DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 10-17, 19-22, 26-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MATSUDA et al. (US 2011/0281526 A1), hereinafter MATSUDA.
Regarding claim 1, MATSUDA discloses a radio wave propagation analysis device (the radio wave propagation characteristic estimation system, see ¶ 0053) comprising: a processor; and a memory storing a program performing, upon executed by the processor, a process:
to acquire map information including building information and open space region information corresponding to the map information, generate block region information in which a region obtained by excluding a region indicated by the open space region information from a map indicated by the map information is set as a block region (the map data from which a part of the objects is excluded, see ¶ 0053; the object selection module 62 refers to the map data, and selects the objects used for estimating the radio wave propagation characteristic within the area by each of the plurality of areas acquired by being classified by the area classification module 67, see ¶ 0062), and
generate simplified map information in which the map information is simplified in which the region obtained by excluding the region indicated by the open space region information is changed to a block region indicated by the block region information (the object selection module 62 refers to the map data, and selects the objects used for estimating the radio wave propagation characteristic within the area by each of the plurality of areas acquired by being classified by the area classification module 67. For example, in the case shown in FIG. 7, when the observation area is in the base station nearby area 74, only the object within the base station nearby area 74 is selected. When the observation area is in the base station distant lower-altitude area 75, all the objects are selected, see ¶ 0062); and
to perform radio wave propagation analysis on the basis of the simplified map information (estimates the radio wave propagation characteristic based on the map data from which a part of the objects is excluded, see ¶ 0053, 0063).
Regarding claim 3, MATSUDA discloses wherein the map information acquired is three-dimensional map data indicating a three-dimensional map viewed from above, and the simplified map information generated is three-dimensional simplified map data corresponding to the three-dimensional map data and having a height with respect to the block region (the map data memory unit 21 stores the three-dimensional map data including the structure data which shows a configuring surface of the structures (objects) such as geographical features and buildings existing within the peripheral areas of the base station and the observation area as coordinate data (latitude, longitude, altitude), see ¶ 0034; the area classification module 67 classifies the space area (peripheral area) shown by the three-dimensional map data stored in the map data memory unit 21 into a plurality of areas based on the threshold value data acquired by the area classifying threshold value data acquiring module 66, see ¶ 0059).
Regarding claim 4, MATSUDA discloses wherein the process further comprises to calculate a median height between a height of a highest building and a height of a lowest building in the map information existing in each of block regions, and sets information based on the median height as height information for each of the block regions in the simplified map information (an object selection module which reads out the map data from the map data memory unit, and selects a part of the structures according to a height thereof from the structures shown in the structure data, see ¶ 0016).
Regarding claim 5, MATSUDA discloses wherein the process further comprises to calculate an average value or a weighted average value calculated from heights of a plurality of buildings in the map information existing in each of block regions, and sets information based on the average value or the weighted average value as height information for each of the block regions in the simplified map information (the object selection module 62 selects all the objects when the observation area is in the base station distant lower-altitude area 75 and the radio wave propagation characteristic estimation module 64 estimates the propagation by using the statistical method, the map data memory unit 21 may store the map data (statistical map data) required for employing the statistical method and the object selection module 12 may have a function which selects the statistical map data. The statistical map data specifically includes values such as a building occupying area rate and an average building height, see ¶ 0066).
Regarding claim 6, MATSUDA discloses the open space region information acquired is open space region information of at least one of road information, river region information, or track region information (the radio wave propagation characteristic estimation module 64 according to the second exemplary embodiment may have a function which changes the propagation characteristic estimation method depending on which area out of the plurality of areas acquired by classification done by the area classification module 67 the observation area is set, see ¶ 0064).
Regarding claim 10, MATSUDA discloses the open space region information acquired includes additional open space region information designated other than the open space region information corresponding to the map information (the radio wave propagation characteristic estimation module 64 according to the second exemplary embodiment may have a function which changes the propagation characteristic estimation method depending on which area out of the plurality of areas acquired by classification done by the area classification module 67 the observation area is set, see ¶ 0064).
Regarding claim 11, MATSUDA discloses wherein the additional open space region information designated is at least one of additional road information, additional river region information, or additional track region information (the radio wave propagation characteristic estimation module 64 according to the second exemplary embodiment may have a function which changes the propagation characteristic estimation method depending on which area out of the plurality of areas acquired by classification done by the area classification module 67 the observation area is set, see ¶ 0064).
Regarding claim 12, MATSUDA discloses wherein the process further comprises to handle, as open space region information, path information indicating a path in which a plurality of reception points is arranged (the entire space area from the distant place of the base station a to areas of a ground height (ground surface) to a higher-altitude part is divided into a plurality of grid-like observation areas (observation points), the propagation characteristics of each observation area of the radio wave emitted from the designated base station are estimated, and the distribution of the propagation characteristics of the radio wave emitted from the designated base station in the entire space area is estimated based on the result thereof, see ¶ 0055).
Regarding claim 13, MATSUDA discloses wherein the process further comprises to handle, as open space region information, space region information indicating a space region equal to or higher than a height at which a transmission point is located in the block region indicated by the block region information in which the transmission point exists (for example, when estimating the propagation characteristic of the radio wave transmitted from the base station a and reaching the observation area b as in the case shown in FIG. 3, a line f connecting the base station a and the observation area b may be specified as the virtual reference line. Further, a straight line of a specific altitude crossing with the straight line of the altitude direction including the coordinate of the location of the base station a may be specified as the virtual reference line, see ¶ 0041).
Regarding claim 14, MATSUDA discloses wherein the process further comprises to handle, as open space region information, transmission path information indicating a propagation path with good visibility for radio wave propagation from a position of a transmission point to a position of a reception point (a radio wave propagation path calculation module which calculates a propagation path of a radio wave emitted from a transmission point and reaching an observation point based on location data of the transmission point and the observation point set in advance and a radio wave propagation characteristic estimation module which estimates a propagation characteristic of the radio wave arriving at the observation point based on the calculated radio wave propagation path, see ¶ 0016).
Regarding claim 15, MATSUDA discloses wherein the process further comprises to handle, as open space region information, space region information indicating a space region having a width equal to or larger than a set width and a length equal to or larger than a set length existing between buildings in the block region indicated by the block region information (when estimating the propagation characteristic of the radio wave transmitted from the transmission point to the observation area within a space by considering the structures (objects) such as the buildings and geometrical features defined in the three-dimensional space, and estimates the radio wave propagation characteristic by considering only the selected object, see ¶ 0047).
Regarding claim 16, MATSUDA discloses the radio wave propagation analysis performed is a radio wave propagation characteristic analysis method of either ray tracing or FDTD method (estimation is performed based on the radio wave propagation path calculated by the radio wave propagation path calculation module 63, i.e., estimation using a tracing method, since there is a large local radio wave fluctuation caused by the peripheral objects, see ¶ 0065).
Regarding claim 17, MATSUDA discloses a radio wave propagation analysis method, comprising:
acquiring map information including building information and open space region information corresponding to the map information, generate block region information in which a region obtained by excluding a region indicated by the open space region information from a map indicated by the map information is set as a block region (the map data from which a part of the objects is excluded, see ¶ 0053; the object selection module 62 refers to the map data, and selects the objects used for estimating the radio wave propagation characteristic within the area by each of the plurality of areas acquired by being classified by the area classification module 67, see ¶ 0062), and
generating simplified map information in which the map information is simplified in which the region obtained by excluding the region indicated by the open space region information is changed to a block region indicated by the block region information (the object selection module 62 refers to the map data, and selects the objects used for estimating the radio wave propagation characteristic within the area by each of the plurality of areas acquired by being classified by the area classification module 67. For example, in the case shown in FIG. 7, when the observation area is in the base station nearby area 74, only the object within the base station nearby area 74 is selected. When the observation area is in the base station distant lower-altitude area 75, all the objects are selected, see ¶ 0062); and
performing radio wave propagation analysis on the basis of the simplified map information (estimates the radio wave propagation characteristic based on the map data from which a part of the objects is excluded, see ¶ 0053, 0063).
Regarding claim 19, MATSUDA discloses wherein the map information acquired is three-dimensional map data indicating a three-dimensional map viewed from above, and the simplified map information generated is three-dimensional simplified map data corresponding to the three-dimensional map data and having a height with respect to the block region (the map data memory unit 21 stores the three-dimensional map data including the structure data which shows a configuring surface of the structures (objects) such as geographical features and buildings existing within the peripheral areas of the base station and the observation area as coordinate data (latitude, longitude, altitude), see ¶ 0034; the area classification module 67 classifies the space area (peripheral area) shown by the three-dimensional map data stored in the map data memory unit 21 into a plurality of areas based on the threshold value data acquired by the area classifying threshold value data acquiring module 66, see ¶ 0059).
Regarding claim 20, MATSUDA discloses wherein the process further comprises to calculate a median height between a height of a highest building and a height of a lowest building in the map information existing in each of block regions, and sets information based on the median height as height information for each of the block regions in the simplified map information (an object selection module which reads out the map data from the map data memory unit, and selects a part of the structures according to a height thereof from the structures shown in the structure data, see ¶ 0016).
Regarding claim 21, MATSUDA discloses wherein the process further comprises to calculate an average value or a weighted average value calculated from heights of a plurality of buildings in the map information existing in each of block regions, and sets information based on the average value or the weighted average value as height information for each of the block regions in the simplified map information (the object selection module 62 selects all the objects when the observation area is in the base station distant lower-altitude area 75 and the radio wave propagation characteristic estimation module 64 estimates the propagation by using the statistical method, the map data memory unit 21 may store the map data (statistical map data) required for employing the statistical method and the object selection module 12 may have a function which selects the statistical map data. The statistical map data specifically includes values such as a building occupying area rate and an average building height, see ¶ 0066).
Regarding claim 22, MATSUDA discloses the open space region information acquired is open space region information of at least one of road information, river region information, or track region information (the radio wave propagation characteristic estimation module 64 according to the second exemplary embodiment may have a function which changes the propagation characteristic estimation method depending on which area out of the plurality of areas acquired by classification done by the area classification module 67 the observation area is set, see ¶ 0064).
Regarding claim 26, MATSUDA discloses the open space region information acquired includes additional open space region information designated other than the open space region information corresponding to the map information (the radio wave propagation characteristic estimation module 64 according to the second exemplary embodiment may have a function which changes the propagation characteristic estimation method depending on which area out of the plurality of areas acquired by classification done by the area classification module 67 the observation area is set, see ¶ 0064).
Regarding claim 27, MATSUDA discloses wherein the additional open space region information designated is at least one of additional road information, additional river region information, or additional track region information (the radio wave propagation characteristic estimation module 64 according to the second exemplary embodiment may have a function which changes the propagation characteristic estimation method depending on which area out of the plurality of areas acquired by classification done by the area classification module 67 the observation area is set, see ¶ 0064).
Regarding claim 28, MATSUDA discloses wherein the process further comprises to handle, as open space region information, path information indicating a path in which a plurality of reception points is arranged (the entire space area from the distant place of the base station a to areas of a ground height (ground surface) to a higher-altitude part is divided into a plurality of grid-like observation areas (observation points), the propagation characteristics of each observation area of the radio wave emitted from the designated base station are estimated, and the distribution of the propagation characteristics of the radio wave emitted from the designated base station in the entire space area is estimated based on the result thereof, see ¶ 0055).
Regarding claim 29, MATSUDA discloses wherein the process further comprises to handle, as open space region information, space region information indicating a space region equal to or higher than a height at which a transmission point is located in the block region indicated by the block region information in which the transmission point exists (for example, when estimating the propagation characteristic of the radio wave transmitted from the base station a and reaching the observation area b as in the case shown in FIG. 3, a line f connecting the base station a and the observation area b may be specified as the virtual reference line. Further, a straight line of a specific altitude crossing with the straight line of the altitude direction including the coordinate of the location of the base station a may be specified as the virtual reference line, see ¶ 0041).
Regarding claim 30, MATSUDA discloses wherein the process further comprises to handle, as open space region information, transmission path information indicating a propagation path with good visibility for radio wave propagation from a position of a transmission point to a position of a reception point (a radio wave propagation path calculation module which calculates a propagation path of a radio wave emitted from a transmission point and reaching an observation point based on location data of the transmission point and the observation point set in advance and a radio wave propagation characteristic estimation module which estimates a propagation characteristic of the radio wave arriving at the observation point based on the calculated radio wave propagation path, see ¶ 0016).
Regarding claim 31, MATSUDA discloses wherein the process further comprises to handle, as open space region information, space region information indicating a space region having a width equal to or larger than a set width and a length equal to or larger than a set length existing between buildings in the block region indicated by the block region information (when estimating the propagation characteristic of the radio wave transmitted from the transmission point to the observation area within a space by considering the structures (objects) such as the buildings and geometrical features defined in the three-dimensional space, and estimates the radio wave propagation characteristic by considering only the selected object, see ¶ 0047).
Regarding claim 32, MATSUDA discloses the radio wave propagation analysis performed is a radio wave propagation characteristic analysis method of either ray tracing or FDTD method (estimation is performed based on the radio wave propagation path calculated by the radio wave propagation path calculation module 63, i.e., estimation using a tracing method, since there is a large local radio wave fluctuation caused by the peripheral objects, see ¶ 0065).
Regarding claim 33, MATSUDA discloses a non-transitory, tangible computer readable recording medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute: acquiring map information including building information and open space region information corresponding to the map information, generate block region information in which a region obtained by excluding a region indicated by the open space region information from a map indicated by the map information is set as a block region (the map data from which a part of the objects is excluded, see ¶ 0053; the object selection module 62 refers to the map data, and selects the objects used for estimating the radio wave propagation characteristic within the area by each of the plurality of areas acquired by being classified by the area classification module 67, see ¶ 0062), and
generating simplified map information in which the map information is simplified in which the region obtained by excluding the region indicated by the open space region information is changed to a block region indicated by the block region information (the object selection module 62 refers to the map data, and selects the objects used for estimating the radio wave propagation characteristic within the area by each of the plurality of areas acquired by being classified by the area classification module 67. For example, in the case shown in FIG. 7, when the observation area is in the base station nearby area 74, only the object within the base station nearby area 74 is selected. When the observation area is in the base station distant lower-altitude area 75, all the objects are selected, see ¶ 0062); and
performing radio wave propagation analysis on the basis of the simplified map information (estimates the radio wave propagation characteristic based on the map data from which a part of the objects is excluded, see ¶ 0053, 0063).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 7-9, 18, and 23-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MATSUDA in view of NYU (US 2010/0267343 A1).
Regarding claims 2 and 18, MATSUDA fails to explicitly disclose wherein the map information acquired is two-dimensional map data indicating a map of a two-dimensional plane viewed from above, and the simplified map information generated is three-dimensional simplified map data having a height with respect to the block region.
In the same field of endeavor, NYU discloses the map information storage unit 300 stores two-dimensional map information and three-dimensional map information of the region on which the radio wave propagation analysis is performed. Each of the map information includes the location information of rivers, roads and buildings and attribute information such as the number of stories in each building. In addition to these, the three-dimensional map information includes altitude information (see ¶ 0054).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement NYU’s teaching in the network taught by MATSUDA to provide a radio wave propagation analysis result display system capable of easily calculating and displaying the characteristics of a radio wave that has reached inside a building.
Regarding claims 7-9, 23-25, MATSUDA fails to explicitly disclose wherein the open space region information includes road/river/track region information, the process further comprises to classify the road information into a plurality of pieces of road/river/track region information according to a road/river/track region width indicated by the road/river/track region information, and set road information as open space region information by excluding road information classified into a narrowest road/river/track region width, and road/river/track region information that is the open space region information acquired is road information set by excluding the road/river/track region information classified into a narrowest road/river/track region width.
In the same field of endeavor, NYU discloses the map information storage unit 300 stores two-dimensional map information and three-dimensional map information of the region on which the radio wave propagation analysis is performed. Each of the map information includes the location information of rivers, roads and buildings and attribute information such as the number of stories in each building. In addition to these, the three-dimensional map information includes altitude information (see ¶ 0054) in a radio wave propagation analysis result display system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement NYU’s teaching of providing road information, river information, and track region information in the system taught by MATSUDA for help designing a mobile telephone network, the placement and performance of radio base stations with minimum radio signal dead zone and minimum number of required base stations.
Conclusion
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
The following address mail to be delivered by the United States Postal Service (USPS) only:
Mail Stop _____________
Commissioner for Patents
P. O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
/BOB A PHUNKULH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412