DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-79 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patent No.: US 11,681,889 B1 to Diorio et al(hereafter referenced as Diorio) in further view of Patent No.: US 10,677,886 B2 to Meadow.
Regarding claim 1, Diorio discloses “a registration method for binding merchandise to a third-party application, (In some embodiments, information service 1030 may use a registration service [Col.21/lines 40-42]) comprising: creating or receiving a unique digital identity for an integrated circuit (IC) chip (unique ID 1004, 1066, and 1072 ,maybe unique to an IC [Col.22/lines 7-9]) , wherein the IC chip has wireless communication capability(an RFID tag 703 is considered here as a module by itself RFID tag 703 conducts a wireless communication 706 with the remainder, via the air interface 705 [Col.12/lines 47-49), wherein the unique digital identity is or will be stored in the IC chip and wherein the IC chip is or will be embedded as part of a physical product(The IC identifier uniquely identifies (at least for a time) the particular RFID IC upon which it is [Col.17/lines 25-27]); and causing information for the IC chip and the physical product to be created and communicated to a system registry for storage in the system registry”(registration service [Fig.10/item 1060]), wherein the information includes: (i) the unique digital identity(ID [Fig.10/item 1062]) , (ii) an identifier of the third-party application (item ID [Fig.10/item 1968]).
Diorio does not explicitly disclose “(iii) product metadata for the physical product, and (iv) owner information indicative of a current owner of the physical product.
The method according to claim 1, wherein the system registry is a centralized”
However, Meadow in an analogous art discloses “(iii) product metadata for the physical product, and (iv) owner information indicative of a current owner of the physical product.”(metadata or parameters that are stored locally on the Definable Blockchain in a chip Meadow[Col.8/lines 35-38] also see ownership tables within the local profile database [Col.25/lines 6-14]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Diorio’s digital identities on an IC chip for physical items with Meadows blockchain process on a chip device in order to provide additional security. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because Diorio discloses an IC chip which comprises a unique ID, Meadow teaches an IC chip comprising an authentication process with product metadata and ownership tables, and both are from the same field of endeavor.
Regarding claim 2 in view of claim 1, the references combined discloses “wherein the system registry is a centralized registry” (registration service Diorio[Fig.10/item 1060]).
Regarding claim 3 in view of claim 1, the references combined discloses “wherein the system registry is a decentralized blockchain registry”(remote storages 1040/1045 may be individual, monolithic databases; part of a distributed database; part of a distributed ledger or blockchain Diorio [Col.21/lines 23-27]).
Regarding claim 4 in view of claim 1, the references combined discloses “wherein the unique digital identity is a public key of a private-public key pair of the IC chip” (the one or more processors may perform operations associated with retrieving data that may include a tag public key, Diorio[Col.13/lines 19-21]).
Regarding claim 5 in view of claim 4, the references combined disclose “wherein the IC chip is an asymmetric signer (AS) chip having a secure element, and wherein the private-public key pair is generated and stored by the IC chip” (included at creation in the first transaction : UUIDs , a public / private key pair , and hash ; and supports authenticated updating of digitally signed transactions via a definable blockchain data format Meadow[Col.8/lines 17-20])
Regarding claim 6 in view of claim 5, the references combined disclose “wherein the public key is wirelessly transmitted from the IC chip to a registration computer system, and wherein the registration computer system causes the information to be created and communicated to the system registry” (definable Blockchain on a Chip which recognizes the transmission as a valid and Authenticate Radio Source based on the public keys in the Security Module transmission Meadow[Col.58/lines 21-25]).
Regarding claim 7 in view of claim 5, the references combined disclose “wherein the IC chip is a near field communication (NFC) chip (key capabilities of the invention yield a low - cost high volume chip design for consumer packaged goods and other Assets that : 1 ) can be built into product labels or otherwise affixed to products ; 2 ) can communicate with NFC , Bluetooth Low Energy , Wi - Fi ( LAN ) ,WAN and Internet Meadow[Col.8/lines 10-16]).
Regarding claim 8 in view of claim 4, the references combined disclose “wherein the IC chip is a symmetric signer (SS) chip. (included at creation in the first transaction : UUIDs , a public / private key pair , and hash ; and supports authenticated updating of digitally signed transactions via a definable blockchain data format Meadow[Col.8/lines 17-20])
Regarding claim 9 in view of claim 8, the references combined disclose “wherein the private-public key pair is generated by a registration computer system, and wherein the registration computer system causes the information to be created and communicated to the system registry.” (included at creation in the first transaction : UUIDs , a public / private key pair , and hash ; and supports authenticated updating of digitally signed transactions via a definable blockchain data format Meadow[Col.8/lines 17-20])
Regarding claim 10 in view of claim 9, the references combined disclose “further comprising generating in the registration computer system at least a first private key shard and a second private key shard from the private key of the private-public key pair and transmitting an encrypted version of the second private key shard to the IC chip for storage by the IC chip, wherein the encrypted version of the second
private key shard is created using a first symmetric key that is unique to the IC chip, wherein the first private key shard is part of the information for the IC chip and the physical product” (included at creation in the first transaction : UUIDs , a public / private key pair , and hash ; and supports authenticated updating of digitally signed transactions via a definable blockchain data format Meadow[Col.8/lines 17-20]).
Regarding claim 11 in view of claim 10, the references combined disclose “the method further comprising communicating a common system symmetric key to the IC chip for storage by the IC chip” (included at creation in the first transaction : UUIDs , a public / private key pair , and hash ; and supports authenticated updating of digitally signed transactions via a definable blockchain data format Meadow[Col.8/lines 17-20])
Regarding claim 12 in view of claim 8, the references combined disclose “wherein the IC chip is a near field communication (NFC) chip” (key capabilities of the invention yield a low - cost high volume chip design for consumer packaged goods and other Assets that : 1 ) can be built into product labels or otherwise affixed to products ; 2 ) can communicate with NFC , Bluetooth Low Energy , Wi - Fi ( LAN ) ,WAN and Internet Meadow[Col.8/lines 10-16]).
Regarding claim 13 in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “wherein the identifier of the third-party application comprises a non-public uniform resource locator (URL) of the third-party application” (An encoding scheme may specify organization or order, coding, compression, encryption, , or any other suitable way in which data values can be reversibly represented. A pointer could include a uniform resource identifier (URI), a uniform resource name (URN), a uniform resource locator (URL), an Internet Protocol (IP) address, a media access control (MAC) address, or any other suitable means of identifying a location or address of a resource. In another embodiment, 50 the encoding scheme of ID 1004 may itself indicate the appropriate information service(s). For example, the encoding scheme may be associated with a certain information service, and the encoded value may include information that allows the information service to locate digital identity information about the item Diorio [Col.19/lines 39-56]).
Regarding claim 14 in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “wherein the product metadata comprises a type and/or brand of the physical product” (metadata or parameters that are stored locally on the Definable Blockchain in a chip Meadow[Col.8/lines 35-38] also see ownership tables within the local profile database [Col.25/lines 6-14]).
Regarding claim 15 in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “wherein the owner information initially indicates that there is no current owner of the physical product. (metadata or parameters that are stored locally on the Definable Blockchain in a chip Meadow[Col.8/lines 35-38] also see ownership tables within the local profile database [Col.25/lines 6-14]).
Regarding claim 16 in view of claim 15, the references combined disclose “wherein the IC chip is initially in a locked configuration wherein the owner information in stored in the system registry cannot be changed unless and until it is first unlocked.” (registration service Diorio[Fig.10/item 1060]),
Regarding claim 17, Diorio discloses “a system for binding merchandise to a third-party application(In some embodiments, information service 1030 may use a registration service [Col.21/lines 40-42]), comprising: a registration computer system, wherein the registration computer system is structured and configured to: create or receive a unique digital identity for an integrated circuit (IC) chip” (unique ID 1004, 1066, and 1072 ,maybe unique to an IC [Col.22/lines 7-9]), “wherein the IC chip has wireless communication capability”(an RFID tag 703 is considered here as a module by itself RFID tag 703 conducts a wireless communication 706 with the remainder, via the air interface 705 [Col.12/lines 47-49, “wherein the unique digital identity is or will be stored in the IC chip and wherein the IC chip is or will be embedded as part of a physical product”(The IC identifier uniquely identifies (at least for a time) the particular RFID IC upon which it is [Col.17/lines 25-27]), “and cause information for the IC chip and the physical product to be created and communicated to a system registry for storage in the system registry, wherein the information includes: (i) the unique digital identity(registration service [Fig.10/item 1060]),, (ii) an identifier of the third-party application(item ID [Fig.10/item 1968]).
Diorio does not explicitly disclose “ (iii) product metadata for the physical product, and (iv) owner information indicative of a current owner of the physical product.
However, Meadow in an analogous art discloses “(iii) product metadata for the physical product, and (iv) owner information indicative of a current owner of the physical product..”(metadata or parameters that are stored locally on the Definable Blockchain in a chip Meadow[Col.8/lines 35-38] also see ownership tables within the local profile database [Col.25/lines 6-14]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Diorio’s digital identities on an IC chip for physical items with Meadows blockchain process on a chip device in order to provide additional security. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because Diorio discloses an IC chip which comprises a unique ID, Meadow teaches an IC chip comprising an authentication process with product metadata and ownership tables, and both are from the same field of endeavor.
Regarding claim 18 in view of claim 17, the references combined disclose “wherein the system registry is a centralized registry” (registration service Diorio[Fig.10/item 1060]).
Regarding claim 19 in view of claim 17, the references combined disclose “wherein the system registry is a decentralized blockchain registry” (remote storages 1040/1045 may be individual, monolithic databases; part of a distributed database; part of a distributed ledger or blockchain Diorio [Col.21/lines 23-27]).
Regarding claim 20 in view of claim 17, the references combined disclose “wherein the unique digital identity is a public key of a private-public key pair of the IC chip” (the one or more processors may perform operations associated with retrieving data that may include a tag public key, Diorio[Col.13/lines 19-21]).
Regarding claim 21 in view of claim 20, the references combined disclose “wherein the IC chip is an asymmetric signer (AS) chip having a secure element, and wherein the private-public key pair is generated and stored by the IC chi.” (included at creation in the first transaction : UUIDs , a public / private key pair , and hash ; and supports authenticated updating of digitally signed transactions via a definable blockchain data format Meadow[Col.8/lines 17-20]).
Regarding claim 22 in view of claim 21, the references combined disclose “wherein the public key is wirelessly transmitted from the IC chip to the registration computer system.” (definable Blockchain on a Chip which recognizes the transmission as a valid and Authenticate Radio Source based on the public keys in the Security Module transmission Meadow[Col.58/lines 21-25]).
Regarding claim 23 in view of claim 21, the references combined disclose “wherein the IC chip is a near field communication (NFC) chip, and wherein the system further comprises an NFC reader device for reading the IC chip” (key capabilities of the invention yield a low - cost high volume chip design for consumer packaged goods and other Assets that : 1 ) can be built into product labels or otherwise affixed to products ; 2 ) can communicate with NFC , Bluetooth Low Energy , Wi - Fi ( LAN ) ,WAN and Internet Meadow[Col.8/lines 10-16]).
Regarding claim 24 in view of claim 20, the references combined disclose “wherein the IC chip is a symmetric signer (SS) chip” (included at creation in the first transaction : UUIDs , a public / private key pair , and hash ; and supports authenticated updating of digitally signed transactions via a definable blockchain data format Meadow[Col.8/lines 17-20])
Regarding claim 25 in view of claim 24, the references combined disclose
“wherein the registration computer system is structured and configured to generate the private-public key pair” (the one or more processors may perform operations associated with retrieving data that may include a tag public key, Diorio[Col.13/lines 19-21]).
Regarding claim 26 in view of claim 25, the references combined disclose “wherein the registration computer system is structured and configured to generate at least a first private key shard and a second private key shard from the private key of the private-public key pair and communicate an encrypted version of the second private key shard to the IC chip for storage by the IC chip, wherein the encrypted version of the second private key shard is created using a first symmetric key that is unique to the
IC chip, and wherein the first private key shard is part of the information for the IC chip and the physical product” (included at creation in the first transaction : UUIDs , a public / private key pair , and hash ; and supports authenticated updating of digitally signed transactions via a definable blockchain data format Meadow[Col.8/lines 17-20]).
Regarding claim 27 in view of claim 26, the references combined disclose
“further comprising communicating a common system symmetric key to the IC chip for storage by the IC chip” (included at creation in the first transaction : UUIDs , a public / private key pair , and hash ; and supports authenticated updating of digitally signed transactions via a definable blockchain data format Meadow[Col.8/lines 17-20]).
Regarding claim 28 in view of claim 24, the references combined disclose “the system according to claim 24, wherein the IC chip is a near field communication (NFC) chip” (key capabilities of the invention yield a low - cost high volume chip design for consumer packaged goods and other Assets that : 1 ) can be built into product labels or otherwise affixed to products ; 2 ) can communicate with NFC , Bluetooth Low Energy , Wi - Fi ( LAN ) ,WAN and Internet Meadow[Col.8/lines 10-16]).
Regarding claim 29 in view of claim 17, the references combined disclose “wherein the identifier of the third-party application comprises a non-public uniform resource locator (URL) of the third-party application” (An encoding scheme may specify organization or order, coding, compression, encryption, , or any other suitable way in which data values can be reversibly represented. A pointer could include a uniform resource identifier (URI), a uniform resource name (URN), a uniform resource locator (URL), an Internet Protocol (IP) address, a media access control (MAC) address, or any other suitable means of identifying a location or address of a resource. In another embodiment, 50 the encoding scheme of ID 1004 may itself indicate the appropriate information service(s). For example, the encoding scheme may be associated with a certain information service, and the encoded value may include information that allows the information service to locate digital identity information about the item Diorio [Col.19/lines 39-56]).
Regarding claim 30 in view of claim 17, the references combined disclose “wherein the product metadata comprises a type and/or brand of the physical product.” (metadata or parameters that are stored locally on the Definable Blockchain in a chip Meadow[Col.8/lines 35-38] also see ownership tables within the local profile database [Col.25/lines 6-14]).
Regarding claim 31 in view of claim 17, the references combined disclose “wherein the owner information initially indicates that there is no current owner of the physical product” (metadata or parameters that are stored locally on the Definable Blockchain in a chip Meadow[Col.8/lines 35-38] also see ownership tables within the local profile database [Col.25/lines 6-14]).
Regarding claim 32, Diorio discloses “a method of validating an integrated circuit IC) chip embedded as part of a physical product, (unique ID 1004, 1066, and 1072 ,maybe unique to an IC [Col.22/lines 7-9]), wherein the IC chip and the physical product are bound to a third-party application in a system registry(In some embodiments, information service 1030 may use a registration service [Col.21/lines 40-42]), wherein the system registry stores information for the IC chip that includes a unique digital identity for the IC chip and an identifier of the third-party application(The IC identifier uniquely identifies (at least for a time) the particular RFID IC upon which it is [Col.17/lines 25-27]), the method comprising: receiving validation data generated by the IC chip from a computing device, wherein the validation data includes first information associated with the unique digital identity(The IC identifier uniquely identifies (at least for a time) the particular RFID IC upon which it is [Col.17/lines 25-27]).
Diorio does not explicitly disclose “receiving second information associated with the unique digital identity; determining whether the IC chip can be validated based on the validation data and the second information associated with the unique digital identity; and responsive to determining that the IC chip can be validated, communicating the identifier of the third-party application to the computing device.”
However, Meadow in an analogous art discloses “receiving second information associated with the unique digital identity; determining whether the IC chip can be validated based on the validation data and the second information associated with the unique digital identity” (Device may transmit a Universally Unique Identifier ( UUID ) to other GRL Devices in proximity to the transmitting GRL Meadow[Col.34/lines 56-58]); “and responsive to determining that the IC chip can be validated, communicating the identifier of the third-party application to the computing device.”(i.e. authorized third party allows verification, an authorized third party once validated are allowed to view contents of encrypted communications Meadow[Col.5/lines 29-39]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Diorio’s digital identities on an IC chip for physical items with Meadows blockchain process on a chip device in order to provide additional security. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because Diorio discloses an IC chip which comprises a unique ID, Meadow teaches an IC chip comprising an authentication process with product metadata and ownership tables, and both are from the same field of endeavor.
Regarding claim 33 in view of claim 32, the references combined disclose “further comprising obtaining the identifier of the third-party application from the system registry responsive to determining that the IC chip can be validated.” (i.e. authorized third party allows verification, an authorized third party once validated are allowed to view contents of encrypted communications Meadow[Col.5/lines 29-39]).
Regarding claim 34 in view of claim 32, the references combined disclose “wherein the system registry is a centralized registry” (registration service Diorio[Fig.10/item 1060]).
Regarding claim 35 in view of claim 32, the references combined disclose “wherein the system registry is a decentralized blockchain registry” (remote storages 1040/1045 may be individual, monolithic databases; part of a distributed database; part of a distributed ledger or blockchain Diorio [Col.21/lines 23-27]).
Regarding claim 36 in view of claim 32, the references combined disclose “wherein the unique digital identity is a public key of a private-public key pair of the IC chip, wherein the first information associated with the unique digital identity is generated using the private key of the IC chip, and wherein the second information associated with the unique digital identity is the public key of the IC chip. (the one or more processors may perform operations associated with retrieving data that may include a tag public key, Diorio[Col.13/lines 19-21]).
Regarding claim 37 in view of claim 36, the references combined disclose
“wherein the first information associated with the unique digital identity is a signed content hash generated using the private key of the IC chip” (included at creation in the first transaction : UUIDs , a public / private key pair , and hash ; and supports authenticated updating of digitally signed transactions via a definable blockchain data format Meadow[Col.8/lines 17-20]).
Regarding claim 38 in view of claim 36, the references combined disclose “wherein signed content hash is generated using a random number generated by the IC chip, a value of an internal read counter of the IC chip, and the private key of the IC chip”(included at creation in the first transaction : UUIDs , a public / private key pair , and hash ; and supports authenticated updating of digitally signed transactions via a definable blockchain data format Meadow[Col.8/lines 17-20]).
Regarding claim 39 in view of claim 38, the references combined disclose “wherein the validation data also includes the public key of the IC chip.” (the one or more processors may perform operations associated with retrieving data that may include a tag public key, Diorio[Col.13/lines 19-21]).
Regarding claim 40 in view of claim 32, the references combined disclose “wherein the second information associated with the unique digital identity includes the public key of the IC chip and a first private key shard generated based on the private key of the IC chip, wherein the unique digital identity is a public key of a private-public key pair of the IC chip, wherein the first information associated with the unique digital identity comprises an encrypted version of a second private key shard, wherein the
second private key shard is generated based on the private key of the IC chip, and wherein the encrypted version of the second private key shard is generated using a symmetric key unique to the IC chip” (included at creation in the first transaction : UUIDs , a public / private key pair , and hash ; and supports authenticated updating of digitally signed transactions via a definable blockchain data format Meadow[Col.8/lines 17-20]).
Regarding claim 41 in view of claim 40, the references combined disclose “wherein the determining whether the IC chip can be validated includes obtaining the second private key shard from the encrypted version of the second private key shard using the symmetric key unique to the IC chip, using the first private key shard and the second private key shard to obtain the private key of the IC chip, and using the private key and the public key of the IC chip to determine whether the IC chip can be validated” (Secret 806 may be a secret key, a private key of a private-public key pair, a password, or any other information not generally known to the public. In some embodiments, secret 806 may include multiple secrets, each of which may be used differently or have different characteristics [Col.14/lines 11-16])
Regarding claim 42 in view of claim 40, the references combined disclose “wherein the validation data also includes an encrypted version of a chip ID for the IC chip and a value of an internal read counter of the IC chip generated using a common symmetric key stored by the IC chip” (included at creation in the first transaction : UUIDs , a public / private key pair , and hash ; and supports authenticated updating of digitally signed transactions via a definable blockchain data format Meadow[Col.8/lines 17-20]).
Regarding claim 43 in view of claim 32, the references combined disclose “wherein the identifier of the third-party application comprises a non-public uniform resource locator (URL) of the third-party application” (An encoding scheme may specify organization or order, coding, compression, encryption, , or any other suitable way in which data values can be reversibly represented. A pointer could include a uniform resource identifier (URI), a uniform resource name (URN), a uniform resource locator (URL), an Internet Protocol (IP) address, a media access control (MAC) address, or any other suitable means of identifying a location or address of a resource. In another embodiment, 50 the encoding scheme of ID 1004 may itself indicate the appropriate information service(s). For example, the encoding scheme may be associated with a certain information service, and the encoded value may include information that allows the information service to locate digital identity information about the item Diorio [Col.19/lines 39-56]).
Regarding claim 44 in view of claim 32, the references combined disclose “wherein the information for the IC chip stored by the system registry further includes product metadata the physical product that comprises a type and/or brand of the physical product” (metadata or parameters that are stored locally on the Definable Blockchain in a chip Meadow[Col.8/lines 35-38] also see ownership tables within the local profile database [Col.25/lines 6-14]).
Regarding claim 45 in view of claim 32, the references combined disclose “wherein the information for the IC chip stored by the system registry further includes owner information indicative of a current owner of the physical product.” metadata or parameters that are stored locally on the Definable Blockchain in a chip Meadow[Col.8/lines 35-38] also see ownership tables within the local profile database [Col.25/lines 6-14]).
Regarding claim 46 in view of claim 32, the references combined disclose “wherein the IC chip is a near field communication (NFC) chip and wherein the validation data is received in response to a device tap of the IC chip by the computing device” (key capabilities of the invention yield a low - cost high volume chip design for consumer packaged goods and other Assets that : 1 ) can be built into product labels or otherwise affixed to products ; 2 ) can communicate with NFC , Bluetooth Low Energy , Wi - Fi ( LAN ) ,WAN and Internet Meadow[Col.8/lines 10-16]).
Regarding claim 47, Diorio discloses “a system for validating an integrated circuit (IC) chip embedded as part of a physical product, (unique ID 1004, 1066, and 1072 ,maybe unique to an IC [Col.22/lines 7-9]), wherein the IC chip and the physical product are bound to a third-party application in a system registry(In some embodiments, information service 1030 may use a registration service [Col.21/lines 40-42]), wherein the system registry stores information for the IC chip that includes a unique digital identity for the IC chip and an identifier of the third-party application(The IC identifier uniquely identifies (at least for a time) the particular RFID IC upon which it is [Col.17/lines 25-27]), the system comprising: a computer system, wherein the computer system is structured and configured to: receive validation data generated by the IC chip from a computing device, wherein the validation data includes first information associated with the unique digital identity(The IC identifier uniquely identifies (at least for a time) the particular RFID IC upon which it is [Col.17/lines 25-27]).
Diorio does not explicitly disclose “receive second information associated with the unique digital identity; determine whether the IC chip can be validated based on the validation data and the second information associated with the unique digital identity; and responsive to determining that the IC chip can be validated, communicate
the identifier of the third-party application to the computing device.
However, Meadow in an analogous art discloses “receive second information associated with the unique digital identity; determine whether the IC chip can be validated based on the validation data and the second information associated with the unique digital identity” (Device may transmit a Universally Unique Identifier ( UUID ) to other GRL Devices in proximal to the transmitting GRL Meadow[Col.34/lines 56-58]); “and responsive to determining that the IC chip can be validated, communicate
the identifier of the third-party application to the computing device.”(i.e. authorized third party allows verification, an authorized third party once validated are allowed to view contents of encrypted communications Meadow[Col.5/lines 29-39]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Diorio’s digital identities on an IC chip for physical items with Meadows blockchain process on a chip device in order to provide additional security. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because Diorio discloses an IC chip which comprises a unique ID, Meadow teaches an IC chip comprising an authentication process with product metadata and ownership tables, and both are from the same field of endeavor.
Regarding claim 48 in view of 47, the references combined disclose “wherein the computer system is structured and configured to obtain the identifier of the third-party application from the system registry responsive to determining that the IC chip can be validated” (i.e. authorized third party allows verification, an authorized third party once validated are allowed to view contents of encrypted communications Meadow[Col.5/lines 29-39]).
Regarding claim 49 in view of 47, the references combined disclose “wherein the system registry is a centralized registry” (registration service Diorio[Fig.10/item 1060]).
Regarding claim 50 in view of 47, the references combined disclose “wherein the system registry is a decentralized blockchain registry” (remote storages 1040/1045 may be individual, monolithic databases; part of a distributed database; part of a distributed ledger or blockchain Diorio [Col.21/lines 23-27]).
Regarding claim 51 in view of 47, the references combined disclose “wherein the unique digital identity is a public key of a private-public key pair of the IC chip, wherein the first information associated with the unique digital identity is generated using the private key of the IC chip, and wherein the second information associated with the unique digital identity is the public key of the IC chip.” (the one or more processors may perform operations associated with retrieving data that may include a tag public key, Diorio[Col.13/lines 19-21]).
Regarding claim 52 in view of 51, the references combined disclose “wherein the first information associated with the unique digital identity is a signed content hash generated using the private key of the IC chip” (included at creation in the first transaction : UUIDs , a public / private key pair , and hash ; and supports authenticated updating of digitally signed transactions via a definable blockchain data format Meadow[Col.8/lines 17-20]).
Regarding claim 53 in view of 51, the references combined disclose “wherein signed content hash is generated using a random number generated by the IC chip, a value of an internal read counter of the IC chip, and the private key of the IC chip.” (included at creation in the first transaction : UUIDs , a public / private key pair , and hash ; and supports authenticated updating of digitally signed transactions via a definable blockchain data format Meadow[Col.8/lines 17-20]).
Regarding claim 54 in view of 51, the references combined disclose “wherein the validation data also includes the public key of the IC chip.” (the one or more processors may perform operations associated with retrieving data that may include a tag public key, Diorio[Col.13/lines 19-21]).
Regarding claim 55 in view of 47, the references combined disclose “wherein the second information associated with the unique digital identity includes the public key of the IC chip and a first private key shard generated based on the private key of the IC chip, wherein the unique digital identity is a public key of a private-public key pair of the IC chip, wherein the first information associated with the unique digital identity comprises an encrypted version of a second private key shard, wherein the
second private key shard is generated based on the private key of the IC chip, and wherein the encrypted version of the second private key shard is generated using a symmetric key unique to the IC chip” (included at creation in the first transaction : UUIDs , a public / private key pair , and hash ; and supports authenticated updating of digitally signed transactions via a definable blockchain data format Meadow[Col.8/lines 17-20]).
Regarding claim 56 in view of 55, the references combined disclose “wherein the computer system is structured and configured to determine whether the IC chip can be validated by obtaining the second private key shard from the encrypted version of the second private key shard using the symmetric key unique to the IC chip, using the first private key shard and the second private key shard to obtain the private key of the IC chip, and using the private key and the public key of the IC chip to determine whether the IC chip can be validated” (Secret 806 may be a secret key, a private key of a private-public key pair, a password, or any other information not generally known to the public. In some embodiments, secret 806 may include multiple secrets, each of which may be used differently or have different characteristics [Col.14/lines 11-16])
Regarding claim 57 in view of 55, the references combined disclose “wherein the validation data also includes an encrypted version of a chip ID for the IC chip and a value of an internal read counter of the IC chip generated using a common symmetric key stored by the IC chip.” (included at creation in the first transaction : UUIDs , a public / private key pair , and hash ; and supports authenticated updating of digitally signed transactions via a definable blockchain data format Meadow[Col.8/lines 17-20]).
Regarding claim 58 in view of 47, the references combined disclose “wherein the identifier of the third-party application comprises a non-public uniform resource locator (URL) of the third-party application.” (An encoding scheme may specify organization or order, coding, compression, encryption, , or any other suitable way in which data values can be reversibly represented. A pointer could include a uniform resource identifier (URI), a uniform resource name (URN), a uniform resource locator (URL), an Internet Protocol (IP) address, a media access control (MAC) address, or any other suitable means of identifying a location or address of a resource. In another embodiment, 50 the encoding scheme of ID 1004 may itself indicate the appropriate information service(s). For example, the encoding scheme may be associated with a certain information service, and the encoded value may include information that allows the information service to locate digital identity information about the item Diorio [Col.19/lines 39-56]).
Regarding claim 59 in view of 47, the references combined disclose “wherein the information for the IC chip stored by the system registry further includes product metadata the physical product that comprises a type and/or brand of the physical product.” (metadata or parameters that are stored locally on the Definable Blockchain in a chip Meadow[Col.8/lines 35-38] also see ownership tables within the local profile database [Col.25/lines 6-14]).
Regarding claim 60 in view of 47, the references combined disclose “wherein the information for the IC chip stored by the system registry further includes owner information indicative of a current owner of the physical product. (metadata or parameters that are stored locally on the Definable Blockchain in a chip Meadow[Col.8/lines 35-38] also see ownership tables within the local profile database [Col.25/lines 6-14]).
Regarding claim 61 in view of 47, the references combined disclose “wherein the IC chip is a near field communication (NFC) chip and wherein the validation data is received in response to a device tap of the IC chip by the computing device” (key capabilities of the invention yield a low - cost high volume chip design for consumer packaged goods and other Assets that : 1 ) can be built into product labels or otherwise affixed to products ; 2 ) can communicate with NFC , Bluetooth Low Energy , Wi - Fi ( LAN ) ,WAN and Internet Meadow[Col.8/lines 10-16]).
Regarding claim 62, Diorio discloses “a method of controlling digital ownership of a physical product and an integrated circuit (IC) chip embedded as part of the physical product (unique ID 1004, 1066, and 1072 ,maybe unique to an IC [Col.22/lines 7-9]),, wherein the IC chip and the physical product are bound to a third-party application in a system registry(In some embodiments, information service 1030 may use a registration service [Col.21/lines 40-42]), wherein the system registry stores information for the IC chip that includes a unique digital identity for the IC chip, an identifier of the third-party application(The IC identifier uniquely identifies (at least for a time) the particular RFID IC upon which it is [Col.17/lines 25-27]).
Diorio doesn’t explicitly disclose “and owner information indicative of a current owner of the IC chip and the physical product, the method comprising: determining whether a user desiring to obtain ownership of the physical product and the IC chip can be authenticated based on user account credentials provided by the user; receiving an ownership claim from the user for the physical product and the IC chip; and responsive to the ownership claim and determining that the user can be authenticated, causing the owner information stored in the system registry to indicate that the user is the current owner of the IC chip and the physical product.”
However, Meadow discloses “and owner information indicative of a current owner of the IC chip and the physical product, the method comprising: determining whether a user desiring to obtain ownership of the physical product and the IC chip can be authenticated based on user account credentials provided by the user” (metadata or parameters that are stored locally on the Definable Blockchain in a chip Meadow[Col.8/lines 35-38] also see ownership tables within the local profile database [Col.25/lines 6-14]).; receiving an ownership claim from the user for the physical product and the IC chip; and responsive to the ownership claim and determining that the user can be authenticated, causing the owner information stored in the system registry to indicate that the user is the current owner of the IC chip and the physical product.” (metadata or parameters that are stored locally on the Definable Blockchain in a chip Meadow[Col.8/lines 35-38] also see ownership tables within the local profile database [Col.25/lines 6-14]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Diorio’s digital identities on an IC chip for physical items with Meadows blockchain process on a chip device in order to provide additional security. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because Diorio discloses an IC chip which comprises a unique ID, Meadow teaches an IC chip comprising an authentication process with product metadata and ownership tables, and both are from the same field of endeavor.
Regarding claim 63 in view of claim 62, the references combined disclose “wherein the user can be authenticated based on the user account credentials only if the user has been previously authorized to obtain ownership of the IC chip and the physical product.” (metadata or parameters that are stored locally on the Definable Blockchain in a chip Meadow[Col.8/lines 35-38] also see ownership tables within the local profile database [Col.25/lines 6-14]).
Regarding claim 64 in view of claim 63, the references combined disclose
“wherein the user may be previously authorized to obtain ownership of the IC chip and the physical product by either the current owner of the IC chip and the physical product at the time of the ownership claim or an administrator associated with a seller of the physical product or the third party of the third-party application” (metadata or parameters that are stored locally on the Definable Blockchain in a chip Meadow[Col.8/lines 35-38] also see ownership tables within the local profile database [Col.25/lines 6-14]).
Regarding claim 65 in view of claim 62, the references combined disclose
“wherein the ownership claim is a first ownership claim received at a first time, the method further comprising: receiving a second ownership claim from the user for the physical product and the IC chip at a second time” (metadata or parameters that are stored locally on the Definable Blockchain in a chip Meadow[Col.8/lines 35-38] also see ownership tables within the local profile database [Col.25/lines 6-14]); and determining whether a difference between the first time and the second time is greater than or equal to a time threshold”(the authentication service 1080 receives a response satisfying the time threshold but with no reply to the challenge, the authentication service 1080 may determine that the requesting entity does not possess item 1010 [Col.26/lines 10-14]); “wherein the owner information stored in the system registry is caused to indicate that the user is the current owner of the IC chip and the physical product responsive to the ownership claim and determining that the user can be authenticated only if it is determined that the difference is greater than or equal to the time threshold” (the authentication service 1080 receives a response satisfying the time threshold but with no reply to the challenge, the authentication service 1080 may determine that the requesting entity does not possess item 1010 [Col.26/lines 10-14]).
Regarding claim 66 in view of claim 62, the references combined disclose
“wherein the system registry is a centralized registry.” (registration service [Fig.10/item 1060]),
Regarding claim 67 in view of claim 62, the references combined disclose
“wherein the system registry is a decentralized blockchain registry” (remote storages 1040/1045 may be individual, monolithic databases; part of a distributed database; part of a distributed ledger or blockchain Diorio [Col.21/lines 23-27]).
Regarding claim 68 in view of claim 67, the references combined disclose
“wherein the user account credentials are based on a smart contract account of the user and comprise a blockchain identity for the user” (metadata or parameters that are stored locally on the Definable Blockchain in a chip Meadow[Col.8/lines 35-38] also see ownership tables within the local profile database [Col.25/lines 6-14]).
Regarding claim 69 in view of claim 62, the references combined disclose
“wherein the unique digital identity is a public key of a private-public key pair of the IC chip” (the one or more processors may perform operations associated with retrieving data that may include a tag public key, Diorio[Col.13/lines 19-21]).
Regarding claim 70 in view of claim 62, the references combined disclose “wherein the identifier of the third-party application comprises a non-public uniform resource locator (URL) of the third-party application.” (An encoding scheme may specify organization or order, coding, compression, encryption, , or any other suitable way in which data values can be reversibly represented. A pointer could include a uniform resource identifier (URI), a uniform resource name (URN), a uniform resource locator (URL), an Internet Protocol (IP) address, a media access control (MAC) address, or any other suitable means of identifying a location or address of a resource. In another embodiment, 50 the encoding scheme of ID 1004 may itself indicate the appropriate information service(s). For example, the encoding scheme may be associated with a certain information service, and the encoded value may include information that allows the information service to locate digital identity information about the item Diorio [Col.19/lines 39-56]).
Regarding claim 71, Diorio discloses “a system for controlling digital ownership of a physical product and an integrated circuit (IC) chip embedded as part of the physical product(unique ID 1004, 1066, and 1072 ,maybe unique to an IC [Col.22/lines 7-9]), wherein the IC chip and the physical product are bound to a third-party application in a system registry(In some embodiments, information service 1030 may use a registration service [Col.21/lines 40-42]), wherein the system registry stores information for the IC chip that includes a unique digital identity for the IC chip, an identifier of the third-party application(The IC identifier uniquely identifies (at least for a time) the particular RFID IC upon which it is [Col.17/lines 25-27]).
Diorio doesn’t explicitly disclose “and owner information indicative of a current owner of the IC chip and the physical product, the system comprising: a computer system, wherein the computer system is structured and configured to: determine whether a user desiring to obtain ownership of the physical product and the IC chip can be authenticated based on user account credentials provided by the user; receive an ownership claim from the user for the physical product and the IC chip; and responsive to the ownership claim and determining that the user can be authenticated, cause the owner information stored in the system registry to indicate that the user is the current owner of the IC chip and the physical product”
However, Meadow discloses “and owner information indicative of a current owner of the IC chip and the physical product, the system comprising: a computer system, wherein the computer system is structured and configured to: determine whether a user desiring to obtain ownership of the physical product and the IC chip can be authenticated based on user account credentials provided by the user” (metadata or parameters that are stored locally on the Definable Blockchain in a chip Meadow[Col.8/lines 35-38] also see ownership tables within the local profile database [Col.25/lines 6-14]); receive an ownership claim from the user for the physical product and the IC chip; and responsive to the ownership claim and determining that the user can be authenticated, cause the owner information stored in the system registry to indicate that the user is the current owner of the IC chip and the physical product.” (metadata or parameters that are stored locally on the Definable Blockchain in a chip Meadow[Col.8/lines 35-38] also see ownership tables within the local profile database [Col.25/lines 6-14]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Diorio’s digital identities on an IC chip for physical items with Meadows blockchain process on a chip device in order to provide additional security. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because Diorio discloses an IC chip which comprises a unique ID, Meadow teaches an IC chip comprising an authentication process with product metadata and ownership tables, and both are from the same field of endeavor.
Regarding claim 72 in view of claim 71, the references combined disclose “wherein the user can be authenticated based on the user account credentials only if the user has been previously authorized to obtain ownership of the IC chip and the physical product” (metadata or parameters that are stored locally on the Definable Blockchain in a chip Meadow[Col.8/lines 35-38] also see ownership tables within the local profile database [Col.25/lines 6-14]).
Regarding claim 73 in view of claim 72, the references combined disclose “wherein the user may be previously authorized to obtain ownership of the IC chip and the physical product by either the current owner of the IC chip and the physical product at the time of the ownership claim or an administrator associated with a seller of the physical product or the third party of the third-party application”(metadata or parameters that are stored locally on the Definable Blockchain in a chip Meadow[Col.8/lines 35-38] also see ownership tables within the local profile database [Col.25/lines 6-14]).
Regarding claim 74 in view of claim 72, the references combined disclose “wherein the ownership claim is a first ownership claim received at a first time, wherein the computer system is further structured and configured to: receive a second ownership claim from the user for the physical product and the IC chip at a second time(metadata or parameters that are stored locally on the Definable Blockchain in a chip Meadow[Col.8/lines 35-38] also see ownership tables within the local profile database [Col.25/lines 6-14]) ; and determine whether a difference between the first time and the second time
is greater than or equal to a time threshold (the authentication service 1080 receives a response satisfying the time threshold but with no reply to the challenge, the authentication service 1080 may determine that the requesting entity does not possess item 1010 [Col.26/lines 10-14]) ; wherein the owner information stored in the system registry is caused to indicate that the user is the current owner of the IC chip and the physical product responsive to the ownership claim and determining that the user can be authenticated only if it is determined that the difference is greater than or equal to the time threshold.” (the authentication service 1080 receives a response satisfying the time threshold but with no reply to the challenge, the authentication service 1080 may determine that the requesting entity does not possess item 1010 [Col.26/lines 10-14]).
Regarding claim 75 in view of claim 72, the references combined disclose “wherein the system registry is a centralized registry.” (registration service Diorio[Fig.10/item 1060]).
Regarding claim 76 in view of claim 72, the references combined disclose “wherein the system registry is a decentralized blockchain registry” (remote storages 1040/1045 may be individual, monolithic databases; part of a distributed database; part of a distributed ledger or blockchain Diorio [Col.21/lines 23-27]).
Regarding claim 77 in view of claim 76, the references combined disclose “wherein the user account credentials are based on a smart contract account of the user and comprise a blockchain identity for the user” (metadata or parameters that are stored locally on the Definable Blockchain in a chip Meadow[Col.8/lines 35-38] also see ownership tables within the local profile database [Col.25/lines 6-14]).
Regarding claim 78 in view of claim 72, the references combined disclose “wherein the unique digital identity is a public key of a private-public key pair of the IC chip” (the one or more processors may perform operations associated with retrieving data that may include a tag public key, Diorio[Col.13/lines 19-21]).
Regarding claim 79 in view of claim 72, the references combined disclose “wherein the identifier of the third-party application comprises a non-public uniform resource locator (URL) of the third-party application” (An encoding scheme may specify organization or order, coding, compression, encryption, , or any other suitable way in which data values can be reversibly represented. A pointer could include a uniform resource identifier (URI), a uniform resource name (URN), a uniform resource locator (URL), an Internet Protocol (IP) address, a media access control (MAC) address, or any other suitable means of identifying a location or address of a resource. In another embodiment, 50 the encoding scheme of ID 1004 may itself indicate the appropriate information service(s). For example, the encoding scheme may be associated with a certain information service, and the encoded value may include information that allows the information service to locate digital identity information about the item Diorio [Col.19/lines 39-56]).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL D ANDERSON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2433
/JEFFREY C PWU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2433