DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “actuating element” and “coupling structure” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “in regions”. It is unclear what the regions refer to (does it mean parts of the air-guiding elements or part of a different structure that accommodates the air-guiding elements?)
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the first air-guiding elements" in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner recommend applicant to amend this limitation to (and for examining purpose, examiner interprets this limitation is) “the plurality of first air-guiding elements”. NOTE: there are many places in the entire claim set that have the same problem and need corrections.
Regarding claims 1, 4, 8, 10-13, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 5 recites “at least the coupling structure of the actuating mechanism (1) is received at least partially or regionally inside an airflow splitter”. This limitation positively recites that the actuating mechanism is received in an airflow splitter and it looks like the airflow splitter is part of the actuating mechanism.
However, paragraph [0083] of the instant application states “However, the disclosure is not limited to air vents that are equipped with such an airflow splitter 9. The actuating mechanism 1 according to the disclosure is similarly suitable for air vents without airflow splitters 9.” The disclosure says the actuating mechanism can be installed in air vent that doesn’t have airflow splitter. Therefore the specification says airflow splitter is not part of the actuating mechanism. And therefore the specification disclosure is conflict with the claim limitation. It’s not clear as to if the airflow splitter is actually part of the actuating mechanism. Examiner recommend applicant to amend this limitation to (and for examining purpose, examiner interprets this limitation is) “at least the coupling structure of the actuating mechanism (1) is configured to be received at least partially or regionally inside an airflow splitter…”
Claim 7 recites “stop”. It’s not clear as to what structural limitation is required for “stop”.
Claim 9 recites “the actuating element is borne on or atop the at least one second air-guiding element”. This limitation positively recites that the actuating element is on or atop the at least one second air-guiding element. However in claim 8, the at least one second air-guiding element is part of functional limitation and not positively recited. Therefore it is unclear as to if the actuating element is actually on or atop the at least one second air-guiding element. Examiner recommend applicant to amend this limitation to (and for examining purpose, examiner interprets this limitation is) “the actuating element is configured to be borne on or atop the at least one second air-guiding element”.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the as-needed air deflection" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the at least one second air-guiding element" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is also not clear as to if this limitation refers to “at least one air-guiding element” in claim 13 line 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-7, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Horner (DE102021105435. See attached translation.)
Regarding claim 1, Horner teaches An actuating mechanism “for actuating a plurality of first air-guiding elements of an air vent for a vehicle, each of which are borne about a respective first pivot axis, wherein each first air-guiding element comprises a bearing element integrally formed on the respective air-guiding element and extending eccentrically to the pivot axis of the respective air-guiding element, in particular in the form of a bearing pin at least in regions” (This is intended use),
wherein the actuating mechanism comprises an actuating element (11, fig 2), which is in particular manually actuatable, and a coupling structure (9, fig 2) operatively connected to the actuating element,
wherein the actuating element is slidably borne in a second direction (shown in x) extending perpendicular to a longitudinal extension direction (vertical direction of fig 2) of the first air-guiding elements, and
wherein the coupling structure “is configured so as to receive, at least partially or regionally, the bearing elements of the first air-guiding elements” (see fig 2) in such a way “that a movement of the actuating element in the second direction extending perpendicular to the longitudinal extension direction of the first air-guiding elements is or can be transferred to the bearing elements, but not a movement of the actuating element in the longitudinal extension direction of the first air-guiding elements or a movement of the actuating element perpendicular to the longitudinal extension direction of the first air-guiding elements and perpendicular to the second direction or a rotational movement of the actuating element about an axis of rotation extending parallel to the second direction” (This is intended function. Air-guiding device is not positively recited to be part of the actuating mechanism.).
Regarding claim 5, Horner teaches at least the coupling structure of the actuating mechanism “is configured to be received at least partially or regionally inside an airflow splitter, wherein the airflow splitter is configured so as to split a stream of air flowing through the air vent into a first air channel and into a second air channel, wherein each first air-guiding element comprises a first air-guiding region received in the first air channel and a second air-guiding region received in the second air channel” (This is intended function. See 112b rejection for claim interpretation. The airflow splitter is interpreted to be not part of the actuating mechanism.)
Regarding claim 6, Horner teaches “each bearing element of the first air-guiding elements is connected to a bearing element of the first and second air-guiding region of a corresponding air-guiding element via a respective lever arm region” (bearing element is not part of the actuating mechanism, and therefore this is an intended function.)
Regarding claim 7, Horner teaches at least one stop (14 and 15, fig 3a) is associated with the actuating element for limiting a movement of the actuating element in the second direction
Regarding claim 10, Horner teaches an air vent for a motor vehicle, wherein the air vent comprises the following:
a housing (2) having an air inlet region (upstream region of housing 2) and an opposite air outlet region (downstream region of housing 2);
a plurality of first air-guiding elements (5, fig 1), in particular in the form of air-guiding shells, each borne pivotably relative to the housing about a respective first pivot axis (A, fig 1); and an actuating mechanism (see rejection in claim 1) according to claim 1, wherein the actuating mechanism is configured so as to actuate, and in particular to pivot, the first air-guiding elements together as needed (see movement in fig 2 and 2a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horner (DE102021105435. See attached translation.).
Regarding claim 4, Horner teaches that the actuating element itself is at least one base body. As for the limitation regarding “the coupling structure and at least one base body of the actuating element are configured as a monolithic component, in particular a plastic injection-molded part”, this limitation is considered product-by-process. The cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus or product. The determination of patentability is based upon the apparatus structure itself. The patentability of a product or apparatus does not depend on its method of production or formation. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (see MPEP § 2113).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 8-9, 11-15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KO-WEI LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762