DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 08/07/2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues “The Office Action relies on Jung at 42 for the proposition that the group identifier comprises a SPID or an S-NSSAI. Jung at 42, however, states only that "5G VN group data may include the following parameters: PDU session type, DNN, S-NSSAI." That passage describes S-NSSAI as one parameter within the payload of "5G VN group data" for a 5G Virtual Network group. That is, network slice selection information carried within the data of the group. It does not describe S-NSSAI as the identifier of the group on which a DRX parameter is determined. Elsewhere, Jung explains that the group identification information used to identify a group is derived from "subscription identifiers (e.g. IMSI, SUPI, GPSI) of the group of associated devices" or from "permanent equipment identifiers (e.g. IMEI)." Id. at 57-58. Jung thus teaches identifying a group based on IMSI, SUPI, GPSI, or IMEI, not based on a SPID or an S- NSSAI. Jung nowhere describes SPID at all, and Jung's single mention of S-NSSAI describes network-slice information within group data, not a group identifier upon which the DRX parameter is determined” (see remarks pg. 8).
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees because primary reference of Chen was used to teach the argued limitation of determining a discontinuous reception (DRX) parameter based on the group identifier (“The base station may then broadcast a DRX update indication based on the identified group”; [0041]; [0112]). Jung was relied on to teach S-NSSAI being an identifier used for a group of UEs. This interpretation, of Jung, is reasonable as Jung discloses a group of UEs (“A 5G Virtual Network (VN) group consists of a set of UEs using private communication for 5G LAN-type services ”[0040]), where the identifier of S-NSSAI is represented as a parameter of the group data for the group of UEs (5G VN group data may include the following parameters: PDU session type, DNN, S-NSSAI ; [0042]). Accordingly, S-NSSAI is a parameter/identifier used for a group of UEs, in particular for data of a group of UEs, but still represents the group of UEs. Furthermore, Jung also discloses S-NSSAI is associated with a 5G VN group (“A DNN and a S-NSSAI are associated with a 5G VN group”; [0047]) and a group ID corresponds to S-NSSAI (“An External Group ID for a 5G VN group corresponds to a unique set of 5G VN group data parameters”; [0043] where “The 5G VN group data may include the following parameters: PDU session type, DNN, S-NSSAI”; [0042]), which both portions further provide evidence that S-NSSAI represents an identifier of a 5G VN group identification. Therefore, taking Jung’s teaching of S-NSSAI being an identifier used for a group of UEs into Chen’s teaching would disclose the argued limitation of “identifying a group identifier based on an identity of the UE, the group identifier comprising an alphanumeric identifier associated with the UE comprising one of a Subscriber Profile Identifier (SPID) or a Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI)” and “determining a discontinuous reception (DRX) parameter based on the group identifier”. The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In view of above, the argument is not persuasive.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-10, 12-13, 15-17, 19 and 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,048,049 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are simply a broader version of the Patent. For exemplary purposes, claim 1 of the instant application and the Patent are replicated in the table below, which compares the different parts of the claims. Those not underlined are the same or effectively the same parts:
Instant application 18767129
Patent No. 12,048,049 B2
1. A method comprising:
receiving a request for a user equipment (UE) to attach to a cellular network;
identifying a group identifier based on an identity of the UE,
the group identifier comprising an alphanumeric identifier associated with the UE;
determining a discontinuous reception (DRX) parameter based on the group identifier; and
transmitting the DRX parameter to the UE.
1. A method comprising:
receiving a request to attach to a cellular network from user equipment (UE);
identifying a group identifier based on an identity of the UE,
the group identifier comprising a Subscriber Profile Identifier (SPID) when the UE operates in a non-standalone mode and a Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) when the UE operates in a standalone mode, the group identifier being the same in both the non-standalone mode and the standalone mode;
determining a discontinuous reception (DRX) parameter based on the group identifier; and
transmitting the DRX parameter to the UE.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 8, 9, 12, 13, 15, 16, 19 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Chen et al. (US 2018/0070406 A1, hereinafter “Chen”) in view of Jung et al. (US 2023/0217240 A1, hereinafter “Jung”).
As to claim 1:
Chen discloses a method (Abstract; [0041]) comprising:
identifying a group identifier (“The base station may identify a group or groups of UEs”; [0041]; [0096]; [0112]), the group identifier comprising an alphanumeric identifier associated with the UE (group RNTI is associated with the UE; see [0041]; [0096]);
determining a discontinuous reception (DRX) parameter based on the group identifier (“The base station may then broadcast a DRX update indication based on the identified group”; [0041]; [0112]); and
transmitting the DRX parameter to the UE (“a base station may be serving a high number of UEs, and may not have sufficient control resources to send UE-specific signals to all or many UEs in a given group. Thus, a base station may send a DRX update indication on a broadcast channel.”; [0041]).
Chen does not explicitly disclose receiving a request for a user equipment (UE) to attach to a cellular network; and identifying a group identifier based on an identity of the UE. Chen also does not explicitly disclose the group identifier comprising one of a Subscriber Profile Identifier (SPID) or a Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI).
However, Jung discloses receiving a request for a user equipment (UE) to attach to a cellular network (“each device in a group of associated devices can perform an RRC connection procedure including a random access procedure separately to a cell (and additionally a registration procedure), and can receive information of at least one temporary identity associated with a group communication mode in addition to a temporary identity associated with an individual communication mode. During an RRC connection establishment, re-establishment, or resume procedure, a device of the group of associated devices can send group identification information (i.e. the at least one temporary identity associated with the group communication mode). Once all the devices in the group are registered and connected and their mutual association are identified based on the group identification information and/or user subscription information, one or more network entities (e.g. gNBs) may coordinate and configure the group of devices with a group-specific DRX pattern”; [0056] “RRC connection request”; [0075]-[0076]; [0079]); and identifying a group identifier based on an identity of the UE (group identification information based on subscription identifiers (e.g. IMSI, SUPI, GPSI) of the group of associated devices is preconfigured and recorded/stored in a 3GPP system (and/or other networks). Additionally, or alternatively, group identification information based on permanent equipment identifiers (e.g. IMEI) is predefined and recorded in the 3GPP system (and/or the other networks). Once a device in the group of associated devices completes a registration procedure (i.e. establishing the user context in the network), association information of the device with the group is retrieved from one or more network function entities; [0057]-[0058] see also “Once all the devices in the group are registered and connected and their mutual association are identified based on the group identification information and/or user subscription information, one or more network entities (e.g. gNBs) may coordinate and configure the group of devices with a group-specific DRX pattern”; [0056]). Jung further discloses the group identifier comprising one of a Subscriber Profile Identifier (SPID) or a Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) (“The 5G VN group data may include the following parameters: PDU session type, DNN, S-NSSAI”; [0042]; [0046] “Group ID for a 5G VN group corresponds to a unique set of 5G VN group data parameters”; [0043] the examiner interprets S-NSSAI as an identifier/parameter used for a group of UEs).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to combine Jung’s teaching into Chen’s system/method as it would allow receiving a request for a user equipment (UE) to attach to a cellular network; and identifying a group identifier based on an identity of the UE, the group identifier comprising an alphanumeric identifier associated with the UE comprising one of a Subscriber Profile Identifier (SPID) or a Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI). Such combination would have been obvious as the references are from analogous art, where a motivation would have been to synchronized operation (e.g. synchronized paging for the group of associated devices) and improve operation of such devices (Jung; [0058]; [0123]).
As to claim 2:
The combined system/method of Chen and Jung discloses the invention set forth above. Chen further discloses wherein the DRX parameter comprises an idle-mode DRX parameter or a connected mode DRX parameter (“Approaches to DRX management may focus on DL DRX. One approach to DRX management includes introducing a gap between on-duration and data duration to enable offline processing in a Connected mode”; [0069]).
As to claim 5:
The combined system/method of Chen and Jung discloses the invention set forth above. Jung further discloses wherein identifying the group identifier comprises transmitting a request for the group identifier to a subscriber management component and receiving the group identifier from the subscriber management component (“group identification information based on subscription identifiers (e.g. IMSI, SUPI, GPSI) of the group of associated devices is preconfigured and recorded/stored in a 3GPP system (and/or other networks). Additionally, or alternatively, group identification information based on permanent equipment identifiers (e.g. IMEI) is predefined and recorded in the 3GPP system (and/or the other networks). Once a device in the group of associated devices completes a registration procedure (i.e. establishing the user context in the network), association information of the device with the group is retrieved from one or more network function entities (e.g. UDR) and is used for synchronized operation (e.g. synchronized paging for the group of associated devices)”; [0058] the examiner interprets retrieving the group information as transmitting a request and receiving the group identifier).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Jung into the combined system/method as it would allow identifying the group identifier to comprise transmitting a request for the group identifier to a subscriber management component and receiving the group identifier from the subscriber management component. Such combination would have been obvious as the references are from analogous art, where a motivation would have been to synchronized operation (e.g. synchronized paging for the group of associated devices) and improve operation of such devices (Jung; [0058]; [0123]).
As to claim 6:
The combined system/method of Chen and Jung discloses the invention set forth above. Chen further discloses wherein the alphanumeric identifier associated with the UE comprises a unique identifier (group RNTI is associated with the UE; see [0041]; [0096] group RNTI = unique identifier).
As to claim 8:
Chen discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for tangibly storing computer program instructions capable of being executed by a processor, defining steps of (“The memory 1525 may store computer-readable, computer-executable software 1530 including instructions that, when executed, cause the processor to perform various functions described herein”; [0121]; [0109]):
identifying a group identifier (“The base station may identify a group or groups of UEs”; [0041]; [0112]),
the group identifier comprising an alphanumeric identifier associated with the UE (group RNTI is associated with the UE; see [0041]; [0096]);
determining a discontinuous reception (DRX) parameter based on the group identifier (“The base station may then broadcast a DRX update indication based on the identified group”; [0041]; [0112]); and
transmitting the DRX parameter to the UE (“a base station may be serving a high number of UEs, and may not have sufficient control resources to send UE-specific signals to all or many UEs in a given group. Thus, a base station may send a DRX update indication on a broadcast channel.”; [0041]).
Chen does not explicitly disclose receiving a request to attach to a cellular network from a user equipment (UE); and identifying a group identifier based on an identity of the UE. Chen also does not explicitly disclose the group identifier comprising one of a Subscriber Profile Identifier (SPID) or a Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI).
However, Jung discloses receiving a request to attach to a cellular network from a user equipment (UE) (“each device in a group of associated devices can perform an RRC connection procedure including a random access procedure separately to a cell (and additionally a registration procedure), and can receive information of at least one temporary identity associated with a group communication mode in addition to a temporary identity associated with an individual communication mode. During an RRC connection establishment, re-establishment, or resume procedure, a device of the group of associated devices can send group identification information (i.e. the at least one temporary identity associated with the group communication mode). Once all the devices in the group are registered and connected and their mutual association are identified based on the group identification information and/or user subscription information, one or more network entities (e.g. gNBs) may coordinate and configure the group of devices with a group-specific DRX pattern”; [0056] “RRC connection request”; [0075]-[0076]; [0079]); and identifying a group identifier based on an identity of the UE (group identification information based on subscription identifiers (e.g. IMSI, SUPI, GPSI) of the group of associated devices is preconfigured and recorded/stored in a 3GPP system (and/or other networks). Additionally, or alternatively, group identification information based on permanent equipment identifiers (e.g. IMEI) is predefined and recorded in the 3GPP system (and/or the other networks). Once a device in the group of associated devices completes a registration procedure (i.e. establishing the user context in the network), association information of the device with the group is retrieved from one or more network function entities; [0057]-[0058] see also “Once all the devices in the group are registered and connected and their mutual association are identified based on the group identification information and/or user subscription information, one or more network entities (e.g. gNBs) may coordinate and configure the group of devices with a group-specific DRX pattern”; [0056]). Jung further discloses the group identifier comprising one of a Subscriber Profile Identifier (SPID) or a Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) (“The 5G VN group data may include the following parameters: PDU session type, DNN, S-NSSAI”; [0042]; [0046] “Group ID for a 5G VN group corresponds to a unique set of 5G VN group data parameters”; [0043] the examiner interprets S-NSSAI as an identifier/parameter used for a group of UEs).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Jung into Chen’s system/method as it would allow receiving a request to attach to a cellular network from a user equipment (UE);
and identifying a group identifier based on an identity of the UE, the group identifier comprising an alphanumeric identifier associated with the UE comprising one of a Subscriber Profile Identifier (SPID) or a Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI). Such combination would have been obvious as the references are from analogous art, where a motivation would have been to synchronized operation (e.g. synchronized paging for the group of associated devices) and improve operation of such devices (Jung; [0058]; [0123]).
As to claim 9:
The combined system/method of Chen and Jung discloses the invention set forth above. Chen further discloses wherein the DRX parameter comprises an idle-mode DRX parameter or a connected mode DRX parameter (“Approaches to DRX management may focus on DL DRX. One approach to DRX management includes introducing a gap between on-duration and data duration to enable offline processing in a Connected mode”; [0069]).
As to claim 12:
The combined system/method of Chen and Jung discloses the invention set forth above. Jung further discloses wherein identifying the group identifier comprises transmitting a request for the group identifier to a subscriber management component and receiving the group identifier from the subscriber management component (“group identification information based on subscription identifiers (e.g. IMSI, SUPI, GPSI) of the group of associated devices is preconfigured and recorded/stored in a 3GPP system (and/or other networks). Additionally, or alternatively, group identification information based on permanent equipment identifiers (e.g. IMEI) is predefined and recorded in the 3GPP system (and/or the other networks). Once a device in the group of associated devices completes a registration procedure (i.e. establishing the user context in the network), association information of the device with the group is retrieved from one or more network function entities (e.g. UDR) and is used for synchronized operation (e.g. synchronized paging for the group of associated devices)”; [0058] the examiner interprets retrieving the group information as transmitting a request and receiving the group identifier).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Jung into the combined system/method as it would allow identifying the group identifier to comprise transmitting a request for the group identifier to a subscriber management component and receiving the group identifier from the subscriber management component. Such combination would have been obvious as the references are from analogous art, where a motivation would have been to synchronized operation (e.g. synchronized paging for the group of associated devices) and improve operation of such devices (Jung; [0058]; [0123]).
As to claim 13:
The combined system/method of Chen and Jung discloses the invention set forth above. Chen further discloses wherein the alphanumeric identifier associated with the UE comprises a unique identifier (group RNTI is associated with the UE; see [0041]; [0096] group RNTI = unique identifier).
As to claim 15:
Chen discloses a device (base station 105; Figs. 2 and 13) comprising:
a processor (“Wireless device 1305 may also include a processor”; [0109]) configured to:
identify a group identifier (“The base station may identify a group or groups of UEs”; [0041]; [0112]),
the group identifier comprising an alphanumeric identifier associated with the UE (group RNTI is associated with the UE; see [0041]; [0096]);
determine a discontinuous reception (DRX) parameter based on the group identifier (“The base station may then broadcast a DRX update indication based on the identified group”; [0041]; [0112]); and
transmit the DRX parameter to the UE (“a base station may be serving a high number of UEs, and may not have sufficient control resources to send UE-specific signals to all or many UEs in a given group. Thus, a base station may send a DRX update indication on a broadcast channel.”; [0041]).
Chen does not explicitly disclose to receive a request to attach a user equipment (UE) to a cellular network; and identify a group identifier based on an identity of the UE. Chen also does not explicitly disclose the group identifier comprising one of a Subscriber Profile Identifier (SPID) or a Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI).
However, Jung discloses receiving a request to attach a user equipment (UE) to a cellular network (“each device in a group of associated devices can perform an RRC connection procedure including a random access procedure separately to a cell (and additionally a registration procedure), and can receive information of at least one temporary identity associated with a group communication mode in addition to a temporary identity associated with an individual communication mode. During an RRC connection establishment, re-establishment, or resume procedure, a device of the group of associated devices can send group identification information (i.e. the at least one temporary identity associated with the group communication mode). Once all the devices in the group are registered and connected and their mutual association are identified based on the group identification information and/or user subscription information, one or more network entities (e.g. gNBs) may coordinate and configure the group of devices with a group-specific DRX pattern”; [0056] “RRC connection request”; [0075]-[0076]; [0079]); and identifying a group identifier based on an identity of the UE (group identification information based on subscription identifiers (e.g. IMSI, SUPI, GPSI) of the group of associated devices is preconfigured and recorded/stored in a 3GPP system (and/or other networks). Additionally, or alternatively, group identification information based on permanent equipment identifiers (e.g. IMEI) is predefined and recorded in the 3GPP system (and/or the other networks). Once a device in the group of associated devices completes a registration procedure (i.e. establishing the user context in the network), association information of the device with the group is retrieved from one or more network function entities; [0057]-[0058] see also “Once all the devices in the group are registered and connected and their mutual association are identified based on the group identification information and/or user subscription information, one or more network entities (e.g. gNBs) may coordinate and configure the group of devices with a group-specific DRX pattern”; [0056]). Jung further discloses the group identifier comprising one of a Subscriber Profile Identifier (SPID) or a Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) (“The 5G VN group data may include the following parameters: PDU session type, DNN, S-NSSAI”; [0042]; [0046] “Group ID for a 5G VN group corresponds to a unique set of 5G VN group data parameters”; [0043] the examiner interprets S-NSSAI as an identifier/parameter used for a group of UEs).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Jung into Chen’s system/method as it would allow to receive a request to attach a user equipment (UE) to a cellular network;
and identify a group identifier based on an identity of the UE, the group identifier comprising an alphanumeric identifier associated with the UE comprising one of a Subscriber Profile Identifier (SPID) or a Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI). Such combination would have been obvious as the references are from analogous art, where a motivation would have been to synchronized operation (e.g. synchronized paging for the group of associated devices) and improve operation of such devices (Jung; [0058]; [0123]).
As to claim 16:
The combined system/method of Chen and Jung discloses the invention set forth above. Chen further discloses wherein the DRX parameter comprises an idle-mode DRX parameter or a connected mode DRX parameter (“Approaches to DRX management may focus on DL DRX. One approach to DRX management includes introducing a gap between on-duration and data duration to enable offline processing in a Connected mode”; [0069]).
As to claim 19:
The combined system/method of Chen and Jung discloses the invention set forth above. Jung further discloses wherein identifying the group identifier comprises transmitting a request for the group identifier to the subscriber management component and receiving the group identifier from the subscriber management component (“group identification information based on subscription identifiers (e.g. IMSI, SUPI, GPSI) of the group of associated devices is preconfigured and recorded/stored in a 3GPP system (and/or other networks). Additionally, or alternatively, group identification information based on permanent equipment identifiers (e.g. IMEI) is predefined and recorded in the 3GPP system (and/or the other networks). Once a device in the group of associated devices completes a registration procedure (i.e. establishing the user context in the network), association information of the device with the group is retrieved from one or more network function entities (e.g. UDR) and is used for synchronized operation (e.g. synchronized paging for the group of associated devices)”; [0058] the examiner interprets retrieving the group information as transmitting a request and receiving the group identifier).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Jung into the combined system/method as it would allow identifying the group identifier to comprise transmitting a request for the group identifier to the subscriber management component and receiving the group identifier from the subscriber management component. Such combination would have been obvious as the references are from analogous art, where a motivation would have been to synchronized operation (e.g. synchronized paging for the group of associated devices) and improve operation of such devices (Jung; [0058]; [0123]).
As to claim 22:
The combined system/method of Chen and Jung discloses the invention set forth above. Chen further discloses wherein the DRX parameter (“The base station may then broadcast a DRX update indication based on the identified group”; [0041]; [0112]) comprises at least one of an inactivity timer, a short DRX cycle length, a long DRX cycle length, a short DRX cycle timer, an on-duration timer, a Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) Round Trip Time (RTT) timer, or a retransmission timer (“UE 115 may be configured with a short DRX or DTX cycle and a long DRX or DTX cycle”; [0057]).
Claims 3, 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Chen (US 2018/0070406 A1) in view of Jung (US 2023/0217240 A1) and further in view of Jia et al. (US 2022/0248331 A1, hereinafter “Jia”).
As to claim 3:
The combined system/method of Chen and Jung discloses wherein determining the DRX parameter comprises determining the DRX parameter based on the group identifier (“The base station may then broadcast a DRX update indication based on the identified group”; [0041]; [0112]), but does not explicitly disclose obtaining a QoS Class Identifier (QCI) value associated with the UE, wherein determining the DRX parameter comprises determining the DRX parameter based on the QCI value.
However, Jia discloses obtaining a QoS Class Identifier (QCI) value associated with the UE (“determining a quality of service class identifier (QCI) level for an application running on a user device”; Abstract; [0008]; [0034]), and wherein determining the DRX parameter comprises determining the DRX parameter based on the QCI value (“CDRX profile/timers based on historical QCI level data”; [0036]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Jia into the combined system/method of Chen and Jung as it would allow obtaining a QoS Class Identifier (QCI) value associated with the UE, wherein determining the DRX parameter comprises determining the DRX parameter based on the QCI value. Such combination would have been obvious as the references are from analogous art, where a motivation would have been to optimize power consumption (Jia; [0001]; [0005]).
As to claim 10:
The combined system/method of Chen and Jung discloses wherein determining the DRX parameter comprises determining the DRX parameter based on the group identifier (“The base station may then broadcast a DRX update indication based on the identified group”; [0041]; [0112]), but does not explicitly disclose obtaining a QoS Class Identifier (QCI) value associated with the UE, wherein determining the DRX parameter comprises determining the DRX parameter based on the QCI value.
However, Jia discloses obtaining a QoS Class Identifier (QCI) value associated with the UE (“determining a quality of service class identifier (QCI) level for an application running on a user device”; Abstract; [0008]; [0034]), and wherein determining the DRX parameter comprises determining the DRX parameter based on the QCI value (“CDRX profile/timers based on historical QCI level data”; [0036]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Jia into the combined system/method of Chen and Jung as it would allow the steps to further comprise obtaining a QoS Class Identifier (QCI) value associated with the UE, and wherein determining the DRX parameter comprises determining the DRX parameter based on the group identifier and the QCI value. Such combination would have been obvious as the references are from analogous art, where a motivation would have been to optimize power consumption (Jia; [0001]; [0005]).
As to claim 17:
The combined system/method of Chen and Jung discloses wherein determining the DRX parameter comprises determining the DRX parameter based on the group identifier (“The base station may then broadcast a DRX update indication based on the identified group”; [0041]; [0112]), but does not explicitly disclose to obtain a QoS Class Identifier (QCI) value associated with the UE, wherein determining the DRX parameter comprises determining the DRX parameter based on the QCI value.
However, Jia discloses obtaining a QoS Class Identifier (QCI) value associated with the UE (“determining a quality of service class identifier (QCI) level for an application running on a user device”; Abstract; [0008]; [0034]) and wherein determining the DRX parameter comprises determining the DRX parameter based on the QCI value (“CDRX profile/timers based on historical QCI level data”; [0036]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Jia into the combined system/method of Chen and Jung as it would allow the processor to be further configured to obtain a QoS Class Identifier (QCI) value associated with the UE and wherein determining the DRX parameter comprises determining the DRX parameter based on the group identifier and the QCI value. Such combination would have been obvious as the references are from analogous art, where a motivation would have been to optimize power consumption (Jia; [0001]; [0005]).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Chen (US 2018/0070406 A1) in view of Jung (US 2023/0217240 A1) and further in view of Tsuda et al. (US 2018/0234919 A1, hereinafter “Tsuda”).
As to claim 24:
The combined system/method of Chen and Jung discloses the invention set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose wherein transmitting the DRX parameter to the UE comprises transmitting, from a base station of the cellular network to the UE, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message that includes the DRX parameter.
However, Tsuda discloses transmitting the DRX parameter to the UE comprises transmitting, from a base station of the cellular network to the UE, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message that includes the DRX parameter (“the DRX/eDRX parameters are signalled to a UE by an RRC (Radio Resource Control) Connection Setup, RRC Connection Reconfiguration”; [0076]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Tsuda into the combined system/method of Chen and Jung as it would allow transmitting the DRX parameter to the UE to comprise transmitting, from a base station of the cellular network to the UE, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message that includes the DRX parameter. Such combination would have been obvious as the references are from analogous art, where applying a known technique (RRC reconfiguration message includes DRX parameter(s)) to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement would yield predictable results.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record below, but not relied upon, is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Xu US 2023/0199716 A1 teaches the group ID of the terminal device is a numerical value determined based on the ID of the terminal device (see at least paragraph [0088]).
Runeson et al. US 2023/0102021 A1 teaches the IMSI (i.e., identity of the UE) may then be used to retrieve the required information relating to the two or more SPIDs (i.e., group identifier) associated with the IMSI (see paragraphs [0087]-[0093]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21, 23, 25 and 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIELA VIDAL CARPIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476