DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after Aug 16, 2022, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
In claim 1, line 2, “a stem portion” is not shown on the figure 1 to 36.
In claim 10, line 2, “a stem portion” is not shown on the figure 1 to 36.
In claim 16, lines 1-2, “a stem portion” is not shown on the figure 1 to 36. the feature must be shown, or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16, line 7 recites: “a portion of said lever extending into said fixed ball pocket” This language appears to be claiming that the same portion of the lever is first adjacent the hemispherical surface and then adjacent the cylindrical surface. However, based on the applicant’s specification, in Figure 7 the top portion of the lever extends into the envelope in the release position and adjacent the hemispherical surface, and in figure 6, the bottom portion is adjacent the cylindrical surface. As such the claim language is unclear because it doesn’t correspond to the disclosure and inaccurately describes the invention.
Any claim not specifically addressed under 112(b) is rejected as being dependent on a claim rejected under 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 6-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Weddendorf (US Pub. 20080129013 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Weddendorf discloses: a coupler (“coupler”, figs. 1-22; [0037]) for selectively retaining a hitch ball (5, fig. 2) affixed to a towing vehicle (“vehicle trailer couplers used to join a trailer vehicle with a towing vehicle”; [0002]), said hitch ball (5) having a spherical portion [fig. 4 shows spherical portion of hitch ball 5] connected to a stem portion (“partial spherical portion” 7, fig. 8 and [0037]), said coupler comprising:
a housing (1, [0037]) having a fixed ball pocket (2, [0037]) for receiving said spherical portion of said hitch ball (5), said fixed ball pocket (2) having an opening (fig. 9) and a hemispherical inside surface (partial; spherical internal cavity 2; thus, hemispherical as depicted in fig. 4);
a lever pivotable (“latching slide part” 6, figs. 1 and 4) with respect to said housing (1) between a captured position (fig. 4) and a release position (fig. 18);
when said lever (6) is in said release position (“unlatched or release”; fig, 18) a first portion (front portion 47 of said lever 46 or 6 as depicted in fig. 18 and [0046]) extends into said fixed ball pocket (2) is adjacent said hemispherical inside surface (hemispherical surface of 2 and 46; see fig. 8 and 18), when said lever (6 or 46) is in said captured position (fig. 4), said lever extending partially (via 7) across said opening [para. 0037 teaches: “the coupler is closed to contain the ball by a moving latching slide part 6 with a concave or partially spherical front face 7 in contact with the ball 5; thus, said lever extending partially across said opening]; and
a locking pin (16 or 56; [0040 and 0049]) is moveable along a locking axis (“an axis of the transverse pin 16”; [0040]) between a locked (latched) and unlocked position (release position) when said lever (16) is in said captured position (“closed latching position”; [0013]), said locked position (fig. 4) defined as said locking pin (16) holding said lever (6) in said captured position (“closed latching position”; fig. 4 and [0013]), said unlocked position (fig. 18) defined as said locking pin (16) being clear of said lever (6; [para. 0043 teaches that the shaft 18 transverse pin 16 travels through 180 degrees, with the handle 34 sweeping an arc upward from closed to open and back (equivalent to clear of said lever]), said locking pin (16) is biased towards said locked position [see fig. 8 where pin 16 is biased towards said locked position]; and
when said locking pin (16) is moved to said unlocked position (fig. 8 or 18), said lever (6 or 46) is moveable away from said captured position (fig. 4 captured position to fig. 18 through fig. 19 release position), when said lever (6) is moved to said release position (fig. 19), said locking pin (16) is moved from said unlocked position (fig. 18) into biased contact [para. 0041 teaches that when the latching slide 6 of the coupler is in the forward closed latching position, meaning the transverse pin 16 is in its most forward position; thus, into biased contact with said lever]; with said lever (6) so that when said lever (6) moves to said captured position (fig. 4), said locking pin (16) moves to said locked position (captured and locked in fig. 4).
Regarding claim 2, Weddendorf further teaches that a spring (30 or 68 [0041 or [0050]) to bias (via stub shaft 22) said locking pin (16) towards said locked position [ para. 0010 teaches: “each shaft (locking pin) is also automatically latched when rotated to the closed position by a spring-loaded member].
Regarding claim 6, Weddendorf further teaches that said housing (1, [0037]) has a formed portion (top surface of coupler body housing 1 as depicted in fig. 3) and an insert portion (“internal part”; fig. 10 or fig. 20 and [0024 or 0034]), said insert portion (“internal part”) is affixed to said formed portion (“top surface” of the housing), said lever (6) is pivotable about a fastener (rivet 9, fig. 2; [0044]) extending through said formed (“top surface” of the coupler body housing, fig. 3) and insert portions (“internal part”) [para. 0044 teaches that rivets 9 are placed from the inside of the lock block 8 through their holes and supported from inside and formed from the outside; thus, said insert portion is affixed to said formed portion, said lever is pivotable about a fastener extending through said formed and insert portions].
Regarding claim 7, Weddendorf further teaches that a guide collar (retaining ring 63; [0049]) having guide posts (“guide means”; [0049] and [claim 1 teaches that a latching slide member mounted within the housing so as to be movable in a reciprocating manner toward and away from the cavity, guide means (equivalent to a guide post) within the housing to prevent the latching slide member from moving laterally or vertically such that the latching slide member is only movable longitudinally toward and away from the cavity]), said guide posts located in grooves (claim 6); and located in said on said locking pin (16 or 56), a spring (30) located between said guide collar (63) and a shoulder (“ enlarged flange”; [claim 6 teaches that the stub shaft (18, a part of pin 16) includes an enlarged flange (equivalent to a shoulder) that is seated within a groove]) on said locking pin (16 or56]), said spring (30) biasing (via stub shaft, claim 6) said locking pin (16 or 56) towards said locked position (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 8, Weddendorf further teaches that said lever (6) moves from said captured position (fig. 4) toward said release position (fig. 19), said lever (6) contacts (see fig. 7 where 6 contact 16 from unlocked position at fig. 8 through 7 and to 6) with said locking pin (16) to move said locking pin (16) from said unlocked position (fig. 8).
Regarding claim 9, Weddendorf further teaches that a release handle (handle portion 34, fig. 2or 66, fig. 9; [0040 and 0050]) affixed to said locking pin (16 or 56; [ para. 0040 teaches that a handle portion 34 protrudes from the pivot mount section 19 of the shaft 18. The handle 34 extends in a direction that is opposite to the direction of the eccentric mounting of the transverse pin 16; thus, affixed to said lock pin]) and a resilient spacer (“pivot mount section 19; [0040]) located between (fig. 9 where 19 is located between) said release handle (34 or 66) and said housing (1), said resilient spacer (19) is in biased contact (via. Shaft 18) with said release handle (34 or 66) and said housing (1) in said locked position (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, Weddendorf teaches: a coupler (“coupler”, figs. 1-22; [0037]) for selectively retaining a hitch ball (5, fig. 2), said hitch ball having a spherical portion [fig. 4 shows spherical portion of hitch ball 5] connected to a stem portion (“partial spherical portion” 7, fig. 8 and [0037]), said coupler comprising:
a housing (1, [0037]) having a fixed ball pocket (2, [0037]) for receiving said spherical portion (7) of said hitch ball (5), said fixed ball pocket (2) having an opening (fig. 9);
a lever pivotable (“latching slide part” 6, figs. 1 and 4) with respect to said housing (1) between a captured position (fig. 4) and a release position (fig. 8 or 18), a portion of said lever (front portion 47 of said lever 46 or 6 as depicted in fig. 18) extending into said fixed ball pocket (2) in said release position (fig. 18 through 19);
when said lever (6) is in said captured position (fig. 4 position), said lever (6) partially extends across said opening to constrict (at 2) said opening (see fig. 4) to a distance smaller than said spherical portion (constrict portion at depicted in fig. 4 is smaller than the spherical portion; see annotated fig. 4 of Weddendorf below);
a locking pin (16 or 56) is slidable (via 46) along a locking axis between a locked and unlocked position when said lever is in said captured position (fig. 4 position and [para 0006 teaches: “a latching slide used to retain the hitch ball within the front cavity of the coupler housing or body moves linearly in a reciprocating motion along the coupler body to close or open the coupler relative to the hitch ball; thus, a locking pin is slidable along a locking axis between a locked and unlocked position when said lever is in said captured position ]), said locked position (fig. 4) defined as said locking pin (16 or 56) holding said lever (6) in said captured position (fig. 4), said unlocked position (fig. 18) defined by said lever (6) unconstrained by said locking pin (16 or 56), said locking pin is biased towards said locked position (fig. 18 shows said locking pin is biased towards said locked position); and
when said lever (6) moves from said captured position (fig. 4 position) toward said release position (towards fig. 19 position), said lever (6) contacts said locking pin (16 or 56) to move said locking pin (16 or 56) from said unlocked position (fig. 18).
Annotated fig. 4 of Weddendorf.
Regarding claim 11, Weddendorf further teaches that said locking pin (16 or 56) is moved to said unlocked position (fig. 18 position), said lever (6) is moveable away (see fig. 18) from said captured position (fig. 4), when said lever (6) is moved to said release position (fig. 18 to 19 position), said locking pin (6) is moved from said unlocked position (fig. 18) into biased contact with said lever (6) so that when said lever moves to said captured position (fig. 4), said locking pin moves to said locked position (captured and locked position at fig. 3).
Regarding claim 12, Weddendorf further teaches that the coupler of claim 11, wherein said locking pin has a groove (“groove for a retaining ring 63”; [0049]) with a terminal end (“distal end”; [para. 0043 teaches: “The transverse pin 16 is held at its distal end by a pocket 35”]) and a knee (annotated fig. 7 below
) adjacent thereto, said coupler having a guide post (“guide means” for retaining ring 63; [0049]; also [claim 1 teaches that a latching slide member mounted within the housing so as to be movable in a reciprocating manner toward and away from the cavity, guide means (equivalent to a guide post) within the housing to prevent the latching slide member from moving laterally or vertically such that the latching slide member is only movable longitudinally toward and away from the cavity]) located in said groove (groove via retaining ring 63).
Regarding claim 13, Weddendorf further teaches that said lever (6) is moveable to a reset position (“unlatched but still closed” as depicted in fig. 16 and as taught by [0030]) located between said captured position (fig. 4) and said release position (fig. 19), said reset position defined by said lever (6) contacting said locking pin (16 or 56) to move said locking pin away from said unlocked position (fig. 18) to an armed position (fig. 16), said armed position defined by said locking pin (16 or 56) in biased contact with said lever (6; see fig. 16 where 16 or 56 in biased contact with lever 6).
Regarding claim 14, Weddendorf includes all the limitation of claim 10 and further teaches that a guide collar (retaining ring 63; [0049]) having guide posts (“guide means”; [0049] and [claim 1 teaches that a latching slide member mounted within the housing so as to be movable in a reciprocating manner toward and away from the cavity, guide means (equivalent to a guide post) within the housing to prevent the latching slide member from moving laterally or vertically such that the latching slide member is only movable longitudinally toward and away from the cavity]), said guide posts located in grooves (claim 6) on said locking pin (16 or 56), said grooves having a knee (annotated fig. 7 below), a spring (30) located between said guide collar (63) and a shoulder (“guide means”; [0049] and [claim 1 teaches that a latching slide member mounted within the housing so as to be movable in a reciprocating manner toward and away from the cavity, guide means (equivalent to a guide post) within the housing to prevent the latching slide member from moving laterally or vertically such that the latching slide member is only movable longitudinally toward and away from the cavity]) on said locking pin (16 or 56), said spring (30) biasing said locking pin (16 or 56) towards said locked position (see fig. 4).
Regarding claim 15, Weddendorf includes all the limitation of claim 10 and further teaches that said hitch ball (5) moves said lever (6) to said release position (fig. 19) when said hitch ball (5) is removed from said fixed ball pocket (fig. 19 shows ball 5 is removed when released).
Regarding claim 16, Weddendorf teaches: a coupler (“coupler”, figs. 1-22; [0037]) for selectively retaining a hitch ball (5, fig. 2) having a spherical portion [fig. 4 shows spherical portion of hitch ball 5] affixed to a stem portion (“partial spherical portion” 7, fig. 8 and [0037]), said coupler (“coupler”, figs. 1-22; [0037]) comprising:
a housing (1, [0037]) having a fixed ball pocket (2, [0037]) for receiving said spherical portion of said hitch ball (5), said fixed ball pocket (2, [0037]) having an opening (fig. 9);
a lever pivotable (“latching slide part” 6, figs. 1 and 4) with respect to said housing (1) between a captured position (fig. 4) and a release position (fig. 19), said lever pivotable (6) to a reset position (“unlatched but still closed” as depicted in fig. 16 and as taught by [0030]) located between said captured (fig. 4) and release positions (fig.19), a portion of said lever (a first portion (front portion 47 of said lever 46 or 6 as depicted in fig. 18) extending into said fixed ball pocket (2) in said release position (fig. 8 or 18 configuration), said lever (6) has a trip notch (annotated fig. 18 of Weddendorf below);
when said lever (6) is in said captured position (figs. 3-4 position), a distance across said opening is smaller than said fixed ball pocket (constrict portion at depicted in fig. 4 is smaller than the spherical portion; see annotated fig. 4 of Weddendorf above);
a locking pin (16 or 56; [0040 and 0049]) is slidable (via 46) along a locking axis (“an axis of the transverse pin 16”; [0040]) between a locked (“latched”) and unlocked position (“release position) when said lever (6) is in said captured position (“closed latching position”; [0013]), said locking pin (6) has a trip cam (“crank” 18; [para. 0040 teaches: “this pin is formed as one end of a larger transverse crank or other shaft 18. An axis of the transverse pin 16 is parallel to an axis of the larger pivot mount section 19 of the shaft 18, but displaced a small distance, or formed eccentrically with respect thereto, note that crank formed eccentrically is equivalent to cam profile as depicted in annotated fig. 18 below]), said locked position (fig. 4 position) is defined as said locking pin (16 or 56) holding said lever in said captured position (fig. 4 position), said unlocked position (fig 18 position) is defined by said lever (6) being rotatable away (fig. 18 shows rotatable away) from said captured position (figs. 3-4 position), said locking pin (16 or 56) is biased towards said locked position (fig. 18 shows said locking pin is biased towards said locked position); and
said trip cam (18) contacting said trip notch (annotated fig. 18 of Weddendorf below) in said reset position (“unlatched but still closed” as depicted in fig. 16 and as taught by [0030]) to move said locking pin (16 or 56) to an armed position (fig. 16) when said lever (6) is moved from said reset position (“unlatched but still closed”) toward said release position (fig. 18 through fig. 19), said armed position defined by said locking pin (16 or 56) in biased contact with said lever ( see fig. 17 for spring bias). Thus, prior art of record anticipates the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 17, Weddendorf further teaches that said locking pin (16 or 56) is moved to said unlocked position (fig. 18), said lever 96) is moveable away (fig. 18 shows movable away) from said captured position (fig. 4 position), when said lever (6) is moved to said release position (fig. 19 position), said locking pin (16 or 56) is moved from said unlocked position (fig. 18 position) into biased contact ( see fig. 6 for the details of biasing) with said lever (6) so that when said lever (6) moves to said captured position (fig. 18 back to fig. 3 position), said locking pin (16 or 56) moves to said locked position (fig. 4 position).
Regarding claim 18, Weddendorf further teaches that said reset position (“unlatched but still closed” as depicted in fig. 16 and as taught by [0030]) is defined by said lever (6) contacting said locking pin (16 or 56) to move said locking pin away [para. 0051 teaches that as the transverse pin (16 or 56) continues its rotation, it urges slide 46 back away from the ball 45 until the ball can fit out from the inside pocket or cavity 42 of the front of the coupler body 41; thus, said locking pin to move said locking pin away] from said unlocked position (fig. 18) to said armed position (fig. 16 position).
Regarding claim 19, Weddendorf further teaches that a guide collar (retaining ring 63; [0049]) having guide posts, said guide posts (“guide means”; [0049] and [claim 1 teaches that a latching slide member mounted within the housing so as to be movable in a reciprocating manner toward and away from the cavity, guide means (equivalent to a guide post) within the housing to prevent the latching slide member from moving laterally or vertically such that the latching slide member is only movable longitudinally toward and away from the cavity]) located in grooves (“grove”, claim 6) on said locking pin (16 or 56), said grooves having a knee (annotated fig. 7 below), a spring (30) located between said guide collar (63) and a shoulder (“ enlarged flange”; [claim 6 teaches that the stub shaft (18, a part of pin 16) includes an enlarged flange (equivalent to a shoulder) that is seated within a groove]) on said locking pin (16 or 56), said spring (30) biasing (fig. 5 shows spring biasing) said locking pin (16 or 56) towards said locked position (fig. 4 position).
Regarding claim 20, Weddendorf further teaches that said housing (1) has a formed portion (top surface of coupler body housing 1 as depicted in fig. 3) and an insert portion (“internal part”; fig. 10 or fig. 20 and [0024 or 0034]), said insert portion (“internal part”) is affixed to said formed portion (“top surface” of housing), said lever (6) is pivotable about a fastener (rivet 9, fig. 2; [0044]) extending through said formed (“top surface” of the coupler body housing, fig. 3) and insert portions (“internal part”; fig. 10 or 20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4.Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weddendorf in view of Miyanaga (US Pat. 6250856 B1).
Regarding claim 3, Weddendorf further teaches that said locking pin (16) is rotatable (“the shaft 18 transverse pin 16 travels through 180 degrees”; thus, rotatable) about said locking axis (“an axis of the transverse pin 16”; [0040]), in said unlocked position (fig. 18 position), said locking pin (16) has a groove (“groove for a retaining ring 63”; [0049]) and a terminal end (“distal end”; [para. 0043 teaches: “The transverse pin 16 is held at its distal end by a pocket 35”]) and a knee (annotated fig. 7 below), said coupler having a guide post fixed with respect to said housing (“guide means” - retaining ring 63; [0049]; [claim 1 teaches that a latching slide member mounted within the housing so as to be movable in a reciprocating manner toward and away from the cavity, guide means (equivalent to a guide post) within the housing to prevent the latching slide member from moving laterally or vertically such that the latching slide member is only movable longitudinally toward and away from the cavity]) and located in said groove (“groove”; see annotated fig.7 below).
Weddendorf expressly teaches that the locking pin is rotatable, and the pin has a groove as disclosed by claim 6 and the groove having a terminal end and a knee to guide interaction with a corresponding post, but Weddendorf fails to explicitly teach that the pin has a groove with a helical portion and a radial portion; however,
Miyanaga in another quick attachment structure similar to Weddendorf teaches that the pin (30, fig. 6) has a groove (30c; col. 8, lines 55-56) with a helical portion (fig. 6), a radial portion (see annotated fig. 6 of Miyanaga below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the modified Weddendorf to incorporate the teaching of Miyanaga and provide the groove on the locking pin with a helical portion and a radial portion, incorporate those configuration to the invention of Weddendorf’s terminal end and a knee to guide interaction with a corresponding post or detent, as such groove geometries are routinely used in latch and pin mechanisms to define intermediate and stop positions during sliding or rotational movement as taught by Miyanaga into the invention of Weddendorf with a reasonable expectation of success in order to advantageously obtain the modified and optimized structural features would have been a predictable modification to improve controlled pin travel and retention under bias, such that the coiled spring which is an elastic member is simply attached to an inner peripheral face or an outer peripheral face and thus assembly can easily be performed (col. 8, lines 65-67 of Miyanaga), so that it can be secured by pin and once the coupler is secured, the release mechanism will be utilized.
Annotated fig. 6 of Miyanaga
Regarding claim 4, Weddendorf as modified above further teaches that said lever (6) is moveable to a reset position (“unlatched but still closed” as depicted in fig. 16 of Weddendorf and as taught by [0030]) between said captured position (fig. 14) and said release position (fig.19), said reset position defined by said lever (6) contacting [note: “still close” is understood to be in contact still with the pin 16 and lever 6 as depicted in fig. 18] said locking pin (16) to move said locking pin (16) away from said unlocked position (fig. 8 or 18) to an armed position (“still close” position as depicted in fig. 16), said armed position (“still close” position; fig. 16) defined by said guide post (“guide means” - retaining ring 63; [0049]); located in said groove (“groove for a retaining ring 63”; [0049]) where said knee (annotated fig. 7 below) is located between said terminal end (“distal end”; [0043]) and said guide post (63).
Regarding claim 5, Weddendorf as modified above further teaches that said locking pin (16 or 56 of Weddendorf) has a trip cam (“crank” 18; [para. 0040 teaches: “this pin is formed as one end of a larger transverse crank or other shaft 18. An axis of the transverse pin 16 is parallel to an axis of the larger pivot mount section 19 of the shaft 18, but displaced a small distance, or formed eccentrically with respect thereto, note that crank formed eccentrically is equivalent to cam profile as depicted in annotated fig. 18 below]); and said lever (6) has a trip notch (annotated fig. 18 of Weddendorf below), said trip cam (53) contacting said trip notch (trip notch, annotated fig. 18 of Weddendorf below) in said reset position (“unlatched but still closed” as depicted in fig. 16 and as taught by [0030]) to move said locking pin (16) to said armed position (fig. 16) when said lever (6) is moved to said release position (fig. 18 through fig. 19).
Annotated fig. 18 of Weddendorf
Annotated fig. 7 of Weddendorf.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20160303932 to Olson discloses: a socket hitch apparatus comprises a socket member defining a socket. A swivel member is attached to the socket member about a horizontal swivel pivot axis located rearward of the socket, such that the swivel member can pivot from an open position to a closed position.
US Pat. 7926832 B1 to Hall discloses: a new and improved trailer coupler for connecting a trailer to a ball hitch mounted on a towing vehicle comprising a housing having a recessed socket, a retractable latching plate, a locking mechanism.
US Pat. 5573263 to Denny discloses: a self-latching trailer hitch for securing and releasing a hitch ball attached to a towing vehicle. The hitch maintains itself in a ball receiving position and when placed over the hitch ball, automatically locks into a ball securement position without the need for manual manipulation of a locking device.
/NABIN KUMAR SHARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/VIVEK D KOPPIKAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3612
May 29, 2026