DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8, 9, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakao et al. (US 2015/0212355 A1, cited by Applicant).
With respect to claims 1 and 2, Nakao discloses: a light receiving device comprising: an optical sensor having a light receiving surface (light receiving window 42 on light receiving sensor 43; par. [0048]); and a light guide (light guide body, 61) having an incidence surface on which a light ray is incident (Fig. 6A., light enters from side having 7.0 mm width, lower left), an emission surface through which the light ray is emitted toward the light receiving surface (Fig. 6A; upper right side of 61, facing window 42), and a boundary surface that directs the light ray incident from a side where the incidence surface is present toward the light receiving surface (left side of 61, Fig. 6A), wherein the boundary surface is disposed outside a region on the light receiving surface (light receiving surface is the lower surface where light enters; Fig. 6A; boundary surface is on the side).
With respect to claims 8 and 9, Nakao discloses a flat incident surface that transmits an incident light ray toward the emission surface (bottom side that is 7.0mm wide, Fig. 6A).
With respect to claim 15, Nakao discloses a display apparatus body to which the light receiving device is attached (liquid crystal television, par. [0036]).
Claim(s) 1-3 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shigeta (US 2023/0132255 A1).
With respect to claims 1 and 2, Shigeta discloses: a light receiving device comprising: an optical sensor having a light receiving surface (52, Fig. 3); and a light guide having an incidence surface on which a light ray is incident (top of 40, Fig. 3), an emission surface through which the light ray is emitted toward the light receiving surface (bottom of 40, Fig. 3, and a boundary surface that directs the light ray incident from a side where the incidence surface is present toward the light receiving surface (sides of 40 where light is reflected), wherein the boundary surface is disposed outside a region on the light receiving surface (boundary is surfaces are on the sides of 40).
With respect to claim 3, Shigeta discloses the claimed device wherein the light guide includes an other boundary surface that directs the light ray incident from the side where the incidence surface is present toward the light receiving surface to totally reflect an other light ray (reflective boundaries on both sides of 40, light guide can provide total reflection, par. [0021]), wherein the boundary surface is disposed to be shifted in one direction from a region on the light receiving surface, and wherein the other boundary surface is disposed to be shifted from the region in an other direction (boundaries are on either side of 40).
With respect to claims 10 and 11, Shigeta discloses a slit formed in the light guide (section wherein 52 protrudes into light guide 40) wherein the boundary surface faces the slit (boundary on right side of 40 faces the slit). Further, Shigeta discloses a plate-like shape (rectangular, Fig. 3) having a main surface (left side, Fig. 3), and wherein the slit is formed in the main surface (52 protrudes into left side of light guide 40, Fig. 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 and 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claims 4-7, the cited prior art does not appear to disclose or reasonably suggest the claimed incidence surface including a convex curved surface that refracts an incident light ray toward the emission surface or the boundary surface.
With respect to claims 12 and 13, the cited prior art does not appear to disclose or reasonably suggest the claimed configuration wherein the light receiving surface is a first light receiving surface, wherein the optical sensor is a first optical sensor, wherein the light ray is a first light ray, wherein the incidence surface is a first incidence surface, wherein the emission surface is a first emission surface, wherein the boundary surface is a first boundary surface, wherein the light receiving device includes a second optical sensor having a second light receiving surface and a light emitting element that emits a third light ray, and wherein the light guide has a second incidence surface on which the second light ray is incident, a second emission surface that emits the second light ray toward the second light receiving surface, a second boundary surface that directs the second light ray toward the second light receiving surface from a side where the second incidence surface is present to a side where the second emission surface is present, a third incidence surface on which the third light ray is incident, a third emission surface that emits the third light ray, and a third boundary surface that directs the third light ray toward the third emission surface.
With respect to claim 14, the cited prior art does not appear to disclose the claimed hole and stopper, having the claimed configuration and characteristics.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art discloses several light guide configurations including reflective surfaces.
/MARK R GAWORECKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884 6 May 2026