CTNF 18/766,545 CTNF 82236 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements submitted on 07/08/2024 and 11/04/2024 have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Asterjadhi et al. (US 10,952,139 herein Asterjadhi) . Regarding claim 1 , Asterjadhi teaches an access point (AP) (read as access points (APs) 104 (Asterjadhi – column 3 lines 64-67, column 4 lines 1-14, column 5 lines 11-16), comprising: a memory (read as memory 506) (Asterjadhi – column 12 lines 1-13); and a processor coupled to the memory (read as memory may provide instructions and data to processor 504) (Asterjadhi – column 12 lines 1-22), the processor configured to: transmit, to one or more stations (read as clients also referred to as stations or “STAs”) (Asterjadhi – column 3 lines 64-67, column 4 lines 1-8, column 4 lines 15-33), a wake time recommendation element (WTRE) (read as AP may indicate a target transmission time for a trigger frame; a triggered target wake time TWT may be broadcast by including a target wake time TWT element in the beacon transmitted from the AP) (Asterjadhi – column 9 lines 10-21), the WTRE including at least (i) an identity of one or more stations (read as AP may then periodically announce which STAs have data frames buffered in the AP buffer, this announcement made in the beacon from the AP such as in a Traffic Indication Map (TIM); the broadcast TWT element may indicate a TWT spacing for each corresponding STA; therefore TWT offset may be different for different STAs) (Asterjadhi – column 7 lines 24-44, column 11 lines 45-57); and (ii) a recommended wake time after transmission of the WTRE for the one or more stations to transmit or receive data beginning at the wake time (read as if the STA is a limited capability device then the AP may determine to use a longer wake time period for the STA while it may use a shorter wake time period if the STA is a high capability device0 (Asterjadhi – column 8 lines 21-30); and receive, at the recommended wake time from the one or more stations, an indication that the one or more stations are ready to exchange data with the AP (read as when the STA receives an indication that it has frames buffered at the AP, the STA may send a polling message to the AP to indicate that it is ready to receive any buffered frames wherein the polling message can be a Power Save Poll (PS-Poll); the STA 114 provide the AP 104 with an amount of time that it requires to wake up from a sleep state to be ready to receive and/or transmit communication with the AP 104) (Asterjadhi – column 7 lines 24-44, column 7 lines 66-67, column 8 lines 1-20). Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1 , Asterjadhi further teaches wherein the recommended wake time is determined based on at least one of: a time synchronization function corresponding to an intended wake time (read as other nodes (STAs) to synchronize their timing with the AP 104) (Asterjadhi – column 5 lines 61-67, column 6 lines 1-15); one or more transmit units corresponding to a time gap between transmission of the WTRE and the intended wake time (read as the TWT request frame may contain the time offset to the next beacon the STA intends to receive and the periodicity of the beacons it intends to receive from the AP) (Asterjadhi – column 7 lines 66-67, column 8 lines 1-20), or an identifier of a beacon segment corresponding to the intended wake time, wherein a beacon interval following transmission of the WTRE is partitioned into equal-length beacon segments (read as transmission of a beacon may be divided into a number of groups or intervals) (Asterjadhi – column 5 lines 61-67, column 6 lines 1-15). Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 1 , Asterjadhi further teaches wherein the WTRE includes an indication of whether the recommended wake time is for transmission of: downlink traffic from the AP to the one or more stations; uplink traffic from the one or more stations to the AP; or bidirectional traffic for the one or more stations (read as communication link that facilitates transmission from AP to one or more of the STAs may be referred to as a downlink (DL) 108, and a communication link that facilitates transmission from one or more of the STAs to the AP 104 may be referred to as an uplink (UL) 110) (Asterjadhi – column 5 lines 31-40). Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 1 , Asterjadhi further teaches wherein the WTRE includes an indication of whether the recommended wake time is for AP-initiated or triggered transmissions (read as transmissions from multiple STAs in MU mode can be triggered by the AP by transmitting a Trigger frame) (Asterjadhi – column 5 lines 11-30). Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 1 , Asterjadhi further teaches wherein the WTRE includes: an indication whether the at least one recommended wake time is optional or mandatory; and a purpose of the recommendation (Asterjadhi – column 13 lines 25-33). Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 1 , Asterjadhi further teaches wherein the AP is an AP multi-link device (MLD) including one or more affiliated APs, and the AP MLD establishes one or more links, each link associated with a respective one of the one or more affiliated APs; and during multi-link operation (MLO), the WTRE is configured to indicate one or more links for which the WTRE is valid (read as communication link that facilitates transmission from AP to one or more of the STAs may be referred to as a downlink (DL) 108, and a communication link that facilitates transmission from one or more of the STAs to the AP 104 may be referred to as an uplink (UL) 110; downlink 108 may be referred to as forward link and an uplink 110 may be referred to as a reverse link; D: communications may include multicast traffic indications) (Asterjadhi – column 5 lines 31-40). Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 1 , Asterjadhi further teaches wherein the WTRE includes a number of stations assigned to a same recommended wake time or a sequence number among the stations assigned the same recommended wake time (read as TWT spacking 1020 may be the same for the different STA) (Asterjadhi – column 11 lines 29-44). Regarding claim 8 as applied to claim 1 , Asterjadhi further teaches wherein the WTRE includes an indication whether the recommendation is a long-term recommendation to continue for at least one station over a prescribed time period (Asterjadhi – column 11 lines 29-44). Regarding claim 9 , Asterjadhi teaches a station in a wireless network (read as clients also referred to as stations or “STAs”) (Asterjadhi – column 3 lines 64-67, column 4 lines 1-8, column 4 lines 15-33), comprising: a memory (read as memory 506) (Asterjadhi – column 12 lines 1-13); a processor coupled to the memory (read as memory may provide instructions and data to processor 504) (Asterjadhi – column 12 lines 1-22), the processor configured to: transmit a request to send a wake time recommendation element (WTRE) to an access point (AP) (read as STA may send a TWT request frame to the AP with the wake time period included in the Minimum TWT Wake Duration field of the frame) (Asterjadhi – column 7 lines 66-67, column 8 lines 1-20); receive, from the AP, the WTRE (read as AP may indicate a target transmission time for a trigger frame; a triggered target wake time TWT may be broadcast by including a target wake time TWT element in the beacon transmitted from the AP) (Asterjadhi – column 9 lines 10-21) including at least (i) an identity of one or more stations (read as AP may then periodically announce which STAs have data frames buffered in the AP buffer, this announcement made in the beacon from the AP such as in a Traffic Indication Map (TIM); the broadcast TWT element may indicate a TWT spacing for each corresponding STA; therefore TWT offset may be different for different STAs) (Asterjadhi – column 7 lines 24-44, column 11 lines 45-57); and (ii) a recommended wake time after transmission of the WTRE for the one or more stations to transmit or receive data beginning at the recommended wake time (read as if the STA is a limited capability device then the AP may determine to use a longer wake time period for the STA while it may use a shorter wake time period if the STA is a high capability device) (Asterjadhi – column 8 lines 21-30); wake up at the recommended time (read as STA 114 may include one or more components for performing various functions; may include a low power mode component 130 for operating in a low power mode and a wake time component 128 configured to transmit a wake time requirement for the STA to be ready to wake up form the low power mode to the AP 104) (Asterjadhi – column 8 lines 49-67, column 9 lines 1-9); and transmit, at the recommended time, an indication that the station is ready to exchange data with the AP (read as when the STA receives an indication that it has frames buffered at the AP, the STA may send a polling message to the AP to indicate that it is ready to receive any buffered frames wherein the polling message can be a Power Save Poll (PS-Poll); the STA 114 provide the AP 104 with an amount of time that it requires to wake up from a sleep state to be ready to receive and/or transmit communication with the AP 104) (Asterjadhi – column 7 lines 24-44, column 7 lines 66-67, column 8 lines 1-20). Regarding claim 10 as applied to claim 9 , Asterjadhi further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: follow, in an event of an impending or existing collision between respective transmissions, back-off procedures identified by the AP; and re-initiate transmission at a designated time to retrieve traffic from the AP after completing the back-off procedures (read as AP 104 may suppress adjacent channel interference ACI in some aspects so that the AP 104 may receive UL communications on more than one channel simultaneously without causing significant ADC clipping noise; AP may improve suppression of ACI by having separate FIR filters for each channel or having a longer ADC backoff period with increased bit width) (Asterjadhi – column 5 lines 41-48). Regarding claim 11 as applied to claim 9 , Asterjadhi further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: receive a trigger frame from the AP requesting the station to transmit a power-save (PS) poll frame at the recommended wake time; transmit the PS poll frame to the AP at the recommended wake time (read as when the STA receives an indication that it has frames buffered at the AP, the STA may send a polling message to the AP to indicate that it is ready to receive any buffered frames wherein the polling message can be a Power Save Poll (PS-Poll); the STA 114 provide the AP 104 with an amount of time that it requires to wake up from a sleep state to be ready to receive and/or transmit communication with the AP 104) (Asterjadhi – column 7 lines 24-44, column 7 lines 66-67, column 8 lines 1-20). Regarding claim 12 as applied to claim 9 , Asterjadhi further teaches wherein one or more of the stations comprise non-AP stations (read as STA 114 may be no authenticated and not associated with the AP 104) (Asterjadhi – column 6 lines 31-51). Regarding claim 13 as applied to claim 9 , Asterjadhi further teaches wherein: the WTRE includes an indication of a duration that the recommended wake time will remain valid; and the station is configured to awaken to perform frame exchanges with the AP at the recommended wake time (read as amount of time may be provided by the STA to the AP during association as part of an information element that is included in the association request frame, or in any management frame exchanged with the AP) (Asterjadhi – column 7 lines 66-67, column 8 lines 1-20). Regarding claim 14 as applied to claim 9 , Asterjadhi further teaches wherein the station is a non-AP multi-link device (MLD) including one or more affiliated non-AP stations, and the non-AP MLD establishes one or more links, each link associated with a respective one of the one or more affiliated non-AP stations; and during multi-link operation (MLO), one or more affiliated non-AP stations transition to an awake state at the recommended wake time on recommended links, the recommended links being indicated by link identifiers included in the WTRE (read as communication link that facilitates transmission from AP to one or more of the STAs may be referred to as a downlink (DL) 108, and a communication link that facilitates transmission from one or more of the STAs to the AP 104 may be referred to as an uplink (UL) 110; downlink 108 may be referred to as forward link and an uplink 110 may be referred to as a reverse link; D: communications may include multicast traffic indications) (Asterjadhi – column 5 lines 31-40). Regarding claim 15 as applied to claim 9 , Asterjadhi further teaches wherein the WTRE includes an indication whether the recommendation is a long-term recommendation to continue for at least one station over a prescribed time period (Asterjadhi – column 11 lines 29-44). Regarding claim 16 , Asterjadhi teaches a method performed by an Access Point (AP), the method comprising: transmitting, to one or more stations (read as clients also referred to as stations or “STAs”) (Asterjadhi – column 3 lines 64-67, column 4 lines 1-8, column 4 lines 15-33), a wake time recommendation element (WTRE) (read as AP may indicate a target transmission time for a trigger frame; a triggered target wake time TWT may be broadcast by including a target wake time TWT element in the beacon transmitted from the AP) (Asterjadhi – column 9 lines 10-21), the WTRE including at least (i) an identity of one or more stations (read as AP may then periodically announce which STAs have data frames buffered in the AP buffer, this announcement made in the beacon from the AP such as in a Traffic Indication Map (TIM); the broadcast TWT element may indicate a TWT spacing for each corresponding STA; therefore TWT offset may be different for different STAs) (Asterjadhi – column 7 lines 24-44, column 11 lines 45-57); and (ii) a recommended wake time after transmission of the WTRE for the one or more stations to transmit or receive data beginning at the wake time (read as if the STA is a limited capability device then the AP may determine to use a longer wake time period for the STA while it may use a shorter wake time period if the STA is a high capability device) (Asterjadhi – column 8 lines 21-30); and receiving, at the recommended wake time from the one or more stations, an indication that the one or more stations are ready to exchange data with the AP (read as when the STA receives an indication that it has frames buffered at the AP, the STA may send a polling message to the AP to indicate that it is ready to receive any buffered frames wherein the polling message can be a Power Save Poll (PS-Poll); the STA 114 provide the AP 104 with an amount of time that it requires to wake up from a sleep state to be ready to receive and/or transmit communication with the AP 104) (Asterjadhi – column 7 lines 24-44, column 7 lines 66-67, column 8 lines 1-20). Regarding claim 17 as applied to claim 16 , Asterjadhi further teaches wherein the WTRE includes an indication of a duration that the recommended wake time will remain valid (read as amount of time may be provided by the STA to the AP during association as part of an information element that is included in the association request frame, or in any management frame exchanged with the AP) (Asterjadhi – column 7 lines 66-67, column 8 lines 1-20). Regarding claim 18 as applied to claim 16 , Asterjadhi further teaches wherein the WTRE includes: an indication whether compliance with the at least one recommended wake time is optional or mandatory; and a purpose of the recommended wake time (Asterjadhi – column 13 lines 25-33). Regarding claim 19 as applied to claim 16 , Asterjadhi further teaches further comprising determining the recommended wake time based on at least one of: a time synchronization function corresponding to an intended wake time time (read as other nodes (STAs) to synchronize their timing with the AP 104) (Asterjadhi – column 5 lines 61-67, column 6 lines 1-15); one or more transmit units corresponding to a time gap between transmission of the WTRE and the intended wake time (read as the TWT request frame may contain the time offset to the next beacon the STA intends to receive and the periodicity of the beacons it intends to receive from the AP) (Asterjadhi – column 7 lines 66-67, column 8 lines 1-20), or an identifier of a beacon segment corresponding to the intended wake time, wherein a beacon interval following transmission of the WTRE is partitioned into equal-length beacon segments (read as transmission of a beacon may be divided into a number of groups or intervals) (Asterjadhi – column 5 lines 61-67, column 6 lines 1-15). Regarding claim 20 as applied to claim 16 , Asterjadhi further teaches wherein the WTRE includes an indication whether the recommendation is a long-term recommendation to continue for at least one station over a prescribed time period (Asterjadhi – column 11 lines 29-44). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to APRIL GUZMAN GONZALES whose telephone number is (571)270-1101. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:00 am to 4:00 pm EST. The examiner’s email address is april.guzman@uspto.gov. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Wesley L. Kim can be reached at (571) 272-7867. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /APRIL G GONZALES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/766,545 Page 2 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/766,545 Page 3 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/766,545 Page 4 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/766,545 Page 5 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/766,545 Page 6 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/766,545 Page 7 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/766,545 Page 8 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/766,545 Page 9 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/766,545 Page 10 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/766,545 Page 11 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/766,545 Page 12 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/766,545 Page 13 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/766,545 Page 14 Art Unit: 2648