DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 12, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (US 20130107441; “Zhou” hereinafter) in view of Sink et al (US 20160291308; “Sink” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou teaches: a telecommunications system for electronic devices, the telecommunications system comprising:
a chassis (100) for housing the electronic devices (fig. 4, ¶ 0020]); and
an adjustable bracket (10, figs. 2-4) configured to enclose the electronic device (80 and 90, figs. 2-3) and mounted within the chassis (fig. 4), the adjustable bracket including:
a board bracket (11 and 12);
a movable part (32) coupled to the board bracket;
a fixed part (13) having a first slit (131, fig. 1) that is generally parallel to a second slit (131, ¶[0012]); and
a handle (31) fixedly coupled to the movable part (fig. 1), the handle including an upper part (3112, fig. 1), a first protrusion (312, fig. 1), and a second protrusion (second instance 312, fig. 1), the first protrusion extending from a first end of the upper part, the second protrusion extending from a second end of the upper part (as disclosed upon examination of fig. 1), the first protrusion being inserted through the first slit and the second protrusion being inserted through the second slit (fig. 2),
wherein the movable part is movably coupled to the fixed part via the handle (figs. 1-2) such that a distance between the handle and one end of the fixed part is adjustable according to a size of the electronic device (figs. 2-3), the size being different (¶[0019]) for a first electronic device (80, fig. 2) than for a second electronic device (90, fig. 3), and
wherein, in response to pressing the upper part of the handle, the movable part is movable in a first direction or a second direction with respect to the fixed part (figs. 2-3, ¶[0019]).
Zhou does not explicitly teach:
the electronic devices include a power supply unit;
a power distribution board mounted on a board bracket.
However, Sink discloses:
a chassis (assembly of fig. 1) for housing electronic devices (fig. 4, ¶ 0097], [0100], [0102]-[0103]), the electronic devices including a power supply unit (131, fig. 4);
a power distribution board (123, fig. 4) mounted on a board bracket (124, fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sink into Zhou, such that the electronic devices include a power supply unit, and a power distribution board mounted on the board bracket, in order to provide a chassis comprising an adjustable bracket for the advantage of securing power supply units of different dimensions the claim would have been obvious because the particular known technique (adjustable brackets for electronic component, power supply units as electronic components) was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, as evidenced by both Zhou and Sink. Moreover, the claimed subject matter would have been no more than a predictable combination of known techniques according to their respective purposes within routine skill and creativity (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 2, Zhou in view of Sink teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Zhou further teaches: wherein in response to pressing the upper part vertically, the movable part is allowed to move horizontally in the first or the second direction, the second direction being opposite the first direction (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 2-4, ¶[0019]).
Regarding claim 12, Zhou in view of Sink teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Zhou further teaches:
wherein the adjustable bracket has a stopping mechanism (133, 311, 3114, fig. 1) to place the adjustable bracket in a compact configuration, in a fully extended configuration, or in an intermediately extended configuration (as disclosed upon examination of elements 133 and 3114, in fig. 1, ¶[0017]-[0019]).
Regarding claim 19, Zhou teaches: an adjustable bracket configured to enclose an electronic device for mounting within a chassis of an electronic equipment, the adjustable bracket comprising:
a board bracket (11 and 12);
a movable part (32) coupled to the board bracket;
a fixed part (13) having a first slit (131, fig. 1) that is generally parallel to a second slit (131, ¶[0012]); and
a handle (31) fixedly coupled to the movable part (fig. 1), the handle including an upper part (3112, fig. 1), a first protrusion (312, fig. 1), and a second protrusion (second instance 312, fig. 1), the first protrusion extending from a first end of the upper part, the second protrusion extending from a second end of the upper part (as disclosed upon examination of fig. 1), the first protrusion being inserted through the first slit (fig. 2), and the second protrusion being inserted through the second slit (fig. 2),
wherein the movable part is movably coupled to the fixed part via the handle (figs. 1-2) such that the adjustable bracket is adjustable to be placed in a compact configuration, in a fully extended configuration, or in an intermediately extended configuration (as disclosed upon examination of elements 133 and 3114, in fig. 1, ¶[0017]-[0019]), and
wherein, in response to pressing the upper part of the handle, the movable part is movable in a first direction or a second direction with respect to the fixed part (figs. 2-3, ¶[0019]).
Zhou does not explicitly teach:
the electronic device is a power supply unit;
a power distribution board mounted on a board bracket.
However, Sink discloses:
a chassis (assembly of fig. 1) for housing electronic devices (fig. 4, ¶ 0097], [0100], [0102]-[0103]), the electronic devices including a power supply unit (131, fig. 4);
a power distribution board (123, fig. 4) mounted on a board bracket (124, fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sink into Zhou, such that the electronic devices include a power supply unit, a power distribution board mounted on the board bracket, and adjustable bracket configured to enclose a power supply unit as claimed, in order to provide a chassis comprising an adjustable bracket for the advantage of securing power supply units of different dimensions the claim would have been obvious because the particular known technique (adjustable brackets for electronic component, power supply units as electronic components) was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, as evidenced by both Zhou and Sink. Moreover, the claimed subject matter would have been no more than a predictable combination of known techniques according to their respective purposes within routine skill and creativity (MPEP 2143).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (US 20130107441; “Zhou” hereinafter) in view of Sink et al (US 20160291308; “Sink” hereinafter) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Lin et al (US 11163343; “Lin” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 3, Zhou in view of Sink teaches the limitations of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the adjustable bracket further includes a connector configured to receive a connection interface of the PSU, the connector being positioned on the power distribution board.
However, Lin teaches:
a connector (409a, 409b, fig. 4A) configured to receive a connection interface of the PSU (203a, 203b, col. 6, lines 31-33) the connector being positioned on the power distribution board (“Upon insertion into the PSU cage, gold finger PCB connector 203 meets a matching connector of a Power Distribution Board (PDB)”, col. 6, lines 7-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include the connector arrangement of Lin into Zhou as modified by Sink, such that the adjustable bracket further includes a connector configured to receive a connection interface of the PSU, the connector being positioned on the power distribution board, since claim would have been obvious because the particular known technique (connection means between PSU and PDB) was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, as evidenced by Lin. Moreover, the claimed subject matter would have been no more than a predictable combination of known techniques according to their respective purposes within routine skill and creativity (MPEP 2143).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (US 20130107441; “Zhou” hereinafter) in view of Sink et al (US 20160291308; “Sink” hereinafter) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Ho et al (US 20230309253; “Ho” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 5, Zhou in view of Sink teaches the limitations of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the upper part of the handle is located in a raised vertical position relative to the first protrusion and the second protrusion, the first protrusion and the second protrusion being generally leveled along a lower vertical position.
However, Ho teaches:
an upper part of a handle (see annotated fig. 2 below) is located in a raised vertical position relative to the first protrusion (35, fig. 2) and the second protrusion (second instance of 35, fig. 2), the first protrusion and the second protrusion being generally leveled along a lower vertical position as disclosed in fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the upper part of the handle of Zhou as modified by Sink, adapted to Zhou’s design architecture, with Ho’s teaching such that the upper part of the handle is located in a raised vertical position relative to the first protrusion and the second protrusion, the first protrusion and the second protrusion being generally leveled along a lower vertical position, since claim would have been obvious because the particular known technique (sliding handles / latches) was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, as evidenced by Ho. Moreover, the claimed subject matter would have been no more than a predictable combination of known techniques according to their respective purposes within routine skill and creativity (MPEP §2143).
Regarding claim 6, Zhou in view of Sink and Ho teaches the limitations of claim 5, and Zhou further teaches: wherein the handle further includes a lower part (two instances of 311, fig. 1), a first end portion of the lower part (distal end opposite to where 3114 is located) being coupled to the first protrusion (312), a second end portion of the lower part (opposite instance of 311, where second instance of 3114 is located) being coupled to the second protrusion (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Zhou in view of Sink and Ho teaches the limitations of claim 6, and Zhou further teaches: wherein the lower part is fixedly coupled to the movable part (fig. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 8-11, 13-18, 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest,
in combination with other limitations recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that: wherein each of the movable part and the fixed part has a top panel and two parallel side panels that extend from side ends of the top panel, the two parallel side panels being generally perpendicular to the top panel such that an internal space is formed to receive the PSU, the internal space being between the parallel side panels of the movable part and the parallel side panels of the fixed part. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest,
in combination with other limitations recited in claims 1, 5-7, a combination of limitations that: wherein the lower part is coupled to the movable part by a fastener, the fastener passing through a hole formed at a middle portion of the lower part. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Claims 9-10 are objected by virtue of dependency to claim 8.
Regarding claim 11, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest,
in combination with other limitations recited in claims 1, 5-6, a combination of limitations that: wherein the upper part is exposed by being placed over an outer side of the fixed part, the lower part being placed under an inner side of the fixed part. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 13, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest,
in combination with other limitations recited in claims 1 and 12, a combination of limitations that: wherein: the fixed part has an outer side on which the upper part of the handle is exposed, the fixed part further having an inner side facing an inner space of the adjustable bracket; the stopping mechanism includes a first pair of stoppers formed on the inner side of the fixed part; one stopper of the first pair of stoppers is formed along a length direction of the first slit, another stopper of the first pair of stoppers being formed along a length direction of the second slit; the first and second slits are obscured by portions of the first pair of stoppers protruding inward with respect to the first and second slits, respectively, the protruding being relative to a view from the inner space of the adjustable bracket toward the inner side of the fixed part; and first stop areas are formed between first ends of the first pair of stoppers and first ends of the first and second slits. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Claims 14-18 are objected by virtue of dependency to claim 13.
Regarding claim 20, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest,
in combination with other limitations recited in claim 19, a combination of limitations that: wherein:
the adjustable bracket has a stopping mechanism to place the adjustable bracket in the compact configuration, in the fully extended configuration, or in the intermediately extended configuration;
the stopping mechanism includes a first pair of stoppers, a second pair of stoppers, and a third pair of stoppers formed on an inner side of the fixed part; one stopper of each of the first, second, and third pairs of stoppers is formed along a length direction of the first slit, another stopper of each of the first, second, and third pairs of stoppers being formed along a length direction of the second slit;
portions of the first and second slits are obscured by portions of each of the first, second, and third pairs of stoppers protruding inward with respect to the first and second slits, respectively, the protruding being relative to a view from an inner space of the adjustable bracket toward the inner side of the fixed part; first stop areas are formed between first ends of the first pair of stoppers and first ends of the first and second slits; second stop areas are formed between second ends of the first pair of stoppers and first ends of the second pair of stoppers; third stop areas are formed between second ends of the second pair of stoppers and first ends of the third pair of stoppers; and each of the first and second protrusions is insertable into a corresponding one of the first, second, and third stop areas to place the adjustable bracket in the compact configuration, in the intermediately extended configuration, or in the fully extended configuration, respectively, by causing the first and second protrusions to engage with the first, second, or third stop areas, respectively. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is:
US 20220117111 A1 Adjustable Baffle for Supporting Expansion Card in an Information Handling Systems. This invention relates generally to risers for expansion cards in an information handling system. More specifically, portions of this disclosure relate to a riser with an adjustable baffle to prevent airflow from bypassing an installed expansion card.
US 10244649 B2 Enclosure for Communications Components. This invention generally relates to an enclosure that houses components, such as electronic components, may be provided. The enclosure may include shell(s) and a frame. The frame may provide structure, couple with other parts of the enclosure and/or couple components that reside in the enclosure.
/P.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/SAGAR SHRESTHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841