Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 19, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitations "wherein the eij are error terms” in ll. 6-7, without previous disclosure, resulting in a lack of antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. For examination purposes, the examiner interprets these limitations to read as “wherein eij are error terms”.
Claim 8 recites the limitations "wherein the eij are error terms” in ll. 6-7, without previous disclosure, resulting in a lack of antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. For examination purposes, the examiner interprets these limitations to read as “wherein eij are error terms”. Claims 9-11 are rejected by virtue of dependence to claim 8, which do not rectify the defect.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 104849585 B, Pub. Date Dec. 1, 2017, hereinafter, Wang), in view of Vaez-Ghaemi et al. (US 2022/0109498 A1, Pub. Date Apr. 7, 2022, hereinafter, Vaez), and further in view of Spirito et al. (US 2019/0391193 A1, Pub. Date Dec. 26, 2019, hereinafter, Spirito).
Regarding independent claim 1, Wang, teaches:
A calibration method for calibrating a measurement system for measurements on an electro-optical device which is set up to convert electrical signals into optical signals, or on an opto-electrical device which is set up to convert optical signals into electrical signals ([Description], [0002], [0004], [0006], [0008]-[0010], [0015], [0019]-[0020], [0022]-[0023], [0036]-[0040], [0046], [0049]-[0050], [0053]-[0057], [0067], [0077]-[0078], [0090]-[0096], [0102], [0105]-[0106], [0109]-[0122], [0125]-[0137], [Claim 1], [Claim 2], & [Claim 3]),
wherein the measurement system includes a conversion module ([0010], [0078], [Claim 1], [Claim 2], & [Claim 3]),
wherein for the determination of the actual S-parameters, it is assumed that converting components only allow a forward transmission ([Claim 1], [Claim 2], & [Claim 3]: Mason’s formula equations utilize eo21/oe21 (forward transmission of the conversion modules) and omit reverse transmission terms eo12/oe12), and
wherein for the determination of the actual S-parameters, it is further assumed that an actual reflection coefficient of the electro-optical device or the opto-electrical device in the optical range is equal to zero ([0027], [0048], [0060], [0100], [0118], [0120], [0131], [Claim 1], [Claim 2], & [Claim 3]: optical port reflection of the optoelectronic DUT and the optical port of reflection of the electro-optic conversion module are weak, therefore S11eo22 is set to 0), and/or that an actual reflection coefficient of the conversion module in the optical range is equal to zero ([Claim 1], [Claim 2], & [Claim 3]: optical port reflection of the photoelectronic conversion module and the optical port reflection of the electro-optic DUT are weak, therefore oe11S22 is set to 0).
Wang, in silent in regard to:
wherein the conversion module is set up to convert optical signals into electrical signals, or electrical signals into optical signals, and
wherein the measurement system further includes an electrical transmission module and an electrical reception module,
However, Wang, in combination with Vaez, further teach:
wherein the conversion module is set up to convert optical signals into electrical signals, or electrical signals into optical signals (Wang: [0010], [0078], [Claim 1], [Claim 2], & [Claim 3]; Vaez: [0095]-[0096] & [0297]), and
wherein the measurement system further includes an electrical transmission module and an electrical reception module (Wang: [0009], [0020]-[0022], [0037]-[0039], [0054]-[0056], [0077], [0094]-[0096], [0110]-[0112], [0126]-[0128], [Claim 1], [Claim 2], & [Claim 3]: signal source (transmission module) and signal processing units/receivers (electrical reception module); Vaez: Table 16-1; [0003], [0056], [0060]-[0063], [0066], [0070]-[0071], [0075], [0088], [0096], [0100], [0150], [0154], [0179], [0206], [0231]-[0232], [0240], [0275], [0286], [0311], [Claim 9], [Claim 11], [Claim 14], & [Claim 15]),
It is recognized that the citations and evidence provided above are derived from potentially different embodiments of a single reference. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to employ combinations and sub-combinations of these complementary embodiments and otherwise motivate experimentation and optimization. A POSITA would be motivated to implement the algorithmic calibration and de-embedding method of Wang into the modular testing hardware architecture of Vaez to improve measurement accuracy in modular tools and provide a versatile platform. A POSITA would further be motivated to apply Wang’s calibration algorithms to Vaez’s hardware to eliminate systemic errors, improving the accuracy and reliability of Vaez’s field and lab measurements. Further, implementing Wang’s complex VNA calibration method would look to modern testing architectures like Vaez to provide the physical conversion modules (e.g., photodiodes/lasers) and electrical transceivers in a compact, modular format. This combination constitutes the application of a known mathematical calibration technique (Wang) to a known structural testing device (Vaez). The result would be a predictable (KSR) modular electro-optical measurement system capable of extracting the actual S-parameters of a DUT by mathematically de-embedding the systemic hardware errors of the testing tool.
Wang, in combination with Vaez, are silent in regard to:
wherein the calibration method comprises:
measuring scattering parameters ( S-parameters) of the electro-optical device or the opto-electrical device,
wherein the measured S-parameters comprise at least one transmission coefficient in forward direction and two reflection coefficients; and
determining actual S-parameters of the electro-optical device or the opto-electrical device based on the measured S-parameters;
wherein the actual S-parameters are determined based on a non-zero electrical output or input matching of the conversion module,
However, Wang, in combination with Spirito, further teach:
wherein the calibration method comprises:
measuring scattering parameters ( S-parameters) of the electro-optical device or the opto-electrical device (Wang: [0008], [0019], [0022]-[0023], [0032]-[0033], [0036], [0039]-[0040], [0049]-[0050], [0053], [0056]-[0057], [0062]-[0063], [0067], [0096], [0105]-[0106], [0112], [0121]-[0122], [0128], [0133]-[0134], [Claim 1], [Claim 2], & [Claim 3]; Spirito: [0002], [0004]-[0006], [0020]-[0025], [0077]-[0081]),
wherein the measured S-parameters comprise at least one transmission coefficient in forward direction and two reflection coefficients (Wang: [0008], [0019], [0022]-[0023], [0032]-[0033], [0036], [0039]-[0040], [0049]-[0050], [0053], [0056]-[0057], [0062]-[0063], [0067], [0096], [0105]-[0106], [0112], [0121]-[0122], [0128], [0133]-[0134], [Claim 1], [Claim 2], & [Claim 3]: identifies S22M and S21M as the measured VNA electrical plane S-parameters; Spirito: [0002], [0004]-[0006], [0020]-[0025], [0077]-[0081]: details the steps of measuring the raw scattering parameters consisting of the transmission coefficient S21raw and the two reflection coefficients ΓIN/ΓOUT); and
determining actual S-parameters of the electro-optical device or the opto-electrical device based on the measured S-parameters (Wang: [0022]-[0023], [0039]-[0040], [0056]-[0057], [0067], [0096], [0112], [0128], [Claim 1], [Claim 2], & [Claim 3]: uses Mason’s rule to mathematically determine the actual device S-parameters from the measured raw parameters; Spirito: [0006], [0035]-[0036], [0077]-[0084], [Claim 10], [Claim 14]);
wherein the actual S-parameters are determined based on a non-zero electrical output or input matching of the conversion module (Wang: [0027], [0034], [0045]-[0047], [0049]-[0051], [0060]-[0064], [0100], [0116], [0131], [Claim 1], [Claim 2], & [Claim 3]: includes source/load match error terms ESF/ELF in the derivation, correcting for non-zero electrical matching; Spirito: [0014]-[0017], [0067] & [0071]: teaches that determining actual S-parameters based on non-zero matching is well-known for mitigating high voltage standing wave ratios (VSWR)),
It is recognized that the citations and evidence provided above are derived from potentially different embodiments of a single reference. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to employ combinations and sub-combinations of these complementary embodiments and otherwise motivate experimentation and optimization. A POSITA would be motivated to apply the high-gamma VNA calibration method of Spirito when characterizing the electro-optical modulator of Wang to mitigate known impedance mismatches and improve component characterization. Spirito’s method is designed to solve the issue of measuring extreme impedances (VSWR > 9) and reduce noise in mismatches environments, and a POSITA would look to Spirito’s algorithmic technique to ensure Wang’s devices are measured accurately. Applying Spirito’s de-embedding mathematical steps allows a POSITA to mathematically strip testing environment errors to isolate the true S-parameters of Wang’s optical device. This combination applies a known electrical calibration and de-embedding technique (Spirito) to characterize a known high-speed electro-optical device (Wang). The result is a predictable (KSR) accurate, noise-reduced measurement of the actual S11 and S21 parameters of a photonics modulator, accounting for non-zero electrical matching at the testing interfaces.
Regarding dependent claim 2, Wang, teaches:
The calibration method according to claim 2 ([Description], [0002], [0004], [0006], [0008]-[0010], [0015], [0019]-[0020], [0022]-[0023], [0036]-[0040], [0046], [0049]-[0050], [0053]-[0057], [0067], [0077]-[0078], [0090]-[0096], [0102], [0105]-[0106], [0109]-[0122], [0125]-[0137], [Claim 1], [Claim 2], & [Claim 3]), wherein the actual S-parameters are determined based on a transmission characteristic of the conversion module (Formulas 2 & 6; [0031]-[0033], [0048]-[0050], [0058]-[0063], [0104]-[0106], [0121]-[0122], [0133]-[0134], [Claim 1], [Claim 2], & [Claim 3]: calculates the actual S- parameters (S21) of the DUT by factoring in eo11 and eo21 (both S-parameters of the electro-optical conversion module) and oe21 and oe22 are both S-parameters of the opto-electrical conversion module. These S-parameters are the forward transmission coefficients (transmission characteristics) of the electro-optical and opto-electrical conversion modules).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Wang, teaches:
The calibration method according to claim 2 ([Description], [0002], [0004], [0006], [0008]-[0010], [0015], [0019]-[0020], [0022]-[0023], [0036]-[0040], [0046], [0049]-[0050], [0053]-[0057], [0067], [0077]-[0078], [0090]-[0096], [0102], [0105]-[0106], [0109]-[0122], [0125]-[0137], [Claim 1], [Claim 2], & [Claim 3]),
Wang, in silent in regard to:
wherein the transmission characteristic is measured using a reference photodiode or using a reference light source.
However, Wang, in combination with Vaez, further teach:
wherein the transmission characteristic is measured using a reference photodiode (Wang: Formula 2; [0009]-[0010], [0020]-[0022], [0037]-[0039], [0054]-[0056], [0077]-[0078], [0094]-[0096], [0110]-[0112], [0126]-[0128], [Claim 1], [Claim 2], & [Claim 3]: light wave control module includes an photoelectric conversion module, Formula 2 relies on measuring the forward transmission of an E/O DUT using the system’s internal O/E receiver; Vaez: Figs. 3, 4, & 26; [0058], [0095]-[0096], [0099]-[0100], [0105], [0297], & [Claim 16]: when the DUT is an electro-optical device (transmitter), the measurement system must use an internal photoelectric converter to capture the optical signal and measure the transmission characteristic, internal photo diode detector of Vaez or photoelectric conversion module of Wang) or using a reference light source (Wang: Formula 5; [0009]-[0010], [0020]-[0022], [0037]-[0039], [0054]-[0056], [0077]-[0078], [0094]-[0096], [0110]-[0112], [0126]-[0128], [Claim 1], [Claim 2], & [Claim 3]: light wave control module includes an electro-optical conversion module, formula 5 relies on measuring the forward transmission of an O/E DUT using the system’s internal E/O source); Vaez: [0058], [0106], [0162], [0296]-[0298], [0307]-[0308], & [Claim 7]).
It is recognized that the citations and evidence provided above are derived from potentially different embodiments of a single reference. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to employ combinations and sub-combinations of these complementary embodiments and otherwise motivate experimentation and optimization. A POSITA would be motivated to implement the optical calibration algorithms of Wang into the modular testing hardware of Vaez, and further enhance that mathematical model by incorporating the non-zero electrical matching corrections taught by Spirito. Implementing Wang’s algorithmic optical (forward-only transmission and zero optical reflection) into the software of Vaez’s hardware would allow the system to mathematically strip away internal errors of its own photodiodes and lasers, isolating the performance of the DUT. Further, a POSITA would alternatively look to Spirito’s High-Gamma de-embedding techniques to handle the non-zero electrical matching. This combination constitutes the integration of known hardware modules (Vaez) with known optical (Wang) or electrical (Wang/Spirito) mathematical calibration algorithms. The result is a predictable (KSR) accurate, modular electro-optical measurement system capable of extracting actual S-parameters of a DUT by de-embedding both the optical conversion and the electrical impedance mismatches of the test system.
Regarding dependent claim 4, Wang, teaches:
The calibration method according to claim 1 ([Description], [0002], [0004], [0006], [0008]-[0010], [0015], [0019]-[0020], [0022]-[0023], [0036]-[0040], [0046], [0049]-[0050], [0053]-[0057], [0067], [0077]-[0078], [0090]-[0096], [0102], [0105]-[0106], [0109]-[0122], [0125]-[0137], [Claim 1], [Claim 2], & [Claim 3]),
Wang, in combination with Vaez, are silent in regard to:
wherein the actual S-parameters are determined based on error terms of the electrical transmission module and the electrical reception module.
However, Wang, in combination with Spirito, further teach:
wherein the actual S-parameters are determined based on error terms of the electrical transmission module and the electrical reception module (Wang: [0034], [0047], [0051], [0064], [0107], [0119], [0123], [0135], [Claim 1], [Claim 2], & [Claim 3]: EDF represents directional forward error, ESF represents the source matching forward error, ELF represents the load matching forward error; Spirito: Fig. 5A, 5B, & 5C; [0041], [0064]-[0065], [0069]-[0070], [0077]-[0085], & [Claim 11]).
It is recognized that the citations and evidence provided above are derived from potentially different embodiments of a single reference. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to employ combinations and sub-combinations of these complementary embodiments and otherwise motivate experimentation and optimization. A POSITA would be motivated to apply the High-Gamma VNA calibration method of Spirito when characterizing the electro-optical modulator of Wang to mitigate known impedance mismatches and improve component characterization. A POSITA would look to Spirito’s algorithmic technique, designed to solve the issue of measuring extreme impedances (VSWR > 9) and reducing noise in mismatched environments, to ensure Wang’s devices are measured accurately. Applying Spirito’s de-embedding mathematical steps allows a POSITA to mathematically remove testing environment errors to isolate the true S-parameters of Wang’s optical device. This combination applies a known electrical calibration and de-embedding technique (Spirito) to characterize a known high-speed electro-optical device (Wang). The result is a predictable (KSR) accurate, noise-reduced measurement of the actual S11 and S21 parameters of a photonics modulator, accounting for non-zero electrical matching at the testing interfaces.
Regarding dependent claim 5, Wang, teaches:
The calibration method according to claim 4 ([Description], [0002], [0004], [0006], [0008]-[0010], [0015], [0019]-[0020], [0022]-[0023], [0036]-[0040], [0046], [0049]-[0050], [0053]-[0057], [0067], [0077]-[0078], [0090]-[0096], [0102], [0105]-[0106], [0109]-[0122], [0125]-[0137], [Claim 1], [Claim 2], & [Claim 3]),
Wang, in combination with Vaez, are silent in regard to:
wherein the error terms are determined based on a one-port model of the electrical transmission module and the electrical reception module.
However, Spirito, further teaches:
wherein the error terms are determined based on a one-port model of the electrical transmission module and the electrical reception module ([0001], [0020], [0025], [0037]-[0038], [0046], [0055], [0064]-[0065], & [Claim 12]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the one-port error modeling of Spirito with the multi-term electro-optical calibration method of Wang, implemented on the hardware of Vaez, according to known methods. A POSITA would recognize that building a multi-term error matrix requires initially isolating the reflection errors at each individual electrical port. Therefore, A POSITA would be motivated to utilize Spirito’s one-port SOL modeling technique to determine specific error terms of the individual electrical transmission and reception modules (VNA ports of Vaez) before calculation the full transmission and optical parameters. The combinations constitutes the application of a known foundational calibration technique (Spirito’s one-port model) to execute a broad known system calibration (Wang’s multi-term model) on a known device (Vaez). The result is a predictable (KSR) accurate determination of the electrical error terms needed to de-embed the actual S-parameters of an electro-optical device.
Regarding dependent claim 6, Wang, teaches:
The calibration method according to claim 4 ([Description], [0002], [0004], [0006], [0008]-[0010], [0015], [0019]-[0020], [0022]-[0023], [0036]-[0040], [0046], [0049]-[0050], [0053]-[0057], [0067], [0077]-[0078], [0090]-[0096], [0102], [0105]-[0106], [0109]-[0122], [0125]-[0137], [Claim 1], [Claim 2], & [Claim 3]),
Wang, in combination with Vaez, are silent in regard to:
wherein the error terms are determined based on a two-port model of the electrical transmission module and the electrical reception module.
However, Wang, in combination with Spirito, further teach:
wherein the error terms are determined based on a two-port model of the electrical transmission module and the electrical reception module (Wang: [0008]-[0014], [0016]-[0018], [0021], [0037]-[0038], [0054]-[0055], [0067], [0077]-[0082], [0084]-[0086], [0090], [0092], [0094]-[0095], [0100], [0110]-[0111], [0126]-[0127], [Claim 1], [Claim 2], & [Claim 3]: discloses a 12-term SOLT error model which is a two-port calibration model that extracts forward and reverse error terms across two ports; Spirito: [0001], [0020], [0037]-[0038], [0064]-[0065], [0087], & [Claim 14]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to determine the error terms based on a two-port error model when combining the multi-term electro-optical calibration method of Wang, with the hardware of Vaez, and the High-Gamma correction techniques of Spirito, according to known methods. A POSITA would recognize that Vaez’s hardware inherently utilizes two distinct electrical modules (a transmission module and a reception module), and would be highly motivated to apply a two-port error model, as taught by Wang’s dual port calibration requirement and Spirito’s two port connection scheme, to mathematically map signal interactions, crosstalk, and mismatches between the transmission module and the reception module. This combination constitutes the application of a known dual-port electrical calibration strategy, Wang/Spirito, to a known two-module physical testing architecture (Vaez). The result is a predictable (KSR) generation of a complete two-port error matrix that allows the system to de-embed the electrical errors from the transmission and reception modules prior to measuring the optical device.
Regarding dependent claim 7, Wang, teaches:
The calibration method according to claim 1 ([Description], [0002], [0004], [0006], [0008]-[0010], [0015], [0019]-[0020], [0022]-[0023], [0036]-[0040], [0046], [0049]-[0050], [0053]-[0057], [0067], [0077]-[0078], [0090]-[0096], [0102], [0105]-[0106], [0109]-[0122], [0125]-[0137], [Claim 1], [Claim 2], & [Claim 3]), wherein the actual S-parameters of the electro-optical device are determined in accordance with ([0095]-[0115]: discloses Mason’s rule to extract the actual parameters. Applying Mason’s rule to the forward reflection flow graph, S11M = EDF + ERFS11/(1 – ESFS11), is the standard mathematical representation of a one-port reflection measurement using a VNA, derived by applying Mason’s Gain Formula. Therefore, after solving algebraically for the actual S11 yields: S11 = S11M -EDF/(ERF + ESF(S11M - EDF)), which is identical to the formula below. Applying Mason’s Gain Formula is also applied to solve the forward transmission S21. S21M maps to Smeas21, eo21 maps to e32)
wherein Smeas11 and Smeas21 are measured S-parameters of the electro-optical device ([0024]-[0027], [0046]-[0048], [0058]-[0060], [0097]-[0100], [0113]-[0118], [0120]-[0121], [0129]-[0131], [Claim 1], [Claim 2], & [Claim 3]: M stands for measured), wherein Smeas22 is a measured S-parameter of the conversion module ([0024]-[0029], [0031], [0041]-[0044], [0058]-[0060], [0102]-[0104], [0113]-[0116], [0129]-[0131], [Claim 1], [Claim 2], & [Claim 3]), and wherein the eij are error terms of the electrical transmission module and the electrical reception module ([0034], [0047], [0051], [0064], [0107], [0119], [0123], [0135], [Claim 1], [Claim 2], & [Claim 3]: EDF represents directional forward error, ESF represents the source matching forward error, ELF represents the load matching forward error, and map to arbitrary eij array notation (e00 for directional forward, e11 for source matching, e01e10 for reflection tracking, etc.).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Wang, teaches:
The calibration method according to claim 1 ([Description], [0002], [0004], [0006], [0008]-[0010], [0015], [0019]-[0020], [0022]-[0023], [0036]-[0040], [0046], [0049]-[0050], [0053]-[0057], [0067], [0077]-[0078], [0090]-[0096], [0102], [0105]-[0106], [0109]-[0122], [0125]-[0137], [Claim 1], [Claim 2], & [Claim 3]), wherein the actual S-parameters of the opto-electrical device are determined in accordance with ([0095]-[0117]: uses Mason’s rule to extract the actual parameters for an O/E device. By applying Mason’s rule to the reverse reflection path (S22) and forward transmission path (S21) while setting the optical reflection (oe11S22) and reverse transmission to zero, the resulting algebraic rearranging of the system’s Mason’s rule equations and isolation for the unknown variables is mathematically identical to claimed formulas)
wherein Smeas21 and Smeas22 are measured S-parameters of the opto-electrical device ([0029], [0032], [0049], [0062], [0102], [0105],[0121], [0133], [Claim 1], [Claim 2], & [Claim 3] : uses the measured variables S21M and S22M where M stands for measured), wherein Smeas11 is a measured S-parameter of the conversion module ([0046], [0118], [Claim 1], [Claim 2], & [Claim 3]: uses the measured reflection parameter at the primary port to characterize the conversion module), and wherein the eij are error terms of the electrical transmission module and the electrical reception module [0034], [0047], [0051], [0064], [0107], [0119], [0123], [0135], [Claim 1], [Claim 2], & [Claim 3]: defines the error terms using standard 12-term VNA nomenclature (EDR, ESR, ERR for port 2), maps with arbitrary eij array notation (e55 for port 2 directivity/source match, e45e54 for tracking etc.)).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Wang, teaches:
A measurement system for measurements on an electrooptical device which is set up to convert electrical signals into optical signals, or on an opto-electrical device which is set up to convert optical signals into electrical signals ([Description], [0002], [0004], [0006], [0008]-[0010], [0015], [0019]-[0020], [0022]-[0023], [0036]-[0040], [0046], [0049]-[0050], [0053]-[0057], [0067], [0077]-[0078], [0090]-[0096], [0102], [0105]-[0106], [0109]-[0122], [0125]-[0137], [Claim 1], [Claim 2], & [Claim 3]),
wherein the measurement system includes a conversion module ([0010], [0012]-[0013], [0033], [0050], [0063], [0078], [0080]-[0081], [0106], [0122], [0134], [Claim 1], [Claim 2], & [Claim 3]),
wherein the measurement system includes a control module ([0008], [0010], [0012]-[0013], [0020]-[0021], [0033], [0037]-[0038], [0050], [0054]-[0055], [0063], [0067], [0076], [0078], [0080]-[0081], ]0092], [0094]-[0095], [0106], [0110]-[0111], [0122], [0126]-[0127], [0134], [Claim 1], [Claim 2], & [Claim 3]), and
wherein the control module is set up to cause the measurement system to carry out a calibration method according to claim 8 ([Description], [0002], [0004], [0006], [0008]-[0010], [0015], [0019]-[0020], [0022]-[0023], [0036]-[0040], [0046], [0049]-[0050], [0053]-[0057], [0067], [0077]-[0078], [0090]-[0096], [0102], [0105]-[0106], [0109]-[0122], [0125]-[0137], [Claim 1], [Claim 2], & [Claim 3]).
Wang, in silent in regard to:
wherein the conversion module is set up to convert optical signals into electrical signals, or electrical signals into optical signals,
wherein the measurement system further includes an electrical transmission module and an electrical reception module,
However, Wang, in combination with Vaez, further teach:
wherein the conversion module is set up to convert optical signals into electrical signals, or electrical signals into optical signals (Wang: [0010], [0078], [Claim 1], [Claim 2], & [Claim 3]; Vaez: [0095]-[0096] & [0297]),
wherein the measurement system further includes an electrical transmission module and an electrical reception module (Wang: [0009], [0020]-[0022], [0037]-[0039], [0054]-[0056], [0077], [0094]-[0096], [0110]-[0112], [0126]-[0128], [Claim 1], [Claim 2], & [Claim 3]: signal source (transmission module) and signal processing units/receivers (electrical reception module); Vaez: Table 16-1; [0003], [0056], [0060]-[0063], [0066], [0070]-[0071], [0075], [0088], [0096], [0100], [0150], [0154], [0179], [0206], [0231]-[0232], [0240], [0275], [0286], [0311], [Claim 9], [Claim 11], [Claim 14], & [Claim 15]),
It is recognized that the citations and evidence provided above are derived from potentially different embodiments of a single reference. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to employ combinations and sub-combinations of these complementary embodiments and otherwise motivate experimentation and optimization. A POSITA would be motivated to take the modular electro-optical testing hardware of Vaez, and program its integrated control module to carry out the accurate calibration algorithms taught by Wang, to automate complex calibration in hardware and correct inherent hardware deficiencies. A POSITA, designing or improving the test hardware of Vaez, would further be motivated to program Vaez’s control module to automatically execute Wang’s calibration algorithms to Vaez’s hardware to eliminate systemic errors, improving the accuracy and reliability of Vaez’s field and lab measurements. This combination applies a known software methodology (Wang) to a known capable hardware platform (Vaez) to improve the tool’s measurement accuracy. Further, implementing Wang’s complex VNA calibration method would look to modern testing architectures like Vaez to provide the physical conversion modules (e.g., photodiodes/lasers) and electrical transceivers in a compact, modular format. This combination constitutes the integration of a known mathematical calibration sequence (Wang) into the programmable control module of a known physical measurement apparatus (Vaez). The result would be a predictable (KSR) automated, accurate measurement system capable of extracting the actual S-parameters of an optical DUT by mathematically de-embedding the systemic errors of its own transmission, reception, and conversion modules.
Regarding dependent claim 10, Wang, teaches:
The measurement system according to claim 9 ([Description], [0002], [0004], [0006], [0008]-[0010], [0015], [0019]-[0020], [0022]-[0023], [0036]-[0040], [0046], [0049]-[0050], [0053]-[0057], [0067], [0077]-[0078], [0090]-[0096], [0102], [0105]-[0106], [0109]-[0122], [0125]-[0137], [Claim 1], [Claim 2], & [Claim 3]),
Wang, in silent in regard to:
wherein the electrical transmission module and the electrical reception module are integrated in a measurement instrument.
However, Wang, in combination with Vaez, further teach:
wherein the electrical transmission module and the electrical reception module are integrated in a measurement instrument (Wang: [0009], [0020]-[0022], [0037]-[0039], [0054]-[0056], [0077], [0094]-[0096], [0110]-[0112], [0126]-[0128], [Claim 1], [Claim 2], & [Claim 3]: signal source (transmission module) and signal processing units/receivers (electrical reception module); Vaez: Table 16-1; [0003], [0048], [0056], [0060]-[0063], [0066], [0070]-[0071], [0075], [0088], [0096], [0100], [0150], [0154], [0179], [0206], [0231]-[0232], [0240], [0275], [0286], [0311], [Claim 9], [Claim 11], [Claim 14], & [Claim 15]).
It is recognized that the citations and evidence provided above are derived from potentially different embodiments of a single reference. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to employ combinations and sub-combinations of these complementary embodiments and otherwise motivate experimentation and optimization. A POSITA would be motivated to utilize the modular electro-optical testing hardware of Vaez to carry out the S-parameter characterization measurements required by the photonics device of Wang to provide a versatile testing platform and standardize component evaluation. A POSITA would further be motivated to employ Vaez’s modular testing tool because it provides interchangeable hardware (e.g., optical converters and electrical transceivers) needed to physically interface with and measure the S-parameters of Wang’s optical modulators across different environments. A POSITA would look to modern modular test equipment (Vaez) to fulfill the testing requirements of a newly designed optical component (Wang). The combination constitutes pairing a known testing apparatus (Vaez) with a known DUT (Wang). The result is a predictable (KSR) functional measurement system utilizing modular electrical and optical conversion interfaces to measure the forward transmission S21 and reflection S11 parameters of a high-speed photonics transceiver.
Regarding dependent claim 11, Wang, teaches:
The measurement system according to claim 9 ([Description], [0002], [0004], [0006], [0008]-[0010], [0015], [0019]-[0020], [0022]-[0023], [0036]-[0040], [0046], [0049]-[0050], [0053]-[0057], [0067], [0077]-[0078], [0090]-[0096], [0102], [0105]-[0106], [0109]-[0122], [0125]-[0137], [Claim 1], [Claim 2], & [Claim 3]),
Wang, in combination with Vaez, are silent in regard to:
wherein the electrical transmission module and the electrical reception module are integrated in a vector network analyzer.
However, Wang, in combination with Spirito, further teach:
wherein the electrical transmission module and the electrical reception module are integrated in a vector network analyzer (Wang: [Description], [0002], [0004], [0006], [0008]-[0009], [0019], [0021]-[0022], [0029]-[0030], [0032], [0034], [0036], [0038]-[0039], [0046]-[0047], [0049], [0051] [0053], [0055]-[0056], [0062], [0064], [0067], [0069]-[0070], [0076]-[0077], [0087], [0092], [0095]-[0096], [0102]-[0103], [0105], [0107], [0111]-[0112], [0118]-[0119], [0121], [0123], [0127]-[0128], [0133], [0135], [Claim 1], [Claim 2], & [Claim 3]: vector network analyzer includes a signal source (transmission module) and signal processing units and directional couplers or receivers (electrical reception module); Spirito: [0038]).
It is recognized that the citations and evidence provided above are derived from potentially different embodiments of a single reference. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to employ combinations and sub-combinations of these complementary embodiments and otherwise motivate experimentation and optimization. A POSITA would be motivated to apply the High-Gamma VNA calibration method of Spirito when characterizing the electro-optical modulator of Wang to mitigate known impedance mismatches and isolate component characterization. A POSITA would look to Spirito’s algorithmic technique to ensure Wang’s devices are measured accurately. Spirito’s method is designed to solve the issue of measuring extreme impedances (VSWR > 9) and reduce noise in mismatched environments. Applying Spirito’s de-embedding mathematical steps allows a POSITA to mathematically strip away the testing environment errors to isolate the true S-parameters of Wang’s optical device. This combination constitutes the application of a known electrical calibration and de-embedding technique (Spirito) to characterize a known electro-optical device (Wang). The result is a predictable (KSR) accurate, noise-reduced measurement of the actual S11 and S21 parameters of a photonics modulator, accounting for non-zero electrical matching at the testing interfaces.
Conclusion
/HUGO NAVARRO/ Examiner, Art Unit 2858 May 7, 2026
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 5/13/2026