DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined in this Office Action. This is the First Office Action on the Merits.
Examiner’s Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs / columns and line numbers or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicants' definition which is not specifically set forth in the disclosure.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “monitoring system” and “control module” in claim 1, and “planning module” in claims 1, 10, and 17. The “control module” and “planning module” are interpreted as software running on a processor, controller, or structural equivalent per paragraph(s) 44 and figure 1 of the specification, and “the monitoring system” is interpreted as one or more sensors per paragraph(s) 41 of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 10-12, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 2022/0355799 to Kawakita et al.
As per claim 1, Kawakita discloses a system for controlling a vehicle (Kawakita; At least the abstract), comprising:
a monitoring system configured to detect a lane change feature during operation of a vehicle, the lane change feature including at least one of a lane addition feature and a lane split feature (Kawakita; At least paragraph(s) 28 and 32, and figure 2);
a planning module (Kawakita; At least paragraph(s) 27) configured to, based on detection of the lane change feature:
acquire a trajectory for the vehicle to perform a lane change maneuver at the lane change feature within a time window, the time window selected based on a current velocity of the vehicle (Kawakita; At least paragraph(s) 31 and 37; the system acquires a trajectory for performing a lane change maneuver within a set distance, which is equivalent since distance is time multiplied by velocity. The system also determines a distance limit, again equivalent to a time window accounting for velocity, for performing the lane change); and
calculate a longitudinal velocity profile prescribing a sequence of longitudinal velocities selected so that when the vehicle follows the acquired trajectory, the lane change maneuver is performed in a smooth manner within the time window (Kawakita; At least paragraph(s) 31); and
a control module configured to control movement of the vehicle according to the acquired trajectory and execute the lane change maneuver according to the sequence of longitudinal velocities (Kawakita; At least paragraph(s) 27).
As per claim 2, Kawakita discloses wherein the longitudinal velocity profile is calculated so that a lateral acceleration is within a selected threshold (Kawakita; At least paragraph(s) 53).
As per claim 3, Kawakita discloses wherein the lane change feature includes the lane addition feature at a first location and the lane split feature at a second location, and the longitudinal velocity profile is calculated based on a distance between the first location and the second location, and the current velocity (Kawakita; At least paragraph(s) 32 and 48, and figure 2).
As per claims 10-12 and 17-18, Kawakita discloses the method and processing device of claims 1-3 (Kawakita; At least paragraph(s) 4-6). Therefore, claims 10-12 and 17-18 are rejected using the same citations and reasoning as applied to claims 1-3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7, 13-15, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawakita in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0115758 to Kassar et al.
As per claim 4, Kawakita discloses multiple velocity profiles (Kawakita; At least paragraph(s) 45 and 48), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the longitudinal velocity profile is calculated based on a plurality of constituent velocity profiles.
However, the above feature(s) are taught by Kassar (Kassar; At least paragraph(s) 5 and 7). At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of Kassar into the invention of Kawakita with a reasonable expectation of success with the motivation of using a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way with predictable results. Determining multiple velocity profiles based on different obstacles or constraints would allow the autonomous vehicle to handle complex scenarios, as discussed in at least paragraph(s) 1 of Kassar, while creating a smooth velocity profile.
As per claim 5, Kawakita discloses wherein the plurality of constituent velocity profiles includes an insertion velocity profile and a curve velocity profile (Kawakita; At least paragraph(s) 31 and 32; the trajectory defines the velocities at the insertion into the lane change and during the curves).
As per claim 6, Kawakita discloses wherein the plurality of constituent velocity profiles include a headway velocity selected to maintain a distance between the vehicle and another vehicle moving ahead of the vehicle (Kawakita; At least paragraph(s) 45 and 48; the trajectory and velocities are adjusted based on a forward vehicle).
As per claim 7, Kawakita discloses multiple velocity profiles (Kawakita; At least paragraph(s) 45 and 48), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the longitudinal velocity profile is calculated by blending the plurality of constituent velocity profiles.
However, the above feature(s) are taught by Kassar (Kassar; At least paragraph(s) 5 and 7). At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of Kassar into the invention of Kawakita with a reasonable expectation of success with the motivation of using a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way with predictable results. Determining multiple velocity profiles based on different obstacles or constraints and blending them together would allow the autonomous vehicle to handle complex scenarios, as discussed in at least paragraph(s) 1 of Kassar, while creating a smooth velocity profile.
As per claims 13-15 and 19-20, Kawakita, in view of Kassar, discloses the method and processing device of claims 4-7 (Kawakita; At least paragraph(s) 4-6). Therefore, claims 13-15 and 19-20are rejected using the same citations and reasoning as applied to claims 4-7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 9, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawakita, in view of Kassar as applied to claim 7 and 15, and in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0001926 to Singh et al.
As per claim 8, Kawakita discloses determining multiple velocity profiles (Kawakita; At least paragraph(s) 45 and 48, and figure 2), but does not explicitly disclose wherein each constituent velocity profile of the plurality of constituent velocity profiles is expressed as a third order polynomial.
However, the above feature(s) are taught by Singh (Singh; At least paragraph(s) 47). At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of Singh into the invention of Kawakita with a reasonable expectation of success with the motivation of simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. Using various polynomials to represent changes in a vehicle’s parameter, such as velocity, position, etc., is known in the art and would be obvious to use, as demonstrated by paragraph(s) 47 of Singh, paragraph(s) 25 of Kassar, or paragraph(s) 61 of the specification.
As per claim 9, Kawakita discloses determining multiple velocity profiles (Kawakita; At least paragraph(s) 45 and 48, and figure 2), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the blending includes selecting a constituent velocity profile having a lowest velocity value, or combining the plurality of constituent velocity profiles using a matrix technique.
However, the above feature(s) are taught by Singh (Singh; At least paragraph(s) 5 and 7). At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of Singh into the invention of Kawakita with a reasonable expectation of success with the motivation of using a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way with predictable results. Using the minimum velocity from the different velocity profiles would ensure the safest control.
As per claim 16, Kawakita discloses the method of (Kawakita; At least paragraph(s) 5) of claims 8 and 9. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected using the same citations and reasoning as applied to claims 8 and 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892. The prior art shows the state of the art.
/David P. Merlino/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665