CTNF 18/766,536 CTNF 89266 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 7 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Futaki (US 20180098266) . With respect to independent claims: Regarding claim(s) 1/7/13 , Futaki teaches A method of operating a base station (BS) in a wireless communication system ([Fig.4]) , the method comprising: transmitting a connection reconfiguration request (RRCReconfiguration) message to a user equipment (UE) ([0082 and Fig.4], “the eNB 2 transmits an RRC Connection Reconfiguration message including an SCell PUCCH configuration to the UE 1.”) ; reconfiguring the UE on the basis of the connection reconfiguration request message ([0084], “In response to the reception of the RRC Connection Reconfiguration message, the UE 1 configures the PUUCH 322 in the SCell 302 (SCell 1).”) ; and completing the reconfiguration of the UE on the basis of a connection reconfiguration complete (RRCReconfigurationComplete) message received from the UE ([0082], “the UE 1 may transmit the RRC Connection Reconfiguration Complete message to the eNB 2 after the start or completion of the deactivation of the SCell 302 SCell 1).” And [0083], “the eNB 2 transmits an Activation/Deactivation MAC CE for activating the SCell 302 (SCell 1) to the UE 1.”)) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2, 8 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futaki in view of Zacharias (US 20180270682) . Regarding claim(s) 2/8/14 , Futaki teaches reconfiguring a physical uplink control channel ([0082 and Fig.4], “the eNB 2 transmits an RRC Connection Reconfiguration message including an SCell PUCCH configuration to the UE 1.”) . However, Futaki does not specifically disclose reconfiguring ... a physical uplink data channel of the UE . In an analogous art, Zacharias discloses reconfiguring a physical uplink control channel and a physical uplink data channel of the UE ([0118], “the RRC connection reconfiguration message may include configuration information for PUSCH, PUCCH, physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).”) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Futaki to specify PUSCH as taught by Zacharias. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to reconfigure PUSCH for uplink data transmission . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3, 9 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futaki in view of Farag (US 20230299902) . Regarding claim(s) 3/9/15 , Farag teaches wherein the completing of the reconfiguration of the UE comprises: reconfiguring a physical downlink data channel ([0134], “the gNB upon receiving the RRC reconfiguration complete message, allocates downlink and uplink resources that are transmitted in a downlink PDSCH transmission to the UE.”) ... after the connection reconfiguration complete message is received ([0134 and Fig.10A], UE transmits “Msg3 ... include the RRC reconfiguration complete message.”) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Futaki to specify PDSCH as taught by Zacharias. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to transmit downlink data to a UE . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 5, 11 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futaki in view of ABRAHAM (US 20230077965) . Regarding claim(s) 5/11/17 , ABRAHAM teaches wherein the completing of the reconfiguration of the UE comprises: performing setup and release of a measurement gap (measGapConfig) ([0260], “the RAN node (200) sends the RRC Reconfiguration/RRC Resume gapconfig and MeasGapToReleaseList to the UE.”) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Futaki to specify releasing measurement gap as taught by ABRAHAM. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need for PRS measurement . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 6, 12 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futaki in view of Jin (US 20200260308) . Regarding claim(s) 6/12/18 , Jin teaches performing an additional carrier list (sCellToAddModList) and a release carrier list (sCellToReleaseList) ([0306], “the configuration information on the SCell may include at least one piece of information on a list of SCells to add or modify (“sCellToAddModList”), as information elements (hereinafter, “IEs”), and/or information on a list of connected SCells to release (“sCellToReleaseList”).”) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Futaki to specify releasing measurement gap as taught by Jin. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a for carrier aggregation . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim (s) 4, 10 and 16 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ZHIREN QIN whose telephone number is (571)272-5444. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 9-6 PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Derrick Ferris can be reached on 571-272-3123. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ZHIREN QIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2411 Application/Control Number: 18/766,536 Page 2 Art Unit: 2411 Application/Control Number: 18/766,536 Page 3 Art Unit: 2411 Application/Control Number: 18/766,536 Page 4 Art Unit: 2411 Application/Control Number: 18/766,536 Page 5 Art Unit: 2411 Application/Control Number: 18/766,536 Page 6 Art Unit: 2411