads to the PCBA contact pads and compresses the lower sensor pads against the PCBA contact pads … direct, touch connection”, para. [0024, 0086, 0094-0098] (Examiner note: the elastomeric connector would be uncompressed/unbiased before operation)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claims 1 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. US 12453492 B2, as modified by Naftalovitz and Fan, such that when operation is completed, the pressurizing operator is fixed in a state different from a state before the operation, in view of the teachings of Rao, as this would aid connecting the sensor pads to the PCBA contact pads to establish and maintain electrical connection (Rao, para. [0094-0099]).
Regarding claim 5, claims 1 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. US 12453492 B2, as modified by Naftalovitz and Fan, do not recite wherein a position of the movable pressurizing body is fixed in a state that the movable pressurizing body is moved toward a direction pressurized.
However, Rao discloses wherein a position of the movable pressurizing body is fixed in a state that the movable pressurizing body is moved toward a direction pressurized (“locating posts … correct position … openings for the locating posts … 1350 has been compressed against the PCBA … upper … to lower … compressed … maintain the electrical connection”, para. [0096-0099]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claims 1 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. US 12453492 B2, as modified by Naftalovitz and Fan, such that a position of the movable pressurizing body is fixed in a state that the movable pressurizing body is moved toward a direction pressurized, in view of the teachings of Rao, as this would aid locating and connecting the sensor pads to the PCBA contact pads to establish and maintain electrical connection (Rao, para. [0096-0099]).
Regarding claim 7, claim 7 recites the same limitations as the subject matter recited in claims 1 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. US 12453492 B2, as modified by Naftalovitz, Fan, and Rao above.
Regarding claim 8, claims 1 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. US 12453492 B2, as modified by Naftalovitz and Fan, do not recite wherein the another end portion of the sensor is configured to be contacted to the electrical contact of the PCB according to the operation of the pressurizing operator to initiate operation of the body attachable unit.
However, Rao discloses wherein the another end portion of the sensor (lower sensor pads”, para. [0094-0096, 0098-0099]) is configured to be contacted to the electrical contact of the PCB according to the operation of the pressurizing operator (“1350 pushes the sensors onto the PCBA … compresses the lower sensor pads against the PCBA contact pads”; “applies pressure”, para. [0091, 0094-0096, 0098-0099]) to initiate operation of the body attachable unit (“push button/switch only turns on the sensing device”; “activate the sensing device”, para. [0091, 0094-0095]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claims 1 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. US 12453492 B2, as modified by Naftalovitz and Fan, such that the another end portion of the sensor is configured to be contacted to the electrical contact of the PCB according to the operation of the pressurizing operator to initiate operation of the body attachable unit, in view of the teachings of Rao, as this would aid in turning on the sensing device by connecting the sensor pads to the PCBA contact pads to establish and maintain electrical connection (Rao, para. [0094-0099]).
Regarding claim 9, claims 1 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. US 12453492 B2, as modified by Naftalovitz and Fan, do not recite do not recite wherein a contacting state between the another end portion of the sensor and the electrical contact is maintained after an operation of the pressurizing operator.
However, Rao discloses wherein a contacting state between the another end portion of the sensor and the electrical contact is maintained after an operation of the pressurizing operator (“maintain an electrical connection”; “activate the sensing device”, para. [0024, 0028, 0086, 0094, 0099]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claims 1 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. US 12453492 B2, as modified by Naftalovitz and Fan, such that a contacting state between the another end portion of the sensor and the electrical contact is maintained after an operation of the pressurizing operator, in view of the teachings of Rao, as this would aid in establishing and maintaining electrical connection (Rao, para. [0096-0099]).
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. US 12453492 B2 in view of Naftalovitz (US 20160228016 A1) and Fan (US 20170194721 A1), as applied above, and further in view of Yee (US 20100324392 A1).
Regarding claim 4, claims 1 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. US 12453492 B2, as modified by Naftalovitz and Fan, do not recite do not recite wherein the movable pressurizing comprises a pressurizing protruding portion protruding from an upper surface of the movable pressurizing body, and the button cover pressurizes the pressurizing protruding portion.
However, Yee directed to an apparatus for insertion of a medical device in the skin of a subject discloses a movable pressurizing body (1002, fig. 39, “switch mechanism”, para. [0142]) and a button cover (1001, fig. 39), wherein the movable pressurizing (1002, fig. 39, “switch mechanism”, para. [0142]) comprises a pressurizing protruding portion protruding from an upper surface of the movable pressurizing body (unlabeled, but as seen in fig. 39), and the button cover (1001, fig. 39) pressurizes the pressurizing protruding portion (“completes the break … physically contacting the two contacts 1010, 1011 with the activation component 1002 that completes the 30 circuit in the sensor electronics”, para. [0142], fig. 39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claims 1 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. US 12453492 B2, as modified by Naftalovitz and Fan, such that the movable pressurizing comprises a pressurizing protruding portion protruding from an upper surface of the movable pressurizing body, and the button cover pressurizes the pressurizing protruding portion, in view of the teachings of Yee, as this would aid in completing the break between contacts by physically contacting the contacts to complete the circuit in the sensor electronics.
Claim 10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. US 12453492 B2 in view of Naftalovitz (US 20160228016 A1) and Fan (US 20170194721 A1), as applied above, and further in view of Hartigg (US 20180296146 A1).
Regarding claim 10, claims 1 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. US 12453492 B2, as modified by Naftalovitz and Fan, do not recite wherein the another end portion of the sensor is spaced apart from the electrical contact of the PCB and is configured to contact the electrical contact of the PCB by being pressed by the pressurizing operator.
However, Hartigg directed to a sensor and a sensor assembly for detecting at least one analyte in a body fluid discloses wherein the another end portion of the sensor (contact pads on upper element 144/sensor 110, figs. 4B-4C, “sensor head”, para. [0113, 0193, 0227, 0231]) is spaced apart (as seen in fig. 4B, “without applying pressure”, para. [0193, 0227, 0231]) from the electrical contact of the PCB (“electrical contacts of the electronics unit 186”, contact pads 118 on lower element 144, as seen in figs. 4B-4C, para. [0113, 0193, 0227, 0231]) and is configured to contact the electrical contact of the PCB by being pressed by the pressurizing operator (“applying pressure to the upper … pressure element 232 … electrical connection between contact pads … sensor 110 and … electronics unit 186”, para. [0113, 0193, 0227, 0231], fig. 4C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claims 1 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. US 12453492 B2, as modified by Naftalovitz and Fan, such that the another end portion of the sensor is spaced apart from the electrical contact of the PCB and is configured to contact the electrical contact of the PCB by being pressed by the pressurizing operator, as this would aid in establishing the electrical connection between the contact portion of the sensor, particularly the sensor head, and the electronics unit by applying pressure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao (US 20170290535 A1 – previously cited) in view of Fan (US 20170194721 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Rao discloses a body attachable unit for glucose measurement (“sensing device … flexible case adapted to adhere to a skin of a patient”, Abstract), the body attachable unit (figs. 11-14) comprising: a housing (lower housing 1130 and upper housing 1120, figs. 11-14) including a bottom surface (adhesive patch 1200, fig. 11) configured to contact a skin (“attaching the sensing device to the skin”, para. [0091]); a printed circuit board (PCB) disposed inside the housing (PCBA 1320, as seen in figs. 11-14, “printed circuit board assembly”, para. [0084, 0091-0092]); a sensor (sensors 1012A & 1012B, figs. 11-14, “one sensor … may be used”, para. [0091]) including one end portion outwardly protruding from the bottom surface of the housing (as seen in figs. 2 & 11-14) to be insertable into a body when the housing contacts the skin (“insertion of the sensor into a user's body”, para. [0091]), and another end portion installed in the housing (upper sensor pads 1323 and lower sensor pads 1324, figs. 11-14); and a pressurizing operator installed at the housing (elastomeric connector 1350, figs. 11-14, para. [0092]), the pressurizing operator (elastomeric connector 1350, figs. 11-14, para. [0024, 0092, 0096, 0098-0099]) configured to (Examiner’s Note: functional language/intended use, i.e., capable of) pressurize the another end portion of the sensor to be contacted to an electrical contact of the PCB (“1350 pushes the sensors onto the PCBA … compresses the lower sensor pads against the PCBA contact pads”; “applies pressure”, para. [0096, 0098-0099]), wherein at least a portion of the another end portion of the sensor is movable to the electrical contact to be contacted to the electrical contact (“elastomeric connector/pad, presses the electrical contacts on the sensor into touching connection”, para. [0099]) wherein the pressurizing operator comprises: a movable pressurizing body (elastomeric connector 1350, figs. 11-14C) configured to be movably coupled to the housing and to pressurize the another end portion of the sensor (“biased”; “pushes the sensors onto the PCBA … elastomeric connector 1350 has been compressed against the PCBA” para. [0024, 0086, 0096-0097], figs. 11-14C); and a button cover (push button 1124/1126, fig. 11, para. [0091, 0094-0095]) coupled to the housing to be exposed to an outside of the housing (as seen in fig. 11, “push button 1125 is shown in the upper housing 1120”, para. [0091, 0094-0095]) and covering an upper surface of the movable pressurizing body (“upper housing”; “elastomeric connector 1350 has been compressed against the PCBA by the upper shell”, para. [0094, 0097]).
Rao further discloses locating posts 1326 (figs. 13 & 14A-14C) configured to be protruded along a movement direction of the movable pressurizing body (as seen in figs. 14A-14C), and the locating posts are configured to pass through the another end portion of the sensor (as seen in figs. 14A-14C, “posts 1326 ... are connected to ... the PCBA 1320 and are placed to locate the sensors in the correct position with respect to the sensor pads ... connector 1350 pushes the sensors onto the PCBA”, para. [0096]).
Rao does not expressly disclose wherein a protruding guide configured to be protruded along a movement direction of the movable pressurizing body is formed at the movable pressurizing body, and the protruding guide is configured to pass through the another end portion of the sensor
Fan, Annotated Fig. 3
In a similar technical field, Fan directed to electrical connectors used in medical electronic devices teaches a PCB (circuit element 54, fig. 3, “rigid PCB”, para. [0094, 0138]), another end portion of a sensor (circuit element 52, fig. 3, “flexible printed circuit”; “sensor module”, para. [0094, 0138]) and a pressurizing operator (spring clip 68, fig. 3) comprising a movable pressurizing body (spring clip 68, as seen in fig. 3, “provide a normal force”, para. [0138]), wherein a protruding guide (protruding guide, as seen in annotated fig. 3) configured to be protruded along a movement direction of the movable pressurizing body (as seen in fig. 3, “align, compress, and retain ... provide a normal force on a plurality of spring contacts”, para. [0138]) is formed at the movable pressurizing body (as seen in fig. 3, “spring clip”, para. [0138]), and the protruding guide (protruding guide, as seen in annotated fig. 3) is configured to pass through the another end portion of the sensor (“align, compress, and retain ... spring clip 68 requires two through holes in each of circuit elements 54 and 52 as well as in connector 50”, para. [0138], 64 as seen in fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rao such that a protruding guide configured to be protruded along a movement direction of the movable pressurizing body is formed at the movable pressurizing body, and the protruding guide is configured to pass through the another end portion of the sensor, in view of the teachings of Fan, as such a modification would have been merely a substitution of the locating posts and elastomeric connector 1350 of Rao for the spring clip of Fan, and incorporating through holes into the PCBA, to provide a normal force on the contacts and aid in aligning, compressing, and retaining the sensor pads against the PCBA contact pads of Rao.
Regarding claim 2, Rao, as modified by Fan hereinabove, discloses the body attachable unit for the glucose measurement of claim 1, wherein, when operation is completed, the pressurizing operator is fixed in a state different from a state before the operation (“upper and lower housings are connected … elastomeric connector is biased”; “compress … push button/switch … elastomeric connector 1350 has been compressed … connects the upper sensor pads to the PCBA contact pads and compresses the lower sensor pads against the PCBA contact pads … direct, touch connection”, para. [0024, 0086, 0094-0098] (Examiner note: the elastomeric connector would be uncompressed/unbiased before operation)).
Regarding claim 8, Rao, as modified by Fan hereinabove, discloses the body attachable unit for the glucose measurement of claim 1, wherein the another end portion of the sensor (lower sensor pads”, para. [0094-0096, 0098-0099]) is configured to be contacted to the electrical contact of the PCB according to the operation of the pressurizing operator (“1350 pushes the sensors onto the PCBA … compresses the lower sensor pads against the PCBA contact pads”; “applies pressure”, para. [0091, 0094-0096, 0098-0099]) to initiate operation of the body attachable unit (“push button/switch only turns on the sensing device”; “activate the sensing device”, para. [0091, 0094-0095]).
Regarding claim 9, Rao, as modified by Fan hereinabove, discloses the body attachable unit for the glucose measurement of claim 1, wherein a contacting state between the another end portion of the sensor and the electrical contact is maintained after an operation of the pressurizing operator (“maintain an electrical connection”; “activate the sensing device”, para. [0024, 0028, 0086, 0094, 0099]).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao in view of Fan, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yee (US 20100324392 A1 – previously cited).
Regarding claim 4, Rao, as modified by Fan hereinabove, discloses the body attachable unit for the glucose measurement of claim 1. Rao, as modified by Fan hereinabove, does not expressly disclose wherein the movable pressurizing body comprises a pressurizing protruding portion protruding from an upper surface of the movable pressurizing body, and the button cover pressurizes the pressurizing protruding portion.
However, Yee directed to an apparatus for insertion of a medical device in the skin of a subject discloses a movable pressurizing body (1002, fig. 39, “switch mechanism”, para. [0142]) and a button cover (1001, fig. 39), wherein the movable pressurizing body (1002, fig. 39, “switch mechanism”, para. [0142]) comprises a pressurizing protruding portion protruding from an upper surface of the movable pressurizing body (unlabeled, but as seen in fig. 39), and the button cover (1001, fig. 39) pressurizes the pressurizing protruding portion (“completes the break … physically contacting the two contacts 1010, 1011 with the activation component 1002 that completes the 30 circuit in the sensor electronics”, para. [0142], fig. 39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rao, as modified by Fan hereinabove, such that the movable pressurizing body comprises a pressurizing protruding portion protruding from an upper surface of the movable pressurizing body, and the button cover pressurizes the pressurizing protruding portion, in view of the teachings of Yee, as this would aid in completing the break between contacts by physically contacting the contacts to complete the circuit in the sensor electronics.
Regarding claim 5, Rao, as modified by Fan and Yee hereinabove, discloses the body attachable unit for the glucose measurement of claim 4, wherein a position of the movable pressurizing body is fixed in a state that the movable pressurizing body is moved toward a direction pressurized (“locating posts … correct position … openings for the locating posts … 1350 has been compressed against the PCBA … upper … to lower … compressed … maintain the electrical connection”, para. [0096-0099]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao in view of Fan, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cho (US 20160278672 A1 – previously cited).
Regarding claim 7, Rao, as modified by Fan hereinabove, discloses the body attachable unit for the glucose measurement of claim 1. Rao, as modified by Fan hereinabove, does not expressly disclose, wherein a locking hook is formed at an outer circumferential surface of the protruding guide, and an interlocking projection is formed at the housing to be interlockable with the locking hook of the protruding guide in a state that the movable pressurizing body is moved toward a direction pressurized.
However, Cho directed to a wearable electronic device having a movable pressurizing body (cover unit 103, figs. 8-9, “pressing”, para. [0117]) discloses wherein a locking hook is formed at an outer circumferential surface of the protruding guide (hooking unit 131a, as seen in figs. 8-9, para. [0118]), and an interlocking projection is formed at the housing (“hooking hole 133b”, para. [0118]) to be interlockable with the locking hook of the protruding guide in a state that the movable pressurizing body is moved toward a direction pressurized (“inserted and fastened … coupled”, para. [0117-0119], as seen in figs. 8-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rao, as modified by Fan hereinabove, such that a locking hook is formed at an outer circumferential surface of the protruding guide, and an interlocking projection is formed at the housing to be interlockable with the locking hook of the protruding guide in a state that the movable pressurizing body is moved toward a direction pressurized, in view of the teachings of Cho, as this would aid in forming the electrical connection by fastening the movable pressurizing body to electrically connect the contact terminals (Cho, para. [0118-0119]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao in view of Fan, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hartigg (US 20180296146 A1 – previously cited).
Regarding claim 10, Rao discloses the body attachable unit for the glucose measurement of claim 1. Rao does not expressly disclose wherein the another end portion of the sensor is spaced apart from the electrical contact of the PCB and is configured to contact the electrical contact of the PCB by being pressed by the pressurizing operator.
However, Hartigg directed to a sensor and a sensor assembly for detecting at least one analyte in a body fluid discloses wherein the another end portion of the sensor (contact pads on upper element 144/sensor 110, figs. 4B-4C, “sensor head”, para. [0113, 0193, 0227, 0231]) is spaced apart (as seen in fig. 4B, “without applying pressure”, para. [0193, 0227, 0231]) from the electrical contact of the PCB (“electrical contacts of the electronics unit 186”, contact pads 118 on lower element 144, as seen in figs. 4B-4C, para. [0113, 0193, 0227, 0231]) and is configured to contact the electrical contact of the PCB by being pressed by the pressurizing operator (“applying pressure to the upper … pressure element 232 … electrical connection between contact pads … sensor 110 and … electronics unit 186”, para. [0113, 0193, 0227, 0231], fig. 4C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rao such that the another end portion of the sensor is spaced apart from the electrical contact of the PCB and is configured to contact the electrical contact of the PCB by being pressed by the pressurizing operator, as this would aid in establishing the electrical connection between the contact portion of the sensor, particularly the sensor head, and the electronics unit by applying pressure.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/A.E.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/AURELIE H TU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791