DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the parent application publication paragraph [0210], the specification discloses that vps_sub_layer_independent_flag[i][j] being equal to 1 specifies that the temporal sub-layer with index j contained in the layer with index i does not use inter-layer prediction. vps_sub_layer_independent_flag[i][j] being equal to 0 specifies that the temporal sub-layer with index j contained in the layer with index i may use inter-layer prediction. Therefore, in the parent application publication paragraph [0222] (page 32 lines 5-9 of the present specification as filed) vps_sub_layer_independent_flag[i][j] specifies whether inter-layer prediction is used for the temporal sub-layer with index j contained in the layer with index i.
RAPAKA discloses ([0028]) signaling sub-layer inter-layer prediction dependency separately for all direct dependent layers, i.e., signaling whether a temporal sub-layer uses inter-layer prediction.
LEE discloses that a temporal sublayer having a value that is above a temporal sublayer threshold does not use inter-layer prediction ([0097] the maximum temporal sub-layer information means information on a maximum temporal sub-layer level allowing inter-layer prediction at a corresponding layer. That is, a temporal sub-layer having a temporal level greater than that of the maximum temporal sub-layer information described in a corresponding layer).
RAPAKA discloses ([0107]) discarding (e.g., removing from a buffer) the pictures in the first layer with respect to the second layer, discard the pictures in the first layer that are disabled for use for inter-layer prediction with respect to the second layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of LEE according to the invention of RAPAKA, to discard the temporal sublayer of the first layer based on the determining and signalization indicating that the temporal sublayer of the second layer is coded without inter-layer prediction, in order to save memory (RAPAKA [0024]).
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 06/22/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S. Patent No. US 12069236 B2 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. (US 20160119632 A1) in view of RAPAKA et al. (US 20150103905 A1).
Regarding claim 1. LEE discloses A decoder for decoding a sequence of pictures from a data stream having a plurality of layers including a first layer and a second layer ([0001] code and decode an upper layer using information of a lower layer as image encoding and decoding technology of a multi-layered structure; abstract, an image having a plurality of layers including at least one temporal sub-layer), the decoder configured to perform operations comprising:
decoding, from the data stream, a temporal identifier that indicates a temporal sublayer threshold above which temporal sublayers of the second layer are coded without inter-layer prediction ([0086] efficiently express and signal information on whether a temporal sub-layer of each layer may be referred for inter-layer prediction; [0092] signal temporal sub-layer information of each layer determined using a syntax element; [0090] determine a temporal sub-layer allowing inter-layer prediction at each layer except for the uppermost layer and may signal the information by a decoder. Further, the decoding device may recognize whether a temporal sub-layer of each layer may be referred for inter-layer prediction at an upper layer through the signaled information. The inter-layer prediction may be performed based on the temporal sub-layer information of each layer which may be referred);
determining that a temporal sublayer of the second layer has a value that is above the temporal sublayer threshold ([0097] the maximum temporal sub-layer information means information on a maximum temporal sub-layer level allowing inter-layer prediction at a corresponding layer. That is, a temporal sub-layer having a temporal level greater than that of the maximum temporal sub-layer information described in a corresponding layer); and
decoding, by inter-layer prediction, another temporal sublayer of the second layer that has a value at or below the temporal sublayer threshold ([0097] the maximum temporal sub-layer information means information on a maximum temporal sub-layer level allowing inter-layer prediction at a corresponding layer. That is, a temporal sub-layer having a temporal level greater than that of the maximum temporal sub-layer information described in a corresponding layer).
Furthermore, LEE discloses ([0092]) The decoding device may decode the signaled temporal sub-layer information of each layer from the coding device, may determine whether temporal sub-layer pictures included in each layer may be used as a reference picture for the inter-layer prediction based on the decoded information.
However, LEE does not explicitly disclose based on the determining and on signalization indicating that the temporal sublayer of the second layer does not use, for inter-layer prediction, a temporal sublayer of the first layer, discarding the temporal sublayer of the first layer that is not used for inter-layer prediction of the temporal sublayer of the second layer.
RAPAKA discloses based on a determining and on signalization indicating that a temporal sublayer of a second layer does not use, for inter-layer prediction, a temporal sublayer of a first layer, discarding the temporal sublayer of the first layer that is not used for inter-layer prediction of the temporal sublayer of the second layer ([0028] signaling sub-layer inter-layer prediction dependency separately for all direct dependent layers; [0107] discard (e.g., remove from a buffer) the pictures in the first layer with respect to the second layer, discard the pictures in the first layer that are disabled for use for inter-layer prediction with respect to the second layer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of LEE according to the invention of RAPAKA, to discard the temporal sublayer of the first layer based on the determining and signalization indicating that the temporal sublayer of the second layer is coded without inter-layer prediction, in order to save memory (RAPAKA [0024]).
Regarding claim 2. LEE in view of RAPAKA discloses The decoder of claim 1, wherein the first layer comprises a base layer (LEE [0076] The scalable video coding structure may include decoding information of the base layer; RAPAKA [0074] The lowest illustrated layer (410A) may be referred to as a base layer, a current layer, and/or a first layer).
Regarding claim 3. LEE in view of RAPAKA discloses The decoder of claim 1, wherein the second layer comprises an enhancement layer (LEE [0076] The scalable video coding structure may include decoding information of an enhancement layer; RAPAKA [0074] The layers above the first layer 410A (415A1 and 415A2) may be considered enhancement layers of the first layer 410A).
Regarding claim 4. LEE discloses The decoder of claim 1, wherein the first layer comprises a lower layer than the second layer ([0077] The base layer may refer to a lower layer. The enhancement layer may refer to a upper layer).
Regarding claim 5. RAPAKA discloses The decoder of claim 1, further comprising:
prior to decoding the temporal identifier from the data stream, decoding a flag that indicates a presence of the temporal identifier in the data stream ([0023] the video encoder may signal the max_tid_ref_present_flag to indicate that max_tid_il_ref_pics_plus1[i] is present. If it is, then the video encoder may signal max_tid_il_ref_pics_plus1[i]).
Regarding claim 6. The same analysis has been stated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 7. The same analysis has been stated in claim 2.
Regarding claim 8. The same analysis has been stated in claim 3.
Regarding claim 9. The same analysis has been stated in claim 4.
Regarding claim 10. The same analysis has been stated in claim 5.
Regarding claim 11. The same analysis has been stated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 12. The same analysis has been stated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 13. The same analysis has been stated in claim 2.
Regarding claim 14. The same analysis has been stated in claim 3.
Regarding claim 15. The same analysis has been stated in claim 4.
Regarding claim 16. The same analysis has been stated in claim 5.
Regarding claim 17. The same analysis has been stated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 18. The same analysis has been stated in claim 2.
Regarding claim 19. The same analysis has been stated in claim 3.
Regarding claim 20. The same analysis has been stated in claim 4.
Regarding claim 21. The same analysis has been stated in claim 5.
Regarding claim 22. The same analysis has been stated in claim 1.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XIAOLAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488