Response to Amendment
Claim 1 stands cancelled. Claims 2-21 are newly added. Claims 2-21 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 8-11, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0036113 A1 to Fisher et al., hereinafter, “Fisher” in view of US 2021/0237768 A1 to Tateishi et al., hereinafter, “Tateishi”.
Claim 2. (New) Fisher teaches A computer-implemented method comprising: [0008] for creating composite images by utilizing a camera
maintaining, in memory, a composite image that [0023] store corresponding image data
a) includes data from each image of two or more images from a sequence of images that depict a physical area and [0023] the camera across a target area during a scanning procedure to capture and store corresponding image data
b) was generated by concatenating, from the two or more images from the sequence of images, [0023] combine the still frames generated by the scanning manager to thereby create composite images
content from the corresponding image, [0023] corresponding image data
determining, using the composite image, one or more properties of an object depicted in at least some of the two or more images; [0047] FIG. 6 (target object)
Fisher fails to explicitly teach determining, using the composite image, one or more properties of an object depicted in at least some of the two or more images. Tateishi, in the field of object detection using a composite image, teaches [0075] the object detector 37 similarly detects objects represented in images based on the composite image… The object detector 37 may also estimate the relative speed of an object with respect to the vehicle 10, based on changes in the size of the object during tracking in images over elapsing time.
Examiner interprets size of the object to be a property of the object.
and performing one or more actions using the one or more properties. [0075] the object detector 37 similarly detects objects represented in images based on the composite image… The object detector 37 may also estimate the relative speed of an object with respect to the vehicle 10, based on changes in the size of the object during tracking in images over elapsing time.
Examiner interprets estimate the relative speed to be an action.
Fisher is in the field of creating a composite image. Thus, before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Fisher with the teachings of Tateishi [0008] to correctly estimate the distance between a moving object and outside features surrounding the moving object.
Claim 8. (New) Tateishi teaches wherein determining the one or more properties comprises: determining, using a size of the object in the composite image, the one or more properties of the object depicted in at least some of the two or more images. [0075] The object detector 37 may also estimate the relative speed of an object with respect to the vehicle 10, based on changes in the size of the object during tracking in images over elapsing time. Examiner interprets relative speed to be a property.
Claim 9. (New) Tateishi teaches wherein determining the one or more properties comprises determining, using a height of the object in the composite image, a predicted speed of the object. [0075] the object detector 37 similarly detects objects represented in images based on the composite image… The object detector 37 may also estimate the relative speed of an object with respect to the vehicle 10, based on changes in the size of the object during tracking in images over elapsing time. Examiner interprets size of the object to be the property of the object.
Claim 10. (New) Fisher teaches wherein: the sequence of images comprises a sequence of frames; [0054] still frames 614 to thereby produce adjacent still images 614
and the two or more images comprise two or more frames from the sequence of frames. [0034] a series of selected still frames of the foregoing captured video data 422 from scanning manager 416, to thereby produce a composite still image
Claim 11. (New) Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 2. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim 17. (New) Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 8. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim 18. (New) Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 9. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim 19. (New) Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 10. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim 20. (New) Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 2. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim(s) 3, 12 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0036113 A1 to Fisher et al., hereinafter, “Fisher” in view of US 2021/0237768 A1 to Tateishi et al., hereinafter, “Tateishi” and in further view of US 2018/0084989 A1 to Su.
Claim 3. (New) Fisher fails to explicitly teach maintaining the composite image that has a first dimension that has the same size as a second dimension for each of the two or more images. Su, in the field of creating a composite image, teaches wherein maintaining the composite image comprises maintaining the composite image that has a first dimension that has the same size as a second dimension for each of the two or more images. [0073] the plurality of images can be combined to form a single composite image with a same size of each of the plurality of image
Fisher is in the field of creating a composite image. Thus, before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Fisher with the teachings of Su [0006] to obtain high quality images.
Claim 12. (New) Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 3. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim 21. (New) Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 3. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim(s) 6 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0036113 A1 to Fisher et al., hereinafter, “Fisher” in view of US 2021/0237768 A1 to Tateishi et al., hereinafter, “Tateishi” and in further view of US 2016/0086033 A1 to Molin et al.. hereinafter, “Molin”.
Claim 6. (New) Fisher fails to explicitly teach determining, using data across an axis of the composite image that includes the content from each of the two or more images, the one or more properties of the object depicted in at least some of the two or more images. Molin, in the field of creating a composite (stitched) image, teaches wherein determining the one or more properties comprises: determining, using data across an axis of the composite image that includes the content from each of the two or more images, the one or more properties of the object depicted in at least some of the two or more images. [0007] generating a composite image by merging the first and second images, and analyzing the composite image to detect one or more features indicative of the object in the composite image
Fisher is in the field of creating a composite image. Thus, before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Fisher with the teachings of Molin [0005] to improve object location in image data.
Claim 15. (New) Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 6. See the above analysis and rationale.
Claim(s) 7 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0036113 A1 to Fisher et al., hereinafter, “Fisher” in view of US 2021/0237768 A1 to Tateishi et al., hereinafter, “Tateishi” and in further view of US 2012/0243802 A1 to Fintel et al., hereinafter, “Fintel”.
Claim 7. (New) Fisher fails to explicitly teach determining, using the composite image and a frame rate at which the sequence of images was captured, one or more properties of an object depicted in at least some of the two or more images. Fintel wherein determining the one or more properties comprises: determining, using the composite image and a frame rate at which the sequence of images was captured, one or more properties of an object depicted in at least some of the two or more images. [Abstract] forming a composite image from a sequence of digital images…automatically analyze two or more of the digital images in the sequence of digital images to determine a rate of motion for the moving object; determining a frame rate responsive to the rate of motion for the moving object
[0036] In the FIG. 4 embodiment, the foregoing segments of video data 422 may be captured and stored by video camera 110 in a series of contiguous and periodic video frames. For example, in certain embodiments, the foregoing video frames may occur at a rate of thirty frames per second. However, in other embodiments, video data 422 may be captured and stored using any effective organization, timing sequence, or implementational technique. In the FIG. 4 embodiment, each of the video frames of video data 422 may include a complete set of picture element (pixels) that correspond to a particular target object 112.
Fisher is in the field of creating a composite image. Thus, before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Fisher with the teachings of Fintel [0008] provide improved image quality of a final composite image containing moving objects.
Claim 16. (New) Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 7. See the above analysis and rationale.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The innovation that makes claims 4 and 13 allowable is “determining, using data across a third dimension of the composite image that is orthogonal to the first dimension, the one or more properties of the object depicted in at least some of the two or more images”.
Claims 5 and 14 are allowable because they are dependents of claims 4 and 13, respectively.
Conclusion
/DELOMIA L GILLIARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2661