DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the first paragraph of the specification should include that SN 17/576,611 is now US Patent Number 12,063,621.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11, 12, 15, 16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Applicant’s submission of prior art, Jiang et al., US Patent Application Publication Number 2019/0208387 (hereinafter Jiang).
Regarding claims 1, 16, and 20, Jiang discloses an electronic device, comprising: one or more antennas [inherent]; and a network interface coupled to the one or more antennas [inherent] and configured to: receive an indication of an allocated period of ranging, wherein the indication is received in an anchor carrier frequency [paragraph 0129]; based on the indication, initiate ranging transmission using the allocated period of ranging [paragraph 0130]; after completing the ranging transmission, receive ranging signal reflections [paragraph 0131]; and perform object detection based on the received ranging signal reflections [paragraph 0131]. Further regarding claims 16 and 20, the limitation disclosing “initiating a carrier sensing and collision avoidance procedure” is synonymous to allocating a period of ranging.
Regarding claim 11, Jiang discloses wherein the indication indicates a first sub-slot for the ranging transmission and indicates a second sub-slot for receiving the ranging signal reflections [paragraphs 0129, 0131].
Regarding claim 12, Jiang discloses wherein the indication indicates how long to delay initiation of ranging transmission after receiving the indication before initiating the ranging transmission [paragraph 0129].
Regarding claim 15, Jiang discloses wherein the network interface delays listening for the ranging signal reflections until an allocated sub-slot after completing the ranging transmission [paragraph 0131].
Claim(s) 1, 12, 16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Martorana, US Patent Application Publication Number 2002/0155845 (hereinafter Martorana).
Regarding claims 1, 16, and 20, Martorana discloses an electronic device, comprising: one or more antennas [inherent]; and a network interface coupled to the one or more antennas [inherent] and configured to: receive an indication of an allocated period of ranging, wherein the indication is received in an anchor carrier frequency [paragraph 0070]; based on the indication, initiate ranging transmission using the allocated period of ranging [paragraph 0070]; after completing the ranging transmission, receive ranging signal reflections [paragraph 0070]; and perform object detection based on the received ranging signal reflections [paragraph 0070]. Further regarding claims 16 and 20, the limitation disclosing “initiating a carrier sensing and collision avoidance procedure” is synonymous to allocating a period of ranging.
Regarding claim 12, Martorana discloses wherein the indication indicates how long to delay initiation of ranging transmission after receiving the indication before initiating the ranging transmission [paragraphs 0071-0072].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang.
Regarding claim 2, Jiang does not specifically disclose that the ranging transmission uses a ranging carrier outside of an anchor carrier used for cellular communications by the electronic device. However, the Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the art to perform ranging on a different carrier than the carrier used to indicate the ranging period. Before the effective filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include this feature. The motivation for this modification would have been to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 3, Jiang discloses the anchor carrier is used for downlink communications and uplink communications for the electronic device, and the indication is received using the ancho carrier [paragraph 0129].
Regarding claims 4 and 17, Jiang does not specifically disclose a frequency of the ranging carrier is higher than the anchor carrier frequency. Regarding claims 5 and 7, Jiang does not specifically disclose the frequency of the ranging carrier is in an unlicensed or licensed spectrum. The Examiner takes Official Notice that these features of the frequency are well known in the art. Before the effective filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include this feature. The motivation for this modification would have been to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Further, these characteristics of the frequency lack criticality to the overall function of the invention.
Regarding claims 6 and 8, Jiang discloses the indication comprises a wireless network command received from the wireless network base station [paragraph 0036].
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 16 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,229,002. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are generic to all that is recited in the patented claims and are therefore an obvious variant thereof. Instant independent claims 1, 16 and 20 are taught in patented claim 1 and are broader as they omit the limitation regarding encoding the ranging signals.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 10, 13-14, and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kurihara, US Patent Number 7,299,063, discloses a wireless communication system for performing ranging.
/EAW/
July 27, 2026
/ERIKA A WASHINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644