CTNF 18/766,683 CTNF 92047 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-3, 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by David et al (US 2005/0269481; hereinafter referred to as David) . Regarding Claim 1 , David teaches a head-up display system (Figures 1 and 4) for a vehicle (Figure 1; Vehicle 20) having a windshield (Figure 4; Vehicle Window 60), a vehicle front and a vehicle rear (see Figure 1), the head-up display system (Figures 1 and 4) comprising: a first image generation device (Figure 4; Display Apparatus 50), configured to provide a first light (see Paragraph [0044]); and an optical element (Figure 4; Optical Assembly 95), configured to adjust a transmission direction of the first light (see Figure 4 and Paragraph [0050]; wherein it is disclosed that the reflective optical assembly 95 may divert the image towards the vehicle window 60 or toward projection surface 90); wherein the vehicle front and the vehicle rear are connected along a first direction (see Figure 1), wherein along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, a first headlight and a second headlight are configured along the second direction and at the vehicle front (see Annotated Figure 1; wherein the first and second headlights of the vehicle 20 extend across the front of the vehicle 20), PNG media_image1.png 650 780 media_image1.png Greyscale wherein a minimum distance between the first headlight and a driver seat is less than a minimum distance between the second headlight and the driver seat (see Annotated Figure 1 above; wherein the first headlight is inherently closer to the driver seat than the second headlight given the leftmost positioning of both the driver seat and the headlight), and a distance between the first image generation device (Figure 1; Display Apparatus 50) and the second headlight is different from a distance between the first image generation device (Figure 1; Display Apparatus 50) and the first headlight (see Annotated Figure 1 above; wherein the heads up display 50 is inherently closer to the first headlight than the second headlight given its positioning on the left side of the vehicle 20). Regarding Claim 2 , David teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above. David further teaches the distance between the first image generation device (Figure 1; Display Apparatus 50) and the second headlight is greater than the distance between the first image generation device (Figure 1; Display Apparatus 50) and the first headlight (see Annotated Figure 1 above; wherein the heads up display 50 is inherently closer to the first headlight than the second headlight given its positioning on the left side of the vehicle 20). Regarding Claim 3 , David teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above. David further teaches the first image generation device (Figures 1 and 4; Display Apparatus 50) comprises a light source and a display panel disposed on the light source (see Paragraph [0044]; wherein it is disclosed that it is possible to apply the display apparatus 50 as a lower display, for example, as an LCD display unit mounted next to the car's dashboard or in any other suitable location). Regarding Claim 5 , David teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above. David further teaches the first image generation device (Figures 1 and 4; Display Apparatus 50) is a liquid crystal display (see Paragraph [0044] and Claim 36; wherein it is disclosed that it is possible to apply the display apparatus 50 as a lower display, for example, as an LCD display unit mounted next to the car's dashboard or in any other suitable location). Regarding Claim 10 , David teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above. David further teaches the vehicle (Figures 1 and 4; Vehicle 20) has an accommodating space extending away from the windshield (see Figures 1 and 4) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 4, 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over David et al (US 2005/0269481; hereinafter referred to as David) as applied to claims 1 and 3, in view of Hamada et al (US 2022/0197025; hereinafter referred to as Hamada) . Regarding Claim 4 , David teaches the limitations of claim 3 as detailed above. David does not expressly disclose that the first image generation device further comprises a first light moderator disposed between the light source and the display panel and a second light moderator disposed on the display panel. Hamada discloses a first image generation device (Figure 2; Picture Generation Unit 424) that comprises a first light moderator (Figure 3; Multi-Reflection Member 61) disposed between a light source (Figure 3; Light Source 65) and a display panel (Figure 3; Liquid Crystal Unit 50) and a second light moderator (Figure 2; Lens 426) disposed on the display panel (see Figure 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the head-up display system of David such that the first image generation device further comprises a first light moderator disposed between the light source and the display panel and a second light moderator disposed on the display panel, as taught by Hamada, because doing so would provide a light source unit that can emit light having a more uniform luminance distribution (see Hamada Paragraph [0005]). Regarding Claim 6 , David teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above. David does not expressly disclose that the first image generation device is a light emitting diode display. Hamada discloses a first image generation device (Figure 2; Picture Generation Unit 424) that is a light emitting diode display (see Paragraph [0064]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the head-up display system of David such that the first image generation device is a light emitting diode display, as taught by Hamada, because doing so would provide a light source unit that can emit light having a more uniform luminance distribution (see Hamada Paragraph [0005]). Regarding Claim 9 , David teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above. David does not expressly disclose a light guiding element, wherein the first light passes through the light guiding element to the optical element. Hamada discloses a light guiding element (Figure 2; Lens 426), wherein the first light passes through the light guiding element (Figure 2; Lens 426) to the optical element (Figure 2; Windshield 18). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the head-up display system of David to incorporate a light guiding element, wherein the first light passes through the light guiding element to the optical element, as taught by Hamada, because doing so would provide a light source unit that can emit light having a more uniform luminance distribution (see Hamada Paragraph [0005]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over David et al (US 2005/0269481; hereinafter referred to as David) as applied to claim 1, in view of Kuzuhara et al (US 2016/0202482; hereinafter referred to as Kuzuhara) . Regarding Claim 7 , David teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above. David does not expressly disclose a first distance between the first image generation device and the optical element is greater than a second distance between the optical element and the windshield. Kuzuhara discloses a first distance between a first image generation device (Figure 4; First Display Element 111) and an optical element (Figure 4; Second Optical System 129) is greater than a second distance between the optical element (Figure 4; Second Optical System 129) and the windshield (Figure 4; Windshield 220). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the head-up display system of David such that a first distance between the first image generation device and the optical element is greater than a second distance between the optical element and the windshield, as taught by Kuzuhara, because doing so would downsize the head up display and ensure a display of a virtual image on a large screen is enabled with two virtual images (see Kuzuhara Paragraph [0038]). Regarding Claim 8 , David as modified by Kuzuhara discloses the limitations of claim 7 as detailed above. David does not expressly disclose a second image generation device, configured to provide a second light to the optical element; wherein a third distance between the second image generation device and the optical element is greater than the second distance. Kuzuhara further discloses a second image generation device (Figure 4; Second Display Element 121), configured to provide a second light to the optical element (see Paragraph [0036]); wherein a third distance between the second image generation device (Figure 4; Second Display Element 121) and the optical element (Figure 4; Second Optical System 129) is greater than the second distance (see Figure 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the head-up display system to incorporate a second image generation device, configured to provide a second light to the optical element; wherein a third distance between the second image generation device and the optical element is greater than the second distance, as taught by Kuzuhara, because doing so would downsize the head up display and ensure a display of a virtual image on a large screen is enabled with two virtual images (see Kuzuhara Paragraph [0038]). Inquiry Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHRISTOPHER A LAMB II whose telephone number is (571)270-0648. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 10am - 5pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Minh-Toan Ton can be reached at (571) 272-2303. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CHRISTOPHER A LAMB II/Examiner, Art Unit 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/766,683 Page 2 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/766,683 Page 3 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/766,683 Page 4 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/766,683 Page 5 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/766,683 Page 6 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/766,683 Page 7 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/766,683 Page 8 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/766,683 Page 9 Art Unit: 2882 Application/Control Number: 18/766,683 Page 10 Art Unit: 2882