DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-17 are pending. Claim 10, line 1, the phrase “any one of” needs to be deleted.
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
4. The drawings filed on July 9, 2024 are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-17, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frazier, US 8,746,395.
Regarding claims 1, 6-12 and 17 Frazier discloses from Figs. 1-5 and related text, e.g. cols. 4-6, lines 42-55, an agriculture machine, e.g. 2, a working component, e.g.18, 24, lateral operator controls, e.g. 26, having touch (haptic) control and a neutral position, e.g Fig. 2B, at least four distinct states of speed, having an increasing/decreasing regions, e.g. 78, 80, having multiple, at least 4 operating ranges, that may have lateral induced directions by the operator controls, having varying speed values.
Regarding claims 2, 5, Frazier discloses at least four distinct operating ranges, e.g. Figs. 4-5, cols. 7-22. These operating ranges would include as least 6 operating ranges.
Regarding claim 3, Frazier discloses a neutral position, e.g. Fig. 2B col. 4, lines 4-21.
Regarding claims 13-15, the floating mode is disclosed from cols. 5-6, lines 23-14.
Frazier does not specifically disclose the terms discrete steps, as recited from claims 1, 2,4, 5 and 17, nor moving the working component that may move both parallel to a driving direction (claim 16).
Official Notice is taken that implementing discrete steps while operating a control, e.g. a joystick, has been common knowledge in the agricultural machine art, as is having moving the working component that may move both parallel and lateral to a driving direction. To have viewed the use of the operator controls of Frazier to put into practice discrete steps including moving the working component that may move both parallel and lateral to a driving direction would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art. To have provided discrete steps for Frazier would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Frazier to include multiple discrete steps with a reasonable expectation of success as the motivation for doing such is to provide a workable agricultural machine to perform its intended function.
7. Yoyoda, US 12,529,201, discloses a work machine having a touch sensor associated with a work machine. It is noted on the attached PTO-892.
8. Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) submitted August 22, 2024 has been reviewed. Note the attached IDS.
571-272-6789. The examiner can generally be reached on Monday thru Friday from about 10am-6pm EST.
/ANDREW JOSEPH RUDY/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3668
571-272-6789