DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 4, 10, 14, 20, 23, 29 and 32 have been amended.
Claims 9, 19, 28 and 37 are canceled.
Claims 38 – 45 are newly added
Claims 1 – 8, 10 – 18, 20 – 27 and 29 – 36 and 38 - 45 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 10, 20 and 29 and respective depended claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claims recite the new limitation of a transaction server that is “separate from the gaming establishment” in various forms or phraseology. The Examiner notes that it is not clear what the Applicant intends this to mean. A server separate from a gaming establishment can mean it is a separate server, it is separated by some distance from the gaming establishment, it not physically on site or at the same location of the game establishment, it is owned or operated by a separate entity etc. Clarification is need to accurately determine the meets and bounds of the claimed “separation”. For the sake of examination, the Examiner will interpret it to mean that the server is a 3rd party server not physically on site of the gaming establishment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
/
Claim(s) 1 – 8, 10 – 18, 20 -27, 29 – 36 and 38 - 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LeMay et al (US 2013/0065686) in view of Graf et al (US 2014/0256407) in view of Prather (2015/0242844).
As per claim 1, LeMay discloses:
(a) the wireless device reading a touchpoint ID associated with the touchpoint; (LeMay 009, 0031, 0037,0071, 0090)
(b) the wireless device transmitting the …, patron-identifying information, and a request for the transaction to a transaction server….; (LeMay discloses a wireless device operated by a player to transmit patron identification such as the unique device ID, wherein the device ID is transmitted to a remote transaction server and a voucher redemption request) (LeMay 009, 0031, 0037, 0061 — 0064)
(c) the transaction server authorizing the transaction…; and(LeMay 0061 — 0064)
(d) the transaction server transmitting, via the wireless device encrypted information representing the gaming instrument to the gaming establishment for validation and provision of the gaming credit to the patron. (LeMay discloses the transmitting of an authorization to an EGM wherein a message to redeem the virtual ticket voucher is sent to the EGM wherein the player can use this to play a wagering game (i.e. good or service)) (LeMay 0061 — 0064) (LeMay further discloses the use of transmitting encrypted information between the wireless device and the EGM wherein the information will be further decrypted. (LeMay 0071, 0091)
LeMay fails to specifically disclose:
the wireless device reading a touchpoint ID associated with the touchpoint;
the wireless device transmitting the touchpoint ID …to a transaction server separate from the gaming establishment;
…using the patron-identifying information maintained by the transaction server and, responsive to the authorizing, the transaction server acquiring, from the gaming establishment, a gaming instrument corresponding to the transaction
wherein (i) the encrypted information comprises an encrypted value representing at least a transaction ID for the transaction; and
(ii) the gaming establishment decrypts the encrypted information to recover the transaction ID for the transaction encrypted in the encrypted information
However, Graf discloses a method of utilizing a mobile device to connect to an EGM wherein an optical code or a RFID code is scanned and the ID of the EGM is transmitted to a remote server to determine if the EGM is valid to be used in the gaming transaction (Graf 0032, 0034).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify LeMay in view of Graf to provide a game system wherein a wireless device reads a touchpoint ID such as an EGM identification, transmits it to a server for authorization. This would ensure that multiple EGM’s are not being utilized simultaneously or blocked (Graf 0034).
In a similar field of endeavor wherein a user utilizes a engages in a financial transaction via mobile devices, Prather discloses a method of transferring funds between a user’s financial account to a gaming account by means of a ETF at a gaming establishment (Prather 4: 33 – 5:55; 10:8 – 38). Prather discloses the use of an ACS funds management portal that is separate from the gaming establishment (Prather Fig 2; 10:39 – 53) and that contains an ACS database of encrypted information comprising transaction ID, patron name or identifier, transaction value and data and time (Prather Fig 2; 10:39 – 53). Prather further discloses that due to the security of the system interfacing with 3rd party financial systems various communications and links are encrypted (thus necessitate decryption of data) between the ETF at the gaming establishment and the various backend servers (Prather 11:22 – 30, 13:6-27)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify LeMay in view of Graf in view of Prather to provide a system that provides a third party transaction server that is separate from the gaming establishment wherein the communications between the ETF device and the transaction servers are encrypted and need to be decrypted to enable the funds to be authorized to be transferred to the gaming machine the user is operating. This would be beneficial as encrypting financial data is known to be effective at preventing data relating to financial transactions from being compromised and hacked.
As per claim 2,
the touchpoint is a non-gaming touchpoint of the gaming establishment; (LeMay discloses the touchpoint being a non-gaming touchpoint such as a kiosk, printer or card reader) (LeMay 0077, 0082, 0083)
step (a) comprises the wireless device reading the touchpoint ID associated with the non- gaming touchpoint; and (LeMay discloses the wireless device reading a touchpoint ID) (LeMay 0071 – 0072)
step (d) comprises the gaming establishment providing the gaming credit to enable the patron to play at any gaming table or any gaming machine of the gaming establishment. (LeMay disclose authorization of a game voucher and providing game credits for use to play a game) (LeMay 0067)
As per claim 3,
a voucher printer is associated with the non-gaming touchpoint; (LeMay discloses the touchpoint being a non-gaming touchpoint such as a kiosk, printer or card reader) (LeMay 0077, 0082, 0083)
step (c) comprises the transaction server requesting creation of a new gaming voucher; and (LeMay discloses a server to requesting e-cash in/out transaction) (LeMay 0133 – 0135)
step (d) comprises: 25(d1) the transaction server transmitting information about the new gaming voucher to the voucher printer associated with the non-gaming touchpoint; and (d2) the voucher printer printing a paper voucher for the new gaming voucher that the patron can redeem for play at any gaming table or any gaming machine for the gaming credit. (LeMay discloses the sending of the e-cash out message to a printer to print a paper voucher) (LeMay 0133, 0143)
As per claim 4, wherein: the touchpoint is a gaming table of the gaming establishment; step (a) comprises the wireless device reading the touchpoint ID associated with the gaming table; and step (d) comprises the gaming establishment providing the gaming credit to enable the 35patron to play at the gaming table. (LeMay discloses the transmitting of an authorization to an EGM (i.e. gaming table LeMay 0189) wherein a message to redeem the virtual ticket voucher is sent to the EGM wherein the player can use this to play a wagering game (i.e. good or service). LeMay further discloses the server authorizing a credit purchase transaction (LeMay 0061 – 0064, 0156 - 0158). LeMay further discloses a server authorizing and validating the virtual voucher to enable use of the credits on the EGM or game machine which may be a gaming table) (LeMay 0181, 0189)
As per claim 5, a voucher printer is associated with the gaming table; (LeMay 0036, 0041, 0048, 0058, 0082, 0189)
step (c) comprises the transaction server requesting creation of a new gaming voucher; (LeMay discloses a server to requesting e-cash in/out transaction) (LeMay 0133 – 0135)
and 5step (d) comprises: (d1) the transaction server transmitting information about the new gaming voucher to the voucher printer associated with the gaming table; (d2) the voucher printer printing a paper voucher for the new gaming voucher; (LeMay 0086, 0087, 0113)and (d3) a dealer at the gaming table redeeming the paper voucher for the patron for the 10gaming credit to enable the patron to play at the gaming table. (LeMay disclose the redemption of printed paper vouchers at gaming machines or at gaming tables) (LeMay 0085, 0189)
As per claim 6, wherein the voucher printer is associated with only the gaming table. (LeMay discloses the gaming machine being associated with a printer, wherein the gaming machine may be a gaming table) (LeMay 0086 – 0087, 0189)
As per claim 7, wherein the voucher printer is associated with the gaming table and one or more other gaming tables. (LeMay discloses the gaming machine being associated with a printer, wherein the gaming machine may be a gaming table) (LeMay 0086 – 0087, 0189)
As per claim 8, wherein step (d) comprises: (d1) creation of a virtual voucher as part of the transaction; and 20(d2) redemption of the virtual voucher for the gaming credit. (LeMay 0086, 0087, 0113), (LeMay further discloses a server authorizing and validating the virtual voucher to enable use of the credits on the EGM or game machine which may be a gaming table) (LeMay 0181, 0189)
As per claim 10,
a ticket server configured to generate new gaming vouchers and redeem existing gaming vouchers, wherein each existing gaming voucher is associated with a unique voucher ID and a specified monetary value; (LeMay 0040)
a kiosk configured to request generation of new gaming vouchers by the ticket server and to 30request redemption of existing gaming vouchers by the ticket server; and (LeMay 0009, 0010, 0040, 0041, 0077, 0168)
a gaming table or a gaming machine, wherein: (LeMay 0189)
a wireless device used by a patron of the gaming establishment is configured to read a touchpoint ID associated with a touchpoint in the gaming establishment; (LeMay 009, 0031, 0037,0071, 0090)
the wireless device is configured to transmit …, patron-identifying 35information, and a request for a purchase of gaming credit to a transaction server…; (LeMay discloses a wireless device operated by a player to transmit patron identification such as the unique device ID, wherein the device ID is transmitted to a remote transaction server) (LeMay 009, 0031, 0037, 0061 — 0064)
-46-1231.031CIPthe transaction server is configured to authorize the purchase of the gaming credit…; and (LeMay 0061 — 0064)
the transaction server is configured to transmit, via the wireless device, encrypted information representing the gaming instrument to the gaming establishment; and(LeMay discloses the transmitting of an authorization to an EGM wherein a message to redeem the virtual ticket voucher is sent to the EGM wherein the player can use this to play a wagering game (i.e. good or service)) (LeMay 0061 — 0064) (LeMay further discloses the use of transmitting encrypted information between the wireless device and the EGM wherein the information will be further decrypted. (LeMay 0071, 0091)
the gaming establishment is configured… to provide the gaming credit to enable the patron to play at the gaming table or the gaming machine. (LeMay 0061 — 0064)
LeMay fails to specifically disclose:
the wireless device is configured to read a touchpoint ID associated with the gaming machine;
the wireless device is configured to transmit the touchpoint ID … separate from the gaming establishment;
… using the patron-identifying information maintained by the transaction server and, responsive to the authorizing, the transaction server is configured to acquire, from the gaming establishment, a gaming instrument corresponding to the transaction ;
…validate the encrypted information…
the encrypted information comprises an encrypted value representing at least a transaction ID for the transaction; and
the gaming establishment decrypts the encrypted information to recover the transaction ID for the transaction encrypted in the encrypted information
However, Graf discloses a method of utilizing a mobile device to connect to an EGM wherein an optical code or a RFID code is scanned and the ID of the EGM is transmitted to a remote server to determine if the EGM is valid to be used in the gaming transaction (Graf 0032, 0034).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify LeMay in view of Graf to provide a game system wherein a wireless device reads a touchpoint ID such as an EGM identification, transmits it to a server for authorization. This would ensure that multiple EGM’s are not being utilized simultaneously or blocked (Graf 0034).
In a similar field of endeavor wherein a user utilizes a engages in a financial transaction via mobile devices, Prather discloses a method of transferring funds between a users financial account to a gaming account by means of a ETF at a gaming establishment (Prather 4: 33 – 5:55; 10:8 – 38). Prather discloses the use of a ACS funds management portal that is separate from the gaming establishment (Prather Fig 2; 10:39 – 53) and that contains an ACS database of encrypted information comprising transaction ID, patron name or identifier, transaction value and data and time (Prather Fig 2; 10:39 – 53). Prather further discloses that due to the security of the system interfacing with 3rd party financial systems various communications and links are encrypted (thus necessitate decryption of data) between the ETF at the gaming establishment and the various backend servers (Prather 11:22 – 30, 13:6-27)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify LeMay in view of Graf in view of Prather to provide a system that provides a third party transaction server that is separate from the gaming establishment wherein the communications between the ETF device and the transaction servers are encrypted and need to be decrypted to enable the funds to be authorized to be transferred to the gaming machine the user is operating. This would be beneficial as encrypting financial data is known to be effective at preventing data relating to financial transactions from being compromised and hacked.
As per claim 12,
the touchpoint is a non-gaming touchpoint of the gaming establishment; (LeMay discloses the touchpoint being a non-gaming touchpoint such as a kiosk, printer or card reader) (LeMay 0077, 0082, 0083)
the wireless device is configured to read the touchpoint ID associated with the non-gaming touchpoint; and(LeMay discloses the wireless device reading a touchpoint ID) (LeMay 0071 – 0072)
the gaming establishment is configured to provide the gaming credit to enable the patron to 30play at any gaming table or any gaming machine of the gaming establishment. (LeMay disclose authorization of a game voucher and providing game credits for use to play a game) (LeMay 0067)
As per claim 13,
a voucher printer is associated with the non-gaming touchpoint; (LeMay discloses the touchpoint being a non-gaming touchpoint such as a kiosk, printer or card reader) (LeMay 0077, 0082, 0083)
the transaction server is configured to request creation of a new gaming voucher; (LeMay discloses a server to requesting e-cash in/out transaction) (LeMay 0133 – 0135)
-47-1231.031CIPthe transaction server is configured to transmit information about the new gaming voucher to the voucher printer associated with the non-gaming touchpoint; and the voucher printer is configured to print a paper voucher for the new gaming voucher that the patron can redeem at any gaming table or any gaming machine for the gaming credit. (LeMay discloses the sending of the e-cash out message to a printer to print a paper voucher) (LeMay 0133, 0143)
As per claim 14, the touchpoint is a gaming table of the gaming establishment; the wireless device is configured to read the touchpoint ID associated with the gaming table; and 10the gaming establishment is configured to provide the gaming credit to enable the patron to play at the gaming table. (LeMay discloses the transmitting of an authorization to an EGM (i.e. gaming table LeMay 0189) wherein a message to redeem the virtual ticket voucher is sent to the EGM wherein the player can use this to play a wagering game (i.e. good or service). LeMay further discloses the server authorizing a credit purchase transaction (LeMay 0061 – 0064, 0156 - 0158). LeMay further discloses a server authorizing and validating the virtual voucher to enable use of the credits on the EGM or game machine which may be a gaming table) (LeMay 0181, 0189)
As per claim 15,
a voucher printer is associated with the gaming table; (LeMay 0036, 0041, 0048, 0058, 0082, 0189)
15the transaction server is configured to request creation of a new gaming voucher; (LeMay discloses a server to requesting e-cash in/out transaction) (LeMay 0133 – 0135)
the transaction server is configured to transmit information about the new gaming voucher to the voucher printer associated with the gaming table; and the voucher printer is configured to print a paper voucher for the new gaming voucher (LeMay 0086, 0087, 0113) that a dealer at the gaming table can redeem for the patron for the gaming credit to enable the patron 20to play at the gaming table. (LeMay disclose the redemption of printed paper vouchers at gaming machines or at gaming tables) (LeMay 0085, 0189)
As per claim 16, wherein the voucher printer is associated with only the gaming table. (LeMay discloses the gaming machine being associated with a printer, wherein the gaming machine may be a gaming table) (LeMay 0086 – 0087, 0189)
As per claim 17, wherein the voucher printer is associated with the gaming table and one or more other gaming tables. (LeMay discloses the gaming machine being associated with a printer, wherein the gaming machine may be a gaming table) (LeMay 0086 – 0087, 0189)
As per claim 18, wherein: the gaming establishment is configured to create a virtual voucher as part of the transaction; 30and the gaming establishment is configured to redeem the virtual voucher for the gaming credit. (LeMay 0086, 0087, 0113), (LeMay further discloses a server authorizing and validating the virtual voucher to enable use of the credits on the EGM or game machine which may be a gaming table) (LeMay 0181, 0189)
Independent claim(s) 20 and 29 is/are obvious over LeMay, Graf and Prather based on the same analysis set forth for claim(s) 1, which are similar in claim scope.
Dependent claim(s) 21 and 30 is/are obvious over LeMay, Graf and Prather based on the same analysis set forth for claim(s) 2, which are similar in claim scope.
Dependent claim(s) 22 and 31 is/are obvious over LeMay, Graf and Prather based on the same analysis set forth for claim(s) 3, which are similar in claim scope.
Dependent claim(s) 23 and 32 is/are obvious over LeMay, Graf and Prather based on the same analysis set forth for claim(s) 4, which are similar in claim scope.
Dependent claim(s) 24 and 33 is/are obvious over LeMay, Graf and Prather based on the same analysis set forth for claim(s) 5, which are similar in claim scope.
Dependent claim(s) 25 and 34 is/are obvious over LeMay, Graf and Prather based on the same analysis set forth for claim(s) 6, which are similar in claim scope.
Dependent claim(s) 26 and 35 is/are obvious over LeMay, Graf and Prather based on the same analysis set forth for claim(s) 7, which are similar in claim scope.
Dependent claim(s) 27 and 36 is/are obvious over LeMay, Graf and Prather based on the same analysis set forth for claim(s) 8, which are similar in claim scope.
As per claim 38, wherein the touchpoint is at a gaming machine of the gaming establishment (LeMay discloses a touchpoint at a gaming establishment) ((LeMay 009, 0031, 0037,0071, 0090)
Dependent claim(s) 39-40 is/are obvious over LeMay, Graf and Prather based on the same analysis set forth for claim(s) 38, which are similar in claim scope.
As per claim 42, wherein: patron-identifying information is not transmitted to the gaming establishment for the transaction; and using the wireless device, the patron does not have access to the transaction ID for the transaction encrypted in the encrypted information. (Combination of LeMay and Prather wherein Prather does not need to transmit the patron ID information back to the gaming establishment but it is in the ACS database that is encrypted and the patron does not have access to see the encrypted information) (Prather Fig 2; 10:39 – 53).
Dependent claim(s) 43-45 is/are obvious over LeMay, Graf and Prather based on the same analysis set forth for claim(s) 42, which are similar in claim scope.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 – 8, 10 – 18, 20 – 27 and 29 – 36 and 38 - 45 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Please see above rejection addressing the newly amended claim language. Please see above rejection addressing the newly amended claim language in view of Prather.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Ross A Williams/Examiner, Art Unit 3715 7/23/2025
/KANG HU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715