DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 7/9/20204. Claims 1-22 are pending. Claims 1-22 are rejected.
Restriction/Election
Applicant's election with traverse of the restriction requirement in the reply filed on 1/29/26 is acknowledged. Applicant argues on pages 3-4 of remarks that the cited separate inventions have not acquired a separate status in the art and consequently that there would be no unreasonable or excessive search burden. Applicant’s arguments have been found to be persuasive and the restriction requirement is withdrawn.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 120, 122.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
CONCLUSION.--The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the Applicant regards as his invention.
Claims 13-19 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Claims 13 and 22 recite the limitation "the fastener." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there is no prior recitation of “a fastener.” Appropriate correction is required.
In view of the above rejections the respective claims are rejected as best understood on prior art as follows:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 8,973,183 to Palashewski et al. (“Palashewski”) in view of US Patent 2,689,961 to Lieberthal.
Claim 1. An article of bedding comprising: a first section (Palashewski, Fig. 14, #328); a second section (Palashewski, Fig. 14, #320) extending from the first section; a third section (Palashewski, Fig. 14, #322) extending from the first section such that the third section is laterally adjacent to the second section; a first member (Palashewski, Fig. 15, #340) projecting laterally from the second section toward the third section; a second member (Palashewski, Fig. 15, #342) projecting laterally from the third section toward the second section; and a junction (as best understood, a “junction” is a reinforcement patch seen at Applicant’s Fig. 9, #84; Palashewski doesn’t teach a reinforcement patch, however, the use of a reinforcement patch at a connection point is well known in the art of bedding, as taught by Lieberthal Fig. 5, #10; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a reinforcement patch since Palashewski discloses in column 24, line 48 to column 25, line 4 that this point is susceptible to increased stress and potential damage; providing a reinforcement patch as taught by Lieberthal would help to prevent such damage) joining the sections and the members, wherein edges of the members are joined such that the first member does not overlay any portion of the second member (compare Applicant’s Fig. 9 with Palashewski Fig. 14 which discloses comparable structures; additionally see Lieberthal Figs. 2 and 5 which teaches a configuration with a reinforcement patch in which the sides #9 do not overlay one another)
Claim 2. The article of bedding recited in claim 1, wherein the junction includes a patch (Lieberthal Fig. 5, #10).
Claim 3. The article of bedding recited in claim 2, wherein the members are movable relative to one another to move the article of bedding between a first orientation in which a portion of an edge of the first member is spaced apart from a portion of an edge of the second member to define an aperture therebetween and a second orientation in which the portion of the edge of the first member engages the portion of the edge of the second member (the flaps, or members, of Palashewski can be separated as claimed, compare Applicant’s Fig. 9 with Palashewski Fig. 14)
Claim 4. The article of bedding recited in claim 3, wherein the patch extends across the aperture when the article of bedding is in the first orientation (see orientation of patch in Lieberethal Fig. 5, compare to Applicant’s Fig. 9).
Claim 5. The article of bedding recited in claim 3, wherein the aperture is V-shaped (Palashewski, Fig. 15)
Claim 7. The article of bedding recited in claim 1, wherein the article of bedding includes a panel, the panel comprising the sections and the members, the panel comprising opposite first and second sides, the junction including a patch that is stitched to one of the sides (the combined sheet of Palashewski and Lieberthal comprises a panel at #328 in Fig 14, as well as a patch taught by Lieberthal and stitching seen in both Palashewski Fig. 15 and Lieberthal Fig. 5)
Claim 8. The article of bedding recited in claim 1, wherein the article of bedding includes a panel, the panel comprising the sections and the members, the junction including a patch, the article of bedding including stitching that extends through the patch and the panel to couple the patch to the panel (the combined sheet of Palashewski and Lieberthal comprises a panel at #328 in Fig 14, as well as a patch taught by Lieberthal and stitching seen in both Palashewski Fig. 15 and Lieberthal Fig. 5).
Claim 9. The article of bedding recited in claim 1, wherein the article of bedding includes a panel, the panel comprising the sections and the members, the junction including a patch, the article of bedding including first stitching that extends through the patch and defines an interface between the second section and the first member and second stitching that extends through the patch and defines an interface between the third section and the second member (regarding first and second stitching, see Palashewski Fig. 15, stitching is seen that attaches first and second members, #340 and 342, to second and third sections, #320 and 322).
Claim 10. The article of bedding recited in claim 9, wherein the first stitching and the second stitching are each linear, the second stitching extending at an acute angle relative to the first stitching (see Palashewski Fig. 15, stitching on first and second members, #340 and 342, is linear, and stitching forms an acute angle at #336).
Claim 11. The article of bedding recited in claim 9, wherein the first stitching and the second stitching are each linear, the second stitching intersecting the first stitching (see Palashewski Fig. 15, stitching on first and second members, #340 and 342, is linear, and stitching intersects at #336).
Claim 12. The article of bedding recited in claim 1, wherein the first section includes opposite top and bottom surfaces, the second section and the third section each extending from the top surface, the first section including opposite first and second side surfaces each extending from the top surface to the bottom surface, the bottom surface extending continuously from the first side surface to the second side surface (Palashewski Fig. 15, sheet #300 inherently comprises top and bottom surfaces).
Claims 6 and 13-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 8,973,183 to Palashewski et al. (“Palashewski”) in view of US Patent 2,689,961 to Lieberthal, and US Patent 8,898,834 to Huber et al. (“Huber”).
Claim 6. The article of bedding recited in claim 1, wherein the article of bedding includes a first strap having a first end coupled to the second section and an opposite second end coupled to the first section and a second strap having a first end coupled to the third section and an opposite second end coupled to the first section (Palashewski does not disclose the use of straps, however, Huber teaches straps on a fitted sheet in at least Fig. 2 at #260; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the fitted sheet of Palashewski with the straps of Huber in order to more securely attach the fitted sheet to the underlying mattress; Huber further discusses in column 5, lines 7-43, varying the strap arrangement and points of connection in order to enable a stable positioning of the sheet).
Claim 13. See rejection of claim 1 above. Regarding a mattress, Palashewski Fig. 14 #302 discloses a mattress. Regarding a first strap and a second strap, see rejection of claim 6, above.
Claim 14. See rejection of claim 2 above.
Claim 15. See rejection of claim 3 above.
Claim 16. See rejection of claim 4 above.
Claim 17. See rejection of claim 9 above.
Claim 18. See rejection of claim 10 above.
Claim 19. See rejection of claim 11 above.
Claim 20. See rejection of claim 1 above. Regarding a mattress, Palashewski Fig. 14 #302 discloses a mattress. Regarding a first strap and a second strap, see rejection of claim 6, above. Regarding “a patch”, providing a reinforcement patch as taught by Lieberthal would help to prevent damage, see rejection of claim 1 above.
Claim 21. See rejection of claim 1 above. Regarding “a first fastener,” Huber teaches the use of straps, see rejection of claim 6, above. Regarding “a junction joining the sections,” Lieberthal teaches a reinforcement patch, see rejection of claim 1 above; Regarding “a second article of bedding”, it would have been an obvious duplication of parts to provide two sheets on the mattress of Palashewski, furthermore Examiner takes Official Notice that it is commonly known to use multiple sheets together on a bed, such as a bottom sheet, or fitted sheet, and a top sheet.
Claim 22. See rejection of claim 1 above. Regarding a mattress, Palashewski Fig. 14 #302 discloses a mattress. Regarding a base comprising a frame and a platform, see Palashewski Fig. 14, base and frame are unlabeled, seen beneath mattress #302; alternatively see Fig. 3, #19.
Conclusion
/MYLES A THROOP/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679