DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/3/2026 have been fully considered. Regarding the effective filing date of the claims, applicant argues the claims no longer recite “the pre-drilled hole” or the “first perforation aligned with the pre-drilled hole” and that there is support for a second perforation formed in the membrane during manufacture of the membrane. In light of the amendments, the claims have an effective filing date of 6/24/2014 which is the filing date of parent application 14/313685. Note that “second perforations formed in the membrane during manufacture” is broadly interpreted to include any stage of manufacture of the membrane since no specific manufacturing steps as they relate to the second perforations are disclosed. In other words, since the holes are present, they had to have been manufactured at some time. All other arguments are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 and 6-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, it is unclear if a reinforcement binder is positively recited and required by the claim. The last two lines of claim 1 recite “certain of the first perforations are located near a reinforcement binder of the membrane”. Since the first perforations are positively recited in the claim and the first perforations are “near” a reinforcement binder of the membrane it appears this means the claim requires the membrane to have a reinforcement binder. However, claim 13 recites “further comprising a reinforcement binder”, and it is unclear why claim 13 would need to add a reinforcement binder if claim 1 was positively reciting a reinforcement binder. Please clarify claim 1 to make it clear whether the membrane comprises the reinforcement binder or not. To more clearly positively recite a reinforcement binder, claim 1 could be amended to require that the membrane comprises a reinforcement binder. Alternatively, if claim 1 was intended to not positively recite a reinforcement binder, the last two lines of claim 1 could be amended to recite “certain of the first perforations are configured to be located near a reinforcement binder
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartee et al. 2010/0217392 (hereafter referred to as Bartee) in view of Horvath DE 10 2012 024 206 A1 (hereafter referred to as Horvath; refer to the English language version, US 2015/0265407, for passages referenced herein).
Regarding claim 1, Bartee discloses a membrane (figs.10-13) configured to guide bone and tissue regeneration for a bone defect (par.16), the membrane comprising: a first layer 116, 126, 136 made of expanded polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) configured to contact bone and including first pores in a size range of 30 micrometers to 1000 micrometers (table 1 discloses an internodal distance of 65 +/- 15 microns; see pars.42, 50, and 54 and the internodal distance is the pore size), and a second layer 114, 124, 134 made of an unsintered, substantially unexpanded polytetrafluoroethylene having a denser structure compared to the first layer (par.50 discloses the same density of the instant application dPTFE; dense PTFE has a higher density than expanded PTFE since the expanded PTFE has measurable internodal distance of for example 65 microns and the dense PTFE has a nominal pore channel size of less than about 5 microns or 0.5 microns as discussed in par.43) and having second pores formed therein that provide a limited porosity that allows for passage of ions and other small molecules necessary for cellular nourishment and waste transport (par.31 discloses this functional limitation), wherein: pore channels provided by the second pores have a nominal pore channel size of less than 5 micrometers (par.43 says less than 5 micrometers and less than 0.5 micrometers), the second layer is fixedly coupled to the first layer (pars.38 and 54-56), the membrane is capable of being spread over the bone defect (fig.5), second perforations formed in the membrane during manufacture of the membrane or formed in the membrane by the user (considered the perforations at least formed when the screws and/or pins are placed through the membrane and holes 102) are capable of receiving fasteners that are configured to fasten the membrane to an area of bone, thereby holding the membrane in place at the bone defect (pars.13, 48, 54 and 60; fig.10), and further comprising a reinforcement binder 101, 112, 12, 132 (figs. 10-13). While Bartee discloses the invention substantially as claimed, Bartee does not disclose first perforations formed in the membrane during manufacture of the membrane or formed in the membrane by a user are provided across a surface of the membrane and extend through the membrane, each of the first perforations comprises a co-axial through-hole extending through all layers of the membrane and having a substantially circular cross-section with a diameter of between 0.1 mm and 3.0 mm throughout all layers of the membrane, and certain of the first perforations are located near the reinforcement binder of the membrane.
Horvath teaches a membrane for guided bone regeneration for a bone defect (par.37 discloses the membrane can be used as a “simple membrane” and par.111 discloses the membrane is affixed on the bone via screws), in the same field of endeavor, wherein the membrane has a plurality of layers 20 and 30, including a porous bone contacting layer 30 (par.118), wherein the membrane comprises first perforations 40 provided across a surface of the membrane (fig.2) extending through all layers of the membrane (par.36 discusses perforations and states “The membrane according to an aspect of the invention can therefore be preferably perforated. It can thus have pores that extend from the mating surface through the membrane to the contact surface”), wherein the first perforations comprise co-axial through-holes 40 (figs. 1-3; see fig.1 for pores 40 being co-axial through at least layers 20 and 30), that have substantially circular cross-sections (see substantial circles 40 in fig.2) with diameters of about 0.5 mm to about 1.0 mm (par.63 gives an example of 1 mm and par.65 discloses a range of 0.1-1.5 mm) throughout all layers of the membrane (figs. 1 and 3 show through holes 40 through all layers) for the purpose of ensuring the bone defect is well supplied with nutrients and blood through the pores and to allow for osteoblasts to receive enough biomechanical pulses to be stimulated to form bone (par.36). Horvath par.36 discusses that it appears, surprisingly, that providing biomechanical pulses is far more important than shielding the bone defect from ingrowth of surrounding connective tissue and as such, the membrane can be preferably perforated.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the perforations comprising substantially circular, co-axial through-holes having a diameter of 1 mm as taught by Horvath across the membrane of Bartee in order to improve nutrient and blood supply as well as biomechanical pulses to the bone defect to enhance clinical outcomes. It is noted that Horvath teaches co-axial through holes through at least layers 20 and 30, therefore it would have been obvious to provide co-axial through holes to the membrane of Bartee in the same manner such that the through holes are straight and co-axial through layers 114 and 116. While portions of pores 40 in layer 10 of Horvath are somewhat offset relative to the portions of the pores 40 in layers 20 and 30, it would have been further obvious to align the entire length of each pore of the membrane of Bartee in view of Horvath on a single straight axis in order to provide a straight path for nutrients, blood, and biomechanical pulses to optimally reach the bone defect. Regarding the limitation “certain of the first perforations are located near a reinforcement binder of the membrane”, Horvath teaches the through perforations 40 are located across the surface of the membrane, near edges of the membrane as well as in a central region of the membrane (see Horvath fig.2), therefore the membrane of Bartee as modified to include the first perforations as shown in Horvath fig.2 includes first perforations “near” a reinforcement binder of Bartee which is shown in figs. 10-13 as being located in a central region of the membrane with portions extending toward the edges of the membrane.
Regarding claim 2, see Bartee par.38 for an adhesive layer to bond the layers.
Regarding claim 3, see Horvath par.63 which gives an example of 1 mm and Horvath par.65 which discloses a range of 0.1-1.5 mm.
Regarding claim 6, see Bartee fig.10 which shows pilot holes 102 near an edge of the membrane. Therefore, at least when the fasteners are applied through the membrane and pilot holes, at least one second perforation is located near an edge of the membrane.
Regarding claim 7, see Horvath fig.2 for a discontinuous surface caused by the first perforations 40.
Regarding claim 8, the first layer of Bartee comprises ePTFE with pores as claimed and therefore inherently has a texture resulting from a distribution of the pores formed in the first layer of the membrane in the same way as the instant application.
Regarding claim 9, see Bartee par.15 for the claimed membrane thickness.
Regarding claims 10 and 11, the claims are directed to the intended use of the membrane. The membrane of Bartee in view of Horvath is made of the same materials as the implant of the instant application and is therefore capable of being trimmed as claimed.
Regarding claim 12, see Bartee par.54 for pins or screws.
Regarding claim 13, see Bartee figs. 10-13 for the reinforcement binders 101, 112, 122, 132, and par. 49 for the binder being provided between the first and second layers.
Regarding claims 14-15, the method of forming the membrane is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself (see MPEP 2113). The final product of Bartee in view of Horvath comprises a first layer comprising ePTFE (Bartee par.50) which inherently has pores formed as cavities in the ePTFE material.
Regarding claim 16, see Bartee Table 1 for 65 micrometer pores which is less than 500 micrometers.
Regarding claims 17-18, Bartee par.43 discloses less than 0.2 micrometers for the pore channels of the denser second layer.
Regarding claims 19-20, the method of forming the membrane is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself (see MPEP 2113). The final product of Bartee in view of Horvath comprises a second layer comprising unsintered, substantially unexpended PTFE (Bartee par.43) which inherently has pores formed as cavities in the unsintered, substantially unexpended PTFE material.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 7-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,059,335. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent anticipate the claims of the application.
Regarding claim 1 of the application, see claim 1 of the patent.
Regarding claim 2 of the application, see claim 14 of the patent.
Regarding claim 3 of the application, see claim 2 of the patent.
Regarding claims 7 and 8 of the application, see claim 1 of the patent, wherein the first perforations and pores inherently cause the membrane to have a textured discontinuous surface.
Regarding claim 9 of the application, see claim 3 of the patent.
Regarding claims 10 and 11 of the application, see claim 1 of the patent which is capable of being used as claimed.
Regarding claim 12 of the application, see claim 4 of the patent.
Regarding claim 13 of the application, see claim 5 of the patent.
Regarding claim 14 of the application, see claim 6 of the patent.
Regarding claim 15 of the application, see claim 7 of the patent.
Regarding claim 16 of the application, see claim 13 of the patent.
Regarding claim 17 of the application, see claim 11 of the patent.
Regarding claim 18 of the application, see claim 12 of the patent.
Regarding claim 19 of the application, see claim 8 of the patent.
Regarding claim 20 of the application, see claim 9 of the patent.
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,059,335 in view of Bartee. Patent claim 1 substantially discloses the membrane of claim 6 of the application but does not disclose that at least one of the second perforations is located near an edge of the membrane.
Bartee teaches a membrane, in the same field of endeavor, wherein fasteners are placed near the edge of the membrane (fig.10 shows holes 102 near the edges of the membrane) for the purpose of securing the membrane to the surgical site (par.54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place at least one of the second perforations near an edge of the membrane of patent claim 1 as taught by Bartee in order to secure the membrane to the surgical site.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MEGAN Y WOLF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774