DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/9/2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-10, 13-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al. (US20240214041A1, hereinafter Yuan) in view of Nilsson et al. (US20240396692A1, hereinafter Nilsson).
For claim 1, Yuan teaches a method for determining a transmit power ([Para. 0005], a method performed by a UE of determining an association between multiple PTRS ports and multiple codewords. [Para. 0055], it may be useful for the UE to determine a PTRS power boosting that is to be used for a codeword), the method comprising: receiving, by a terminal device, a first message ([Para. 0058], the UE may receive, DCI), wherein the first message comprises a plurality of indication information associated with different transmission layers of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) ([Para. 0058], The DCI may schedule a first PUSCH transmission (e.g., of multiple layers) and a second PUSCH transmission (e.g., of multiple layers). [Para. 0059], The DCI may identify transmission parameters. [Para. 0060], The transmission parameters may include precoding indicators TPMIs or SRIs. The transmission parameters may include a first precoding indicator for the first PUSCH transmission and a second precoding indicator for the second PUSCH transmission [Examiner’s Note: Each PUSCH transmission is associated with one precoding indicator such as TPMI or SRI]. [Para. 0050], The first PUSCH transmission (PUSCH 1) may be associated with a first set of multiple transmission layers, and the second PUSCH transmission (PUSCH 2) may be associated with a second set of multiple transmission layers [Examiner’s Note: SRI, TPMI or TCI are the indication information. The two sets of transmission layers are associated with two SRIs, two TPMIs or two TCIs respectively]), transmission layers associated with different indication information correspond to different phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) ports ([Para. 0050], the first PUSCH transmission (PUSCH 1) may be associated with a first set of multiple transmission layers, and the second PUSCH transmission (PUSCH 2) may be associated with a second set of multiple transmission layers. Moreover, the first set of layers may be associated with a first codeword, and the second set of layers may be associated with a second codeword. [Para. 0058], The DCI may enable the UE to determine an association between PTRS ports and multiple codewords. [Para. 0059], the DCI may identify transmission parameters for two codewords. [Para. 0060], The transmission parameters may include precoding indicators such as TPMIs or SRIs. The transmission parameters may include a first precoding indicator for the first PUSCH transmission and a second precoding indicator for the second PUSCH transmission. [Para. 0068], the UE may determine that one PTRS port of a first set of PTRS ports is to be associated with the first codeword, and one PTRS port of a second set of PTRS ports is to be associated with the second codeword [Examiner’s Note: The two sets of transmission layers in the two PUSCH transmissions for two codewords are associated with two SRIs. The two sets of transmission layers in the two PUSCH transmissions for the two codewords correspond to the two PTRS ports associated with the two codewords respectively]), and the indication information is sounding reference signal resource indicator (SRI) information or transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state information ([Para. 0050], the first PUSCH transmission (PUSCH 1) may be associated with a first set of multiple transmission layers, and the second PUSCH transmission (PUSCH 2) may be associated with a second set of multiple transmission layers. [Para. 0060], The transmission parameters may include precoding indicators such as SRIs. The transmission parameters may include a first precoding indicator for the first PUSCH transmission and a second precoding indicator for the second PUSCH transmission. [Para. 0061], The transmission parameters may include uplink beam identifiers such as transmission configuration indicators (TCIs). The transmission parameters may include a first beam identifier for the first PUSCH transmission and a second beam identifier for the second PUSCH transmission), determining, by the terminal device, a power boosting value of each PTRS port based on a number of target transmission layer(s) ([Para. 0085], the UE may determine a power boosting (PB) for a PTRS port associated with a codeword. The power boosting may be based on a quantity of layers that are to be used to transmit the codeword), and determining, by the terminal device, a transmit power of the PTRS port based on the power boosting value of the PTRS port ([Para. 0089], a ratio of power used by the UE for a PUSCH and a power used by the UE for a PTRS (ρPTRS PUSCH) may be expressed as ρPTRS PUSCH=−αPTRS,i PUSCH [dB], and values for αPTRS PUSCH are shown in Table 1 [Examiner’s Note: The radio ρPTRS PUSCH is PPUSCH – PPTRS port, the difference between power of PUSCH and power of PTRS port. αPTRS,i PUSCH is the power boosting value of the PTRS port given in Table 1. PPTRS port = PPUSCH + αPTRS,i PUSCH]).
Although Yuan teaching two sets of transmission layers in two PUSCH transmissions are associated with two different precoding indicators and PTRS ports respectively, Nilsson more specifically discloses wherein the first message comprises a plurality of indication information associated with different transmission layers of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), and the indication information is sounding reference signal resource indicator (SRI) information or transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state information, wherein the target transmission layer(s) are any one of: transmission layer(s) associated with a respective one of the plurality of indication information, transmission layer(s) corresponding to the PTRS port, and all transmission layers of the PUSCH.
Nilsson is directed to providing framework for simultaneous multi-panel uplink transmission. More specifically, Nilsson teaches wherein the first message comprises a plurality of indication information associated with different transmission layers of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) ([Para. 0188], simultaneous PUSCH transmission using N=2 TCI states. [Para. 0191], Step 3: Updating/indicating N=2 TCI states to a WD from the network via DCI. [Para. 0192], Step 4: using N=2 updated/indicated TCI states to transmit a first set of PUSCH layers using the first TCI state, and transmit a second set of PUSCH layers using the second TCI state, wherein the simultaneous transmission is the following: [Para. 0193], the transmission of the first set of PUSCH layers corresponding to the first TCI state and the transmission of the second set of PUSCH layers corresponding to the second TCI state occur in the same Resource elements. [Para. 0176], Codepoint ‘11’, corresponds to simultaneous transmission across multiple panels (ST×MP) transmission where the two WD panels transmit different data (different layers of the same transport block) to two different TRPs using the same frequency and time allocations), and the indication information is sounding reference signal resource indicator (SRI) information or transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state information ([Para. 0188], simultaneous PUSCH transmission using N=2 TCI states. [Para. 0191], Step 3: Updating/indicating N=2 TCI states to a WD from the network via DCI. [Para. 0192], Step 4: using N=2 updated/indicated TCI states to transmit a first set of PUSCH layers using the first TCI state, and transmit a second set of PUSCH layers using the second TCI state, wherein the simultaneous transmission is the following: [Para. 0193], the transmission of the first set of PUSCH layers corresponding to the first TCI state and the transmission of the second set of PUSCH layers corresponding to the second TCI state occur in the same Resource elements); wherein the target transmission layer(s) are any one of: transmission layer(s) associated with a respective one of the plurality of indication information ([Para. 0193], the transmission of the first set of PUSCH layers corresponding to the first TCI state and the transmission of the second set of PUSCH layers corresponding to the second TCI state occur in the same Resource elements), transmission layer(s) corresponding to the PTRS port ([Para. 0180], When two codewords are configured for the WD, one codeword (or a first set of PUSCH transmission layers corresponding to a first codeword) are transmitted via ST×MP with a first activated/indicated TCI state, and a second codeword (or a second set of PUSCH transmission layers corresponding to a second codeword) are transmitted via ST×MP with a second activated/indicated TCI state. [Para. 0181], Assuming that a maximum of 4 layers are supported for the two codewords, the layer combinations are (R1, R2)=(1,1), (1,2), (2,1), (2,2), where R1 and R2 are the number of layers for the first and second codewords, respectively. In Table 1, the row for 4 layers shows the mapping of DMRS ports and the two sets of layers for the two codewords. [Para. 0185], the existing PTRS to DMRS mapping may be used, i.e., 2 bits in DCI with the most significant bit (MSB) used to indicate one out of up to 2 scheduled DMRS ports associated with PTRS port 0 in a first panel and the least significant bit (LSB) used to indicate one out of up to 2 scheduled DMRS ports associated with PTRS port 1 in a second panel. Each panel may transmit up to 2 layers. [Para. 0185], the existing PTRS to DMRS mapping may be used, i.e., 2 bits in DCI with the most significant bit (MSB) used to indicate one out of up to 2 scheduled DMRS ports associated with PTRS port 0 in a first panel and the least significant bit (LSB) used to indicate one out of up to 2 scheduled DMRS ports associated with PTRS port 1 in a second panel. Each panel may transmit up to 2 layers [Examiner’s Note: The two layers corresponding to the first TCI state are associated with PTRS port 0 and the two layers corresponding to the second TCI state are associated with PTRS port 1]), and all transmission layers of the PUSCH ([Para. 0188], simultaneous PUSCH transmission using N=2 TCI states. [Para. 0193], the transmission of the first set of PUSCH layers corresponding to the first TCI state and the transmission of the second set of PUSCH layers corresponding to the second TCI state occur in the same Resource elements [Examiner’s Note: The two sets of layers are the all layers of the PUSCH]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yuan, so that different transmission layers are associated with different TCI states transmitted to the WD via DCI and the different layers are associated with different PTRS ports, as taught by Nilsson. The modification would have enabled simultaneous transmission across multiple panels (ST×MP) (Nilsson [Para. 0077]).
For claim 2, Yuan and Nilsson teach the method according to claim 1. The references further teach wherein determining, by the terminal device, the power boosting value of each PTRS port based on the number of target transmission layer(s) comprises: determining, by the terminal device, the power boosting value of each PTRS port based on the number of the target transmission layer(s) (Nilsson [Para. 0181], [Table 1] and [Para. 0185], 4 DMRS ports are associated with to two sets of 2 layers for the two codewords respectively. The two layers associated with the two DMRS ports for the first codeword are associated with PTRS port 0 and the two layers associated with the two DMRS ports for the second codeword are associated with PTRS port 1. Yuan [Para. 0085], the UE may determine a power boosting (PB) for a PTRS port associated with a codeword based on a quantity of layers that are to be used to transmit the codeword (X)), a multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) transmission mode of the PUSCH and a codebook coherent configuration (Yuan [Para. 0085], the UE may determine a power boosting (PB) for a PTRS port associated with a codeword based on a coherency type associated with a precoding indicator (e.g., a TPMI or an SRI) for the codeword. Yuan [Para. 0050], The first set of layers of the first PUSCH transmission (e.g., for a MIMO transmission) may be associated with a first codeword, and the second set of layers of the second PUSCH transmission (e.g., for a MIMO transmission) may be associated with a second codeword [Examiner’s Note: The codebook based and non-codebook based transmissions are the MIMO transmission mode. The transmission mode is associated with coherency type based on which PTRS power boosting value is determined]. Yuan [Para. 0085-0087], the UE may determine a power boosting (PB) for a PTRS port associated with a codeword based on a quantity of layers that are to be used to transmit the codeword (X). X may have a value of one when a precoding indicator is associated with partial coherence or non-coherence. X may have a value of one when a precoding indicator (e.g., a TPMI) for the codeword is associated with non-coherence. X may have a value corresponding to a quantity of layers when a precoding indicator is associated with full coherence. Yuan [Table 1] [Examiner’s Note: Table 1 includes Power boosting values for various codebook coherent configurations]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yuan, so that different transmission layers are associated with different TCI states and the different layers are associated with different PTRS ports, as taught by Nilsson. The modification would have enabled simultaneous transmission across multiple panels (ST×MP) (Nilsson [Para. 0077]).
For claim 3, Yuan and Nilsson teach the method according to claim 2. The references further teach wherein the target transmission layer(s) are the transmission layer(s) corresponding to the PTRS port (Nilsson [Para. 0181], [Table 1] and [Para. 0185], 4 DMRS ports are associated with to two sets of 2 layers for the two codewords respectively. The two layers associated with the two DMRS ports for the first codeword are associated with PTRS port 0 and the two layers associated with the two DMRS ports for the second codeword are associated with PTRS port 1; Yuan [Para. 0050], the first PUSCH transmission (PUSCH 1) may be associated with a first set of multiple transmission layers, and the second PUSCH transmission (PUSCH 2) may be associated with a second set of multiple transmission layers. Moreover, the first set of layers may be associated with a first codeword, and the second set of layers may be associated with a second codeword. [Para. 0068], the UE may determine that one or more PTRS ports of a first set of PTRS ports are to be associated with the first codeword, and one or more PTRS ports of a second set of PTRS ports are to be associated with the second codeword), and determining, by the terminal device, the power boosting value of each PTRS port based on the number of the target transmission layer(s), the multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) transmission mode of the PUSCH, and the codebook coherent configuration comprises: determining, by the terminal device, the power boosting value of each PTRS port based on a sixth mapping relationship (Yuan [Para. 0085], the UE may determine a power boosting (PB) for a PTRS port associated with a codeword based on a quantity of layers that are to be used to transmit the codeword (X), a coherency type associated with a precoding indicator (e.g., a TPMI or an SRI) for the codeword), wherein the sixth mapping relationship comprises at least one of: in a case where a number of transmission layer(s) corresponding to a target PTRS port is 1, the target PTRS port having a power boosting value of 3 dB (Yuan [Para. 0085], a power boosting for a PTRS relative to a PUSCH may be expressed as PB=10·log10(X·Y). Yuan [Para. 0088], a value of Y may be expressed as Y=Qp0+Qp1, where Qp0 corresponds to an actual quantity of PTRS ports associated with the first codeword, and Qp1 corresponds to an actual quantity of PTRS ports associated with the second codeword. Yuan [Table 1] “1 ALL cases” [Examiner’s Note: Because there is only one layer, this is only one PTRS port for each codeword. X=1 and Y=1+1=2 and PB=3DB]); wherein the target PTRS port is any one of a plurality of PTRS ports indicated to the terminal device (Yuan [Para. 0053], In non-codebook-based uplink, a UE may identify one or more PTRS ports based on a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI). An SRI may identify SRS resources configured with a particular PTRS port. In codebook-based uplink, a UE may identify one or more PTRS ports based on a transmit precoding matrix indicator (TPMI) and an indicated quantity of layers. Yuan [Para. 0060], The transmission parameters may include precoding indicators such TPMIs (e.g., for codebook-based uplink) or SRIs (e.g., for non-codebook-based uplink. Yuan [Para. 0068], the UE may determine that one PTRS port of a first set of PTRS ports is to be associated with the first codeword, and one PTRS port of a second set of PTRS ports is to be associated with the second codeword); in a case where the number of transmission layer(s) corresponding to the target PTRS port is 2 (Nilsson [Para. 0181], [Table 1] and [Para. 0185], 4 DMRS ports are associated with to two sets of 2 layers for the two codewords respectively. The two layers associated with the two DMRS ports for the first codeword are associated with PTRS port 0 and the two layers associated with the two DMRS ports for the second codeword are associated with PTRS port 1), if the MIMO transmission mode is codebook based transmission and the codebook coherent configuration is full coherent configuration, the target PTRS port having a power boosting value of 6 dB (Yuan [Para. 0060], The transmission parameters may include precoding indicators such TPMIs (e.g., for codebook-based uplink). The transmission parameters may include a first precoding indicator for the first PUSCH transmission and a second precoding indicator for the second PUSCH transmission. Yuan [Para. 0050], The first set of layers of the first PUSCH transmission (e.g., for a MIMO transmission) may be associated with a first codeword, and the second set of layers of the second PUSCH transmission (e.g., for a MIMO transmission) may be associated with a second codeword. Yuan [Para. 0068], the UE may determine that one or more PTRS ports of a first set of PTRS ports are to be associated with the first codeword, and one or more PTRS ports of a second set of PTRS ports are to be associated with the second codeword. Yuan [Para. 0085], a power boosting for a PTRS relative to a PUSCH may be expressed as PB=10·log10(X·Y). Yuan [Para. 0087], X may have a value corresponding to a quantity of layers that are to be used to transmit the codeword (e.g., as indicated by a TPMI for the codeword) when a precoding indicator (e.g., a TPMI) for the codeword is associated with full coherence. Li is less than or equal to 3, X is 1 (Li represents a quantity of layers scheduled for the codeword i). Table 1, the column for full coherence with two layers PB = 10 · log10(2(1 + Qp1)) = 10 · log10(2(1 + 1)) = 6 DB [Examiner’s Note: One PTRS port is determined for each PUSCH transmission. The first configuration comprises the codebook-based transmission mode and full coherence]); in a case where the number of transmission layer(s) corresponding to the target PTRS port is 2 (Nilsson [Para. 0181], [Table 1] and [Para. 0185], 4 DMRS ports are associated with to two sets of 2 layers for the two codewords respectively. The two layers associated with the two DMRS ports for the first codeword are associated with PTRS port 0 and the two layers associated with the two DMRS ports for the second codeword are associated with PTRS port 1), if the MIMO transmission mode is non-codebook based transmission, or the MIMO transmission mode is codebook based transmission and the codebook coherent configuration is non-full coherent configuration, the target PTRS port having a power boosting value of 3 dB (Yuan [Para. 0060], The transmission parameters may include precoding indicators such TPMIs (e.g., for codebook-based uplink). Yuan [Para. 0085], a power boosting for a PTRS relative to a PUSCH may be expressed as PB=10·log10(X·Y). Yuan [Para. 0086], X may have a value of one when a precoding indicator (e.g., a TPMI) for the codeword is associated with partial coherence or non-coherence (e.g., when a quantity of layers scheduled for the codeword is up to two layers). Yuan [Table 1], last column, 10 · log10(Qp0 + Qp1). [Examiner’s Note: X = 1 and Y = 1 + 1 = 2, PB = 10·log10 (2) = 3 DB]); in a case where the number of transmission layer(s) corresponding to the target PTRS port is 3 (Nilsson [Para. 0185], If the maximum rank is greater than 4, and each panel may transmit up to 4 layers, 4 bits in DCI may be used to indicate PTRS to DMRS port association, with the 2 MSB bits used to indicate one out of up to 4 scheduled DMRS ports associated with PTRS port 0 in a first panel and the 2 LSB bits used to indicated one out of up to 4 scheduled DMRS ports associated with PTRS port 1 in a second panel), if the MIMO transmission mode is codebook based transmission and the codebook coherent configuration is full coherent configuration, the target PTRS port having a power boosting value of 7.77 dB (Yuan [Para. 0060], The transmission parameters may include precoding indicators such TPMIs (e.g., for codebook-based uplink). Yuan [Para. 0085], a power boosting for a PTRS relative to a PUSCH may be expressed as PB=10·log10(X·Y). [Para. 0087], X may have a value corresponding to a quantity of layers that are to be used to transmit the codeword (e.g., as indicated by a TPMI for the codeword) when a precoding indicator (e.g., a TPMI) for the codeword is associated with full coherence. [Examiner’s Note: X = 3 and Y = 1 + 1 = 2, PB = 10·log10 (3* 2) = 7.78 DB]); in a case where the number of transmission layer(s) corresponding to the target PTRS port is 3 (Nilsson [Para. 0185], If the maximum rank is greater than 4, and each panel may transmit up to 4 layers, 4 bits in DCI may be used to indicate PTRS to DMRS port association, with the 2 MSB bits used to indicate one out of up to 4 scheduled DMRS ports associated with PTRS port 0 in a first panel and the 2 LSB bits used to indicated one out of up to 4 scheduled DMRS ports associated with PTRS port 1 in a second panel), if the MIMO transmission mode is non-codebook based transmission, or the MIMO transmission mode is codebook based transmission and the codebook coherent configuration is non-full coherent configuration, the target PTRS port having a power boosting value of 3 dB (Yuan [Para. 0060], The transmission parameters may include precoding indicators such TPMIs (e.g., for codebook-based uplink). Yuan [Para. 0085], a power boosting for a PTRS relative to a PUSCH may be expressed as PB=10·log10(X·Y). Yuan [Para. 0086], X may have a value of one when a precoding indicator (e.g., a TPMI) for the codeword is associated with partial coherence or non-coherence. [Examiner’s Note: X = 1 and Y = 1 + 1 = 2, PB = 10·log10 (2) = 3 DB]); in a case where the number of transmission layer(s) corresponding to the target PTRS port is 4 (Nilsson [Para. 0185], If the maximum rank is greater than 4, and each panel may transmit up to 4 layers, 4 bits in DCI may be used to indicate PTRS to DMRS port association, with the 2 MSB bits used to indicate one out of up to 4 scheduled DMRS ports associated with PTRS port 0 in a first panel and the 2 LSB bits used to indicated one out of up to 4 scheduled DMRS ports associated with PTRS port 1 in a second panel), if the MIMO transmission mode is codebook based transmission and the codebook coherent configuration is full coherent configuration, the target PTRS port having a power boosting value of 9 dB (Yuan [Para. 0060], The transmission parameters may include precoding indicators such TPMIs (e.g., for codebook-based uplink). Yuan [Para. 0085], a power boosting for a PTRS relative to a PUSCH may be expressed as PB=10·log10(X·Y). Yuan [Para. 0087], X may have a value corresponding to a quantity of layers that are to be used to transmit the codeword (e.g., as indicated by a TPMI for the codeword) when a precoding indicator (e.g., a TPMI) for the codeword is associated with full coherence. [Examiner’s Note: X = 4 and Y = 1 + 1 = 2, PB = 10·log10 (4* 2) = 9 DB]); in a case where the number of transmission layer(s) corresponding to the target PTRS port is 4 (Nilsson [Para. 0185], If the maximum rank is greater than 4, and each panel may transmit up to 4 layers, 4 bits in DCI may be used to indicate PTRS to DMRS port association, with the 2 MSB bits used to indicate one out of up to 4 scheduled DMRS ports associated with PTRS port 0 in a first panel and the 2 LSB bits used to indicated one out of up to 4 scheduled DMRS ports associated with PTRS port 1 in a second panel), if the MIMO transmission mode is codebook based transmission and the codebook coherent configuration is partial coherent configuration, the target PTRS port having a power boosting value of 6 dB (Yuan [Para. 0060], The transmission parameters may include precoding indicators such TPMIs (e.g., for codebook-based uplink). Yuan [Para. 0085], a power boosting for a PTRS relative to a PUSCH may be expressed as PB=10·log10(X·Y). [Para. 0087], with respect to a PTRS for a codeword i, X may be expressed as X=floor((sign(Li-3)+3)/2) (where Li represents a quantity of layers scheduled for the codeword i), when a precoding indicator (e.g., a TPMI) for the codeword is associated with partial coherence. If Li is greater than 3, X is 2. [Examiner’s Note: X = 2 and Y = 1 + 1 = 2, PB = 10·log10 (2*2) = 6 DB]); or in a case where the number of transmission layer(s) corresponding to the target PTRS port is 4 (Nilsson [Para. 0185], If the maximum rank is greater than 4, and each panel may transmit up to 4 layers, 4 bits in DCI may be used to indicate PTRS to DMRS port association, with the 2 MSB bits used to indicate one out of up to 4 scheduled DMRS ports associated with PTRS port 0 in a first panel and the 2 LSB bits used to indicated one out of up to 4 scheduled DMRS ports associated with PTRS port 1 in a second panel), if the MIMO transmission mode is non-codebook based transmission, or the MIMO transmission mode is codebook based transmission and the codebook coherent configuration is non-coherent configuration, the target PTRS port having a power boosting value of 3 dB (Yuan [Para. 0060], The transmission parameters may include precoding indicators such TPMIs (e.g., for codebook-based uplink). Yuan [Para. 0085], a power boosting for a PTRS relative to a PUSCH may be expressed as PB=10·log10(X·Y). [Para. 0086], X may have a value of one when a precoding indicator (e.g., a TPMI) for the codeword is associated with non-coherence. [Examiner’s Note: X = 1 and Y = 1 + 1 = 2, PB = 10·log10 (2) = 3 DB]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yuan, so that different transmission layers are associated with different TCI states and the different layers are associated with different PTRS ports, as taught by Nilsson. The modification would have enabled simultaneous transmission across multiple panels (ST×MP) (Nilsson [Para. 0077]).
For claim 4, Yuan and Nilsson teach the method according to claim 1. The references further teach wherein the target transmission layer(s) are transmission layer(s) corresponding to a target PTRS port (Nilsson [Para. 0181], [Table 1] and [Para. 0185], 4 DMRS ports are associated with to two sets of 2 layers for the two codewords respectively. The two layers associated with the two DMRS ports for the first codeword are associated with PTRS port 0 and the two layers associated with the two DMRS ports for the second codeword are associated with PTRS port 1), the target PTRS port is any one of a plurality of PTRS ports indicated to the terminal device (Yuan [Para. 0053], In non-codebook-based uplink, a UE may identify one or more PTRS ports based on a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI). An SRI may identify SRS resources configured with a particular PTRS port. In codebook-based uplink, a UE may identify one or more PTRS ports based on a transmit precoding matrix indicator (TPMI) and an indicated quantity of layers. Yuan [Para. 0060], The transmission parameters may include precoding indicators such TPMIs (e.g., for codebook-based uplink) or SRIs (e.g., for non-codebook-based uplink. Yuan [Para. 0068], the UE may determine that one PTRS port of a first set of PTRS ports is to be associated with the first codeword, and one PTRS port of a second set of PTRS ports is to be associated with the second codeword), and resources occupied by the plurality of PTRS ports are unavailable for transmission of the PUSCH (Yuan [Para. 0085], The power boosting may be based on a total quantity of PTRS ports that are associated with the multiple codewords (e.g., a quantity of muted frequency resource elements associated with the multiple codewords) (Y) [Examiner’s Note: PTRS ports being on muted frequency resource elements indicates that the resource is unavailable to PUSCH]), determining the power boosting value of each PTRS port comprises: determining a power boosting value of the target PTRS port based on a first power boosting configuration or a second power boosting configuration (Yuan [Para. 0085], the UE may determine a power boosting (PB) for a PTRS port associated with a codeword based on quantity of layers (X) and a coherency type. Yuan [Para. 0086-0087], with respect to a PTRS for a codeword, X may have a value based on a precoding indicator associated with non-coherence, full coherence, partial coherence or non-codebook based no coherence configuration); the first power boosting configuration comprises: in a case where the number of transmission layer(s) corresponding to the target PTRS port is 1, the target PTRS port having a power boosting value of 3 dB (Yuan [Para. 0085], a power boosting for a PTRS relative to a PUSCH may be expressed as PB=10·log10(X·Y). Yuan [Para. 0088], a value of Y may be expressed as Y=Qp0+Qp1, where Qp0 corresponds to an actual quantity of PTRS ports associated with the first codeword, and Qp1 corresponds to an actual quantity of PTRS ports associated with the second codeword. Yuan [Table 1], “1 ALL cases”); in a case where the number of transmission layer(s) corresponding to the target PTRS port is 2 (Nilsson [Para. 0181], [Table 1] and [Para. 0185], 4 DMRS ports are associated with to two sets of 2 layers for the two codewords respectively. The two layers associated with the two DMRS ports for the first codeword are associated with PTRS port 0 and the two layers associated with the two DMRS ports for the second codeword are associated with PTRS port 1), if a transmission mode and coherent configuration of the terminal device is a first configuration, the target PTRS port having a power boosting value of 6 dB (Yuan [Para. 0060], The transmission parameters may include precoding indicators such TPMIs (e.g., for codebook-based uplink). The transmission parameters may include a first precoding indicator for the first PUSCH transmission and a second precoding indicator for the second PUSCH transmission. Yuan [Para. 0085], a power boosting for a PTRS relative to a PUSCH may be expressed as PB=10·log10(X·Y). Yuan [Para. 0087], X may have a value corresponding to a quantity of layers that are to be used to transmit the codeword (e.g., as indicated by a TPMI for the codeword) when a precoding indicator (e.g., a TPMI) for the codeword is associated with full coherence. Li is less than or equal to 3, X is 1 (Li represents a quantity of layers scheduled for the codeword i). Table 1, the column for full coherence with two layers PB = 10 · log10(2(1 + Qp1)) = 10 · log10(2(1 + 1)) = 6 DB [Examiner’s Note: One PTRS port is determined for each PUSCH transmission. The first configuration comprises the codebook-based transmission mode and full coherence]); in a case where the number of transmission layer(s) corresponding to the target PTRS port is 2 (Nilsson [Para. 0181], [Table 1] and [Para. 0185], 4 DMRS ports are associated with to two sets of 2 layers for the two codewords respectively. The two layers associated with the two DMRS ports for the first codeword are associated with PTRS port 0 and the two layers associated with the two DMRS ports for the second codeword are associated with PTRS port 1), if the transmission mode and coherent configuration of the terminal device is any one of a second configuration, a third configuration and a fourth configuration, the target PTRS port having a power boosting value of 3 dB (Yuan [Para. 0060], The transmission parameters may include precoding indicators such TPMIs (e.g., for codebook-based uplink) or SRIs (e.g., for non-codebook-based uplink. Yuan [Para. 0085], the UE may determine a power boosting (PB) for a PTRS port associated with a codeword based on a quantity of layers that are to be used to transmit the codeword (X), a coherency type associated with a precoding indicator (e.g., a TPMI or an SRI) for the codeword. A power boosting for a PTRS relative to a PUSCH may be expressed as PB=10·log10(X·Y). Yuan [Para. 0086], with respect to a PTRS for a codeword, X may have a value of one when a precoding indicator (e.g., a TPMI) for the codeword is associated with partial coherence or non-coherence (e.g., when a quantity of layers scheduled for the codeword is up to two layers). Yuan [Table 1], last column for the cases of partial, non-coherent and non-codebook based, PB = 10 · log10(Qp0 + Qp1) = 10 · log10(1+1) = 3 DB [Examiner’s Note: The second, third and fourth configurations comprise codebook based transmission mode and partial coherence configuration, codebook based transmission mode and non-coherence configuration, and non-codebook based (for SRI indicator) transmission mode and no coherence configuration respectively]); the second power boosting configuration comprises: in a case where the number of transmission layer(s) corresponding to the target PTRS port is 1, the target PTRS port having a power boosting value of 3 dB; in a case where the number of transmission layer(s) corresponding to the target PTRS port is 2, the target PTRS port having a power boosting value of 6 dB.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yuan, so that different transmission layers are associated with different TCI states and the different layers are associated with different PTRS ports, as taught by Nilsson. The modification would have enabled simultaneous transmission across multiple panels (ST×MP) (Nilsson [Para. 0077]).
For claim 6, Yuan and Nilsson teach the method according to claim 4. The references further teach wherein the first configuration refers to that a MIMO transmission mode of the PUSCH is configured to be codebook based transmission and a codebook coherent configuration is configured to be full coherent configuration (Yuan [Para. 0050], the first PUSCH transmission (PUSCH 1) may be associated with a first set of multiple transmission layers, and the second PUSCH transmission (PUSCH 2) may be associated with a second set of multiple transmission layers. Moreover, the first set of layers (e.g., for a MIMO transmission) may be associated with a first codeword, and the second set of layers (e.g., for a MIMO transmission) may be associated with a second codeword. [Para. 0060], The transmission parameters may include precoding indicators such TPMIs (e.g., for codebook-based uplink). The transmission parameters may include a first precoding indicator for the first PUSCH transmission and a second precoding indicator for the second PUSCH transmission. Yuan [Para. 0068], the UE may determine that one or more PTRS ports of a first set of PTRS ports are to be associated with the first codeword, and one or more PTRS ports of a second set of PTRS ports are to be associated with the second codeword. Yuan [Para. 0085], a power boosting for a PTRS relative to a PUSCH may be expressed as PB=10·log10(X·Y). Yuan [Para. 0087], X may have a value corresponding to a quantity of layers that are to be used to transmit the codeword (e.g., as indicated by a TPMI for the codeword) when a precoding indicator (e.g., a TPMI) for the codeword is associated with full coherence. If Li is less than or equal to 3, X is 1 (Li represents a quantity of layers scheduled for the codeword i). Yuan [Table 1], the column for full coherence with two layers PB = 10 · log10(2(1 + Qp1)) = 10 · log10(2(1 + 1)) = 6 DB); the second configuration refers to that the MIMO transmission mode of the PUSCH is configured to be the codebook based transmission and the codebook coherent configuration is configured to be partial coherent configuration (Yuan [Para. 0060], The transmission parameters may include precoding indicators such TPMIs (e.g., for codebook-based uplink). Yuan [Para. 0085], a power boosting for a PTRS relative to a PUSCH may be expressed as PB=10·log10(X·Y). [Para. 0086], with respect to a PTRS for a codeword, X may have a value of one when a precoding indicator (e.g., a TPMI) for the codeword is associated with partial coherence. Yuan [Table 1], last column for the cases of partial coherent, PB = 10 · log10(Qp0 + Qp1) = 10 · log10(1+1) = 3 DB); the third configuration refers to that the MIMO transmission mode of the PUSCH is configured to be the codebook based transmission and the codebook coherent configuration is configured to be non-coherent configuration (Yuan [Para. 0060], The transmission parameters may include precoding indicators such TPMIs (e.g., for codebook-based uplink). [Para. 0085], a power boosting for a PTRS relative to a PUSCH may be expressed as PB=10·log10(X·Y). Yuan [Para. 0086], with respect to a PTRS for a codeword, X may have a value of one when a precoding indicator (e.g., a TPMI) for the codeword is associated with non-coherence. Yuan [Table 1], last column for the case of non-coherent, PB = 10 · log10(Qp0 + Qp1) = 10 · log10(1+1) = 3 DB); the fourth configuration refers to that the MIMO transmission mode of the PUSCH is configured to be non-codebook based transmission (Yuan [Para. 0060], The transmission parameters may include precoding indicators such SRIs (e.g., for non-codebook-based uplink. [Table 1], last column for the case of non-codebook based, PB = 10 · log10(Qp0 + Qp1) = 10 · log10(1+1) = 3 DB).
For claim 7, Yuan and Nilsson teach the method according to claim 1. The references further teach wherein before determining the power boosting value of each PTRS port, the method further comprises: receiving, by the terminal device, second configuration information transmitted by a network device (Yuan [Para. 0089], PTRS power boosting values are shown in Table 1. UL-PTRS-power represents a value of a higher-layer PTRS power parameter configured for the UE. Yuan [Para. 0041], At base station, transmit processor may also process control information (upper layer signaling) and provide control symbols [Examiner’s Note: UL-PTRS-power determines the method of computing the PTRS power boosting values]), wherein the second configuration information is used to configure the terminal device to determine the power boosting value of each PTRS port based on the number of the target transmission layer(s) (Nilsson [Para. 0181], [Table 1] and [Para. 0185], 4 DMRS ports are associated with to two sets of 2 layers for the two codewords respectively. The two layers associated with the two DMRS ports for the first codeword are associated with PTRS port 0 and the two layers associated with the two DMRS ports for the second codeword are associated with PTRS port 1. Yuan [Para. 0085], the UE may determine a power boosting (PB) for a PTRS port associated with a codeword. A power boosting for a PTRS relative to a PUSCH may be expressed as PB=10·log10(X·Y). Yuan [Para. 0089], PTRS power boosting values are shown in Table 1. UL-PTRS-power represents a value of a higher-layer PTRS power parameter configured for the UE [Examiner’s Note: Table 1 shows the PTRS power boosting vales computed by PB=10·log10(X·Y). For UL-PTRS-power “00”, the boosting values are determined by the quantity of PUSCH layers]); or configure the terminal device to determine the power boosting value of each PTRS port based on the number of target transmission layer(s), a MIMO transmission mode and a codebook coherent configuration mode (Nilsson [Para. 0181], [Table 1] and [Para. 0185], 4 DMRS ports are associated with to two sets of 2 layers for the two codewords respectively. The two layers associated with the two DMRS ports for the first codeword are associated with PTRS port 0 and the two layers associated with the two DMRS ports for the second codeword are associated with PTRS port 1. Yuan [Para. 0060], The transmission parameters may include precoding indicators such TPMIs (e.g., for codebook-based uplink) or SRIs (e.g., for non-codebook-based uplink). The transmission parameters may include a first precoding indicator for the first PUSCH transmission and a second precoding indicator for the second PUSCH transmission. Yuan [Para. 0085], the UE may determine a power boosting (PB) for a PTRS port associated with a codeword based on quantity of layers (X) and a coherency type associated with a precoding indicator (e.g., a TPMI or an SRI) for the codeword).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yuan, so that different transmission layers are associated with different TCI states and the different layers are associated with different PTRS ports, as taught by Nilsson. The modification would have enabled simultaneous transmission across multiple panels (ST×MP) (Nilsson [Para. 0077]).
For claim 9, Yuan and Nilsson teach the method according to claim 1. The references further teach wherein the power boosting value represents a power boosting value of a target PTRS port relative to a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) port associated with a target PTRS port that is one of a plurality of PTRS ports indicated to the terminal device (Yuan [Para. 0050], the first PUSCH transmission (PUSCH 1) may be associated with a first set of multiple transmission layers, and the second PUSCH transmission (PUSCH 2) may be associated with a second set of multiple transmission layers. Moreover, the first set of layers may be associated with a first codeword, and the second set of layers may be associated with a second codeword. Yuan [Para. 0060], The transmission parameters may include precoding indicators such TPMIs (e.g., for codebook-based uplink) or SRIs (e.g., for non-codebook-based uplink. Yuan [Para. 0053], In non-codebook-based uplink, a UE may identify one or more PTRS ports based on a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicator (SRI). In codebook-based uplink, a UE may identify one or more PTRS ports based on a transmit precoding matrix indicator (TPMI). Yuan [Para. 0075], the UE may determine a mapping of a DMRS port to a PTRS port associated with a codeword. Accordingly, the UE may use a precoding for the PTRS port that is used for a layer (associated with the DMRS port) identified by a precoding indicator for the codeword. Yuan [Para. 0085], the UE may determine a power boosting (PB) for a PTRS port associated with a codeword. a power boosting for a PTRS relative to a PUSCH may be expressed as PB=10·log10(X·Y) [Examiner’s Note: Since the DMRS port is associated with a PUSCH layer and the power boosting value is relative to the PUSCH, the power boosting value is relative to the DMRS port]).
For claim 10, Yuan teaches a method for determining a transmit power ([Para. 0006], a method performed by a base station of determining transmission parameters for multiple codewords of a UE that are to be used for an uplink communication. [Para. 0055], it may be useful UE to determine a PTRS configuration for the multiple codewords used for an uplink communication including PTRS power boosting that is to be used for a codeword), the method comprising: transmitting, by a network device, a first message to a terminal device ([Para. 0058], the BS may transmit, and the UE may receive, DCI), wherein the first message comprises a plurality of indication information associated with different transmission layers of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) ([Para. 0058], The DCI may schedule a first PUSCH transmission (e.g., of multiple layers) and a second PUSCH transmission (e.g., of multiple layers). [Para. 0059], The DCI may identify transmission parameters. [Para. 0060], The transmission parameters may include precoding indicators TPMIs or SRIs. The transmission parameters may include a first precoding indicator for the first PUSCH transmission and a second precoding indicator for the second PUSCH transmission [Examiner’s Note: Each PUSCH transmission is associated with one precoding indicator such as TPMI or SRI]. [Para. 0050], The first PUSCH transmission (PUSCH 1) may be associated with a first set of multiple transmission layers, and the second PUSCH transmission (PUSCH 2) may be associated with a second set of multiple transmission layers [Examiner’s Note: SRI, TPMI or TCI are the indication information. The two sets of transmission layers are associated with two SRIs, two TPMIs or two TCIs respectively]), transmission layers associated with different indication information correspond to different PTRS ports ([Para. 0050], the first PUSCH transmission (PUSCH 1) may be associated with a first set of multiple transmission layers, and the second PUSCH transmission (PUSCH 2) may be associated with a second set of multiple transmission layers. Moreover, the first set of layers may be associated with a first codeword, and the second set of layers may be associated with a second codeword. [Para. 0058], The DCI may enable the UE to determine an association between PTRS ports and multiple codewords. [Para. 0059], the DCI may identify transmission parameters for two codewords. [Para. 0060], The transmission parameters may include precoding indicators such as TPMIs or SRIs. The transmission parameters may include a first precoding indicator for the first PUSCH transmission and a second precoding indicator for the second PUSCH transmission. [Para. 0068], the UE may determine that one PTRS port of a first set of PTRS ports is to be associated with the first codeword, and one PTRS port of a second set of PTRS ports is to be associated with the second codeword [Examiner’s Note: The two sets of transmission layers in the two PUSCH transmissions for two codewords are associated with two SRIs. The two sets of transmission layers in the two PUSCH transmissions for the two codewords correspond to the two PTRS ports associated with the two codewords respectively]), and the indication information is sounding reference signal resource indicator (SRI) information or transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state information ([Para. 0050], the first PUSCH transmission (PUSCH 1) may be associated with a first set of multiple transmission layers, and the second PUSCH transmission (PUSCH 2) may be associated with a second set of multiple transmission layers. [Para. 0060], The transmission parameters may include precoding indicators such as SRIs. The transmission parameters may include a first precoding indicator for the first PUSCH transmission and a second precoding indicator for the second PUSCH transmission. [Para. 0061], The transmission parameters may include uplink beam identifiers such as transmission configuration indicators (TCIs). The transmission parameters may include a first beam identifier for the first PUSCH transmission and a second beam identifier for the second PUSCH transmission), a number of target transmission layers is used to determine a power boosting value of each PTRS port of the terminal device ([Para. 0085], the UE may determine a power boosting (PB) for a PTRS port associated with a codeword. The power boosting may be based on a quantity of layers that are to be used to transmit the codeword),
Although Yuan teaching two sets of transmission layers in two PUSCH transmissions are associated with two different precoding indicators and PTRS ports respectively, Nilsson more specifically discloses wherein the first message comprises a plurality of indication information associated with different transmission layers of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), and the indication information is sounding reference signal resource indicator (SRI) information or transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state information; and the target transmission layer(s) are any one of: transmission layer(s) associated with a respective one of the plurality of indication information, transmission layer(s) corresponding to the PTRS port, and all transmission layers of the PUSCH.
Nilsson is directed to providing framework for simultaneous multi-panel uplink transmission. More specifically, Nilsson teaches wherein the first message comprises a plurality of indication information associated with different transmission layers of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) ([Para. 0188], simultaneous PUSCH transmission using N=2 TCI states. [Para. 0191], Step 3: Updating/indicating N=2 TCI states to a WD from the network via DCI. [Para. 0192], Step 4: using N=2 updated/indicated TCI states to transmit a first set of PUSCH layers using the first TCI state, and transmit a second set of PUSCH layers using the second TCI state, wherein the simultaneous transmission is the following: [Para. 0193], the transmission of the first set of PUSCH layers corresponding to the first TCI state and the transmission of the second set of PUSCH layers corresponding to the second TCI state occur in the same Resource elements. [Para. 0176], Codepoint ‘11’, corresponds to simultaneous transmission across multiple panels (ST×MP) transmission where the two WD panels transmit different data (different layers of the same transport block) to two different TRPs using the same frequency and time allocations), and the indication information is sounding reference signal resource indicator (SRI) information or transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state information ([Para. 0188], simultaneous PUSCH transmission using N=2 TCI states. [Para. 0191], Step 3: Updating/indicating N=2 TCI states to a WD from the network via DCI. [Para. 0192], Step 4: using N=2 updated/indicated TCI states to transmit a first set of PUSCH layers using the first TCI state, and transmit a second set of PUSCH layers using the second TCI state, wherein the simultaneous transmission is the following: [Para. 0193], the transmission of the first set of PUSCH layers corresponding to the first TCI state and the transmission of the second set of PUSCH layers corresponding to the second TCI state occur in the same Resource elements); and the target transmission layer(s) are any one of: transmission layer(s) associated with a respective one of the plurality of indication information ([Para. 0193], the transmission of the first set of PUSCH layers corresponding to the first TCI state and the transmission of the second set of PUSCH layers corresponding to the second TCI state occur in the same Resource elements), transmission layer(s) corresponding to the PTRS port ([Para. 0180], When two codewords are configured for the WD, one codeword (or a first set of PUSCH transmission layers corresponding to a first codeword) are transmitted via ST×MP with a first activated/indicated TCI state, and a second codeword (or a second set of PUSCH transmission layers corresponding to a second codeword) are transmitted via ST×MP with a second activated/indicated TCI state. [Para. 0181], Assuming that a maximum of 4 layers are supported for the two codewords, the layer combinations are (R1, R2)=(1,1), (1,2), (2,1), (2,2), where R1 and R2 are the number of layers for the first and second codewords, respectively. In Table 1, the row for 4 layers shows the mapping of DMRS ports and the two sets of layers for the two codewords. [Para. 0185], the existing PTRS to DMRS mapping may be used, i.e., 2 bits in DCI with the most significant bit (MSB) used to indicate one out of up to 2 scheduled DMRS ports associated with PTRS port 0 in a first panel and the least significant bit (LSB) used to indicate one out of up to 2 scheduled DMRS ports associated with PTRS port 1 in a second panel. Each panel may transmit up to 2 layers. [Para. 0185], the existing PTRS to DMRS mapping may be used, i.e., 2 bits in DCI with the most significant bit (MSB) used to indicate one out of up to 2 scheduled DMRS ports associated with PTRS port 0 in a first panel and the least significant bit (LSB) used to indicate one out of up to 2 scheduled DMRS ports associated with PTRS port 1 in a second panel. Each panel may transmit up to 2 layers [Examiner’s Note: The two layers corresponding to the first TCI state are associated with PTRS port 0 and the two layers corresponding to the second TCI state are associated with PTRS port 1]), and all transmission layers of the PUSCH ([Para. 0188], simultaneous PUSCH transmission using N=2 TCI states. [Para. 0193], the transmission of the first set of PUSCH layers corresponding to the first TCI state and the transmission of the second set of PUSCH layers corresponding to the second TCI state occur in the same Resource elements [Examiner’s Note: The two sets of layers are the all layers of the PUSCH]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yuan, so that different transmission layers are associated with different TCI states transmitted to the WD via DCI and the different layers are associated with different PTRS ports, as taught by Nilsson. The modification would have enabled simultaneous transmission across multiple panels (ST×MP) (Nilsson [Para. 0077]).
For claim 13, Yuan teaches a terminal device ([Para. 0007], a UE for wireless communication), comprising a memory and a processor ([Para. 0007], a UE for wireless communication may include a memory and processors coupled to the memory), wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program ([Para. 0009], a non-transitory computer-readable medium may store instructions for wireless communication. The instructions are executed by processors of a UE), and the processor is configured to call and run the computer program stored in the memory to cause the terminal device to perform ([Para. 0009], a non-transitory computer-readable medium may store instructions for wireless communication. The instructions, when executed by processors of a UE, may cause the processors to determine an association between multiple PTRS ports and multiple codewords that are to be used for an uplink communication): receiving a first message ([Para. 0058], the UE may receive, DCI), wherein the first message comprises a plurality of indication information associated with different transmission layers of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) ([Para. 0058], The DCI may schedule a first PUSCH transmission (e.g., of multiple layers) and a second PUSCH transmission (e.g., of multiple layers). [Para. 0059], The DCI may identify transmission parameters. [Para. 0060], The transmission parameters may include precoding indicators TPMIs or SRIs. The transmission parameters may include a first precoding indicator for the first PUSCH transmission and a second precoding indicator for the second PUSCH transmission [Examiner’s Note: Each PUSCH transmission is associated with one precoding indicator such as TPMI or SRI]. [Para. 0050], The first PUSCH transmission (PUSCH 1) may be associated with a first set of multiple transmission layers, and the second PUSCH transmission (PUSCH 2) may be associated with a second set of multiple transmission layers [Examiner’s Note: SRI, TPMI or TCI are the indication information. The two sets of transmission layers are associated with two SRIs, two TPMIs or two TCIs respectively]), transmission layers associated with different indication information correspond to different phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) ports ([Para. 0050], the first PUSCH transmission (PUSCH 1) may be associated with a first set of multiple transmission layers, and the second PUSCH transmission (PUSCH 2) may be associated with a second set of multiple transmission layers. Moreover, the first set of layers may be associated with a first codeword, and the second set of layers may be associated with a second codeword. [Para. 0058], The DCI may enable the UE to determine an association between PTRS ports and multiple codewords. [Para. 0059], the DCI may identify transmission parameters for two codewords. [Para. 0060], The transmission parameters may include precoding indicators such as TPMIs or SRIs. The transmission parameters may include a first precoding indicator for the first PUSCH transmission and a second precoding indicator for the second PUSCH transmission. [Para. 0068], the UE may determine that one PTRS port of a first set of PTRS ports is to be associated with the first codeword, and one PTRS port of a second set of PTRS ports is to be associated with the second codeword [Examiner’s Note: The two sets of transmission layers in the two PUSCH transmissions for two codewords are associated with two SRIs. The two sets of transmission layers in the two PUSCH transmissions for the two codewords correspond to the two PTRS ports associated with the two codewords respectively]), and the indication information is sounding reference signal resource indicator (SRI) information or transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state information ([Para. 0050], the first PUSCH transmission (PUSCH 1) may be associated with a first set of multiple transmission layers, and the second PUSCH transmission (PUSCH 2) may be associated with a second set of multiple transmission layers. [Para. 0060], The transmission parameters may include precoding indicators such as SRIs. The transmission parameters may include a first precoding indicator for the first PUSCH transmission and a second precoding indicator for the second PUSCH transmission. [Para. 0061], The transmission parameters may include uplink beam identifiers such as transmission configuration indicators (TCIs). The transmission parameters may include a first beam identifier for the first PUSCH transmission and a second beam identifier for the second PUSCH transmission), determining a power boosting value of each PTRS port based on a number of target transmission layer(s) ([Para. 0085], the UE may determine a power boosting (PB) for a PTRS port associated with a codeword. The power boosting may be based on a quantity of layers that are to be used to transmit the codeword), and determining a transmit power of the PTRS port based on the power boosting value of the PTRS port ([Para. 0089], a ratio of power used by the UE for a PUSCH and a power used by the UE for a PTRS (ρPTRS PUSCH) may be expressed as ρPTRS PUSCH=−αPTRS,i PUSCH [dB], and values for αPTRS PUSCH are shown in Table 1 [Examiner’s Note: The radio ρPTRS PUSCH is PPUSCH – PPTRS port, the difference between power of PUSCH and power of PTRS port. αPTRS,i PUSCH is the power boosting value of the PTRS port given in Table 1. PPTRS port = PPUSCH + αPTRS,i PUSCH]).
Although Yuan teaching two sets of transmission layers in two PUSCH transmissions are associated with two different precoding indicators and PTRS ports respectively, Nilsson more specifically discloses wherein the first message comprises a plurality of indication information associated with different transmission layers of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), and the indication information is sounding reference signal resource indicator (SRI) information or transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state information; wherein the target transmission layer(s) are any one of: transmission layer(s) associated with a respective one of the plurality of indication information, transmission layer(s) corresponding to the PTRS port, and all transmission layers of the PUSCH.
Nilsson is directed to providing framework for simultaneous multi-panel uplink transmission. More specifically, Nilsson teaches wherein the first message comprises a plurality of indication information associated with different transmission layers of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) ([Para. 0188], simultaneous PUSCH transmission using N=2 TCI states. [Para. 0191], Step 3: Updating/indicating N=2 TCI states to a WD from the network via DCI. [Para. 0192], Step 4: using N=2 updated/indicated TCI states to transmit a first set of PUSCH layers using the first TCI state, and transmit a second set of PUSCH layers using the second TCI state, wherein the simultaneous transmission is the following: [Para. 0193], the transmission of the first set of PUSCH layers corresponding to the first TCI state and the transmission of the second set of PUSCH layers corresponding to the second TCI state occur in the same Resource elements. [Para. 0176], Codepoint ‘11’, corresponds to simultaneous transmission across multiple panels (ST×MP) transmission where the two WD panels transmit different data (different layers of the same transport block) to two different TRPs using the same frequency and time allocations), and the indication information is sounding reference signal resource indicator (SRI) information or transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state information ([Para. 0188], simultaneous PUSCH transmission using N=2 TCI states. [Para. 0191], Step 3: Updating/indicating N=2 TCI states to a WD from the network via DCI. [Para. 0192], Step 4: using N=2 updated/indicated TCI states to transmit a first set of PUSCH layers using the first TCI state, and transmit a second set of PUSCH layers using the second TCI state, wherein the simultaneous transmission is the following: [Para. 0193], the transmission of the first set of PUSCH layers corresponding to the first TCI state and the transmission of the second set of PUSCH layers corresponding to the second TCI state occur in the same Resource elements); wherein the target transmission layer(s) are any one of: transmission layer(s) associated with a respective one of the plurality of indication information ([Para. 0193], the transmission of the first set of PUSCH layers corresponding to the first TCI state and the transmission of the second set of PUSCH layers corresponding to the second TCI state occur in the same Resource elements), transmission layer(s) corresponding to the PTRS port ([Para. 0180], When two codewords are configured for the WD, one codeword (or a first set of PUSCH transmission layers corresponding to a first codeword) are transmitted via ST×MP with a first activated/indicated TCI state, and a second codeword (or a second set of PUSCH transmission layers corresponding to a second codeword) are transmitted via ST×MP with a second activated/indicated TCI state. [Para. 0181], Assuming that a maximum of 4 layers are supported for the two codewords, the layer combinations are (R1, R2)=(1,1), (1,2), (2,1), (2,2), where R1 and R2 are the number of layers for the first and second codewords, respectively. In Table 1, the row for 4 layers shows the mapping of DMRS ports and the two sets of layers for the two codewords. [Para. 0185], the existing PTRS to DMRS mapping may be used, i.e., 2 bits in DCI with the most significant bit (MSB) used to indicate one out of up to 2 scheduled DMRS ports associated with PTRS port 0 in a first panel and the least significant bit (LSB) used to indicate one out of up to 2 scheduled DMRS ports associated with PTRS port 1 in a second panel. Each panel may transmit up to 2 layers. [Para. 0185], the existing PTRS to DMRS mapping may be used, i.e., 2 bits in DCI with the most significant bit (MSB) used to indicate one out of up to 2 scheduled DMRS ports associated with PTRS port 0 in a first panel and the least significant bit (LSB) used to indicate one out of up to 2 scheduled DMRS ports associated with PTRS port 1 in a second panel. Each panel may transmit up to 2 layers [Examiner’s Note: The two layers corresponding to the first TCI state are associated with PTRS port 0 and the two layers corresponding to the second TCI state are associated with PTRS port 1]), and all transmission layers of the PUSCH ([Para. 0188], simultaneous PUSCH transmission using N=2 TCI states. [Para. 0193], the transmission of the first set of PUSCH layers corresponding to the first TCI state and the transmission of the second set of PUSCH layers corresponding to the second TCI state occur in the same Resource elements [Examiner’s Note: The two sets of layers are the all layers of the PUSCH]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yuan, so that different transmission layers are associated with different TCI states transmitted to the WD via DCI and the different layers are associated with different PTRS ports, as taught by Nilsson. The modification would have enabled simultaneous transmission across multiple panels (ST×MP) (Nilsson [Para. 0077]).
Claims 14-16 are apparatus claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claims 2-4. Therefore, claims 14-16 are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claims 2-4.
Claims 18-19 are apparatus claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claims 6-7. Therefore, claims 18-19 are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claims 6-7.
Claim 20 is apparatus claim and it does not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim 9. Therefore, claim 20 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 9.
Claims 5, 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al. (US20240214041A1, hereinafter Yuan) in view of Nilsson et al. (US20240396692A1, hereinafter Nilsson), and further in view of ETSI TS 138 331 (ETSI TS 138 331 V15.7.0, hereinafter TS38.331).
For claim 5, Yuan and Nilsson teach the method according to claim 4. The references further teach wherein before determining the power boosting value of each PTRS port, the method further comprises: determining, by the terminal device according to second configuration information, that the power boosting value of each PTRS port is to be determined based on the first power boosting configuration or the second power boosting configuration (Yuan [Para. 0085], the UE may determine a power boosting (PB) for a PTRS port associated with a codeword. A power boosting for a PTRS relative to a PUSCH may be expressed as PB=10·log10(X·Y). Yuan [Para. 0089], a ratio of power used by the UE for a PUSCH and a power used by the UE for a PTRS (ρPTRS PUSCH) may be expressed as ρPTRS PUSCH=−αPTRS,i PUSCH [dB], and values for αPTRS PUSCH are shown in Table 1, where UL-PTRS-power represents a value of a higher-layer PTRS power parameter configured for the UE [Examiner’s Note: Table 1 shows the PTRS power boosting vales computed by PB=10·log10(X·Y). UL-PTRS-power determines the method of computing the PTRS power boosting values. The first power boosting configuration corresponds to the first UL-PTRS-power “00”. The first UL-PTRS-power, “00”, needs to be determined before computing boosting values using formulas in “00”. “00” is the second configuration]), wherein the second configuration information is carried in higher layer signaling (Yuan [Para. 0089], a ratio of power used by the UE for a PUSCH and a power used by the UE for a PTRS (ρPTRS PUSCH) may be expressed as ρPTRS PUSCH=−αPTRS,i PUSCH [dB], and values for αPTRS PUSCH are shown in Table 1, where UL-PTRS-power represents a value of a higher-layer PTRS power parameter configured for the UE [Examiner’s Note: A higher-layer PTRS power parameter configured for the UE indicates UL-PTRS-power is carried in higher layer signal]).
Although Yuan teaches that UL-PTRS-power represents a value of a higher-layer PTRS power parameter configured for the UE indicating that the second configuration is carried in higher layer signaling, TS38.331 more explicitly discloses wherein the second configuration information is carried in higher layer signaling.
TS38.331 teaches wherein the second configuration information is carried in higher layer signaling (Clause 6.3 RRC information elements. [Page 193], The IE PTRS-UplinkConfig is used to configure uplink Phase-Tracking-Reference-Signals (PTRS). PTRS-UplinkConfig ::= {… ptrs-Power} [Examiner’s Note : ptrs-Power is included in IE of RRC message]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yuan and Nilsson, so that PTRS power is carried in RRC information element, as taught by TS38.331. The modification would have implemented Radio Resource Control protocol for the radio interface between UE and NG-RAN (TS38.331 [Page 16 Scope]).
For claim 8, Yuan and Nilsson teach the method according to claim 7. The references further teach wherein the second configuration information is carried in higher layer signaling (Yuan [Para. 0089], PTRS power boosting values are shown in Table 1. UL-PTRS-power represents a value of a higher-layer PTRS power parameter configured for the UE).
Although Yuan teaches that UL-PTRS-power represents a value of a higher-layer PTRS power parameter configured for the UE indicating that the second configuration is carried in higher layer signaling, TS38.331 more explicitly discloses wherein the second configuration information is carried in higher layer signaling.
TS38.331 teaches wherein the second configuration information is carried in higher layer signaling (Clause 6.3 RRC information elements. [Page 193], The IE PTRS-UplinkConfig is used to configure uplink Phase-Tracking-Reference-Signals (PTRS). PTRS-UplinkConfig ::= {… ptrs-Power} [Examiner’s Note : ptrs-Power is included in IE of RRC message]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yuan and Nilsson, so that PTRS power is carried in RRC information element, as taught by TS38.331. The modification would have implemented Radio Resource Control protocol for the radio interface between UE and NG-RAN (TS38.331 [Page 16 Scope]).
Claim 17 is apparatus claim and it does not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim 5. Therefore, claim 17 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 5.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al. (US20240214041A1, hereinafter Yuan) in view of Nilsson et al. (US20240396692A1, hereinafter Nilsson), and further in view of Lee et al. (US20200195404A1, hereinafter Lee).
For claim 11, Yuan and Nilsson teach the method according to claim 10. Although teaching determining power boosting values of PTRS ports, the references do not explicitly disclose further comprising: receiving, by the network device, capability information transmitted by the terminal device, wherein the capability information is used to indicate at least one of: whether the terminal device supports enhanced PTRS power boosting; whether the transmission layers associated with the different indication information support sharing of a transmit power; or
whether a plurality of antenna panels of the terminal device support sharing of a transmit power.
Lee is directed to providing method of transmitting uplink phase tracking reference signal by user equipment in wireless communication system and apparatus supporting same. More specifically, Lee teaches further comprising: receiving, by the network device, capability information transmitted by the terminal device ([Para. 0213], a UE can report UE capability indicating that the UE is able to support Full-coherent, Partial-coherent, or non-coherent to a base station), wherein the capability information is used to indicate at least one of: whether the terminal device supports enhanced PTRS power boosting ([Para. 0296], when the UE reports full-coherence as the UE capability, it means that the UE is able to share power between transmission antennas. Having reported the full-coherent as the UE capability, the UE can perform power boosting based on the resources when the UE transmits a PTRS); whether the transmission layers associated with the different indication information support sharing of a transmit power ([Para. 0285-0289], a transmission layer(s) associated with each UL PT-RS port(s) can be determined : 1> SRS ports #0 and #2 share a PTRS port #0, 2> SRS ports #1 and #3 share a PTRS port #1, 3> UL PTRS port #0 is associated with a UL layer x among layers transmitted via SRS ports #0 and #2, 4> UL PTRS port #1 is associated with a UL layer y among layers transmitted via SRS ports #1 and #3. [Para. 0296], Having reported the full-coherent as the UE capability, the UE can perform power sharing on all SRS resources (ports) and power boosting based on the resources when the UE transmits a PT-RS. [Para. 0308] and [FIG. 18], it is assumed that a UE reports partial-coherent to a base station. The UE and the base station may interpret a codeword (or precoding matrix) described in FIG. 18 as two SRS port groups. Layer #0 and #1 are connected with an SRS port (group) #0 only, and layers #2 and #3 are connected with an SRS port (group) #1 only. Therefore, if a PT-RS port #0 is connected with the layer #0, when the UE transmits the PT-RS via layer #0, the UE is able to borrow power from the layer #1); or whether a plurality of antenna panels of the terminal device support sharing of a transmit power ([Para. 0147], a user equipment (UE) can include two panels. [Para. 0296], when the UE reports full-coherence as the UE capability, it means that the UE is able to share power between transmission antennas. Having reported the full-coherent as the UE capability, the UE can perform power boosting based on the resources when the UE transmits a PTRS [Examiner’s Note: Sharing power among antennas indicates sharing power among the panels of the antennas]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yuan and Nilsson, so that the UE transmits to the base station of the capabilities of supporting PTRS power boosting and power sharing among layers and panels, as taught by Lee. The modification would have enabled the UE to transmit PT-RS by applying a certain level of power boosting while keeping the power constraint for each antenna constant, and the base station to perform more accurate channel estimation using the PT-RS (Lee [Para. 0026]).
For claim 12, Yuan, Nilsson and Lee teach the method according to claim 11. The references further teach further comprising: transmitting, by the network device, second configuration information to the terminal device based on the capability information (Lee [Para. 0187], a UE determines a codebook subset based on the reception of a TPMI (Transmitted Precoding Matrix Indicator) and codebookSubset included in higher layer signaling PUSCH-Config. The codebookSubset can be configured by one selected from the group consisting of ‘fullAndPartialAndNonCoherent’, ‘partialAndNonCoherent’, and ‘nonCoherent’ depending on UE capability indicating a codebook capable of being supported by the UE. The ‘fullAndPartialAndNonCoherent’ indicates that the UE is able to support a full-coherent codebook, a partial-coherent codebook, and a non-coherent codebook. The ‘partialAndNonCoherent’ indicates that the UE is able to support a partial-coherent codebook and a non-coherent codebook. The ‘nonCoherent’ indicates that the UE is able to support a non-coherent codebook only [Examiner’s Note: The value of codebookSubset is the second configuration information that determines the coherence configuration of the UE. codebookSubset is received in higher layer signaling indicating that codebookSubset is transmitted by the base station]), wherein the second configuration information is used to configure the terminal device to determine the power boosting value of each PTRS port based on the number of the target transmission layer(s) (Lee [Para. 0187], a UE determines a codebook subset based on the reception of a TPMI (Transmitted Precoding Matrix Indicator) and codebookSubset included in higher layer signaling PUSCH-Config [Examiner’s Note: UE receives codebookSubset (e.g. partialAndNonCoherent) and determines its codebook subset (e.g. not full coherent configuration)]. Lee [Para. 0222, 0225 and 0226] and [FIG. 10], in full-coherent precoding matrix configuration, PT-RS power boosting is 10×log10(X) where X is the number of (PUSCH) layers configured in association with a single PT-RS port. Lee [Para. 0230, 0237-0240] and [FIG. 11], in partial-coherent precoding matrix configuration of rank 1, 2, or 3, PT-RS power boosting is 10×log10(Y) where Y is the number of PTRS ports. When in partial-coherent precoding matrix configuration of rank is 4, PT-RS power boosting is 10×log10(YZ) where Z is the number of PUSCH layers sharing the same UL PT-RS port [Examiner’s Note: The coherent configuration determined by the UE based on the received codebookSubset value in turn determines the number of layers used in calculating power boosting values. For example, in partial coherent configuration, the number layers used in calculating power boosting value is 1 or the actual number of layers depending upon the rank. In full coherent configuration, power boosting value is 10×log10(X). It is obvious to combine the second configuration information based on UE capability in Lee with the configuration information that Yuan teaches so that the coherence configuration is based on the capability that the UE reports]), or configure the terminal device to determine the power boosting value of each PTRS port based on the number of the target transmission layer(s), a MIMO transmission mode and a code coherent configuration mode.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yuan and Nilsson, so that the base station transmits the configuration information, codebookSubset, to the UE based on the capability that UE reports for the UE to use to determine power boosting values, as taught by Lee. The modification would have enabled the UE to transmit PT-RS by applying a certain level of power boosting while keeping the power constraint for each antenna constant, and the base station to perform more accurate channel estimation using the PT-RS (Lee [Para. 0026]).
Conclusion
/S.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417