DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2-14 and 15-17 and 19-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2-14 and 16-17 and 19-20 recites “Claim” in line 1 of each claim. It should be corrected to “claim”. Further, comma “,” has been missing after “claim 1” in line 1 of claim 2. Similarly, comma “,” has been missing in line 1 after claim number onto which these claims 3-14 and 16-17 and 19-20 are dependent on.
Claim 8 recites, “keyboard” in line 2. “keyboard” should be replaced by “keyboard assembly”.
Claim 10 recites, “keyboard” in lines 5, 8 and 11. “keyboard” should be replaced by “keyboard assembly”.
Claim 15 recites, “keyboard” in lines 17 and 23. “keyboard” should be replaced by “keyboard assembly”.
Claim 19 recites, “keyboard” in lines 2-3 and 5-6. “keyboard” should be replaced by “keyboard assembly”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Piper et al. (US 11294426; “Piper” hereinafter) in view of Ferren et al. (US 10372169; “Ferren” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Piper discloses a system for a portable electronic device, the system comprising: a case assembly (12) including a base (12f), a first side (12c, fig. 1) extending perpendicular to the base (12f), the first side including at least one distal wall portion (“first distal wall portion” as depicted in annotated fig. 5), at least one middle wall portion (12c10), and at least one proximal wall portion (“proximate portion” annotated fig. 6), wherein the at least one distal wall portion is farther from the base than the at least one proximal wall portion is from the base (12f) (annotated fig. 5), wherein the at least one middle wall portion is between the at least one distal wall portion and the at least one proximal wall portion (annotated fig. 5), a second side (12b) extending perpendicular to the base (12f) and extending perpendicular to the first side (12c) (figs. 1, 6), a third side (12a) extending perpendicular to the base (12f) and extending perpendicular to the second side (12b) (figs. 1, 5), the third side (12a) including at least one distal wall portion (“third distal wall portion” as depicted in annotated fig. 5), at least one middle wall portion (12a3), and at least one proximal wall portion (“proximate portion” annotated fig. 6), wherein the at least one distal wall portion (“third distal wall portion” as depicted in annotated fig. 5) is farther from the base (12f) than the at least one proximal wall portion (“proximate portion” annotated fig. 6) is from the base (12f) (annotated fig. 5), wherein the at least one middle wall portion (12a3) is between the at least one distal wall portion (“third distal wall portion” as depicted in annotated fig. 5) and the at least one proximal wall portion (lowermost end/portion of the 12a2) (annotated fig. 5), and a fourth side (12d) extending perpendicular to the base (12f) and extending perpendicular to the first side (12c); and a keyboard assembly including (14) a base (14e), a first side (14a or side opposite to 14c) extending perpendicular to the base (fig. 1), the first side removably couplable to the first side (12c) of the case assembly (12) (col. 8: lines 24-36), a second side extending perpendicular to the base (14e) and extending perpendicular to the first side (14a) (fig. 1), a third side (14c) extending perpendicular to the base (14e) and extending perpendicular to the second side (fig. 1), and a fourth side (14d) extending perpendicular to the base and extending perpendicular to the first side (fig. 4).
Piper does not explicitly disclose the first side removably couplable to the at least one distal wall portion of the first side of the case assembly, and the third side removably couplable to the at least one distal wall portion of the third side of the case assembly.
Ferren teaches a system for a portable electronic device, the system comprising: a case (10) assembly including a base (back portion 15 and rear portion of inner case 14, “base” as depicted in annotated fig. 1), a first side (“first side” as depicted in annotated fig. 1) extending perpendicular to the base, the first side including at least one distal wall portion (a portion of lip 34 that lies on first side and “first distal wall portion” as depicted in annotated fig. 1), a second side (“second side” as depicted in annotated fig. 1) extending perpendicular to the base and extending perpendicular to the first side (annotated fig. 1), a third side (“third side” as depicted in annotated fig. 1) extending perpendicular to the base and extending perpendicular to the second side, the third side including at least one distal wall portion (34 and 40, fig. 1), and a fourth side (“fourth side” as depicted in annotated fig. 1) extending perpendicular to the base and extending perpendicular to the first side; and a keyboard assembly (1080 (fig. 3) including a base (102), a first side (upper side of the keyboard 108 that is connected to the lower side of the case 10) extending from the base (102), the first side removably couplable to the at least one distal wall portion (34 and “distal wall portion” annotated fig. 1) of the first side of the case assembly (10) (“Inner lip 34 is sized, shaped, and positioned for engagement, in part, of inner case portion 14 with a device to be contained by device case 10”, col. 2: lines 49-67, also see figs. 5-6), a second side (left lateral side of the keyboard 108) extending perpendicular to the base and extending perpendicular to the first side (fig. 3), a third side (lower end of the keyboard 102, fig. 3) extending perpendicular to the base and extending perpendicular to the second side (fig. 3), the third side removably couplable to the at least one distal wall portion of the third side of the case assembly (third side is removably couple to the distal wall portions 40 and 34; col. 3: lines 16-33 and col. 2: lines 49-67, also see figs. 5-7), and a fourth side (right lateral side of the keyboard 108) extending perpendicular to the base and extending perpendicular to the first side (fig.3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Piper to have the first side removably couplable to the at least one distal wall portion of the first side of the case assembly, and the third side removably couplable to the at least one distal wall portion of the third side of the case assembly as suggested by Ferren because such modification helps to hold the keyboard assembly together with the case assembly in retracted position when not in use.
Regarding claim 2, Piper in view of Ferren discloses the system of claim 1, and Piper further teaches wherein the first side (12c) includes at least one portable electronic device support portion (“first support portion” annotated fig. 6) of the first side extending perpendicular to the at least one middle wall portion (figs. 5-6).
Piper in view of Ferren does not explicitly disclose wherein the third side includes at least one portable electronic device support portion of the third side extending perpendicular to the at least one middle wall portion (Note: the third side 12a may have similar structure as of the at least one portable electronic device support portion of the first side, but none of the drawings is showing the detail structure of the third side 12a that support the rear of the tablet 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to add a similar structure as that of the at least one portable electronic device support portion of the first side to the third side, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (CA7 1977).
Regarding claim 3, Piper in view of Ferren discloses the system of claim 2, and Piper further teaches wherein the first side (12c) includes at least one keyboard support portion (12c11), wherein the at least one keyboard support portion of the first side extends perpendicular to the at least one distal wall portion of the first side (figs 5-6), wherein the third side (12a) includes at least one keyboard support portion (12a4), and wherein the at least one keyboard support portion of the third side extends perpendicular to the at least one distal wall portion of the third side (fig. 5).
Regarding claim 4, Piper in view of Ferren discloses the system of claim 3, and Piper further teaches wherein the at least one keyboard support portion (12c11) of the first side is closer to the at least one distal wall portion (“distal wall portion” annotated fig. 5) of the first side than the at least one portable electronic device support portion (“first support portion”, annotated fig. 6) of the first side is to the at least one distal wall portion of the first side, and wherein the at least one keyboard support portion of the third side is closer to the at least one distal wall portion of the third side than the at least one portable electronic device support portion of the third side is to the at least one distal wall portion of the third side (annotated figs. 5-6 and figs 5-6).
Regarding claim 5, Piper in view of Ferren discloses the system of claim 3.
Piper in view of Ferren discloses does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one keyboard support portion of the first side is a flexible material, and wherein the at least one keyboard support portion of the third side is a flexible material.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have the at least one keyboard support portion of the first side and third side made from a flexible material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). The flexible material of the at least one keyboard support portion of the first side and third side provides protection to the enclosing portable electronic device.
Regarding claim 6, Piper in view of Ferren discloses the system of claim 3, and Piper further teaches wherein the at least one middle wall portion (12c10) of the first side is removably couplable with the portable electronic device (100) (figs. 5-6, 15), and wherein the at least one middle wall portion of the third side is removably couplable with the portable electronic device (figs 5-6, 15).
Regarding claim 7, Piper in view of Ferren discloses the system of claim 1, and Ferren further teaches wherein the first side of the keyboard assembly (108) is frictionally couplable to the at least one distal wall portion (34, 40) of the first side of the case assembly (10), and wherein the third side of the keyboard assembly is frictionally couplable to the at least one distal wall portion (34 and “distal wall portion” annotated fig. 1) of the third side of the case assembly (10) (“Inner lip 34 is sized, shaped, and positioned for engagement, in part, of inner case portion 14 with a device to be contained by device case 10”, col. 2: lines 49-67, also see figs. 5-6).
Regarding claim 8, Piper in view of Ferren discloses the system of claim 3, and Ferren further teaches wherein the third side of the keyboard includes at least one protrusion (40) that is removably couplable to the at least one distal wall portion of the third side of the case assembly (col. 3: lines 16-60).
Piper in view of Ferren does not explicitly disclose wherein the first side of the keyboard includes at least one protrusion that is removably couplable to the at least one distal wall portion of the first side of the case assembly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to add a similar protrusion as that of third side to the first side, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (CA7 1977).
Regarding claim 9, Piper in view of Ferren discloses the system of claim 3, and Ferren further teaches wherein the at least one distal wall portion of the third side of the case assembly (10) includes at least one protrusion (40) that is removably couplable to the third side of the keyboard assembly (col. 3: lines 16-60).
Piper in view of Ferren does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one distal wall portion of the first side of the case assembly includes at least one protrusion that is removably couplable to the first side of the keyboard assembly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Piper in view of Ferren to add a similar protrusion as that of third side to the distal wall portion of the first side, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (CA7 1977).
Regarding claim 11, Piper in view of Ferren discloses the system of claim 1.
Piper in view of Ferren discloses does not explicitly disclose wherein the case assembly includes at least one semi-rigid portion to allow for uncoupling of the portable electronic device from the case assembly when the portable electronic device is coupled to the case assembly.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have the case assembly includes at least one semi-rigid portion, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). The semi-rigid material of the case assembly provides protection to the portable electronic device in addition to allow easier uncoupling of the portable electronic device.
Regarding claim 12, Piper in view of Ferren discloses the system of claim 3, and Piper further teaches the second side (12b) of the case assembly (12) includes an interior portion and an exterior portion (figs 3-5); wherein the third side (12a) of the case assembly includes an interior portion (figs 3-5); an electrical connection between the case assembly and keyboard assembly via a connector (14a11) that extends through an aperture (12c3) in the first side (12c) of the case assembly (12); the aperture extends from an exterior portion of the first side through the aperture (12c3) of first side.
Piper in view of Ferren does not explicitly disclose wherein the case assembly includes an electrical cable assembly, wherein an aperture provided in the second side, wherein the electrical cable assembly extends from the exterior portion of the second side through the aperture of second side to extend beyond the interior portion of the second side, wherein a portion of the electrical cable assembly extends along the exterior portion of the second side, wherein a portion of the electrical cable assembly extends along the interior portion of the second side, wherein a portion of the electrical cable assembly extends along the interior portion of the third side, and wherein the electrical cable assembly is electrically coupled to the keyboard assembly.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the system of Piper in view of Ferren to have the connection between the case assembly and keyboard assembly such that the case assembly includes an electrical cable assembly, wherein an aperture provided in the second side, wherein the electrical cable assembly extends from the exterior portion of the second side through the aperture of second side to extend beyond the interior portion of the second side, wherein a portion of the electrical cable assembly extends along the exterior portion of the second side, wherein a portion of the electrical cable assembly extends along the interior portion of the second side, wherein a portion of the electrical cable assembly extends along the interior portion of the third side, and wherein the electrical cable assembly is electrically coupled to the keyboard assembly, since such a modification would have involved the mere application of a known technique (connection via a cable assembly) to a piece of prior art and does not involve any inventive concept. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007).
Regarding claim 13, Piper in view of Ferren discloses the system of claim 3. Ferren further teaches wherein the second side of the case assembly (10) includes an exterior portion with a stylus-shaped recess (20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Piper in view of Ferren to incorporate a stylus-shaped recess as taught by Farren because such modification provides an accommodating space for holding a stylus (Col. 2: lines 31-48).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to relocate the stylus shaped recess to the third side of the case assembly, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 14, Piper in view of Ferren discloses the system of claim 3, and Piper further teaches a flexible hinge (14a3), wherein the flexible hinge is coupled to the case assembly (12) (figs 1-8), and wherein the flexible hinge is coupled to the keyboard assembly (14) (figs. 1-8).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Piper in view of Ferren as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Kuriyama et al. (US 20190361503; “Kuriyama” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 10, Piper in view of Ferren discloses the system of claim 1, and Ferren further teaches wherein the at least one distal wall portion of the third side of the case assembly (10) includes at least one protrusion (40) (annotated fig. 1).
Piper in view of Ferren does not explicitly disclose wherein the first side of the keyboard includes at least one protrusion, wherein the at least one distal wall portion of the first side of the case assembly includes at least one protrusion, wherein the at least one protrusion of the first side of the keyboard is removably couplable with the at least one protrusion of the at least one distal wall portion of the first side of the case assembly, and wherein the at least one protrusion of the third side of the keyboard is removably couplable with the at least one protrusion of the at least one distal wall portion of the third side of the case assembly.
Kuriyama teaches an electronic device comprising a side of a case assembly (100) includes at least one protrusion/fitting (150), and wherein at least one protrusion/fitting (250) of a side of the keyboard (200) is removably couplable with the at least one protrusion of the side of the case assembly (par. [0061]; fig. 9C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Piper in view of Ferren to have the third side of the keyboard includes at least one protrusion, and wherein the at least one protrusion of the third side of the keyboard is removably couplable with the at least one protrusion of the at least one distal wall portion of the third side of the case assembly as suggested by Kuriyama because such modification make the mechanical coupling of the case assembly and the keyboard assembly stronger in retracted position, and prevents accidental disengagement from an external impact.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Piper in view of Ferren and Kuriyama to add similar protrusions as that of third side of the case assembly and the keyboard assembly to the distal wall portion of the first side of the case assembly and the keyboard assembly to removably couple with each other, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (CA7 1977).
Claim(s) 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Piper in view of Ferren and Kuriyama and in further view of Richardson et al. (US 6028764; “Richardson” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 15, Piper discloses a system for a portable electronic device, the system comprising: a case assembly (12) including a base (12f), a first side (12c, fig. 1) extending perpendicular to the base (12f), the first side including at least one distal wall portion (“first distal wall portion” as depicted in annotated fig. 5), wherein the at least one distal wall portion is farther from the base than the at least one proximal wall portion is from the base (12f) (annotated fig. 5), a second side (12a) extending perpendicular to the base (12f) and extending perpendicular to the base (12f) and extending parallel with the first side (figs. 1, 5), the second side (12a) including at least one distal wall portion (“second distal wall portion” as depicted in annotated fig. 5), and at least one proximal wall portion (“proximate portion” annotated fig. 6), wherein the at least one distal wall portion (“second distal wall portion” as depicted in annotated fig. 5) is farther from the base (12f) than the at least one proximal wall portion (“proximate portion” annotated fig. 6) is from the base (12f) (annotated fig. 5), and a keyboard assembly including (14) a base (14e), a first side (14a or side opposite to 14c) extending perpendicular to the base (fig. 1), the first side removably couplable to the first side (12c) of the case assembly (12) (col. 8: lines 24-36), a second side extending perpendicular to the base (14e) and extending parallel with to the first side (14a) (fig. 1).
Piper does not explicitly disclose wherein the first side of the keyboard includes at least one protrusion that is removably couplable to the at least one distal wall portion of the first side of the case assembly, the second side removably couplable to the at least one distal wall portion of the second side of the case assembly, wherein the second side of the keyboard includes at least one protrusion that is removably couplable to the at least one distal wall portion of the second side of the case assembly.
Ferren teaches a system for a portable electronic device, the system comprising: a case (10) assembly including a base (back portion 15 and rear portion of inner case 14, “base” as depicted in annotated fig. 1), a first side (“first side” as depicted in annotated fig. 1) extending perpendicular to the base, the first side including at least one distal wall portion (a portion of lip 34 that lies on first side and “distal wall portion” as depicted in annotated fig. 1), a second side (“third side” as depicted in annotated fig. 1) extending perpendicular to the base and extending parallel to the first side, the second side including at least one distal wall portion (34 and 40, fig. 1; and a keyboard assembly (1080 (fig. 3) including a base (102), a first side (upper side of the keyboard 108 that is connected to the lower side of the case 10) extending from the base (102), the first side removably couplable to the at least one distal wall portion (34 and “distal wall portion” annotated fig. 1) of the first side of the case assembly (10) (“Inner lip 34 is sized, shaped, and positioned for engagement, in part, of inner case portion 14 with a device to be contained by device case 10”, col. 2: lines 49-67, also see figs. 5-6), a second side (lower end of the keyboard 102, fig. 3) extending perpendicular to the base and extending parallel to the first side (fig. 3), the second side removably couplable to the at least one distal wall portion of the second side of the case assembly (second side is removably couple to the distal wall portions 40 and 34; col. 3: lines 16-33 and col. 2: lines 49-67, also see figs. 5-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Piper to have the first side removably couplable to the at least one distal wall portion of the first side of the case assembly, and the second side removably couplable to the at least one distal wall portion of the second side of the case assembly as suggested by Ferren because such modification helps to hold the keyboard assembly in retracted position when not in use.
Kuriyama teaches an electronic device comprising an upper side of a case assembly (100) includes at least one protrusion/fitting (150), and wherein at least one protrusion/fitting (250) disposed on an upper side of the keyboard (200) is removably couplable with the at least one protrusion of the side of the case assembly (par. [0061]; fig. 9C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Piper in view of Ferren to have the third side of the keyboard includes at least one protrusion, and wherein the at least one protrusion of the third side of the keyboard is removably couplable with the at least one protrusion of the at least one distal wall portion of the third side of the case assembly as suggested by Kuriyama because such modification make the mechanical coupling of the case assembly and the keyboard assembly stronger in retracted position, and prevents accidental disengagement from an external impact.
Richardson teaches an electronic device comprising a housing assembly (14), a keyboard assembly (12); wherein a first side of the keyboard (12) includes at least one protrusion (ring like protrusion 26) that is removably couplable to the at least one distal wall portion of the first side of the housing assembly (ring like protrusion 28 disposed at the upper end of the keyboard assembly 12 is removably coupled to the distal wall portion of the housing assembly 14 via a shaft 26, col. 2: lines 28-36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Piper in view of Ferren and Kuriyama to incorporate at least one protrusion on the first side of the keyboard assembly that is removably couplable to the at least one distal wall portion of the first side of the case assembly as taught by Richardson because such modification helps to rotatably couple the keyboard assembly to the case assembly so that the case assembly could be oriented at various desire angular orientation (col. 2: lines 28-36).
Regarding claim 16, Piper in view of Ferren, Kuriyama and Richardson discloses the system of claim 15, and Piper further teaches wherein the first side (12c) includes at least one keyboard support portion (12c11) and at least one portable electronic device support portion (“first support portion” annotated fig. 6), wherein the at least one keyboard support portion of the first side extends perpendicular to the at least one distal wall portion (“first distal wall portion” annotated fig. 5) of the first side (figs 5-6, annotated figs. 5 and 6), wherein the at least one portable electronic device support portion (“first support portion” annotated fig. 6) of the first side extends perpendicular to the at least one distal wall portion of the first side (figs 5-6), wherein the at least one keyboard support portion (12c11) of the first side is closer to the at least one distal wall portion (“first distal wall portion” annotated fig. 5) of the first side than the at least one portable electronic device support portion of the first side is to the at least one distal wall portion of the first side (figs 5-6, annotated figs. 5 and 6), wherein the second side (12a) includes at least one keyboard support portion (12a4), wherein the at least one keyboard support portion of the second side extends perpendicular to the at least one distal wall portion of the second side(fig. 5).
Piper in view of Ferren, Kuriyama and Richardson does not explicitly disclose the second side includes at least one portable electronic device support portion, and wherein the at least one portable electronic device support portion of the second side extends perpendicular to the at least one distal wall portion of the second side, and wherein the at least one keyboard support portion of the second side is closer to the at least one distal wall portion of the second side than the at least one portable electronic device support portion of the second side is to the at least one distal wall portion of the second side (Note: the side 12a may have similar structure as that of the at least one portable electronic device support portion of the first side, but none of the drawings is showing the detail structure of the third side 12a that supports the rear of the tablet 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to add a similar structure as that of the at least one portable electronic device support portion of the first side to the second side such that the at least one portable electronic device support portion of the second side extends perpendicular to the at least one distal wall portion of the second side, and wherein the at least one keyboard support portion of the second side is closer to the at least one distal wall portion of the second side than the at least one portable electronic device support portion of the second side is to the at least one distal wall portion of the second side, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (CA7 1977).
Regarding claim 17, Piper in view of Ferren, Kuriyama and Richardson discloses the system of claim 15.
Piper in view of Ferren, Kuriyama and Richardson discloses does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one keyboard support portion of the first side is a flexible material, and wherein the at least one keyboard support portion of the third side is a flexible material.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have the at least one keyboard support portion of the first side and third side made from a flexible material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). The flexible material of the at least one keyboard support portion of the first side and third side provides protection to the enclosing portable electronic device.
Claim(s) 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Piper in view of Ferren and in further view of Richardson et al. (US 6028764 ; “Richardson” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 18, Piper discloses a system for a portable electronic device, the system comprising: a case assembly (12) including a base (12f), a first side (12c, fig. 1) extending perpendicular to the base (12f), the first side including at least one distal wall portion (“first distal wall portion” as depicted in annotated fig. 5), and at least one proximal wall portion (“proximate portion” annotated fig. 6), wherein the at least one distal wall portion is farther from the base than the at least one proximal wall portion is from the base (12f) (annotated fig. 5), a second side (12b) extending perpendicular to the base (12f) and extending perpendicular to the first side (12c) (figs. 1, 6), a third side (12a) extending perpendicular to the base (12f) and extending perpendicular to the second side (12b) (figs. 1, 5), the third side (12a) including at least one distal wall portion (“third distal wall portion” as depicted in annotated fig. 5), and at least one proximal wall portion (“proximate portion” annotated fig. 6), wherein the at least one distal wall portion (“third distal wall portion” as depicted in annotated fig. 5) is farther from the base (12f) than the at least one proximal wall portion (“proximate portion” annotated fig. 6) is from the base (12f) (annotated fig. 5); and a keyboard assembly (14) including a base (14e), a first side (14a or side opposite to 14c) extending perpendicular to the base (fig. 1), the first side removably couplable to the first side (12c) of the case assembly (12) (col. 8: lines 24-36), a second side extending perpendicular to the base (14e) and extending perpendicular to the first side (14a) (fig. 1), a third side (14c) extending perpendicular to the base (14e) and extending perpendicular to the second side (fig. 1).
Piper does not explicitly disclose the first side removably couplable to the at least one distal wall portion of the first side of the case assembly, wherein the distal wall portion of the first side of the case assembly includes at least one protrusion that is removably couplable to the first side of the keyboard assembly, the third side removably couplable to the at least one distal wall portion of the third side of the case assembly, wherein the distal wall portion of the third side of the case assembly includes at least one protrusion that is removably couplable to the third side of the keyboard assembly.
Ferren teaches a system for a portable electronic device, the system comprising: a case (10) assembly including a base (back portion 15 and rear portion of inner case 14, “base” as depicted in annotated fig. 1), a first side (“first side” as depicted in annotated fig. 1) extending perpendicular to the base, the first side including at least one distal wall portion (a portion of lip 34 that lies on first side and “first distal wall portion” as depicted in annotated fig. 1), a second side (“second side” as depicted in annotated fig. 1) extending perpendicular to the base and extending perpendicular to the first side (annotated fig. 1), a third side (“third side” as depicted in annotated fig. 1) extending perpendicular to the base and extending perpendicular to the second side, the third side including at least one distal wall portion (34 and 40, fig. 1); and a keyboard assembly (1080 (fig. 3) including a base (102), a first side (upper side of the keyboard 108 that is connected to the lower side of the case 10) extending from the base (102), the first side removably couplable to the at least one distal wall portion (34 and “distal wall portion” annotated fig. 1) of the first side of the case assembly (10) (“Inner lip 34 is sized, shaped, and positioned for engagement, in part, of inner case portion 14 with a device to be contained by device case 10”, col. 2: lines 49-67, also see figs. 5-6), a second side (left lateral side of the keyboard 108) extending perpendicular to the base and extending perpendicular to the first side (fig. 3), a third side (lower end of the keyboard 102, fig. 3) extending perpendicular to the base and extending perpendicular to the second side (fig. 3), the third side removably couplable to the at least one distal wall portion of the third side of the case assembly (third side is removably couple to the distal wall portions 40 and 34; col. 3: lines 16-33 and col. 2: lines 49-67, also see figs. 5-7), the third side removably couplable to the at least one distal wall portion (34, 40) of the third side of the case assembly (10), wherein the distal wall portion of the third side of the case assembly includes at least one protrusion (40) that is removably couplable to the third side of the keyboard assembly (col. 3: lines 16-60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Piper to have the first side removably couplable to the at least one distal wall portion of the first side of the case assembly, the third side removably couplable to the at least one distal wall portion of the third side of the case assembly, wherein the distal wall portion of the third side of the case assembly includes at least one protrusion that is removably couplable to the third side of the keyboard assembly as suggested by Ferren because such modification helps to hold the keyboard assembly in retracted position when not in use.
Richardson teaches an electronic device comprising a housing assembly (14), a keyboard assembly (12); wherein a distal wall portion (distal or upper wall portion of the end wall where the protrusion/shaft 26 is disposed, fig. 2) of a first side of the housing assembly (14) includes at least one protrusion (26) that is removably couplable to the first side of the keyboard assembly (12) (protruding shaft 26 is removably couple to the upper end or first side of the keyboard assembly 12 via a ring 28, col. 2: lines 28-36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Piper in view of Ferren to incorporate at least one protrusion to the distal wall portion of the first side that is removably couplable to the first side of the keyboard assembly as taught by Richardson because such modification helps to rotatably couple the keyboard assembly to the case assembly so that the case assembly could be oriented at various desire angular orientation (col. 2: lines 28-36).
Regarding claim 20, Piper in view of Ferren and Richardson discloses the system of claim 18, and Piper further teaches the second side (12b) of the case assembly (12) includes an interior portion and an exterior portion (figs 3-5); wherein the third side (12a) of the case assembly includes an interior portion (figs 3-5); an electrical connection between the case assembly and keyboard assembly via a connector (14a11) that extends through an aperture (12c3) in the first side (12c) of the case assembly (12); the aperture extends from an exterior portion of the first side through the aperture (12c3) of first side.
Piper in view of Ferren and Richardson does not explicitly disclose wherein the case assembly includes an electrical cable assembly, wherein an aperture provided in the second side, wherein the electrical cable assembly extends from the exterior portion of the second side through the aperture of second side to extend beyond the interior portion of the second side, wherein a portion of the electrical cable assembly extends along the exterior portion of the second side, wherein a portion of the electrical cable assembly extends along the interior portion of the second side, wherein a portion of the electrical cable assembly extends along the interior portion of the third side, and wherein the electrical cable assembly is electrically coupled to the keyboard assembly.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the system of Piper in view of Ferren and Richardson to have the connection between the case assembly and keyboard assembly such that the case assembly includes an electrical cable assembly, wherein an aperture provided in the second side, wherein the electrical cable assembly extends from the exterior portion of the second side through the aperture of second side to extend beyond the interior portion of the second side, wherein a portion of the electrical cable assembly extends along the exterior portion of the second side, wherein a portion of the electrical cable assembly extends along the interior portion of the second side, wherein a portion of the electrical cable assembly extends along the interior portion of the third side, and wherein the electrical cable assembly is electrically coupled to the keyboard assembly, since such a modification would have involved the mere application of a known technique (connection via a cable assembly) to a piece of prior art and does not involve any inventive concept. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Piper in view of Ferren and in further view of Richardson as applied to claim 18, and in further view of Kuriyama.
Regarding claim 19, Piper in view of Ferren and Richardson discloses the system as claimed in claim 18, and Richardson further teaches the first side of the keyboard includes at least one protrusion (28), wherein the at least one protrusion (26) of the first side of the keyboard is removably couplable with the at least one protrusion of the distal wall portion of the first side of the case assembly (col. 2: lines 28-36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Piper in view of Ferren and Richardson to incorporate at least one protrusion disposed on the first side of the keyboard assembly as taught by Richardson because such modification allow the keyboard assembly to rotatably couple to the case assembly so that the case assembly could be oriented at various desire angular orientation (col. 2: lines 28-36).
Piper in view of Ferren and Richardson does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one protrusion of the third side of the keyboard that is removably couplable with the at least one protrusion of the distal wall portion of the third side of the case assembly.
Kuriyama teaches an electronic device comprising an upper side of a case assembly (100) includes at least one protrusion/fitting (150), and wherein at least one protrusion/fitting (250) disposed on an upper side of the keyboard (200) that is removably couplable with the at least one protrusion of the side of the case assembly (par. [0061]; fig. 9C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Piper in view of Ferren to have the third side of the keyboard includes at least one protrusion, and wherein the at least one protrusion of the third side of the keyboard is removably couplable with the at least one protrusion of the at least one distal wall portion of the third side of the case assembly as suggested by Kuriyama because such modification make the mechanical coupling of the case assembly and the keyboard assembly stronger in retracted position, and prevents accidental disengagement from an external impact.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are listed in the form 892.
/SAGAR SHRESTHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841