DETAILED ACTION
This detailed action is in response to the application filed on 07/08/2024, and any subsequent filings.
Notations “C_”, “L_” and “Pr_” are used to mean “column_”, “line_” and “paragraph_”.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “M” has been used to designate both an inlet end and a retention end. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: N. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The title of the invention is “APPARATUSES ADN METHODS FOR FILTRATION” which may have intended to read “APPARATUSES AND METHODS FOR FILTRATION”.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 16 may have intended to read “and an angle between the axial direction…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-8, 11, 13-15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 reads “the first supporting member” in line 6. It is unclear to which of the “at least one support member” of Claim 1 this refers, rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim 4 reads “the first support member” in lines 3-4. It is unclear to which of the at least one first support member of Claim 1 this refers, rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim 5 reads “one of the one or more filtration membranes includes at least one…” in lines 2-3. It is unclear how many filtration membranes are involved in the apparatus of Claim 5, rendering the claim indefinite. The “one of the one…” implies that only one filtration membrane is being defined whereas the “includes at least one…” implies the presence of multiple filtration membranes or that a single membrane comprises multiple membranes.
Claim 6 reads “a filtration direction”. It is unclear if this “a filtration direction” is the same or distinct from the “filtration direction” of Claim 1, rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim 6 reads “one of the plurality of filtration layers” and “the one of the at least one filtration layer”. It is unclear whether these refer to the same or distinct filtration layers, rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim 7 reads “ends of the at least one flow-through layer…” and “an end of each of the at least one flow-through layer”. It is unclear whether the “end of each of the at least one flow-through layer” is the same or distinct from the “ends”, rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim 7 reads “ends of the at least one flow-through layer…” and “an end of each of the at least one filtration layer”. It is unclear whether the “end of each of the at least one filtration layer” is the same or distinct from the “ends”, rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim 8 reads “ends of the flow-through layer and the filtration layer”, “an end of the flow-through layer” and “an end of the filtration layer”. It is unclear to which of the “at least one flow-through layer” and the “at least one filtration layer” these refer.
Claim 11 reads “each of the second support members”. It is unclear whether this refers to the same or distinct second support members as “the plurality of second support members” or “the at least one second support members”.
Claim 11 reads “two adjacent second flow channels”. It is unclear whether this refers to the same or distinct second flow channels as “at least one second flow channel”.
Claims 13-14 and 17-18 read “the liquid-dispensing component”. It is unclear to which of the “at least one liquid-dispensing component” of Claim 12 this refers.
Claim 15 reads “one of the liquid diverters”. It is unclear whether the “one of the liquid diverters” of Claim 15 refers to the same or distinct liquid diverters as the “plurality of liquid diverters” of Claim 13.
Claim 16 reads “the liquid-diverting ring”. It is unclear to which of the “plurality of liquid-diverting rings” this refers, rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim 17 reads “the liquid branch pipe”. It is unclear to which of the “at least one liquid branch pipe” this refers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 9, 12 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication US20200078712A1 (‘Strohm’).
The Applicant’s claim is directed towards an apparatus (Claims 1-2, 12) and a method (Claims 19-20).
Regarding Claims 1-3, 6, 9, 12, Strohm discloses an apparatus for filtration (abstract), comprising:
at least one filtration layer (Fig. 11, [0160], fluid-pervious sheet-material layer 406); and
at least one flow-through layer (Fig. 11, [0160], fluid-impervious material layer 408) disposed along a filtration direction of the filtration layer (Fig. 11);
wherein one of the at least one flow-through layer includes at least one first support member (Fig. 11 and 11A-B, [0174], portions of layer 408 between channels 410), and at least one first flow channel (Fig. 11, [0161], channels 410), the at least one first flow channel is configured for a liquid to flow ([0161]), and the at least one first support member defines the at least one first flow channel (Fig. 11 and 11A-B, [0161]).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 2: a retention end (Fig. 11 and 11B, [0168], end with fluid collecting plate 422) of the apparatus for filtration is in communication with the at least one flow-through layer, a retention liquid in the at least one flow-through layer is discharged through the retention end of the apparatus for filtration (Fig. 11 and 11B, [0168], fluid flowing through plurality of openings 440), and an inlet end (Fig. 11 and 11A, [0166], end with fluid distribution plates 420) of the apparatus for filtration is in flow communication with the at least one flow-through layer (Fig. 11 and 11A, [0166]).
Claim 3: the at least one first support member includes a plurality of first support members spaced apart, and one of the at least one first flow channel is arranged between two adjacent first supporting members among the plurality of first support members (Fig. 1 and 11); or
the at least one first support member is in a wavy plate-like structure, and one or more first grooves are disposed on both sides of the first supporting member along a thickness direction, and the one or more first grooves define the at least one first flow channel.
Claim 6: the at least one flow-through layer includes a plurality of flow-through layers,
wherein one of the at least one filtration layer is disposed on each of both sides along a thickness direction of one of the plurality of flow-through layers; and/or the at least one filtration layer includes a plurality of filtration layers, wherein one of the at least one flow-through layer is disposed on each of both sides of one of the plurality of filtration layers along a filtration direction of the one of the at least one filtration layer (Fig. 4 and 11-14).
Claim 9: the apparatus for filtration is a columnar structure, each of the at least one filtration layer and the at least one flowthrough layer of the apparatus for filtration is an annular structure, and the at least one filtration layer and the at least one flow-through layer are coaxially disposed (Fig. 14).
Claim 12: at least one liquid-dispensing component (Fig. 14, [0196], tubing/fluid inlet 612 and tubing/fluid outlet 614 may be reversed), wherein one of the at least one liquid-dispensing component is disposed at an inlet end of the apparatus for filtration or a retention end of the apparatus for filtration (Fig. 14).
Claim 19: A method for filtration ([0194]), comprising: feeding a liquid through an inlet end of an apparatus for filtration ([0094] and [0194]); and
collecting a retention liquid discharged from a retention end of the apparatus for filtration ([0094] and [0194]).
Claim 20: the feeding a liquid through an inlet end of an apparatus for filtration includes:
disposing a liquid-dispensing component (Fig. 14, [0194], fluid inlet 612) at the inlet end of the apparatus for filtration;
transporting the liquid to the inlet end of the apparatus for filtration through the liquid-dispensing component (Fig. 14, [0194]); and/or
the collecting a retention liquid discharged from a retention end of the apparatus for filtration includes:
disposing the liquid-dispensing component at the retention end of the apparatus for filtration (Fig. 14, [0196], tubing/fluid inlet 612 and tubing/fluid outlet 614 may be reversed); and
collecting the retention liquid discharged from the retention end of the apparatus for filtration through the liquid-dispensing component (Fig. 14, [0196], tubing/fluid inlet 612 and tubing/fluid outlet 614 may be reversed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication US20200078712A1 (‘Strohm’) in view of U.S. Publication US20100147762A1 (‘Zhang’).
The Applicant’s claim is directed towards an apparatus.
Regarding Claim 4, Strohm teaches the apparatus for filtration of Claim 1, including that the at least one first flow channel includes a plurality of first flow channels, two adjacent first flow channels of the plurality of first flow channels are separated by one of the at least one first support member (Strohm, Fig. 1 and 11), except that the first support member is provided with a first communication pore, and the two adjacent first flow channels are in flow communication through the first communication pore.
Zhang also relates to an apparatus for filtration (abstract), including that the at least one first flow channel includes a plurality of first flow channels (Fig. 1, [0015], macropores include pore columns 20), two adjacent first flow channels of the plurality of first flow channels are separated by one of the at least one first support member (Fig. 1, [0015], substrate 16), the first support member is provided with a first communication pore (Fig. 1, [0015], branched pores 18), and the two adjacent first flow channels are in flow communication through the first communication pore ([0015]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the first support member of Strohm to be provided with a first communication pore, as demonstrated by Zhang, to connect the pores and form a continuous network of pores (Zhang, [0015]), increasing porosity of the filter (Zhang, [0015]) and enhancing the throughput of the apparatus for filtration (Zhang, [0016]).
Claims 5, 7-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication US20200078712A1 (‘Strohm’) in view of U.S. Publication US20190282963A1 (‘Steen’).
The Applicant’s claims are directed towards an apparatus.
Regarding Claim 5, Strohm teaches the apparatus for filtration of Claim 1, including that except that the at least one filtration layer includes a filtration screen (Strohm, [0036]), except that the at least one filtration layer includes one or more filtration membranes, one of the one or more filtration membranes includes at least one of a hollow fiber membrane, a plate membrane, or a rolled membrane, and the filtration screen supports the one or more filtration membranes.
Steen also relates to an apparatus for filtration (abstract), including that the at least one filtration layer includes one or more filtration membranes ([0100] and [0102]), one of the one or more filtration membranes includes at least one of a hollow fiber membrane, a plate membrane, or a rolled membrane ([0102], Fig. 15), and the filtration screen supports the one or more filtration membranes ([0102], Fig. 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the at least one filtration layer of Strohm to include one or more filtration membranes, as demonstrated by Steen, because both Strohm and Steen are concerned with filters wound up into a coiled form around a cylindrical supporting structure (Strohm, Fig. 12, [0176] and Steen, Fig. 15, [0117]).
Regarding Claim 7, Strohm discloses the apparatus for filtration of Claim 1, including that the apparatus for filtration is a columnar structure (Strohm, Fig. 11 and 11A-B), the apparatus for filtration includes a filtrate discharge pipeline (Strohm, Fig. 14, [0194], fluid outlet 614), the at least one filtration layer and the at least one flow-through layer are alternately disposed along a radial direction of the filtrate discharge pipeline (Strohm, Fig. 11 and 14); and ends of the at least one flow-through layer and the at least one filtration layer away from the filtrate discharge pipeline along a spiral direction are both closed (Strohm, Fig. 12, [0013]), and an end of each of the at least one filtration layer close to the filtrate discharge pipeline is in flow communication with the filtrate discharge pipeline through the collection pore (Strohm, Fig. 11, 11B and 14, fluid collecting plate 422 is provided with a plurality of openings 440), except that the at least one filtration layer and the at least one flow-through layer are spirally encircled along a circumferential direction of the filtrate discharge pipeline; and the filtrate discharge pipeline is provided with a collection pore passing through a side wall of the filtrate discharge pipeline; and an end of each of the at least one flow-through layer close to the filtrate discharge pipeline along the spiral direction is connected to the side wall of the filtrate discharge pipeline.
Steen teaches that the at least one filtration layer and the at least one flow-through layer are spirally encircled along a circumferential direction of the filtrate discharge pipeline (Fig. 6, [0101], perforated hollow core permeate collection tube 140); and
the filtrate discharge pipeline is provided with a collection pore ([0101], perforated) passing through a side wall of the filtrate discharge pipeline; and
an end of each of the at least one flow-through layer (Fig. 6, [0101], permeate spacer 130) close to the filtrate discharge pipeline along the spiral direction is connected to the side wall of the filtrate discharge pipeline (Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the at least one filtration layer and the at least one flow-through layer are spirally encircled along a circumferential direction of the filtrate discharge pipeline of Strohm, as demonstrated by Steen, because both Strohm and Steen are concerned with filters wound up into a coiled form around a cylindrical supporting structure (Strohm, Fig. 12, [0176] and Steen, Fig. 15, [0117]).
Regarding Claim 8, Strohm discloses the apparatus for filtration of Claim 1, including that the apparatus for filtration is a columnar structure (Strohm, Fig. 11 and 11A-B), the apparatus for filtration includes a filtrate discharge pipeline (Strohm, Fig. 14, [0194], fluid outlet 614); a plurality of filtration groups are provided apart along a circumferential direction of the filtrate discharge pipeline (Strohm, Fig. 11), and the plurality of filtration groups are spirally encircled along the circumferential direction of the filtration discharge pipeline (Strohm, [0180], Fig. 11-12); and each filtration group of the plurality of filtration groups includes one of the at least one filtration layer and one of the at least one flow-through layer connected to the at least one filtration layer (Strohm, Fig. 11), and for each filtration group, ends of the flow-through layer and the filtration layer away from the filtrate discharge pipeline along a spiral direction are closed (Strohm, Fig. 12, [0176]), except that the filtrate discharge pipeline is provided with a collection pore passing through a side wall of the filtrate discharge pipeline; and an end of the flowthrough layer close to the filtrate discharge pipeline along the spiral direction is connected to the side wall of the filtrate discharge pipeline, and an end of the filtration layer close to the filtrate discharge pipeline is in flow communication with the filtrate discharge pipeline through the collection pore.
Steen teaches that the filtrate discharge pipeline (Fig. 6, [0101], perforated hollow core permeate collection tube 140) is provided with a collection pore passing through a side wall of the filtrate discharge pipeline ([0101], perforated);
an end of the flowthrough layer (see spacer 130 in Fig. 6, [0101]) close to the filtrate discharge pipeline along the spiral direction is connected to the side wall of the filtrate discharge pipeline (Fig. 6, [0101]), and
an end of the filtration layer close to the filtrate discharge pipeline is in flow communication with the filtrate discharge pipeline through the collection pore (Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the filtrate discharge pipeline to be provided with a collection pore passing through a side wall of the filtrate discharge pipeline of Strohm, as demonstrated by Steen, because both Strohm and Steen are concerned with filters wound up into a coiled form around a cylindrical supporting structure (Strohm, Fig. 12, [0176] and Steen, Fig. 15, [0117]), and because, a collection pore allows discharge of permeate from the filter element (Steen, [0100]).
Regarding Claim 10, Strohm discloses the apparatus for filtration of Claim 1, except for at least one permeable layer disposed along the filtration direction of the at least one filtration layer, one of the at least one permeable layer is provided with at least one second support member and at least one second flow channel, and the at least one second support member defines the at least one second flow channel.
Steen teaches at least one permeable layer (Fig. 13, [0101], layer comprising permeate spacer) disposed along the filtration direction of the at least one filtration layer (Fig. 13), one of the at least one permeable layer is provided with at least one second support member (Fig. 13, [0101], permeate spacer) and at least one second flow channel, and the at least one second support member defines the at least one second flow channel ([0101], permeate space maintains a flow channel for the discharge of permeate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the filtrate discharge pipeline to be provided with a collection pore passing through a side wall of the filtrate discharge pipeline of Strohm, as demonstrated by Steen, because both Strohm and Steen are concerned with filters wound up into a coiled form around a cylindrical supporting structure (Strohm, Fig. 12, [0176] and Steen, Fig. 15, [0117]), and because the at least one second support member of Steen can support permeate discharge and can prevent a feed channel from ballooning (Steen, [0110]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication US20200078712A1 (‘Strohm’) and U.S. Publication US20190282963A1 (‘Steen’) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of U.S. Publication US20100147762A1 (‘Zhang’).
The Applicant’s claim is directed towards an apparatus.
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Strohm and Steen teaches the apparatus for filtration of Claim 10, including that the at least one second support member includes a plurality of second support members spaced apart (Steen, Fig. 11), and one of the at least one second flow channel is defined between two adjacent second supporting members among the plurality of second support members (Steen, [0064], a flow path can have one or more flow obstructions, as in the case, of rectangular channels formed by flat-sheet membranes spaced apart by spacers), except that each of the second support members is provided with at least one second communication pore, and the at least one second communication pore is in flow communication with two adjacent second flow channels.
Zhang teaches that each of the second support members (Fig. 2, [0018], anodized substrate 44 comprises a first portion 54) is provided with at least one second communication pore (Fig. 2, [0018], network of interconnected pores including branched pores 58), and the at least one second communication pore is in flow communication with two adjacent second flow channels (Fig. 2, [0018], pore columns 60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for each of the second support members of Strohm and Steen to be provided with at least one second communication pore, as demonstrated by Zhang, to connect the pores and form a continuous network of pores (Zhang, [0015]), increasing porosity of the filter (Zhang, [0015]) and enhancing the throughput of the apparatus for filtration (Zhang, [0016]).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication US20200078712A1 (‘Strohm’) in view of U.S. Publication US20050061735A1 (‘Heidenreich’) and in further view of U.S. Publication US20150367257A1 (‘Richardson’).
The Applicant’s claims are directed towards an apparatus.
Regarding Claims 13-14, Strohm teaches the apparatus for filtration of Claim 12, except that the liquid-dispensing component includes a liquid main pipe, a plurality of liquid diverters, and a housing; the plurality of liquid diverters are spaced apart in the housing along a height direction of the housing, and along the height direction of the housing, a cross-sectional area of a side of each of the plurality of liquid diverters away from the liquid main pipe is larger than a cross-sectional area of a side of each of the plurality of liquid diverters close to the liquid main pipe; and an external pipeline is in flow communication with an interior of the housing through the liquid main pipe.
Heidenreich also relates to an apparatus for filtration (abstract), including that the liquid-dispensing component includes a liquid main pipe, a plurality of liquid diverters (Fig. 1 and 8, [0048], pipes 31), and a housing (Fig. 8, [0048], housing); the plurality of liquid diverters are spaced apart in the housing along a height direction of the housing (Fig. 8), and along the height direction of the housing (Fig. 8), and an external pipeline (Fig. 8, [0048], second filtrate outlet 53) is in flow communication with an interior of the housing through the liquid main pipe (Fig. 8).
Richardson also relates to an apparatus for filtration (abstract), including a cross-sectional area of a side of each of the plurality of liquid diverters away from the liquid main pipe is larger than a cross-sectional area of a side of each of the plurality of liquid diverters close to the liquid main pipe ([0146] and [0153]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the liquid-dispensing component of Strohm to include a liquid main pipe, a plurality of liquid diverters, and a housing; the plurality of liquid diverters are spaced apart in the housing along a height direction of the housing, and along the height direction of the housing; and an external pipeline is in flow communication with an interior of the housing through the liquid main pipe, as demonstrated by Heidenreich, so that the distance traveled by the filtrate is approximately identical and so all channels for fluid to be filtered equally contribute to the filtration capacity (Heidenreich, [0011]). It would have been obvious for the cross-sectional area of a side of each of the plurality of liquid diverters away from the liquid main pipe is larger than a cross-sectional area of a side of each of the plurality of liquid diverters close to the liquid main pipe in the combination of Strohm and Heidenreich, as demonstrated by Richardson, to decrease fluid flow restriction (Richardson, [0089] and [0156]).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 14: liquid-dispensing component further includes a first liquid-drainage (Strohm, Fig. 11 and 11B, [0168], fluid collecting plate 422), the first liquid-drainage is disposed on the side of the plurality of liquid diverters close to the liquid main pipe, and along the height direction of the housing (Strohm, Fig. 11), a cross-sectional area of a side of the first liquid-drainage away from the liquid main pipe is larger than a cross-sectional area of a side of the first liquid-drainage close to the liquid main pipe (It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the first liquid-drainage of the combination of Strohm, Heidenreich and Richardson to have a cross-sectional area of a side of the first liquid-drainage away from the liquid main pipe is larger than a cross-sectional area of a side of the first liquid-drainage close to the liquid main pipe to decrease fluid flow restriction (Richardson, [0089] and [0156])).
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication US20200078712A1 (‘Strohm’), U.S. Publication US20050061735A1 (‘Heidenreich’) and U.S. Publication US20150367257A1 (‘Richardson’) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of U.S. Publication US20220288535A1 (‘Weingardt’).
The Applicant’s claims are directed towards an apparatus.
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Strohm, Heidenreich and Richardson teaches the apparatus for filtration of Claim 13, except that one of the liquid diverters includes a plurality of diverting bars, along the height direction of the housing, a cross-sectional area of a side of each of the plurality of diverting bars away from the liquid main pipe is larger than a cross-sectional area of a side of each of the plurality of diverting bars close to the liquid main pipe; and the plurality of diverting bars are spaced apart along the height direction of the housing.
Weingardt also relates to an apparatus for filtration (abstract), including that one of the liquid diverters includes a plurality of diverting bars rings (Fig. 5, [0040] and [0044], barrier lines 46), along the height direction of the housing (Fig. 5), a cross-sectional area of a side of each of the plurality of diverting bars away from the liquid main pipe is larger than a cross-sectional area of a side of each of the plurality of diverting bars close to the liquid main pipe (Fig. 6, [0045]); and the plurality of diverting bars are spaced apart along the height direction of the housing (Fig. 5-6).
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Strohm, Heidenreich and Richardson teaches the apparatus for filtration of Claim 13, except that the plurality of liquid diverters are a plurality of liquid-diverting rings, the plurality of liquid-diverting rings are coaxially disposed, an angle between the axial direction of the liquid-diverting ring and the height direction of the housing is less than 90°.
Weingardt also relates to an apparatus for filtration (abstract), including that the plurality of liquid diverters are a plurality of liquid-diverting rings (Fig. 5, [0040] and [0044], barrier lines 46. Barrier lines 46 are being interpreted as rings because the barrier lines 46 are positioned around the perimeter of the feed space of a spiral wound membrane, [0040]) the plurality of liquid-diverting rings are coaxially disposed (Fig. 5), an angle between the axial direction of the liquid-diverting ring and the height direction of the housing is less than 90° (Fig. 6, [0045], barrier line 55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the plurality of liquid diverters of the combination of Strohm, Heidenreich and Richardson to be a plurality of liquid-diverting rings or liquid-diverting bars, as demonstrated by Weingardt, to maintain a relatively constant flow velocity with respect to element rejection (Weingardt, [0045]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication US20200078712A1 (‘Strohm’) in view of U.S. Publication US20210101806A1 (‘Kim’).
The Applicant’s claim is directed towards an apparatus.
Regarding Claim 17, Strohm teaches the apparatus for filtration of Claim 12, except that the liquid-dispensing component includes a liquid main pipe and at least one liquid branch pipe; one of the at least one liquid branch pipe includes a first opening and a plurality of second openings; and an end of the liquid main pipe is connected to the first opening of the liquid branch pipe, the other end of the liquid main pipe is connected to an external pipeline, and the plurality of second openings of the liquid branch pipe correspond to an end surface of at least one of the inlet end of the apparatus for filtration or the retention end of the apparatus for filtration.
Kim also relates to an apparatus for filtration (abstract), including that the liquid-dispensing component includes a liquid main pipe (Fig. 2, [0064], injection channel 120) and at least one liquid branch pipe; one of the at least one liquid branch pipe includes a first opening and a plurality of second openings (Fig. 2, [0064], branch into a plurality of channels 121, 122, …); and an end of the liquid main pipe is connected to the first opening of the liquid branch pipe (Fig. 2), the other end of the liquid main pipe is connected to an external pipeline ([0064], substance injected into injection channel 120), and the plurality of second openings of the liquid branch pipe correspond to an end surface (Fig. 2) of at least one of the inlet end of the apparatus for filtration (Fig. 2) or the retention end of the apparatus for filtration.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the liquid-dispensing component of Strohm to include a liquid main pipe and at least one branch pipe, as demonstrated by Kim, to distribute a large amount of flow rate (Kim, [0064]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 18 distinguishes over the closest prior art because ‘Strohm’, U.S. Publication US20200078712A1, does not teach the plurality of liquid-diverting baffles are disposed inside the drainage pipe and spaced apart along a direction from close to the port to away from the port, and a length of each of the plurality of liquid-diverting baffles along an extension direction of the drainage pipe increases along the direction from close to the port to away from the port, as claimed.
Conclusion
/BOI-LIEN THI NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1779
/Bobby Ramdhanie/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1779