DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karasick (US 4136675 A), hereinafter Karasick, in view of Coleman (US 4026267 A), hereinafter Coleman.
Regarding claims 1, 4, and 5, Karasick discloses a system, comprising:
a solar thermal power collection and storage system, the solar thermal power collection and storage system comprising:
an insulated barrier surrounding an insulated region (“The frame structure comprises two side supports 18 and 19 and two end supports 20 and 21 all made of suitable low thermal conductivity material such as wood or plastic” column 2, line 48 and “Thermal insulation sheet material 55 underlies the bottom wall 42 of the modules. A lower cover plate 56 encloses the insulation material 55 and is attached to the under surface of the side supports” column 3, line 48);
a stationary thermal energy storage material within the insulated region (“A conventional absorptive coating 53 such as BLACK VELVET (trademark of 3M) is applied to the upper surface of the absorber wall” column 3, line 46); and
a passage for a heat transfer fluid (“the modules together define two serpentine or sinuous flow paths for the transfer fluid. The paths generally can be traced from two inlets 26 and 28 adjacent the two side supports 18 and 19 respectively at the left hand end of the collector as viewed in FIG. 1. The path from one inlet 26 extends along one side support 18 then back and forth to an outlet 30 located at the center of end support 20. The path from the other inlet 28 extends along the other side support 19 then back and forth to the common outlet 30” column 2, line 54), the passage including an inlet end and an outlet end and passing through:
a peripheral point, at a first distance from an exterior surface of the system (A point near either 18 or 19), and
a central point, at a second distance from the exterior surface of the system (A point near the center of figure 1),
the second distance being greater than the first distance (Figure 1), and
a distance, along the passage, from the central point to the inlet end being greater than a distance, along the passage, from the central point to the outlet end (Figure 1).
Karasick does not disclose:
a concentrating solar thermal power collection and storage system;
a light transfer conduit for transferring received energy through the insulated barrier from outside the insulated region to inside the insulated region;
wherein the light transfer conduit extends into the passage.
However, Coleman teaches:
a concentrating solar thermal power collection and storage system (“During periods of daylight, incoming solar energy, solar radiation arrows 28-30, selectively impinge upon lenses 14-16 and are thereafter selectively focused on the respective fiber optic bundles 32-34. The incoming solar radiation is converted to the infrared or thermal spectrum by absorption either along the length of the optical fiber bundle or inside the heat storage and/or utilization room where it is stored until needed” column 5, line 16);
a light transfer conduit (32-34) for transferring received energy through the insulated barrier from outside the insulated region to inside the insulated region (“Preferably, the heat storage room 26 is insulated” column 5, line 39);
wherein the light transfer conduit extends into the passage (Figure 2).
In view of Coleman’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a concentrating and light transfer elements as is taught in Coleman, in the system disclosed by Karasick because Coleman states “What is needed is a solar energy device which is (1) relatively inexpensive to construct, (2) efficiently stores and utilizes a maximal quantity of incident solar radiation” (column 1, line 19). Therefore, including the elements will maximize the quantity of incident solar radiation in Karasick.
Regarding claim 2, Karasick, as modified by Coleman, discloses the system of claim 1, wherein a distance, along the passage, from the peripheral point to the inlet end is less than a distance, along the passage, from the peripheral point to the outlet end (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 3, Karasick, as modified by Coleman, discloses the system of claim 1, wherein a portion of the passage is embedded within the stationary thermal energy storage material (At least the top of the passage 32 is covered by thermal energy storage material 53).
Regarding claim 6, Karasick, as modified by Coleman, discloses the system of claim 1, comprising:
a partition separating a first portion of the passage from a second portion of the passage (One or more of elements 34); and
a port in the partition, the port, when opened, permitting heat transfer fluid to flow through the port from the first portion of the passage into the second portion of the passage (Openings in the path that allow fluid to flow).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karasick, in view of Coleman, and further in view of Kerdil (WO 2011047679 A1), hereinafter Kerdil.
Regarding claim 7, Karasick, as modified by Coleman, discloses a method for operating the system of claim 1, the method comprising:
causing, during a first time interval, heat transfer fluid to flow into the inlet end of the passage (Indicated by the arrows in figure 1).
Karasick, as modified by Coleman, does not disclose causing, during a second time interval, heat transfer fluid to flow into the outlet end of the passage.
However, Kerdil teaches causing, during a second time interval, heat transfer fluid to flow into the outlet end of the passage (“When needed, it is possible to reverse the flow direction of the solar air collector, by reversing the direction of the fan, thereby partly to reduce the risk of overheating of the solar air collector” page 7, line 8).
In view of Kerdil’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include causing, during a second time interval, heat transfer fluid to flow into the outlet end of the passage as is taught in Kerdil, in the method disclosed by Karasick because Kerdil states that the occasional reversal will prevent overheating of the collector.
Claims 8, 9, 11, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freier (US 20150009567 A1), hereinafter Freier, in view of Hoffman (US 20110240094 A1), hereinafter Hoffman.
Regarding claims 8, 9, 11, and 19, Freier discloses a system, comprising:
a concentrating solar energy collector, the concentrating solar energy collector comprising:
a first reflector (“a parabolic reflector 710 having an interior reflective surface 715” paragraph [0050] and/or “a hyperbolic reflector 750” paragraph [0050]);
a first light transfer conduit (“A light duct 770” paragraph [0052]); and
the first reflector being configured to focus received solar radiation onto an entrance to the first light transfer conduit,
a reflected ray path from the first reflector extending to the entrance to the first light transfer conduit (“The light duct 770 includes an entrance aperture 775 positioned such that light reflected from the hyperbolic reflector 750 enters light duct 770 through entrance aperture 775” paragraph [0052]).
Freier does not disclose:
a second reflector;
a second light transfer conduit,
the reflected ray path from the first reflector extending substantially horizontally to the entrance to the first light transfer conduit;
the second reflector is configured to focus received solar radiation onto an entrance to the second light transfer conduit, a reflected ray path from the second reflector extending substantially horizontally to the entrance to the second light transfer conduit;
a third light transfer conduit;
a third reflector, configured to focus received solar radiation onto an entrance to the third light transfer conduit;
a fourth light transfer conduit;
a fourth reflector, configured to focus received solar radiation onto an entrance to the fourth light transfer conduit, wherein:
a reflected ray path from the third reflector extends substantially horizontally to the entrance to the third light transfer conduit, and a reflected ray path from the fourth reflector extends substantially horizontally to the entrance to the fourth light transfer conduit;
the first reflector is an off-axis parabolic reflector focusing received solar radiation generally toward the second reflector, and the second reflector is an off-axis parabolic reflector focusing received solar radiation generally toward the first reflector.
However, Hoffman teaches:
a second reflector (“Each of the four sections of each cell has two paraboloid mirrors, the upper mirror 1022 and the lower mirror 1024” paragraph [0146]);
a second light energy transfer element (“wires 1068 from the photovoltaic cells” paragraph [0146]),
the reflected ray path from the first reflector extending substantially horizontally to the entrance to the first light energy transfer element;
the second reflector is configured to focus received solar radiation onto an entrance to the second light energy transfer element, a reflected ray path from the second reflector extending substantially horizontally to the entrance to the second light energy transfer element (“The dotted lines 862 and 864 show how two rays of incident light, each approaching the reflector parallel its optical axis, are reflected. Light ray 862 is reflected by paraboloid face 831 to land on receiver 844, and light ray 864 is reflected by paraboloid face 821 to land on receiver 844” paragraph [0135]. The examiner notes that this description relates to a separate embodiment that operates similarly);
a third light energy transfer element (“wires 1068 from the photovoltaic cells” paragraph [0146]);
a third reflector, configured to focus received solar radiation onto an entrance to the third light transfer conduit (“Each of the four sections of each cell has two paraboloid mirrors, the upper mirror 1022 and the lower mirror 1024” paragraph [0146]);
a fourth light energy transfer element (“wires 1068 from the photovoltaic cells” paragraph [0146]);
a fourth reflector, configured to focus received solar radiation onto an entrance to the fourth light transfer conduit (“Each of the four sections of each cell has two paraboloid mirrors, the upper mirror 1022 and the lower mirror 1024” paragraph [0146]), wherein:
a reflected ray path from the third reflector extends substantially horizontally to the entrance to the third light energy transfer element, and a reflected ray path from the fourth reflector extends substantially horizontally to the entrance to the fourth light energy transfer element;
the first reflector is an off-axis parabolic reflector focusing received solar radiation generally toward the second reflector, and the second reflector is an off-axis parabolic reflector focusing received solar radiation generally toward the first reflector (“The dotted lines 862 and 864 show how two rays of incident light, each approaching the reflector parallel its optical axis, are reflected. Light ray 862 is reflected by paraboloid face 831 to land on receiver 844, and light ray 864 is reflected by paraboloid face 821 to land on receiver 844” paragraph [0135]. The examiner notes that this description relates to a separate embodiment that operates similarly).
In view of Hoffman’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the configuration as is taught in Hoffman, in the system disclosed by Freier because Hoffman states “shallow form-factors made possible by the shapes of the elements” (paragraph [0070]). Therefore, the multiple reflector configuration of Hoffman will eliminate the need for the support structure 765 and hyperbolic reflector 750 which will simplify the structure and reduce the overall profile of the collector.
Regarding claim 18, Freier, as modified by Hoffman, discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the concentrating solar energy collector is configured:
to articulate in azimuth through a range of azimuth angles spanning at least 90 degrees (“any desired pivoting along the azimuthal direction 685 can be accommodated” paragraph [0040]), to articulate in elevation through a first range of elevation angles spanning at least 60 degrees (“The slot allows the optical axis of the parabola to point anywhere between the horizon (0° solar elevation) and the zenith (90° solar elevation)” paragraph [0105]), to fit within a fixed vertical cylindrical volume, for all azimuth angles in the range of azimuth angles and all elevation angles in the range of elevation angles, the fixed cylindrical volume having a diameter less than 1.5 times a diameter of the reflective surface as seen from the direction of the received solar radiation (Rotation and pivoting of the reflective surface of either Freier or Hoffman will maintain the same within a fixed cylindrical volume less than 1.5 times the outer diameter of the reflective surface).
Claims 8-10, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freier, in view of Johnson (US 4269168 A), hereinafter Johnson.
Regarding claims 8-10, 16, and 19, Freier discloses a system, comprising:
a concentrating solar energy collector, the concentrating solar energy collector comprising:
a first reflector (“a parabolic reflector 710 having an interior reflective surface 715” paragraph [0050] and/or “a hyperbolic reflector 750” paragraph [0050]);
a first light transfer conduit (“A light duct 770” paragraph [0052]); and
the first reflector being configured to focus received solar radiation onto an entrance to the first light transfer conduit,
a reflected ray path from the first reflector extending to the entrance to the first light transfer conduit (“The light duct 770 includes an entrance aperture 775 positioned such that light reflected from the hyperbolic reflector 750 enters light duct 770 through entrance aperture 775” paragraph [0052]);
wherein the first reflector is configured to rotate about a first elevation axis (“The parabolic reflector 710 is supported by supporting arm 782 through pivot points 788” paragraph [0053]).
Freier does not disclose:
a second reflector;
a second light transfer conduit,
the reflected ray path from the first reflector extending substantially horizontally to the entrance to the first light transfer conduit;
the second reflector is configured to focus received solar radiation onto an entrance to the second light transfer conduit, a reflected ray path from the second reflector extending substantially horizontally to the entrance to the second light transfer conduit;
the first elevation axis passing through the entrance to the first light transfer conduit;
the first light transfer conduit includes a curved portion, and the second light transfer conduit includes a curved portion;
the first reflector is an off-axis parabolic reflector focusing received solar radiation generally toward the second reflector, and the second reflector is an off-axis parabolic reflector focusing received solar radiation generally toward the first reflector.
However, Johnson teaches:
a second reflector (50 and 52);
a second light energy transfer element (60 and 61 along with tubing 41 and 43);
the reflected ray path from the first reflector extending substantially horizontally to the entrance to the first light energy transfer element;
the second reflector is configured to focus received solar radiation onto an entrance to the second light energy transfer element, a reflected ray path from the second reflector extending substantially horizontally to the entrance to the second light energy transfer element (“mirror 50 has a focal point at the entrance to solar energy apparatus 61 located behind aperture 53 in mirror 52. Mirror 52 has a similar focal point at the entrance to solar energy absorber apparatus 60 corresponding to aperture 51 in mirror 50” column 5, line 10);
the first elevation axis passing through the entrance to the first light energy transfer element (“solar energy absorber apparatus 60-62 are mounted coaxially with axles 30 and 44 so that each of solar energy absorber apparatus 60-62 remains stationary at the focal point of the respective mirror, mirrors 50, 52” column 4, line 66);
the first light energy transfer element includes a curved portion, and the second light energy transfer element includes a curved portion (“tubing 41 and 43” column 6, line 1 is curved to meet 60 and 61 and exit along the axis);
the first reflector is an off-axis parabolic reflector focusing received solar radiation generally toward the second reflector, and the second reflector is an off-axis parabolic reflector focusing received solar radiation generally toward the first reflector (“the first set of mirrors 51 and 52 and the second set of mirrors 54-57 each have a focal characteristic referred to in the art as a coma in that the focal region from a cylindrical, parabolic mirror with light other than parallel to the symmetry axis of the parabolic cross section is not focused to a single focal point but rather tending toward a tear drop or parabolic-like focal region configuration” column 5, line 34).
In view of Johnson’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the configuration as is taught in Johnson, in the system disclosed by Freier because the multiple reflector configuration of Hoffman will eliminate the need for the support structure 765 and hyperbolic reflector 750 which will simplify the structure and reduce the overall profile of the collector.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freier, in view of Hoffman, and further in view of Gu (US 8184372 B1), hereinafter Gu.
Regarding claim 15, Freier, as modified by Hoffman, discloses the system of claim 8.
Freier, as modified by Hoffman, does not disclose wherein the entrance to the first light transfer conduit is an entrance to a non-imaging concentrator optic.
However, Gu teaches wherein the entrance to the first light transfer conduit is an entrance to a non-imaging concentrator optic (“The secondary concentrator 1205 further concentrates the concentrated light 115 and conducts the concentrated light 115 from the primary concentrator to the at least one fiber optic bundle 905. The secondary concentrator 1205 may be a compound parabolic concentrator (CPC)” column 10, line 4).
In view of Gu’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include wherein the entrance to the first light transfer conduit is an entrance to a non-imaging concentrator optic as is taught in Gu, in the system disclosed by Freier because Gu states that the element further concentrates the light. Therefore, providing a secondary concentrator as taught by Gu will improve collection and concentration of light in Freier.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freier, in view of Hoffman, and further in view of Whitaker (US 4483311 A), hereinafter Whitaker.
Regarding claim 17, Freier, as modified by Hoffman, discloses the system of claim 8.
Freier, as modified by Hoffman, does not disclose wherein the first light transfer conduit conducts light to a fixed final shared light transfer conduit, and the second light transfer conduit conducts light to the fixed final shared light transfer conduit.
However, Whitaker teaches wherein the first light transfer conduit conducts light to a fixed final shared light transfer conduit, and the second light transfer conduit conducts light to the fixed final shared light transfer conduit (“Rays 8, 9, and 10 are refracted by lens 11, causing the rays to converge to form a solar image on the open end of optical fiber 12. Similarly, lens 13 forms a solar image on the open end of fiber 14. Similar action takes place at all other lenses in the matrix. Backpanel 15 holds the open ends of the fibers in proper position for receiving the respective solar images. The several fibers converge to form bundle 16” column 3, line 34).
In view of Whitaker’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include wherein the first light transfer conduit conducts light to a fixed final shared light transfer conduit, and the second light transfer conduit conducts light to the fixed final shared light transfer conduit as is taught in Whitaker, in the system as presently modified because a shared conduit will direct light to its intended destination without tangling.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 12 recites “the third reflector is configured to rotate about a second elevation axis, the second elevation axis passing through the entrance to the third light transfer conduit.” Both Freier and Hoffman teach two axis orientation. Freier discloses a vertical rotational axis. Hoffman teaches two elevation axes (See figure 29) but these axes do not appear to be passing through any light transfer conduit. Johnson teaches an elevation axis that passes through first and second light transfer conduits, but not a third light transfer conduit. No other art was found such that further modification of these references would have rendered claim 12 obvious. Therefore, these limitations when combined with every other limitation of the claim, distinguish the claim from the prior art. Claims 13 and 14 are objected to at least because they depend from claim 12.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Comte (FR 2473166 A1) discloses a distance, along the passage, from the central point to the inlet end being greater than a distance, along the passage, from the central point to the outlet end
Stern (US 5114101 A) “As seen in FIG. 2 each dish 14 has positioned at its focal point the entrance aperture 24 for a fiber optic power bus 26”
Woodward (US 20130155535 A1) “An integrated solar concentrator assembly (10) which is built to allow an opposing criss-cross optics pattern, creating a more compact, structurally sound unit having a nearly perpendicular light path into a mixing optic (32). This improves optical efficiency and allows for the mixing optic (32) to have a flat outer surface, thereby improving manufacturability. This criss-cross optical pattern also allows the opposite mirror structure to be used to support the solar receiver components, eliminating additional brackets. The configuration of the integrated solar concentrator assembly (10) allows frame mounts to be placed on the outboard corners of the assembly, improving the inherent aim accuracy, as well as simplifying installation”
Steinbrucker (DE 202020000972 U1) discloses a curved light transfer conduit and secondary elevation axis
/LOGAN P JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 3762