DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 9-13, 15-18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HWANG et al. (US 2022/0078835 A1), hereinafter HWANG in view of LUO et al. (US 2020/0281024 A1), hereinafter LUO.
Regarding claim 1, HWANG discloses a method performed by a base station (BS, see figure 2) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving one or more preambles from a terminal (the UE transmits a random access preamble (message 1 or Msg1) to the BS (S21), see 0067);
obtaining a timing offset value based on the correlation values and subcarrier difference information for the plurality of symbol groups (the RAR includes a timing advance (TA) which is timing offset information for synchronization, radio resource allocation information for UL, see ¶ 0067);
generating uplink timing information based on the timing offset value (the RAR includes a timing advance (TA) which is timing offset information for synchronization, radio resource allocation information for UL, see ¶ 0067); and
transmitting a random access response (RAR) including the uplink timing information to the terminal (Upon receipt of the random access preamble from the UE, the BS transmits an RAR (message 2 or Msg2) to the UE (S22), see ¶ 0067).
HWANG fails to disclose obtaining correlation values between a plurality of symbol groups corresponding to the one or more preambles.
In the same field of endeavor, LUO discloses determining, by a terminal device, a preamble, where the preamble includes M symbol groups, where M is a positive integer greater than 1; sending, by the terminal device, the M symbol groups in K uplink subframe sets (see ¶ 0064-0065), where the network device utilizes the symbol groups in the preamble to determine timing advance estimate (see ¶ 0068).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement LUO’s teaching in the network taught by HWANG to advance UE uplink transmission time to compensate for signal propagation delay, ensuring transmissions from different distances arrive at the base station simultaneously.
Regarding claim 2, LUO discloses symbols included in the plurality of symbol groups are coherent combined based on indexes of the plurality of symbol groups, and wherein the correlation values are obtained based on a difference between the indexes of the plurality of symbol groups (a preamble format may be associated with the number of symbol groups included in a preamble, the number of symbols included in each symbol group, ... the preamble format information may be a preamble format index value. Each preamble format index value corresponds to the number of symbol groups included in a preamble, the number of symbols included in each symbol group, a time length of a cyclic prefix in each symbol group, the number of subcarriers occupied by each symbol group, and a frequency hopping rule of the preamble, see ¶ 0220).
Regarding claim 4, HWANG discloses identifying a number of subcarriers allocated to the one or more preambles; and determining the indexes of the correlation values, based on the number of subcarriers (Referring to FIG. 12, an NPRACH preamble includes four symbol groups, each including a CP and a plurality of (e.g., 5) SC-FDMA symbols….Subcarriers carrying the first symbol group are determined pseudo-randomly. 1-subcarrier hop, 6-subcarrier hop, and 1-subcarrier hop take place respectively in the second, third, and fourth symbol groups. In the case of repeated transmissions, the frequency hopping procedure is repeatedly applied, and the NPRACH preamble may be repeatedly transmitted {1, 2, 4, 8, 16, 32, 64, 128} times, for CE. NPRACH resources may be configured on a CE level basis, see ¶ 0153).
Regarding claim 6, HWANG discloses a base station of a wireless communication system (BS, see figure 2), the base station comprising: a transceiver configured to transmit and/or receive signals; memory comprising one or more media, storing instructions; and at least one processor comprising processing circuitry; wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the base station to:
receive one or more preambles from a terminal (the UE transmits a random access preamble (message 1 or Msg1) to the BS (S21), see 0067);
obtain a timing offset value based on the correlation values and subcarrier difference information for the plurality of symbol groups (the RAR includes a timing advance (TA) which is timing offset information for synchronization, radio resource allocation information for UL, see ¶ 0067);
generate uplink timing information based on the timing offset value (the RAR includes a timing advance (TA) which is timing offset information for synchronization, radio resource allocation information for UL, see ¶ 0067); and
transmit a random access response (RAR) including the uplink timing information to the terminal (Upon receipt of the random access preamble from the UE, the BS transmits an RAR (message 2 or Msg2) to the UE (S22), see ¶ 0067).
HWANG fails to disclose obtaining correlation values between a plurality of symbol groups corresponding to the one or more preambles.
In the same field of endeavor, LUO discloses determining, by a terminal device, a preamble, where the preamble includes M symbol groups, where M is a positive integer greater than 1; sending, by the terminal device, the M symbol groups in K uplink subframe sets (see ¶ 0064-0065), where the network device utilizes the symbol groups in the preamble to determine timing advance estimate (see ¶ 0068).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement LUO’s teaching in the network taught by HWANG to advance UE uplink transmission time to compensate for signal propagation delay, ensuring transmissions from different distances arrive at the base station simultaneously.
Regarding claim 7, LUO discloses symbols included in the plurality of symbol groups are coherent combined based on indexes of the plurality of symbol groups, and wherein the correlation values are obtained based on a difference between the indexes of the plurality of symbol groups (a preamble format may be associated with the number of symbol groups included in a preamble, the number of symbols included in each symbol group, ... the preamble format information may be a preamble format index value. Each preamble format index value corresponds to the number of symbol groups included in a preamble, the number of symbols included in each symbol group, a time length of a cyclic prefix in each symbol group, the number of subcarriers occupied by each symbol group, and a frequency hopping rule of the preamble, see ¶ 0220).
Regarding claim 9, HWANG discloses identifying a number of subcarriers allocated to the one or more preambles; and determining the indexes of the correlation values, based on the number of subcarriers (Referring to FIG. 12, an NPRACH preamble includes four symbol groups, each including a CP and a plurality of (e.g., 5) SC-FDMA symbols….Subcarriers carrying the first symbol group are determined pseudo-randomly. 1-subcarrier hop, 6-subcarrier hop, and 1-subcarrier hop take place respectively in the second, third, and fourth symbol groups. In the case of repeated transmissions, the frequency hopping procedure is repeatedly applied, and the NPRACH preamble may be repeatedly transmitted {1, 2, 4, 8, 16, 32, 64, 128} times, for CE. NPRACH resources may be configured on a CE level basis, see ¶ 0153).
Regarding claim 11, HWANG discloses a method performed by a terminal (UE, see figure 2) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
transmitting one or more preambles to a base station (the UE transmits a random access preamble (message 1 or Msg1) to the BS (S21), see 0067); and
receiving a random access response (RAR) including uplink timing information from a base station (upon receipt of the random access preamble from the UE, the BS transmits an RAR (message 2 or Msg2) to the UE (S22), see ¶ 0067),
wherein the uplink timing information is based on a timing offset value (the RAR includes a timing advance (TA) which is timing offset information for synchronization, radio resource allocation information for UL, see ¶ 0067).
HWANG fails to disclose wherein the timing offset value is based on correlation values between a plurality of symbol groups corresponding to the one or more preambles and subcarrier difference information for the plurality of symbol groups.
In the same field of endeavor, LUO discloses determining, by a terminal device, a preamble, where the preamble includes M symbol groups, where M is a positive integer greater than 1; sending, by the terminal device, the M symbol groups in K uplink subframe sets (see ¶ 0064-0065), where the network device utilizes the symbol groups in the preamble to determine timing advance estimate (see ¶ 0068).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement LUO’s teaching in the network taught by HWANG to advance UE uplink transmission time to compensate for signal propagation delay, ensuring transmissions from different distances arrive at the base station simultaneously.
Regarding claim 12, LUO discloses wherein symbols included in the plurality of symbol groups are coherent combined based on indexes of the plurality of symbol groups, and wherein the correlation values are obtained based on a difference between the indexes of the plurality of symbol groups (a preamble format may be associated with the number of symbol groups included in a preamble, the number of symbols included in each symbol group, ... the preamble format information may be a preamble format index value. Each preamble format index value corresponds to the number of symbol groups included in a preamble, the number of symbols included in each symbol group, a time length of a cyclic prefix in each symbol group, the number of subcarriers occupied by each symbol group, and a frequency hopping rule of the preamble, see ¶ 0220).
Regarding claim 13, HWANG discloses transmitting message 3 to the base station based on the uplink timing information, wherein the uplink timing information corresponds to a timing advance command (TAC) (the RAR includes a timing advance (TA) which is timing offset information for synchronization, radio resource allocation information for UL, and a temporary ID (e.g., temporary cell RNTI (C-RNTI)) for UE identification. Upon receipt of the RAR, the UE performs a UL transmission (message 3 or Msg3) including an RRC Connection Request message on a UL shared channel according to the radio resource allocation information included in the RAR (S23), see ¶ 0067).
Regarding claim 15, HWANG discloses receiving, from the base station, information on a number of subcarriers allocated to the one or more preambles through higher layer signaling, wherein the indexes for the correlation values are determined based on the number of subcarriers (referring to FIG. 12, an NPRACH preamble includes four symbol groups, each including a CP and a plurality of (e.g., 5) SC-FDMA symbol … Subcarriers carrying the first symbol group are determined pseudo-randomly. 1-subcarrier hop, 6-subcarrier hop, and 1-subcarrier hop take place respectively in the second, third, and fourth symbol groups. In the case of repeated transmissions, the frequency hopping procedure is repeatedly applied, and the NPRACH preamble may be repeatedly transmitted {1, 2, 4, 8, 16, 32, 64, 128} times, for CE. NPRACH resources may be configured on a CE level basis, see ¶ 0153).
Regarding claim 16, HWANG discloses a terminal (UE, see figure 2) of wireless communication system, the terminal comprising: a transceiver configured to transmit and/or receive signals; memory comprising one or more media, storing instructions; and at least one processor comprising processing circuitry; wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the terminal to:
transmit one or more preambles to a base station (the UE transmits a random access preamble (message 1 or Msg1) to the BS (S21), see 0067);; and
receive a random access response (RAR) including uplink timing information from a base station (upon receipt of the random access preamble from the UE, the BS transmits an RAR (message 2 or Msg2) to the UE (S22), see ¶ 0067),
wherein the uplink timing information is based on a timing offset value (the RAR includes a timing advance (TA) which is timing offset information for synchronization, radio resource allocation information for UL, see ¶ 0067).
HWANG fails to disclose wherein the timing offset value is based on correlation values between a plurality of symbol groups corresponding to the one or more preambles and subcarrier difference information for the plurality of symbol groups.
In the same field of endeavor, LUO discloses determining, by a terminal device, a preamble, where the preamble includes M symbol groups, where M is a positive integer greater than 1; sending, by the terminal device, the M symbol groups in K uplink subframe sets (see ¶ 0064-0065), where the network device utilizes the symbol groups in the preamble to determine timing advance estimate (see ¶ 0068).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement LUO’s teaching in the network taught by HWANG to advance UE uplink transmission time to compensate for signal propagation delay, ensuring transmissions from different distances arrive at the base station simultaneously.
Regarding claim 17, LUO discloses wherein symbols included in the plurality of symbol groups are coherent combined based on indexes of the plurality of symbol groups, and wherein the correlation values are obtained based on a difference between the indexes of the plurality of symbol groups (a preamble format may be associated with the number of symbol groups included in a preamble, the number of symbols included in each symbol group, ... the preamble format information may be a preamble format index value. Each preamble format index value corresponds to the number of symbol groups included in a preamble, the number of symbols included in each symbol group, a time length of a cyclic prefix in each symbol group, the number of subcarriers occupied by each symbol group, and a frequency hopping rule of the preamble, see ¶ 0220).
Regarding claim 18, HWANG discloses transmitting message 3 to the base station based on the uplink timing information, wherein the uplink timing information corresponds to a timing advance command (TAC) (the RAR includes a timing advance (TA) which is timing offset information for synchronization, radio resource allocation information for UL, and a temporary ID (e.g., temporary cell RNTI (C-RNTI)) for UE identification. Upon receipt of the RAR, the UE performs a UL transmission (message 3 or Msg3) including an RRC Connection Request message on a UL shared channel according to the radio resource allocation information included in the RAR (S23), see ¶ 0067).
Regarding claim 20, HWANG discloses the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the terminal to receive, from the base station, information on a number of subcarriers allocated to the one or more preambles through higher layer signaling, and wherein the indexes for the correlation values are determined based on the number of subcarriers (referring to FIG. 12, an NPRACH preamble includes four symbol groups, each including a CP and a plurality of (e.g., 5) SC-FDMA symbol … Subcarriers carrying the first symbol group are determined pseudo-randomly. 1-subcarrier hop, 6-subcarrier hop, and 1-subcarrier hop take place respectively in the second, third, and fourth symbol groups. In the case of repeated transmissions, the frequency hopping procedure is repeatedly applied, and the NPRACH preamble may be repeatedly transmitted {1, 2, 4, 8, 16, 32, 64, 128} times, for CE. NPRACH resources may be configured on a CE level basis, see ¶ 0153).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5, 8, 10, 14 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 3, 5, 8, 10, when reading the claims considering the specification, none of the references of record alone or in combination disclose or suggest the combination of limitations specified in the claim limitation of: 3. The method of claim 1, wherein the obtaining the timing offset value further comprises: determining the indexes of the correlation values based on subcarrier difference value between the plurality of symbol groups; performing Fast Fourier Transform (FFT) based on the indexes of the correlation values; and obtaining the timing offset value based on a result of performing the FFT and a sampling rate.
Regarding claims 14 and 19, when reading the claims considering the specification, none of the references of record alone or in combination disclose or suggest the combination of limitations specified in the claim limitation of: wherein the timing offset value is obtained based on a result of performing fast Fourier transform (FFT) and a sampling rate, wherein the FFT is performed based on indexes of the correlation values, and wherein the indexes of the correlation values are determined based on a subcarrier difference value between the plurality of symbol groups.
Conclusion
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
The following address mail to be delivered by the United States Postal Service (USPS) only:
Mail Stop _____________
Commissioner for Patents
P. O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
/BOB A PHUNKULH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412