DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 04/21/2025 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of the full statutory term of prior patent no. 12,064,068 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 6-8, Applicant argues that the proposed combination of Gilad, Roth, and Wang do not disclose the limitation of “the fin perpendicularly extending from a vision system mount towards the reflective surface of the lens module holder.”
In response, Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that Roth also discloses a cover 404 and an assembly stand 402 as shown in Fig. 4A and further described in at least [0074], either of which (the cover 404 or the stand 402) can correspond to a vision system mount. Based on the proposed combination of Gilad and Roth, a relative positions of the vision system mount, the fin, and the reflective surface along an axis perpendicular to the mount and directed towards the reflective surface can be illustrated using a Fig. 4B of Roth reproduced as follows:
As further shown in Fig. 5A of Gilad, the fin extends along the axis thus perpendicularly extending from a vision system mount towards the reflective surface as illustrated in Fig. 5A reproduced as follows:
Examiner respectfully submits that the annotations provided in Fig. 4B and Fig. 5A explains how the limitation of “the fin perpendicularly extending from a vision system mount towards the reflective surface of the lens module holder” is met.
Applicant’s arguments on pages 8-9 with respect to claims 17-20 and claims 13-16 are moot in view of the discussion of Gilad and Roth above.
Applicant’s arguments are therefore not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6, 8, 10-12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilad et al. (US 2007/0118018 A1 – hereinafter Gilad) and Roth et al. (US 2018/0343402 A1 – hereinafter Roth).
Regarding claim 1, Gilad discloses a vision system for a mobile robot, the vision system comprising: a lens module (Fig. 3 – a lens module comprising elements 208, 208’, 208”, or a lens module comprising elements 209, 209’, 209”); an illumination system comprising a plurality of light sources (Fig. 3; [0031] – an illumination system comprising light sources 203 or light sources 23); and a lens module holder (Fig. 3; [0030] – a lens module holder 54); wherein the lens module holder is positioned around the lens module and comprises a reflective surface for reflecting light emitted from the illumination system away from the lens module ([0030] – each of lens holders 54 is coated with a reflective material so as to redirect illumination to a desired direction and away from the imager 26 or 206).
However, Gilad does not disclose a fin is disposed between each of the plurality of light sources, the fin perpendicularly extending from a vision system mount towards the reflective surface of the lens module holder to segment to the light emitted from the illumination system.
Roth discloses a fin is disposed between each of a plurality of light sources, the fin perpendicularly extending from a vision system mount towards a casing surface of the lens module holder to segment to light emitted from an illumination system ([0086]; [0093]; Fig. 5A – a portion, e.g. each of portions 501, as a fin arranged between each segment corresponding to a light illuminator to segment the emitted light in order to prevent light leakage from one illuminator segment to another illuminator segment, each portion has a thickness extending perpendicular to a vision system mount, e.g. cover 404, and towards casing 401, which in view of Gilad, is where the reflective surface is positioned).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Roth into the vision system taught by Gilad to prevent light leakage from one illuminator segment to another illuminator segment, thus optimizing illumination condition for imaging. One of ordinary skill in the art would have also recognized that in view of such a combination with Gilad, the position of the case surface taught by Roth corresponds to the position of the reflective surface (see coated element 54 described at paragraph [0030] and shown in Fig. 3 of Gilad). Thus, Gilad and Roth disclose the limitation of “the fin perpendicularly extending from a vision system mount towards a casing surface of the lens module holder” (also see “Response to Arguments” above).
Regarding claim 4, Gilad also discloses the plurality of light sources are arranged in a ring around the lens module (Fig. 2; [0028]).
Regarding claim 6, Gilad also discloses the reflective surface is a semi-parabolic toroid mirror (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 8, Gilad also discloses a light-transmissive cover (Fig. 3 – optical dome 21 or optical dome 201).
Regarding claim 10, Gilad also discloses the lens module holder is configured to protrude above an upper surface of a body of the mobile robot when mounted to the mobile robot (Figs. 2-3 – protruding above the surface at which elements 234 is disposed, which is interpreted as an upper surface of the body of the in-vivo device).
Regarding claim 11, Gilad also discloses each of the plurality of light sources are positioned below an upper surface of a body of the mobile robot when mounted to the mobile robot (Figs. 2-3 – below the surface of the optical dome, which is interpreted as an upper surface of the body of the in-vivo device).
Regarding claim 12, Gilad also discloses the lens module comprises a plurality of lens for focusing light onto an image sensor (Fig. 3 – a lens module comprising lenses 208, 208’, and 208” 206 and a lens module comprising lenses 209, 209’, and 209” focuses light onto imager 26).
Claim 17 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 1 above in view of Gilad also disclosing the mobile robot comprising the vision system (Fig. 2; Fig. 3; [0003]-[0004] – the in-vivo device is a mobile robot).
Claims 2-3, 5, 7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilad and Roth as applied to claims 1, 4, 6, 8, 10-12, and 17 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2016/0205318 A1 – hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 2, see the teachings of Gilad and Roth as discussed in claim 1 above. However, Gilad and Roth do not disclose the vision system mount configured for mounting the vision system to a mobile robot, the vision system mount comprising a plurality of holes through which a corresponding light source from the plurality of light sources protrudes.
Wang discloses a vision system mount configured for mounting the vision system to a body of a host device, the vision system mount comprising a plurality of holes through which a corresponding light source from a plurality of light sources protrudes (Figs. 1-2; [0020]-[0021] – a vision system comprising a vision system mount for mounting the vision system, i.e. lens and light sources, onto a body of a device 10, the vision system mount comprising holes through which a plurality of light sources protrude as shown in Figs. 1-2).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Wang into the vision system taught by Gilad and Roth to secure the vision system to the host device.
Regarding claim 3, see the teachings of Gilad, Roth, and Wang as discussed in claim 2 above. Gilad, Roth, and Wang do not disclose the vision system mount comprises a heat sink that operably draws heat away from the plurality of light sources.
Official Notice is taken that a mount comprises a heat sink operably draws draw heat away from heat sources is well known in the art.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate a mount with heat sink into the vision system taught by Gilad, Roth, and Wang to dissipate the heat generated by the light sources in order to stabilize their operation and extend their life span.
Regarding claim 5, see the teachings of Gilad and Roth as discussed in claim 1 above. Gilad also discloses each of the plurality of light sources are positioned below the reflective surface of the lens holder module (Fig. 3).
However, Gilad and Roth do not disclose the lens module protrudes above the lens module holder.
Wang discloses a lens module protrudes above the lens module holder (Fig. 2 – lens module 20 protrudes above a lens module holder).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Wang into the vision system taught by Gilad and Roth to allow capturing of wide-angle images.
Claim 7 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 2 above in view of. Roth also disclosing each fin is disposed on the vision system mount ([0086] – disposed on the vision system mount shown in Fig. 4A). The motivation for incorporating the teachings of Roth has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 9, see the teachings of Gilad and Roth as discussed in claim 8 above. However, Gilad and Roth do not disclose the light-transmissive cover covers the illumination system and defines an aperture through which a top of the lens module protrudes.
Wang discloses a light-transmissive cover covers an illumination system and defines an aperture through which a top of a lens module protrudes ([0027]; Figs. 1-2 – transmissive cover 40 covers an illumination system and defines an aperture through which a top of a lens module 20 protrudes).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Wang into the vision system taught by Gilad and Roth to allow wide angle images to be captured.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilad and Roth as applied to claims 1, 4, 6, 8, 10-12, and 17 above, and further in view of Hennick et al. (US 2003/0089776 A1 – hereinafter Hennick).
Regarding claim 13, see the teachings of Gilad and Roth as discussed in claim 1 above, in which Gilad also discloses there are eight light sources (Fig. 2 – there 2 x4 light sources 234).
However, Gilad and Roth do not disclose each of the eight light sources is independently controllable.
Hennick discloses each light source is independently controllable ([0010] - a plurality of different colored LED dies each independently drivable so that the overall color emitted by the light source can be controlled and varied).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Hennick into the vision system taught by Gilad and Roth to condition the emitted light according to application or working environment.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilad and Roth as applied to claims 1, 4, 6, 8, 10-12, and 17 above, and further in view of Basho (US 20160182783 A1 – hereinafter Basho).
Regarding claim 14, see the teachings of Gilad and Roth as discussed in claim 1 above. However, Gilad and Roth do not disclose the lens module holder is disposed around the lens module to allow the lens module to extend upward through the lens module holder.
Basho discloses a lens module holder is disposed around the lens module to allow the lens module to extend upward through the lens module holder (Fig. 3; [0048] – lens a lens module holder is disposed around lens 71 allowing the lens to extend upward through the lens module holder).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Basho into the vision system taught by Gilad and Roth so that the lens can be set at a desired orientation.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilad and Roth as applied to claims 1, 4, 6, 9, 10-12, and 17 above, and further in view of Kimura (US 20170331987 A1 – hereinafter Kimura).
Regarding claim 15, see the teachings of Gilad and Roth as discussed in claim 1 above. However, Gilad and Roth do not disclose the lens module holder comprises a flange that projects radially outwards from the outside of the lens module holder.
Kimura discloses a lens module holder comprises a flange that projects radially outwards from the outside of the lens module holder (Figs. 3, 5A-5B – flange 203).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Kimura into the vision system taught by Gilad and Roth to prevent the illumination light from reflecting on the cover to enter the lens unit and shields reflected light of the illumination light, thus providing images of good quality.
Regarding claim 16, see the teachings of Gilad, Roth, and Kimura as discussed in claim 15 above. Kimura also discloses a reflective surface disposed on a surface underneath a flange, the reflective surface configured reflect light emitted from a illumination system away from a lens module ([0043]; Figs. 3, 5A-5B – the surface underneath flange 203 reflects light 206d).
The motivation for incorporating the teachings of Kimura into the system of Gilad and Wang has been discussed in claim 15 above.
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji et al. (US 2016/0059770 A1 – hereinafter Ji), Kimura, and Roth.
Alternatively, regarding claim 17, Ji discloses a mobile robot (Figs. 3-4) comprising a vision system (Figs. 3-4; [0041]), the vision system comprising: a lens module (Figs. 3-4; [0041] – a lens module comprising a panoramic annular lens); an illumination system comprising a plurality of light sources (Figs. 4-5; [0044] – light sources 4); and a lens module holder (Figs. 4-5 – the main body of the robot); wherein the lens module holder is positioned around the lens module (Figs. 4-5 – the main body of the robot is positioned around the lens module) and comprises a surface (Fig. 4; [0043] – the bottom surface of the handle 25).
However, Ji does not disclose the lens module holder comprises a reflective surface for reflecting light emitted from the illumination system away from the lens module; and wherein a fin is disposed between each of the plurality of light sources, the fin being sized, shaped, and positioned to segment the light emitted from the illumination system.
Kimura discloses a lens module holder comprises a reflective surface for reflecting light emitted from an illumination system away from a lens module (Figs. 3, 5A-5B – flange 203).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Kimura into the vision system taught by Ji to prevent the illumination light from reflecting on the cover to enter the lens unit and shields reflected light of the illumination light, thus providing images of good quality.
Ji and Kimura do not disclose a fin is disposed between each of the plurality of light sources, the fin being sized, shaped, and positioned to seqment the light emitted from the illumination system.
Roth discloses a fin is disposed between each of the plurality of light sources, the fin being sized, shaped, and positioned to seqment the light emitted from the illumination system ([0086]; [0093]; Fig. 5A – a portion, e.g. each of portions 501, as a fin arranged between each segment corresponding to a light illuminator to segment the emitted light in order to prevent light leakage from one illuminator segment to another illuminator segment, each portion has a size and a shape, which are determined, i.e. sized and shaped, by designers to successfully segment to light as desired).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Roth into the mobile robot taught by Ji and Kimura to prevent light leakage from one illuminator segment to another illuminator segment, thus optimizing illumination condition for imaging.
Regarding claim 18, Ji also discloses a cleaner head through which air can be drawn into the mobile robot (Fig. 3; [0041] – cleaner head 23).
Regarding claim 19, Ji also discloses the lens module protrudes above a top surface of the mobile robot (Figs. 3-4 – the lens module of camera 24 protrudes above a top surface of the mobile robot); and the illumination system is disposed below the top surface of the mobile robot (Fig. 4 – light sources 4 are disposed below the top surface of the mobile robot).
Regarding claim 20, see the teachings of Ji, Kimura, and Roth as discussed in claim 17 above. Kimura also discloses the lens module holder is disposed around the lens module, and the lens module holder comprises a reflective surface for reflecting light emitted from the illumination system away from the lens module ([0043]; Figs. 3, 5A-5B – the surface underneath flange 203 reflects light 206d); wherein the reflective surface extends above the top surface of an installation surface (Fig. 1A) and at least partially faces downward toward the plurality of light sources (Fig. 3).
The motivation for incorporating the teachings of Kimura into the system of Ji and Roth has been discussed in claim 17 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUNG Q DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484