DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 3-12 have been considered but are moot based on new grounds of rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilbert (US 2020/0186194; hereinafter Gilbert) in view of Cern (US 2005/0062589; hereinafter Cern) and Elfman (US 11,538,626; hereinafter Elfman).
Regarding claim 1, Gilbert discloses a communication apparatus (See Fig. 2; Power-line Communication Device) comprising:
a communicator including processing circuitry (Fig. 1 and 8; Par. 0027; Transceiver 2, 3) configured to communicate with the communication devices via the communication line (Par. 0033-0035; Fig. 1 and 8; the transceiver 2, 3 provides two-way communication (transmitting/receiving) to communicate with a plurality of devices via the power line.),
the communication devices are connected with each other on a multihop network (Par. 0029, 0035; the devices are connected with each other on a multi-point network. Data is broadcasted to and received from multiple points/hops.), and
the communicator transmits, through relay by a predetermined one of the communication devices on the multihop network, a signal to the other one of the communication devices (Par. 0078-0079, 0090; Fig. 1-2; an identified device [Means 10 in Fig. 1] is configured to act as a relay to transmit signals to other receivers. Meshing protocol allows the relay point to relay data it receives to other points).
Gilbert shows all of the elements, as discussed above. Gilbert does not specifically show a coupler to be proximately coupled to a communication line connected between communication devices; the coupler has an inductive or capacitive member, and the inductive or capacitive member has a C-shaped appearance and a coil having plural windings and formed in a C-shape that follows the C-shape appearance of the inductive or capacitive member, and the coil is configured to surround an intermediate portion of the communication line and is configured to be movable along the intermediate portion of the communication line while surrounding the intermediate portion of the communication line. Further, Gilbert does not specifically show the communicator configured to communicate with the coupler proximately coupled.
However, the above-mentioned claim limitations are well-established in the art as evidenced by Cern and Elfman.
First, Cern shows a coupler to be proximately coupled to a communication line connected between communication devices (Figures 1-2; Par. 0020, 0031; noted inductive coupler 135 proximately coupled to a communication line, i.e. riser segment 120, connected between communication devices 150 and 170.);
the coupler has an inductive or capacitive member, and the inductive or capacitive member has a C-shaped appearance (Figures 1-3 and 7; Par. 0029-0030; inductive coupler 135 has a magnetic core 205 is a split core, configured of two "C"-shaped sections that form an aperture 220 when situated adjacent to one another. Inductive coupler 135 may be regarded as a transformer, where conductor 121b serves as a winding, and wire 210 serves as another winding. Here, conductor 121b is a one-turn winding, and wire 210 may also be a one-turn winding, or may be wound for several turns.) and a coil having plural windings (Figures 1-3 and 7; Par. 0029-0030; wire 210 serves as another winding. Wire 210 may be wound for several turns.) and formed that follows the C-shape appearance of the inductive or capacitive member (Figures 1-3 and 7; Par. 0029-0030; Wire 210 is also routed/follows through aperture 220, and terminates at port 215.), and
the coil is configured to surround an intermediate portion of the communication line and is configured to be movable along the intermediate portion of the communication line while surrounding the intermediate portion of the communication line (Figure 2; Par. 0029-0030; inductive coupler 135 has a magnetic core 205 is a split core, configured of two "C"-shaped sections that form an aperture 220 when situated adjacent to one another. A nonmagnetic gap such as an air gap 225 may be formed by inserting non-magnetic material between the sections of core 205 in a magnetic circuit of the core 205, thus increasing the capacity of inductive coupler 135 to function at high levels of power frequency current without significant magnetic saturation. Thus, by separating the two "C"-shaped sections, inductive coupler 135 can be installed onto or removed from conductor 121b.).
In addition, Cern also shows the communicator configured to communicate with the coupler proximately coupled (Figure 2; communication device 150 communicates with inductive coupler 135.).
In view of the above, having the system of Gilbert, then given the well-established teaching of Cern, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gilbert as taught by Cern, in order to provide motivation for providing communications paths with minimal attenuation by utilizing multiple paralleled conductors (Par. 0008 of Cern).
Second, Elfman shows a coil formed in a C-shape (Figures 3-4; col. 5, lines 34-54; The wire wrap can also extend as much as desired along the toroidal core. Thus, as shown in the FIG. 3, there is a space 310 between the start of the wires and the end of the wires. The space 310 may be formed of any distance between the beginning and end of the wires, as required.).
In view of the above, having the system of Gilbert, then given the well-established teaching of Elfman, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gilbert as taught by Elfman, in order to provide motivation for reducing inductor size, weight, cost, and efficiency, while primarily achieving adiabatic loading (col. 2, lines 25-31 of Elfman).
Regarding claim 3, modified Gilbert discloses wehrein the coupler is detachable from the communication line (Cern: Figure 2; Par. 0029-0030; inductive coupler 135 can be installed onto or removed from conductor 121b.).
Regarding claim 4, modified Gilbert discloses wherein the coupler is movable within a predetermined range of the communication line (Cern: Figure 2; Par. 0029-0030; By separating the two "C"-shaped sections, inductive coupler 135 can be installed onto conductor 121b, removed from conductor 121b, or moved along the length of conductor 121b.).
Regarding claim 5, modified Gilbert discloses wherein the communicator performs at least one of collection of data stored in the communication devices, collection of data flowing through the communication line (Gilbert: Figure 2; Par. 0085; at least one configuration datum is at least partially obtained from an electronic meter to which the device 1 is at least connected one time.), an operation instruction to the communication devices, and setting of the communication devices via the coupler.
Regarding claim 6, modified Gilbert discloses a display configured to display quality of communication in the coupler (Gilbert: Par. 0085; at least one configuration datum is at least partially obtained from an electronic meter to which the device 1 is at least connected one time. The term electronic meter means any meter for example of electrical energy, gas, water, heat, etc. comprising an electronic sub-assembly for facilitating the display and/or the reading of meter indexes and having an information output that can be connected to an external device.).
Regarding claim 10, modified Gilbert discloses wherein the communicator transmits a signal at a higher signal level than the communication devices (Gilbert: Figure 2; Par. 0083, 0087; the transceiver 2,3 transmits signals of higher frequency and higher quality than the signals transmitted from devices 19).
Regarding claim 11, modified Gilbert discloses wherein the communication devices are units constituting an air-conditioning system (Gilbert: Figure 2; Par. 0078; the apparatus 19 may be heating/air conditioning apparatus).
Regarding claim 12, modified Gilbert discloses an discloses air-conditioning system diagnosis apparatus comprising the communication apparatus of claim 1 (Gilbert: Figure 2; Par. 0078; Power-line communication device for remotely controlling the operation of an air conditioner).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilbert in view of Cern, Elfman and Wang et al. (US 2022/0286885; hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 7, modified Gilbert does not explicitly disclose wherein the quality is indicated by a signal-to-noise ratio in the communication between the communication devices and the communicator.
However, the above-mentioned claim limitations are well-established in the art as evidenced by Wang. Specifically, Wang discloses wherein the quality is indicated by a signal-to-noise ratio in the communication between the communication devices and the communicator (Figure 3A; Par. 0025, 0105, 0135-0136; the quality of transmission is determined by measuring the signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) of the received signals by the transceiver).
In view of the above, having the system of Gilbert, then given the well-established teaching of Wang, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gilbert as taught by Wang, in order to provide motivation for improving the system’s performance, by enhancing the capability of sensing receivers and processors for affordable overhead, and improving accuracy and robustness of quality measurements (Par. 0054 of Wang).
Regarding claim 8, modified Gilbert does not explicitly disclose wherein the quality is indicated by a noise level in the communication between the communication devices and the communicator.
However, the above-mentioned claim limitations are well-established in the art as evidenced by Wang. Specifically, Wang discloses the quality is indicated by a noise level in the communication between the communication devices and the communicator (Figure 3A; Par. 0025, 0105, 0135-0136; the quality of transmission is determined by measuring the signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) of the received signals by the transceiver).
In view of the above, having the system of Gilbert, then given the well-established teaching of Wang, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gilbert as taught by Wang, in order to provide motivation for improving the system’s performance, by enhancing the capability of sensing receivers and processors for affordable overhead, and improving accuracy and robustness of quality measurements (Par. 0054 of Wang).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilbert in view of Cern, Elfman and Yoon (US 2019/0101304; hereinafter Yoon).
Regarding claim 9, modified Gilbert does not explicitly disclose wherein the quality is indicated by a signal transmission and reception sensitivity in the communication between the communication devices and the communicator.
However, the above-mentioned claim limitations are well-established in the art as evidenced by Yoon. Specifically, Yoon discloses wherein the quality is indicated by a signal transmission and reception sensitivity in the communication between the communication devices and the communicator (Par. 0124-0126; 0140; signal strength [Quality] is indicated by measuring reception sensitivity and transmission & reception success rates of exchanged signals).
In view of the above, having the system of Gilbert, then given the well-established teaching of Yoon, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gilbert as taught by Yoon, in order to provide motivation for improving the system’s performance, by improving power/energy consumption through changing the strength of a wireless signal and reducing the transmission power (Par. 0134 of Yoon).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20220246349 A1 - A resonant coil includes a plurality of conductors forming a plurality of inductively coupled current loops.
US 10856452 B1 - A shield for an inductive position sensor is configured in shape to avoid compromising the inductive field variations related to the sensor's moving target.
US 7999414 B2 - The invention relates to an apparatus and a method for wireless energy and/or data transmission between a source device and at least one target device.
US 20030094855 A1 - an array for the contact-less transmission of electrical signals or energy, respectively, from at least one transmitter to several receivers.
/REDENTOR PASIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413