DETAILED ACTIONNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Applicant Response to Official Action
The response filed on 5/8/2026 has been entered and made of record.
Acknowledgment
Claims 1-4, 8, 12, 16, and 17, amended on 5/8/2026, are acknowledged by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 8, 17 and their dependent claims have been considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendments initiated by the applicant. Examiner addresses the main arguments of the Applicant as below.
Regarding the U.S.C. 102 rejection, the Applicant amended the claim. As a result, the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0270322 A1), (“Huang”), in view of Groot et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2014/0084137 A1), (“Groot”), in view of Melakari et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2024/0036310 A1), (“Melakari”).
Regarding claim 1, Huang meets the claim limitations as follow.
A monitoring system (A system) [Huang: para. 0004], comprising: an imaging module (The virtual visor system 20 further includes an illumination sensor, such as a camera 14. The camera 14 or other illumination sensor is configured to detect an illumination level of at least one location of interest within the cabin 17 of the vehicle 18) [Huang: para. 0023] configured to capture image data associated with a vehicle cabin (The camera 14 is configured to continuously or periodically capture images of the face of the driver 16 and output the captured image frames) [Huang: para. 0023]; an electro-optic assembly ((the LCD screen 12) [Huang: para. 0022]; (In some embodiments, the LCD screen 12 is integrated within the glass of windshield 19 or
other window of the vehicle) [Huang: para. 0022]) configured to switch transmission states upon an applied voltage ((The controller 10 and/or the row/column driver circuits are configured to provide appropriated voltages, currents, data, and/or other signals to the LCD panel 112 via the connections 162 to operate the pixels 114 (S1-S32) and control the optical states thereof (i.e., control whether each pixel is in the opaque state or the transparent state, discussed above). In some embodiments, certain data or other signals are transmitted back to the controller 10 from the pixels 114 (S1-S32) via the connections 162) [Huang: para. 0029] – Note: The control the optical states implies the ”switch” transmission states); and a control system (a "controller" or "processor" includes any hardware system, hardware mechanism or hardware component that processes data, signals, or other information. The controller 10 may include a system with a central processing unit, multiple processing units, or dedicated circuitry for achieving specific functionality) [Huang: para. 0024] in communication with the imaging module (a processor in communication with the one or more sensors) [Huang: para. 0004] and the electro-optic assembly (The LCD screen 12 has a plurality of independently
operable LCD pixels and/or LCD shutters arranged in a grid formation. Each pixel is configured to be selectively operated by the controller 10 in one of at least two optical states: (1) an opaque state, in which the respective pixel blocks light from passing through a respective area of the LCD screen 12 and (2) a transparent state, in which the respective pixel allows light to pass through the respective area of the LCD screen 12) [Huang: para. 0025], the control system configured to (a processor) [Huang: para. 0024]: receive the image data from the imaging module (receive input data including images) [Huang: para. 0004]; detect a presence of light value within a region captured in the image data ((The virtual visor system 20 is configured to detect changes in an illumination level within the cabin 17 of the vehicle 18) [Huang: para. 0021]; (The controller 10 is configured to store a mapping between each individual pixel of the LCD screen 12 and a corresponding location in the cabin 17, or more particularly, a corresponding location on the face of the driver 16 at which the respective pixel casts a shadow when operated in the opaque mode. It will be appreciated that the location at which a pixel casts a shadow when operated in the opaque mode is dependent on the lighting environment and, in particular, a location of any high intensity light sources, such as the sun, which shines through the windshield 19 onto the face of the driver 16. In one embodiment, the controller 10 is configured to periodically and/or continuously update the mapping between each individual pixel of the LCD screen 12 and the corresponding location on the face of the driver 16) [Huang: para. 0040]; (it will be appreciated that the detected changes in the illumination level may be a result of a changing in the lighting environment or a change in optical state of one or more of the pixels of the LCD screen 12) [Huang: para. 0037]) that exceeds a predetermined threshold value and is proximate eyes of a vehicle occupant ((The controller 10 is configured to process the image frames to determine an illumination level of at least one location of interest within the cabin 17 of the vehicle 18. Particularly, in at least one embodiment, the controller 10 is configured to process the image frames to determine an illumination level on a face of the driver 16 or, more particularly, on the eyes of the driver 16) [Huang: para. 0035]; (The controller 10 is configured to operate at least one pixel of the LCD screen 12 in the opaque state in response to the illumination level and/or the change in the illumination level of the at least one location of interest within the cabin 17 exceeding a predetermined threshold. In at least one embodiment, the controller 10 is configured to operate at least one pixel of the LCD screen 12 in the opaque state in response to the illumination level and/or the change in the illumination level on the face of the driver 16 exceeding the predetermined threshold or, more particularly, in response to the illumination level and/or the change in the illumination level on the eyes of the driver 16 exceeding the predetermined threshold) [Huang: para. 0038]; determine an origin of the presence of light value through the electro-optic assembly ((The controller 10 is configured to store a mapping between each individual pixel of the LCD screen 12 and a corresponding location in the cabin 17, or more particularly, a corresponding location on the face of the driver 16 at which the respective pixel casts a shadow when operated in the opaque mode. It will be appreciated that the location at which a pixel casts a shadow when operated in
the opaque mode is dependent on the lighting environment and, in particular, a location of any high intensity light sources, such as the sun, which shines through the windshield 19 onto the face of the driver 16. In one embodiment,
the controller 10 is configured to periodically and/or continuously update the mapping between each individual pixel of the LCD screen 12 and the corresponding location on the face of the driver 16) [Huang: para. 0040] – Note: The controller stores the mapping between each individual pixel of the LCD screen 12 and a corresponding location in the cabin 17, hence it can determine the source of the light value) by detecting a presence of a shadow (The virtual visor system 20 is configured to detect changes in an illumination level within the cabin 17 of the vehicle 18) [Huang: para. 0021] in proximity to the eyes of the vehicle occupant and the region with the presence of light value (Particularly, in at least one embodiment, the controller 10 is configured to select at least one pixel of the LCD screen 12 to be operated in the opaque state so as to block light shining on the face of the driver, or more particularly, on the eyes of the driver 16. In this way, the controller 10 is configured to operate the pixels of the LCD screen 12 to reduce the illumination level at the at least one location of interest within the cabin 17, such as the face and/or the eyes of the driver 16. FIG. 6B shows a shadow 412 cast on the eyes of the driver 16 by one or more pixels of the LCD screen 12 being operated in the opaque state) [Huang: para. 0039], and utilizing a position and shape of the shadow to triangulate a light source from which the presence of the light originates (The controller 10 is configured to store a mapping between each individual pixel of the LCD screen 12 and a corresponding location in the cabin 17, or more particularly, a corresponding location on the face of the driver 16 at which the respective pixel casts a shadow when operated in the opaque mode. It will be appreciated that the location at which a pixel casts a shadow when operated in the opaque mode is dependent on the lighting environment and, in particular, a location of any high intensity light sources, such as the sun, which shines through the windshield 19 onto the face of the driver 16. In one embodiment, the controller 10 is configured to periodically and/or continuously update the mapping between each individual pixel of the LCD screen 12 and the corresponding location on the face of the driver 16) [Huang: para. 0040]; and apply a voltage (The controller 10 and/or the row/column driver circuits are configured to provide appropriated voltages, currents, data, and/or other signals to the LCD panel 112 via the connections 162 to operate the pixels 114 (S1-S32) and control the optical states thereof (i.e., control whether each pixel is in the opaque state or the transparent state, discussed above)) [Huang: para. 0029] to reduce transmission of the electro-optic assembly and lower the presence of light value directed towards the eyes of the vehicle occupant to a value below the predetermined threshold value (Particularly, in at least one embodiment, the controller 10 is configured to select at least one pixel of the LCD screen 12 to be operated in the opaque state so as to block light shining on the face of the driver, or more particularly, on the eyes of the driver 16. In this way, the controller 10 is configured to operate the pixels of the LCD screen 12 to reduce the illumination level at the at least one location of interest within the cabin 17, such as the face and/or the eyes of the driver 16. FIG. 6B shows a shadow 412 cast on the eyes of the driver 16 by one or more pixels of the LCD screen 12 being operated in the opaque state) [Huang: para. 0039].
In the same field of endeavor, Groot further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
an electro-optic assembly configured to switch transmission states (In some implementations, the switchable element 105 can include mechanical shutters that can be switched between a transmissive state and an absorptive and/or reflective state. In some implementations, the switchable element 105 can include electro-optic or acousto-optic devices that can be switched between a transmissive state and an absorptive and/or reflective state. In some implementations, the switchable element 105 can include devices that utilize interference or diffraction phenomenon to switch between a transmissive state and an absorptive and/or reflective state. In various implementations, the switchable element can include liquid crystal material that can be switched between a transmissive state and an absorptive and/or reflective state) [Groot: para. 0034; Fig. 2]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Huang with Groot to program the system to implement of Groot’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Huang with Groot will enable the system to improve dynamic range of the sensor by modulating the transmissivity of switchable elements in "bright" regions of the image [Groot: para. 0054].
Huang and Groot do not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
to triangulate a light source;
However, in the same field of endeavor Melakari further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
to triangulate a light source (Herein, the eye-tracking system detects the specific direction of the light beam at which said light beam is incident upon the pupil of
the user's eye and determines the position of the pupil of the user's eye (for example, by employing a triangulation technique) for determining the gaze direction of the user's eye. Beneficially, the gaze direction is determined with a high accuracy and precision) [Melakari: para. 0045; Figs. 3-4].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Huang and Groot with Melakari to program the system to implement of Devani’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Huang and Groot with Melakari will enable the system to determine the light source with a high accuracy and precision [Melakari: para. 0045].
Regarding claim 2, Huang meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Huang further meets the claim limitations as follow.
determine the presence of the shadow by (FIG. 10 illustrates a flow chart of a system utilizing shadow estimation methods for 3D point clouds of shadows.) [Huang: para. 0017; Fig. 10]: developing a digital grid over the image data (The LCD screen 12 has a plurality of independently operable LCD pixels and/or LCD shutters arranged in a grid formation. Each pixel is configured to be selectively operated by the controller 10 in one of at least two optical states) [Huang: para. 0025]; and mapping a perimeter of the shadow (The controller 10 is configured to store a mapping between each individual pixel of the LCD screen 12 and a corresponding location in the cabin 17, or more particularly, a corresponding location on the face of the driver 16 at which the respective pixel casts a shadow when operated in the opaque mode. It will be appreciated that the location at which a pixel casts a shadow when operated in the opaque mode is dependent on the lighting environment and, in particular, a location of any high intensity light sources, such as the sun, which shines through the windshield 19 onto the face of the driver 16. In one embodiment, the controller 10 is configured to periodically and/or continuously update the mapping between each individual pixel of the LCD screen 12 and the corresponding location on the face of the driver 16) [Huang: para. 0040] relative to the region with the presence of light value to triangulate a light source from which the presence of the light originates (The controller 10 is configured to store a mapping between each individual pixel of the LCD screen 12 and a corresponding location in the cabin 17, or more particularly, a corresponding location on the face of the driver 16 at which the respective pixel casts a shadow when operated in the opaque mode. It will be appreciated that the location at which a pixel casts a shadow when operated in the opaque mode is dependent on the lighting environment and, in particular, a location of any high intensity light sources, such as the sun, which shines through the windshield 19 onto the face of the driver 16. In one embodiment, the controller 10 is configured to periodically and/or continuously update the mapping between each individual pixel of the LCD screen 12 and the corresponding location on the face of the driver 16) [Huang: para. 0040].
Huang and Groot do not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
to triangulate a light source;
However, in the same field of endeavor Melakari further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
to triangulate a light source (Herein, the eye-tracking system detects the specific direction of the light beam at which said light beam is incident upon the pupil of
the user's eye and determines the position of the pupil of the user's eye (for example, by employing a triangulation technique) for determining the gaze direction of the user's eye. Beneficially, the gaze direction is determined with a high accuracy and precision) [Melakari: para. 0045; Figs. 3-4].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Huang and Groot with Melakari to program the system to implement of Devani’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Huang and Groot with Melakari will enable the system to determine the light source with a high accuracy and precision [Melakari: para. 0045].
Regarding claim 3, Huang meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 2. Huang further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the control system is further configured to (The virtual visor system 20 is configured to detect changes in an illumination level within the cabin 17 of the vehicle 18) [Huang: para. 0021], based on the triangulated light source, determine which portion of the electro-optic assembly that the light is transmitted through (The controller 10 is configured to store a mapping between each individual pixel of the LCD screen 12 and a corresponding location in the cabin 17, or more particularly, a corresponding location on the face of the driver 16 at which the respective pixel casts a shadow when operated in the opaque mode. It will be appreciated that the location at which a pixel casts a shadow when operated in the opaque mode is dependent on the lighting environment and, in particular, a location of any high intensity light sources, such as the sun, which shines through the windshield 19 onto the face of the driver 16. In one embodiment, the controller 10 is configured to periodically and/or continuously update the mapping between each individual pixel of the LCD screen 12 and the corresponding location on the face of the driver 16) [Huang: para. 0040].
Huang and Groot do not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
the triangulated light source;
However, in the same field of endeavor Melakari further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
the triangulated light source (Herein, the eye-tracking system detects the specific direction of the light beam at which said light beam is incident upon the pupil of
the user's eye and determines the position of the pupil of the user's eye (for example, by employing a triangulation technique) for determining the gaze direction of the user's eye. Beneficially, the gaze direction is determined with a high accuracy and precision) [Melakari: para. 0045; Figs. 3-4].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Huang and Groot with Melakari to program the system to implement of Devani’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Huang and Groot with Melakari will enable the system to determine the light source with a high accuracy and precision [Melakari: para. 0045].
Regarding claim 6, Huang meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Huang further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the electro-optic assembly includes a plurality of conductively isolated segmentations ((The shadows can be cast by using a semitransparent LCD panel that is electronically controlled) [Huang: para. 0003; Fig. 10]; (FIG. 5 illustrates one embodiment of the virtual visor system in which the screen includes an n x m array of discrete LCD panel modules) [Huang: para. 0011; Fig. 5] ; (Based on the
sensor signal and/or the image frames, the controller 10 is configured to determine the illumination level of at least one location with within the cabin 17 of the vehicle, particularly, the illumination level on the face of the driver 16. Depending on the determined illumination level, the controller 10 is configured to selectively operate each pixel of the LCD screen 12 in either the opaque state or the transparent state ( or a selected intermediate optical state) [Huang: para. 0026]).
Regarding claim 7, Huang meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1.
determine which of the plurality of conductively isolated segmentations are associated with the origin of the presence of light value (In some embodiments, the controller 10 is configured to select at least one pixel to be operated in the opaque state based on a projection model that includes a mapping of the plurality of pixels to corresponding locations on the face of the driver 16. Particularly, the controller 10 is configured to store a mapping between each individual pixel of the LCD screen 12 and a corresponding location in the cabin 17, or more particularly, a corresponding location on the face of the driver 16 at which the respective pixel casts a shadow when operated in the opaque mode. It will be appreciated that the location at which a pixel casts a shadow when operated in the opaque mode is dependent on the lighting environment and, in particular, a location of any high intensity light sources, such as the sun, which shines through the windshield 19 onto the face of the driver 16. In one embodiment, the controller 10 is configured to periodically and/or continuously update the mapping between each individual pixel of the LCD screen 12 and the corresponding location on the face of the driver 16) [Huang: para. 0040; Figs. 6A-7B]); and selectively apply a voltage to only the conductively isolated segmentations associated with the origin of the presence of light value (The LCD panel 112 includes one or more interfaces comprised of links or connections 162 configured to connect the controller 10 and/or the row/column driver circuits to the individual pixels 114 (Sl-S32). The controller 10 and/or the row/column driver circuits are configured to provide appropriated voltages, currents, data, and/or other signals to the LCD panel 112 via the connections 162 to operate the pixels 114 (Sl-S32) and control the optical states thereof (i.e., control whether each pixel is in the opaque state or the transparent state, discussed above). In some embodiments, certain data or other signals are transmitted back to the controller 10 from the pixels 114 (Sl-S32) via the connections 162) [Huang: para. 0040; Figs. 6A-7B].
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0270322 A1), (“Huang”), in view of Groot et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2014/0084137 A1), (“Groot”), in view of Melakari et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2024/0036310 A1), (“Melakari”), in view of Devani et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0052100 A1), (“Devani”).
Regarding claim 4, Huang meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Huang and Groot further disclose following limitations.
determining a baseline pupil-to-iris ratio; and monitoring the baseline pupil-to-iris ratio for a decreasing size of the pupil beyond a threshold value; and in response to the decreasing size of the pupil beyond the threshold value, switching transmission states of the electro-optic assembly to a lower transmission state (The controller 10 and/or the row/column driver circuits are configured to provide appropriated voltages, currents, data, and/or other signals to the LCD panel 112 via the connections 162 to operate the pixels 114 (S1-S32) and control the optical states thereof (i.e., control whether each pixel is in the opaque state or the transparent state, discussed above). In some embodiments, certain data or other signals are transmitted back to the controller 10 from the pixels 114 (S1-S32) via the connections 162) [Huang: para. 0029] – Note: The control the optical states implies the ”switch” transmission states); (In some implementations, the switchable element 105 can include mechanical shutters that can be switched between a transmissive state and an absorptive and/or reflective state.) [Groot: para. 0034; Fig. 2].
Huang, Groot and Melakari do not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
determining a baseline pupil-to-iris ratio; and monitoring the baseline pupil-to-iris ratio for a decreasing size of the pupil beyond a threshold value;.
However, in the same field of endeavor Devani further discloses the claim limitations and the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
determining a baseline pupil-to-iris ratio ((the present disclosure provides for collection of longitudinal health data, which can be used to create baseline pupillary metric measurements for a subject) [Devani: para. 0042; Figs. 4A-B]; (The electronic device is further configured to compute a first set of pupil-to-iris ratios for the one or more eye objects located in the first frame and compute subsequent sets of pupil-to-iris ratios (PIR) for subsequent frames of the at least two frames, each of the subsequent sets of pupil-to-iris ratios pertaining to the one or more eye objects located in the first frame and also in each of the subsequent frames) [Devani: para. 0006; Figs. 4A-B];
monitoring the baseline pupil-to-iris ratio for a decreasing size of the pupil beyond a threshold value ((Some individuals can be very sensitive to light, thus knowing their baseline pupillary metrics can be used to calibrate the disclosed system for more accurate results.) [Devani: para. 0042; Figs. 4A-B]; (the system 200 can calculate pupil-to-iris ratio over the time the public figures are speaking publicly and then provide an index that shows when there are deviations to the baseline pupil-to-iris ratio) [Devani: para. 0058; Figs. 4A-5B]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Huang, Melakari and Groot with Devani to program the system to implement of Devani’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Huang, Melakari and Groot with Devani will enable the system to provide contactless stress examination, providing an examiner with improved access to subjects and allowing the examiner to analyze multiple subjects at once using a computational device [Devani: para. 0044].
Regarding claim 5, Huang meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Huang, Melakari and Groot do not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
determine a presence of a medical condition by comparing the baseline pupil-to-iris ratio with a healthy pupil-to-iris ratio model;
However, in the same field of endeavor Devani further discloses the claim limitations and the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
determine a presence of a medical condition by comparing the baseline pupil-to-iris ratio with a healthy pupil-to-iris ratio model (FIG. 4B shows exemplary pupillary responses as compared between a healthy and unhealthy subject, according to an embodiment of the present disclosure) [Devani: para. 0022; Fig. 4B].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Huang, Melakari and Groot with Devani to program the system to implement of Devani’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Huang, Melakari and Groot with Devani will enable the system to provide contactless stress examination, providing an examiner with improved access to subjects and allowing the examiner to analyze multiple subjects at once using a computational device [Devani: para. 0044].
Claims 8-10 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0270322 A1), (“Huang”), in view of Devani et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2023/0052100 A1), (“Devani”).
Regarding claim 8, Huang meets the claim limitations as follow.
A monitoring system (A system) [Huang: para. 0004], comprising: an imaging module (The virtual visor system 20 further includes an illumination sensor, such as a camera 14. The camera 14 or other illumination sensor is configured to detect an illumination level of at least one location of interest within the cabin 17 of the vehicle 18) [Huang: para. 0023] configured to capture image data associated with a vehicle cabin (The camera 14 is configured to continuously or periodically capture images of the face of the driver 16 and output the captured image frames) [Huang: para. 0023]; a control system (a "controller" or "processor" includes any hardware system, hardware mechanism or hardware component that processes data, signals, or other information. The controller 10 may include a system with a central processing unit, multiple processing units, or dedicated circuitry for achieving specific functionality) [Huang: para. 0024] in communication with the imaging module (a processor in communication with the one or more sensors) [Huang: para. 0004], the control system configured to (a processor) [Huang: para. 0024]: receive the image data from the imaging module (receive input data including images) [Huang: para. 0004] of at least one eye of a vehicle occupant (The controller 10 is configured to process the image frames to determine an illumination level of at least one location of interest within the cabin 17 of the vehicle 18. Particularly, in at least one embodiment, the controller 10 is configured to process the image frames to determine an illumination level on a face of the driver 16 or, more particularly, on the eyes of the driver 16) [Huang: para. 0035]; determine a pupil-to-iris ratio with the image data; and monitor the pupil-to-iris ratio in the image data to determine at least one of a presence of light value in the image data ((The virtual visor system 20 is configured to detect changes in an illumination level within the cabin 17 of the vehicle 18) [Huang: para. 0021]; (it will be appreciated that the detected changes in the illumination level may be a result of a changing in the lighting environment or a change in optical state of one or more of the pixels of the LCD screen 12) [Huang: para. 0037]) that exceeds a predetermined threshold value and is proximate the at least one eye (The controller 10 is configured to operate at least one pixel of the LCD screen 12 in the opaque state in response to the illumination level and/or the change in the illumination level of the at least one location of interest within the cabin 17 exceeding a predetermined threshold. In at least one embodiment, the controller 10 is configured to operate at least one pixel of the LCD screen 12 in the opaque state in response to the illumination level and/or the change in the illumination level on the face of the driver 16 exceeding the predetermined threshold or, more particularly, in response to the illumination level and/or the change in the illumination level on the eyes of the driver 16 exceeding the predetermined threshold) [Huang: para. 0038] or a presence of a medical condition by comparing the pupil-to-iris ratio with a healthy pupil-to-iris ratio model.
Huang does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
determine a pupil-to-iris ratio with the image data;
monitor the pupil-to-iris ratio in the image data to determine at least one of a presence of light value in the image data.
However, in the same field of endeavor Devani further discloses the claim limitations and the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
determine a pupil-to-iris ratio with the image data (The electronic device is further configured to compute a first set of pupil-to-iris ratios for the one or more eye objects located in the first frame and compute subsequent sets of pupil-to-iris ratios (PIR) for subsequent frames of the at least two frames, each of the subsequent sets of pupil-to-iris ratios pertaining to the one or more eye objects located in the first frame and also in each of the subsequent frames) [Devani: para. 0006];
monitor the pupil-to-iris ratio in the image data to determine at least one of a presence of light value in the image data (The electronic device is further configured to compute a first set of pupil-to-iris ratios for the one or more eye objects located in the first frame and compute subsequent sets of pupil-to-iris ratios (PIR) for subsequent frames of the at least two frames, each of the subsequent sets of pupil-to-iris ratios pertaining to the one or more eye objects located in the first frame and also in each of the subsequent frames) [Devani: para. 0006];
a presence of a medical condition by comparing the pupil-to-iris ratio with a healthy pupil-to-iris ratio model (FIG. 4B shows exemplary pupillary responses as compared between a healthy and unhealthy subject, according to an embodiment of the present disclosure) [Devani: para. 0022; Fig. 4B].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Huang and Devani to program the system to implement of Devani’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Huang and Devani will enable the system to provide contactless stress examination, providing an examiner with improved access to subjects and allowing the examiner to analyze multiple subjects at once using a computational device [Devani: para. 0044].
Regarding claim 9, Huang meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 8. Huang does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
determine a presence of a medical condition by comparing the baseline pupil-to-iris ratio with a healthy pupil-to-iris ratio model;
However, in the same field of endeavor Devani further discloses the claim limitations and the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
determine a presence of a medical condition by comparing the baseline pupil-to-iris ratio with a healthy pupil-to-iris ratio model (FIG. 4B shows exemplary pupillary responses as compared between a healthy and unhealthy subject, according to an embodiment of the present disclosure) [Devani: para. 0022; Fig. 4B].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Huang and Devani to program the system to implement of Devani’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Huang and Devani will enable the system to provide contactless stress examination, providing an examiner with improved access to subjects and allowing the examiner to analyze multiple subjects at once using a computational device [Devani: para. 0044].
Regarding claim 10, Huang meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 9. Huang further meets the claim limitations as follow.
upon determination of the presence of a medical condition, generate a notification ((The controller 10 is configured to operate the pixels 214 of the information section 204 to display information to the driver 16) [Huang: para. 0033]; (any other appropriate device that senses or otherwise has access to information that is to be displayed in the information section 204) [Huang: para. 0033; Figs. 5-1, 5-2A, 5-2B]).
Huang does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
upon determination of the presence of a medical condition.
However, in the same field of endeavor Devani further discloses the claim limitations and the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
upon determination of the presence of a medical condition (FIG. 4B shows exemplary pupillary responses as compared between a healthy and unhealthy subject, according to an embodiment of the present disclosure) [Devani: para. 0022; Fig. 4B], generate a notification ((pupil responses of an individual can be psychosensory, providing additional information to observers about an internal condition of the individual) [Devani: para. 0003; Figs. 4B-15]; (an artificially-generated propagated signal, e.g., a machine-generated electrical, optical, or electromagnetic signal that is generated to encode information for transmission to suitable receiver) [Devani: para. 0135]; (Characteristics or metrics of the psychosensory responses obtained over the various points in time can be compared to each other to obtain trends or relationships of the metrics. In retrospective analysis, trends can help inform on disease progression or onset. In prospective analysis, trends can help predict future performance or future diseased states) [Devani: para. 0116] – Note: Devani discloses that medical information of the pupil is encoded and is sent to suitable recipients for further analysis to predict future diseased states).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Huang and Devani to program the system to implement of Devani’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Huang and Devani will enable the system to provide contactless stress examination, providing an examiner with improved access to subjects and allowing the examiner to analyze multiple subjects at once using a computational device [Devani: para. 0044].
Regarding claim 13, Huang meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 8. Huang further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the control system is configured to determine the presence of light value in the image data ((The virtual visor system 20 is configured to detect changes in an illumination level within the cabin 17 of the vehicle 18) [Huang: para. 0021]; (It will be appreciated that the detected changes in the illumination level may be a result of a changing in the lighting environment or a change in optical state of one or more of the pixels of the LCD screen 12) [Huang: para. 0037]) that exceeds the threshold value and is proximate the at least one eye (The controller 10 is configured to operate at least one pixel of the LCD screen 12 in the opaque state in response to the illumination level and/or the change in the illumination level of the at least one location of interest within the cabin 17 exceeding a predetermined threshold. In at least one embodiment, the controller 10 is configured to operate at least one pixel of the LCD screen 12 in the opaque state in response to the illumination level and/or the change in the illumination level on the face of the driver 16 exceeding the predetermined threshold or, more particularly, in response to the illumination level and/or the change in the illumination level on the eyes of the driver 16 exceeding the predetermined threshold) [Huang: para. 0038] based on changes to the pupil-to-iris ratio.
Huang does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
based on changes to the pupil-to-iris ratio;
However, in the same field of endeavor Devani further discloses the claim limitations and the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
based on changes to the pupil-to-iris ratio (The electronic device is further configured to compute a first set of pupil-to-iris ratios for the one or more eye objects located in the first frame and compute subsequent sets of pupil-to-iris ratios (PIR) for subsequent frames of the at least two frames, each of the subsequent sets of pupil-to-iris ratios pertaining to the one or more eye objects located in the first frame and also in each of the subsequent frames) [Devani: para. 0006]; (FIG. 4B shows exemplary pupillary responses as compared between a healthy and unhealthy subject, according to an embodiment of the present disclosure) [Devani: para. 0022; Fig. 4B].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Huang and Devani to program the system to implement of Devani’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Huang and Devani will enable the system to provide contactless stress examination, providing an examiner with improved access to subjects and allowing the examiner to analyze multiple subjects at once using a computational device [Devani: para. 0044].
Regarding claim 14, Huang meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 13. Huang further meets the claim limitations as follow.
an electro-optic assembly ((the LCD screen 12) [Huang: para. 0022]; (In some embodiments, the LCD screen 12 is integrated within the glass of windshield 19 or
other window of the vehicle) [Huang: para. 0022]) configured to switch transmission states upon an applied voltage (The controller 10 and/or the row/column driver circuits are configured to provide appropriated voltages, currents, data, and/or other signals to the LCD panel 112 via the connections 162 to operate the pixels 114 (S1-S32) and control the optical states thereof (i.e., control whether each pixel is in the opaque state or the transparent state, discussed above). In some embodiments, certain data or other signals are transmitted back to the controller 10 from the pixels 114 (S1-S32) via the connections 162) [Huang: para. 0029].
Regarding claim 15, Huang meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 14. Huang further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the control system is configured to apply a voltage (The controller 10 and/or the row/column driver circuits are configured to provide appropriated voltages, currents, data, and/or other signals to the LCD panel 112 via the connections 162 to operate the pixels 114 (S1-S32) and control the optical states thereof (i.e., control whether each pixel is in the opaque state or the transparent state, discussed above)) [Huang: para. 0029] to reduce transmission of the electro-optic assembly and lower the presence of light value directed towards the eyes of the vehicle occupant to a value below the predetermined threshold value (Particularly, in at least one embodiment, the controller 10 is configured to select at least one pixel of the LCD screen 12 to be operated in the opaque state so as to block light shining on the face of the driver, or more particularly, on the eyes of the driver 16. In this way, the controller 10 is configured to operate the pixels of the LCD screen 12 to reduce the illumination level at the at least one location of interest within the cabin 17, such as the face and/or the eyes of the driver 16. FIG. 6B shows a shadow 412 cast on the eyes of the driver 16 by one or more pixels of the LCD screen 12 being operated in the opaque state) [Huang: para. 0039].
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0270322 A1), (“Huang”), in view of Devani et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2023/0052100 A1), (“Devani”), in view of Wolff et al. (US Patent 11458995 B2), (“Wolff”).
Regarding claim 11, Huang and Devani meet the claim limitations as set forth in claim 10. Huang and Devani do not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
wherein the notification is transmitted to at least one of an emergency medical center and a central vehicle fleet command center.
However, in the same field of endeavor Wolff further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
wherein the notification is transmitted to at least one of an emergency medical center and a central vehicle fleet command center (In an embodiment, the vehicle function controller 1006 alerts the user of a detected health condition. For example, the vehicle function controller 1006 sends an alert to the user's device 1014 (e.g., a SMS or MMS message, a notification in an application, etc.) or communicates with the vehicle components 1012 to display or provide an audible indication of the alert, or combinations of them. In an embodiment, the alert includes information regarding the detected health condition and a recommendation to the user, such as a recommendation to consult a medical professional to diagnose and treat the detected health condition. In an embodiment, the alert includes a list of nearby or user-preferred hospitals or other emergency services providers for treating the health condition. Selection of an emergency services provider can cause the vehicle to navigate to the selected emergency services provider) [Wolff: col. 20, line 63-67; Fig. 10].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Huang and Devani with Wolff to program the system to implement of Devani’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Huang and Devani with Wolff will enable the system to provide a report of health conditions for the user over time and improve health condition detection [Wolff: col. 23, line 44-64].
Regarding claim 12, Huang and Devani meet the claim limitations as set forth in claim 10. Huang and Devani further discloses claim limitations as follow:
wherein the control system is configured to determine the presence of (The virtual visor system 20 is configured to detect changes) [Huang: para. 0021] a medical condition by comparing the pupil-to-iris ratio of one vehicle occupant eye with the other vehicle occupant eye ((the present disclosure provides for collection of longitudinal health data, which can be used to create baseline pupillary metric measurements for a subject) [Devani: para. 0042; Figs. 4A-B]; (the system 200 can calculate pupil-to-iris ratio over the time the public figures are speaking publicly and then provide an index that shows when there are deviations to the baseline pupil-to-iris ratio) [Devani: para. 0058; Figs. 4A-5B]; (Some individuals can be very sensitive to light, thus knowing their baseline pupillary metrics can be used to calibrate the disclosed system for more accurate results.) [Devani: para. 0042; Figs. 4A-B]; (The electronic device is further configured to compute a first set of pupil-to-iris ratios for the one or more eye objects located in the first frame and compute subsequent sets of pupil-to-iris ratios (PIR) for subsequent frames of the at least two frames, each of the subsequent sets of pupil-to-iris ratios pertaining to the one or more eye objects located in the first frame and also in each of the subsequent frames) [Devani: para. 0006; Figs. 4A-B]).
Huang and Devani do not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
a medical condition.
However, in the same field of endeavor Wolff further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
wherein the medical condition (In response to determining that the user may have a particular health condition, the vehicle can execute one or more vehicle functions based on the health condition, such as alerting the user of the health condition, rerouting the vehicle to the nearest emergency services, or applying a disinfectant within the vehicle when the user exits the vehicle, among others) [Wolff: col. 2, line 49-55]; (In an embodiment, the vehicle function controller 1006 reroutes the vehicle in response to a detected health condition. For example, if the health condition indicates that the user is likely to vomit or otherwise needs to exit the vehicle, the vehicle function controller 1006 reroutes the vehicle to pull over at a safe stopping location. To do so, the vehicle function controller 1006 interacts with one or more vehicle components 1012, such as the planning module 404, the control module 404, or other components of the AV system 120, to identify, select, and navigate the vehicle to a safe stopping location) [Wolff: col. 2, line 49-55] – Note: Vomit is a sign of intoxication).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Huang and Devani with Wolff to program the system to implement of Devani’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Huang and Devani with Wolff will enable the system to determine the light source with a high accuracy and precision [Wolff: para. 0045].
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0270322 A1), (“Huang”), in view of Devani et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2023/0052100 A1), (“Devani”), in view of Asakura et al. (US Patent 10,336,341 B2), (“Asakura”).
Regarding claim 16, Huang meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 8. Huang further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the electro-optic assembly ((a semitransparent LCD panel that is electronically controlled) [Huang: para. 0003; Fig. 10]; (FIG. 5 illustrates one embodiment of the virtual visor system in which the screen includes an n x m array of discrete LCD panel modules) [Huang: para. 0011; Fig. 5]) and the imaging module are located (The virtual visor system 20 at least includes a liquid crystal display (LCD) screen 12, which is mounted, attached or otherwise integrated with the vehicle 18 so as to cover and/or obstruct a portion of the windshield 19 or other window of the vehicle 18) [Huang: para. 0021; Fig. 1] in a common housing of a rearview mirrors (rear view mirror) [Huang: para. 0002].
Huang and Devani do not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
a rearview mirrors.
However, in the same field of endeavor Asakura further discloses the claim limitations and the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
a rearview mirrors (The camera 40 is, for example, a digital camera that employs a solid-state imaging element such as a charge-coupled device (CCD) or a complementary metal-oxide semiconductor (CMOS) element. The camera 40 is, for example, attached to an upper portion of the front windshield or to the back face of the rear view mirror) [Asakura: col. 5, line 64 - col. 6, line 2; Fig. 1].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Huang and Devani with Asakura to program the system to implement of Asakura’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Huang and Devani with Asakura will enable the system to enhance the driving authentication process to improve safety [Asakura: col. 6, line 9-53].
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0270322 A1), (“Huang”), in view of Groot et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2014/0084137 A1), (“Groot”).
Regarding claim 17, Huang meets the claim limitations as follow.
A monitoring system (A system) [Huang: para. 0004], comprising:
a rearview mirror assembly (rear view mirror) [Huang: para. 0002] including a display module (The virtual visor system 20 at least includes a liquid crystal display (LCD) screen 12, which is mounted, attached or otherwise integrated with the vehicle 18 so as to cover and/or obstruct a portion of the windshield 19 or other window of the vehicle 18) [Huang: para. 0021; Fig. 1];an imaging module (The virtual visor system 20 further includes an illumination sensor, such as a camera 14. The camera 14 or other illumination sensor is configured to detect an illumination level of at least one location of interest within the cabin 17 of the vehicle 18) [Huang: para. 0023] configured to capture image data associated with a vehicle cabin (The camera 14 is configured to continuously or periodically capture images of the face of the driver 16 and output the captured image frames) [Huang: para. 0023]; an electro-optic assembly ((the LCD screen 12) [Huang: para. 0022]; (In some embodiments, the LCD screen 12 is integrated within the glass of windshield 19 or
other window of the vehicle) [Huang: para. 0022]) configured to switch transmission states upon an applied voltage (The controller 10 and/or the row/column driver circuits are configured to provide appropriated voltages, currents, data, and/or other signals to the LCD panel 112 via the connections 162 to operate the pixels 114 (S1-S32) and control the optical states thereof (i.e., control whether each pixel is in the opaque state or the transparent state, discussed above). In some embodiments, certain data or other signals are transmitted back to the controller 10 from the pixels 114 (S1-S32) via the connections 162) [Huang: para. 0029] – Note: The control the optical states implies the ”switch” transmission states); and a control system (a "controller" or "processor" includes any hardware system, hardware mechanism or hardware component that processes data, signals, or other information. The controller 10 may include a system with a central processing unit, multiple processing units, or dedicated circuitry for achieving specific functionality) [Huang: para. 0024] in communication with the imaging module (a processor in communication with the one or more sensors) [Huang: para. 0004] and the electro-optic assembly (The LCD screen 12 has a plurality of independently
operable LCD pixels and/or LCD shutters arranged in a grid formation. Each pixel is configured to be selectively operated by the controller 10 in one of at least two optical states: (1) an opaque state, in which the respective pixel blocks light from passing through a respective area of the LCD screen 12 and (2) a transparent state, in which the respective pixel allows light to pass through the respective area of the LCD screen 12) [Huang: para. 0025], the control system configured to (a processor) [Huang: para. 0024]: receive the image data from the imaging module (receive input data including images) [Huang: para. 0004]; detect a presence of light value in the image data (it will be appreciated that the detected changes in the illumination level may be a result of a changing in the lighting environment or a change in optical state of one or more of the pixels of the LCD screen 12) [Huang: para. 0037] that exceeds a predetermined threshold value and is proximate eyes of a vehicle occupant (The controller 10 is configured to operate at least one pixel of the LCD screen 12 in the opaque state in response to the illumination level and/or the change in the illumination level of the at least one location of interest within the cabin 17 exceeding a predetermined threshold. In at least one embodiment, the controller 10 is configured to operate at least one pixel of the LCD screen 12 in the opaque state in response to the illumination level and/or the change in the illumination level on the face of the driver 16 exceeding the predetermined threshold or, more particularly, in response to the illumination level and/or the change in the illumination level on the eyes of the driver 16 exceeding the predetermined threshold) [Huang: para. 0038], or an iris-to-pupil ratio associated with the presence of light value exceeding the predetermined threshold value ((The virtual visor system 20 is configured to detect changes in an illumination level within the cabin 17 of the vehicle 18) [Huang: para. 0021];;determine an origin of the presence of light value through the electro-optic assembly ((The controller 10 is configured to store a mapping between each individual pixel of the LCD screen 12 and a corresponding location in the cabin 17, or more particularly, a corresponding location on the face of the driver 16 at which the respective pixel casts a shadow when operated in the opaque mode. It will be appreciated that the location at which a pixel casts a shadow when operated in
the opaque mode is dependent on the lighting environment and, in particular, a location of any high intensity light sources, such as the sun, which shines through the windshield 19 onto the face of the driver 16. In one embodiment,
the controller 10 is configured to periodically and/or continuously update the mapping between each individual pixel of the LCD screen 12 and the corresponding location on the face of the driver 16) [Huang: para. 0040] – Note: The controller stores the mapping between each individual pixel of the LCD screen 12 and a corresponding location in the cabin 17, hence it can determine the source of the light value) by detecting a presence of a shadow in proximity to the eyes of the vehicle occupant (Particularly, in at least one embodiment, the controller 10 is configured to select at least one pixel of the LCD screen 12 to be operated in the opaque state so as to block light shining on the face of the driver, or more particularly, on the eyes of the driver 16. In this way, the controller 10 is configured to operate the pixels of the LCD screen 12 to reduce the illumination level at the at least one location of interest within the cabin 17, such as the face and/or the eyes of the driver 16. FIG. 6B shows a shadow 412 cast on the eyes of the driver 16 by one or more pixels of the LCD screen 12 being operated in the opaque state) [Huang: para. 0039]; and apply a voltage (The controller 10 and/or the row/column driver circuits are configured to provide appropriated voltages, currents, data, and/or other signals to the LCD panel 112 via the connections 162 to operate the pixels 114 (S1-S32) and control the optical states thereof (i.e., control whether each pixel is in the opaque state or the transparent state, discussed above)) [Huang: para. 0029] to reduce transmission of the electro-optic assembly and lower the presence of light value directed towards the eyes of the vehicle occupant to a value below the predetermined threshold value (Particularly, in at least one embodiment, the controller 10 is configured to select at least one pixel of the LCD screen 12 to be operated in the opaque state so as to block light shining on the face of the driver, or more particularly, on the eyes of the driver 16. In this way, the controller 10 is configured to operate the pixels of the LCD screen 12 to reduce the illumination level at the at least one location of interest within the cabin 17, such as the face and/or the eyes of the driver 16. FIG. 6B shows a shadow 412 cast on the eyes of the driver 16 by one or more pixels of the LCD screen 12 being operated in the opaque state) [Huang: para. 0039].
Huang does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
a transreflective layer that reflects light when the electro-optic assembly is at least partially transmissive;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Groot further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
an electro-optic assembly configured to switch transmission states (In some implementations, the switchable element 105 can include mechanical shutters that can be switched between a transmissive state and an absorptive and/or reflective state. In some implementations, the switchable element 105 can include electro-optic or acousto-optic devices that can be switched between a transmissive state and an absorptive and/or reflective state. In some implementations, the switchable element 105 can include devices that utilize interference or diffraction phenomenon to switch between a transmissive state and an absorptive and/or reflective state. In various implementations, the switchable element can include liquid crystal material that can be switched between a transmissive state and an absorptive and/or reflective state) [Groot: para. 0034; Fig. 2]).
a transreflective layer that reflects light when the electro-optic assembly is at least partially transmissive (The substrate 101 includes a material that is at least partially
transmissive to light in the visible and near infrared spectral ranges such as glass, plastic, polycarbonate, polyester or cyclo-olefin) [Groot: para. 0032; Fig. 2].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Huang and Melakari with Groot to program the system to implement of Groot’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Huang and Melakari with Groot will enable the system to to improve dynamic range of the sensor by modulating the transmissivity of switchable elements in "bright" regions of the image [Groot: para. 0054].
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0270322 A1), (“Huang”), in view of Groot et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2014/0084137 A1), (“Groot”), in view of Melakari et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2024/0036310 A1), (“Melakari”).
Regarding claim 18, Huang meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 17. Huang further meets the claim limitations as follow.
developing a digital grid over the image data (The LCD screen 12 has a plurality of independently operable LCD pixels and/or LCD shutters arranged in a grid formation. Each pixel is configured to be selectively operated by the controller 10 in one of at least two optical states) [Huang: para. 0025]; mapping a perimeter of the shadow (The controller 10 is configured to store a mapping between each individual pixel of the LCD screen 12 and a corresponding location in the cabin 17, or more particularly, a corresponding location on the face of the driver 16 at which the respective pixel casts a shadow when operated in the opaque mode. It will be appreciated that the location at which a pixel casts a shadow when operated in the opaque mode is dependent on the lighting environment and, in particular, a location of any high intensity light sources, such as the sun, which shines through the windshield 19 onto the face of the driver 16. In one embodiment, the controller 10 is configured to periodically and/or continuously update the mapping between each individual pixel of the LCD screen 12 and the corresponding location on the face of the driver 16) [Huang: para. 0040]; andtriangulating a light source from which the presence of the light originates (The controller 10 is configured to store a mapping between each individual pixel of the LCD screen 12 and a corresponding location in the cabin 17, or more particularly, a corresponding location on the face of the driver 16 at which the respective pixel casts a shadow when operated in the opaque mode. It will be appreciated that the location at which a pixel casts a shadow when operated in the opaque mode is dependent on the lighting environment and, in particular, a location of any high intensity light sources, such as the sun, which shines through the windshield 19 onto the face of the driver 16. In one embodiment, the controller 10 is configured to periodically and/or continuously update the mapping between each individual pixel of the LCD screen 12 and the corresponding location on the face of the driver 16) [Huang: para. 0040].
Huang and Groot do not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
triangulating a light source;
However, in the same field of endeavor Melakari further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
triangulating a light source (Herein, the eye-tracking system detects the specific direction of the light beam at which said light beam is incident upon the pupil of
the user's eye and determines the position of the pupil of the user's eye (for example, by employing a triangulation technique) for determining the gaze direction of the user's eye. Beneficially, the gaze direction is determined with a high accuracy and precision) [Melakari: para. 0045; Figs. 3-4].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Huang and Groot with Melakari to program the system to implement of Devani’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Huang and Groot with Melakari will enable the system to determine the light source with a high accuracy and precision [Melakari: para. 0045].
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0270322 A1), (“Huang”), in view of Groot et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2014/0084137 A1), (“Groot”), in view of Devani et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0052100 A1), (“Devani”).
Regarding claim 19, Huang meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 17. Huang, Melakari and Groot do not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
determining a baseline pupil-to-iris ratio; and monitoring the baseline pupil-to-iris ratio for a decreasing size of the pupil beyond a threshold value;
However, in the same field of endeavor Devani further discloses the claim limitations and the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
determining a baseline pupil-to-iris ratio ((the present disclosure provides for collection of longitudinal health data, which can be used to create baseline pupillary metric measurements for a subject) [Devani: para. 0042; Figs. 4A-B]; (The electronic device is further configured to compute a first set of pupil-to-iris ratios for the one or more eye objects located in the first frame and compute subsequent sets of pupil-to-iris ratios (PIR) for subsequent frames of the at least two frames, each of the subsequent sets of pupil-to-iris ratios pertaining to the one or more eye objects located in the first frame and also in each of the subsequent frames) [Devani: para. 0006; Figs. 4A-B];
monitoring the baseline pupil-to-iris ratio for a decreasing size of the pupil beyond a threshold value ((Some individuals can be very sensitive to light, thus knowing their baseline pupillary metrics can be used to calibrate the disclosed system for more accurate results.) [Devani: para. 0042; Figs. 4A-B]; (the system 200 can calculate pupil-to-iris ratio over the time the public figures are speaking publicly and then provide an index that shows when there are deviations to the baseline pupil-to-iris ratio) [Devani: para. 0058; Figs. 4A-5B]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Huang, Groot with Devani to program the system to implement of Devani’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Huang and Groot with Devani will enable the system to provide contactless stress examination, providing an examiner with improved access to subjects and allowing the examiner to analyze multiple subjects at once using a computational device [Devani: para. 0044].
Regarding claim 20, Huang meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 17. Huang, Melakari and Groot do not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
determine a presence of a medical condition by comparing the baseline pupil-to-iris ratio with a healthy pupil-to-iris ratio model;
However, in the same field of endeavor Devani further discloses the claim limitations and the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
determine a presence of a medical condition by comparing the baseline pupil-to-iris ratio with a healthy pupil-to-iris ratio model (FIG. 4B shows exemplary pupillary responses as compared between a healthy and unhealthy subject, according to an embodiment of the present disclosure) [Devani: para. 0022; Fig. 4B].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Huang, Melakari and Groot with Devani to program the system to implement of Devani’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Huang, Melakari and Groot with Devani will enable the system to provide contactless stress examination, providing an examiner with improved access to subjects and allowing the examiner to analyze multiple subjects at once using a computational device [Devani: para. 0044].
Reference Notice
Additional prior arts, included in the Notice of Reference Cited, made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information