DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-13, and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (US 2019/0108412 A1).
Claim 1, Wang teaches a capture system (carrier 100; see Fig. 1 and paragraph 0054) comprising:
a processing element (payload 102 inherently comprises a processor to control the user interface of paragraph 0065) configured to receive a target scene capture characteristic (user interface configured to receive inputs from a user, e.g., a selection of an object to track; paragraph 0065);
a positioning assembly in electrical communication with the processing element (payload 402 is configured to transmit control signals to carrier 404 to cause a change in a pose of payload 402; paragraph 0072); and
a camera coupled to the positioning assembly (payload 102 includes image sensor 103; paragraph 0054), wherein the capture system is configured to operate the camera or the positioning assembly based on the target scene capture characteristic (control signals are generated by a tracking application based at least in part on a detected deviation of a target from an expected position in an image captured by the payload; paragraph 0072).
Claim 2, Wang further teaches wherein the positioning assembly comprises:
a plurality of links coupled together via a respective plurality of joints (rotation arms 112, 116, 120 coupled via rotation assemblies 114, 118, 122; paragraph 0057-0058 and Fig. 1); and
an actuator in electrical communication with the processing element and configured to move at least one of the plurality of links or one of the plurality of joints based on the target scene capture characteristic (first, second, and third actuators; paragraph 0058).
Claim 3, Wang further teaches a locator in electrical communication with the processing element and associated with at least one of the plurality of links or one of the plurality of joints (tracking application is executed on the payload and detects the position of the target; paragraph 0072).
Claim 4, Wang further teaches wherein the processing element is configured to:
determine an actual scene capture characteristic based on the locator (tracking application is executed on the payload and detects the position of the target; paragraph 0072);
compare the actual scene capture characteristic to the target scene capture characteristic (the position of the target is compared against the expected position of the tracked target; paragraph 0072);
determine a difference between the actual scene capture characteristic and the target scene capture characteristic based on the comparison (“detected deviation of a target from an expected position” is determined; paragraph 0072); and
adjust the positioning assembly based on the difference (controls signals are generated, the “control signals may be used to compensate or correct the detected deviation so as to maintain the target at or close to the expected position in a subsequent image captured by the payload;” paragraph 0072).
Claim 5, Wang further teaches wherein adjusting the capture system comprises generating a signal, via the processing element, configured to cause the actuator to move such that the actual scene capture characteristic tracks the target scene capture characteristic (control signals are generated by the tracking application that is inherently executed by a processor; paragraph 0072).
Claim 6, Wang further teaches wherein the target scene capture characteristic comprises at least one of:
target spatial information for the camera or a portion of the positioning assembly;
target temporal information for the camera or the portion of the positioning assembly;
or target configuration information for the camera or the portion of the positioning assembly (user interface is provided to receive inputs from a user to select an object to track; paragraph 0065, 0107).
Claims 9-13 are analyzed and rejected as methods for performing the functions of the systems of claims 1, 2, and 4-6, respectively.
Claims 15-19 are each analyzed and rejected as a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, the computer-readable storage medium including instructions that when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the functions of the system of claims 1, 2, and 4-6, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 8, 14, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Takagi (US 2015/0207995 A1).
Claim 7, Wang teaches the capture system of claim 1, but is silent regarding wherein the processing element is further configured to provide guidance configured to prompt a user to locate the capture system based on the target scene capture characteristic.
Takagi teaches wherein a processing element is configured to provide guidance configured to prompt a user to locate the capture system based on the target scene capture characteristic (an instruction image is displayed to instruct a user to continue to track a target subject by moving the image capturing apparatus to the direction shown by the instruction image; paragraph 0193 and Fig. 13).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teaching of Takagi with that of Wang in order to allow a user to continue to track a target subject when the target subject moves in a large scale and the target subject may be out of an image capturing range if the user does not move the image capturing apparatus to the moving direction of the target subject (see paragraph 0188 of Takagi).
Claim 8, Takagi further teaches a display, wherein the guidance comprises a visual output presented on the display (instruction image LGb is displayed; paragraph 0193 and Fig. 13).
Claim 14 is analyzed and rejected as a method for performing the functions of the system of claim 7.
Claim 20 is analyzed and rejected as a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, the computer-readable storage medium including instructions that when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the functions of the system of claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 attached.
/CHIAWEI CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637