DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 9-10, the recitations of “one or more louvers” are unclear, as it is unclear if these are the same as, or different from the previously defined “louvers” of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 14-16, 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki (JP2003042677A) in view of Wölk (US7147047B2).
Regarding claim 1, Sasaki discloses a fin device (see Fig. 4-5 or 6-8) configured to be used within a heat exchanger for transferring heat energy, comprising: a first elongated strip (corrugated part 11) of material, and a second elongated strip of material (corrugated part 13), the first and second elongated strips of material extend in parallel to each other, and are disposed adjacent to each other, wherein a longitudinal axis (see axis from left to right, corresponding to line with theta in Fig. 4) extends parallel to both the first elongated strip of material and the second elongated strip of material; the first elongated strip of material comprises a plurality of rise portions (see respective rise portions of wave shape) and a plurality of fall portions (see respective fall portions of wave shape), that are disposed in alternating fashion with a trailing portion of a respective rise portion extending to a leading portion of a first adjacent fall portion to establish a first transition (respective flat wave portion 15), and a trailing portion of the first adjacent fall portion extending to a leading portion of a second rise portion to establish a second transition (respective flat wave portion 15); the second elongated strip of material comprises a plurality of rise portions and a plurality of fall portions, that are disposed in alternating fashion with a trailing portion of a respective rise portion extending to a leading portion of a first adjacent fall portion to establish a third transition (respective flat wave portion 15), and a trailing portion of the first adjacent fall portion extending to a leading portion of a second rise portion to establish a fourth transition (respective flat wave portion 15), wherein the respective rise portions of the first and second elongated strips are aligned in a staggered fashion (see offset in Fig. 4-5/6-8); a first bridge portion (connecting portions 21a) that extends from the first transition of the first elongated strip to a neighboring third transition of the second elongated strip; and a space (see space therebetween) between the first and second elongated strips of metal that extends between adjacent inner edges of the first and second elongated strips at positions other than where the first bridge portion extends; and wherein the first bridge portion (connecting portions 21a) forms a continuous connection between the first elongated strip of material and the second elongated strip of material.
Sasaki does not teach wherein the plurality of rise portions and the plurality of fall portions further comprise a plurality of longitudinal cuts configured to form louvers.
Wölk teaches (see Fig. 3) the plurality of rise portions and the plurality of fall portions (fin portions 4b) further comprise a plurality of longitudinal cuts (see cuts forming gills 7) configured to form louvers (gills 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sasaki to include the gills of Wölk, in order to improve heat transfer (Col. 2, lines 10-20).
Regarding claim 2, Sasaki discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Sasaki further discloses
a second bridge portion (21b) that extends from the second transition of the first elongated strip to a neighboring fourth transition of the second elongated strip.
Regarding claim 3, Sasaki discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Sasaki further discloses
the bridge portion (21a) extends from the first transition of the first elongated strip to a closest neighboring third transition of the second elongated strip.
Regarding claim 4, Sasaki discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Sasaki further discloses
the second bridge portion (21b) extends from the second transition of the first elongated strip to a closest neighboring fourth transition of the second elongated strip.
Regarding claim 5, Sasaki discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Sasaki further discloses a bridge portion (21a) extends between adjacent first and third transitions, and a second bridge portion (21b) extends between adjacent second and fourth transitions along the first and second elongated strips.
Regarding claim 6, Sasaki discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Sasaki further discloses the bridge portion and the second bridge portion each extend at an acute angle with respect to the longitudinal axis (theta, 30 degrees, Page 4).
Regarding claim 7, Sasaki discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Sasaki further discloses the acute angle is between about 20 and 50 degrees with respect to the longitudinal axis (theta, 30 degrees, Page 4).
Regarding claim 8, Sasaki teaches the limitations of claim 7, and Sasaki further discloses the acute angle is between about 22.5 to about 30 degrees with respect to the longitudinal axis (theta, 30 degrees, Page 4).
Regarding claims 9-10, Sasaki teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Sasaki does not teach wherein each of the plurality of rise portions and the plurality of fall portions of the first elongated strip comprise one or more louvers formed therein, wherein each of the one or more louvers extend perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, wherein each of the plurality of rise portions and the plurality of fall portions of the second elongated strip comprise one or more louvers formed therein, wherein each of the one or more louvers extend perpendicular to the longitudinal axis.
Wölk teaches (see Fig. 3) wherein each of the plurality of rise portions and the plurality of fall portions (fin portions 4b) of the first elongated strip comprise one or more louvers (gills 7) formed therein, wherein each of the one or more louvers extend perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, wherein each of the plurality of rise portions and the plurality of fall portions (fin portions 4b) of the second elongated strip comprise one or more louvers (gills 7) formed therein, wherein each of the one or more louvers extend perpendicular to the longitudinal axis.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sasaki to include the gills of Wölk, in order to improve heat transfer (Col. 2, lines 10-20).
Regarding claim 14, Sasaki discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Sasaki further discloses a portion of the plurality of rise portions and fall portions away from the first and second transitions are substantially planar, and a portion of the plurality of rise portions and fall portions of the second elongated strip of material away from the third and fourth transitions are substantially planar (see substantially planar rise and fall portions of 11/13).
Regarding claim 15, Sasaki discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Sasaki further discloses the first bridge portion (21a) is formed with two parallel sides between the first and third transitions.
Regarding claim 16, Sasaki discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Sasaki further discloses the second bridge portion (21b) is formed with two parallel sides between the second and fourth transitions.
Regarding claim 19, Sasaki discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Sasaki further discloses wherein portions of the first and second elongate strips of material are separated by elongate cuts (cutting portions 23 forming each connecting portion 21), wherein each elongate cut includes a center portion that extends along the longitudinal axis, and each elongate cut includes a front portion that extends from a front end of the center portion at the acute angle toward the second elongate portion, and each elongate cut includes a rear portion that extends from a rear end of the center portion at the acute angle toward the first elongate portion.
Regarding claim 20, Sasaki discloses the limitations of claim 19, and Sasaki further discloses at least a majority of the rear portion of a first elongate cut of the plurality of elongate cuts is horizontally aligned with at least a majority of the front portion of the adjacent second elongate cut that is rearward of the first elongate cut, wherein the horizontally aligned front portion of the second elongate cut and the rear portion of the first elongate cut establishes one of the plurality of bridges (21a/21b).
Regarding claim 21, Sasaki discloses a fin device (see Fig. 4-5 or 6-8) configured to be used within a heat exchanger for transferring heat energy, comprising: a first elongated strip (corrugated part 11) of material, and a second elongated strip of material (corrugated part 13), the first and second elongated strips of material extend in parallel to each other, and are disposed adjacent to each other, wherein a longitudinal axis (see axis from left to right, corresponding to line with theta in Fig. 4) extends parallel to both the first elongated strip of material and the second elongated strip of material; the first elongated strip of material comprises a plurality of rise portions (see respective rise portions of wave shape) and a plurality of fall portions (see respective fall portions of wave shape), that are disposed in alternating fashion with a trailing portion of a respective rise portion extending to a leading portion of a first adjacent fall portion to establish a first transition (respective flat wave portion 15), and a trailing portion of the first adjacent fall portion extending to a leading portion of a second rise portion to establish a second transition (respective flat wave portion 15) wherein the first elongated strip comprises a plurality of spaced first transitions and a plurality of spaced second transitions; wherein the longitudinal axis is spaced evenly between an outer edge of the first elongate strip and an outer edge of the second elongate strip; the second elongated strip of material comprises a plurality of rise portions and a plurality of fall portions, that are disposed in alternating fashion with a trailing portion of a respective rise portion extending to a leading portion of a first adjacent fall portion to establish a third transition (respective flat wave portion 15), and a trailing portion of the first adjacent fall portion extending to a leading portion of a second rise portion to establish a fourth transition (respective flat wave portion 15), wherein the respective rise portions of the first and second elongated strips are aligned in a staggered fashion (see offset in Fig. 4-5/6-8); such that the second elongate strip comprises a plurality of spaced third transitions and plurality of spaced fourth transitions; a first bridge portion (21a) that extends from a first of the first plurality of first transitions of the first elongated strip to a neighboring first of the plurality of fourth transitions of the second elongated strip, and a second bridge portion (21b) that extends from the fourth transition of the second elongated strip to a neighboring second of the first plurality of transitions of the first elongated strip that is disposed adjacent to and rearwardly of the neighboring first of the first plurality of transitions, and a space (see space therebetween) between the first and second elongated strips of metal that extends between adjacent inner edges of the first and second elongated strips at positions other than where the bridge portion extends; and wherein the first bridge portion (connecting portions 21a) forms a continuous connection between the first elongated strip of material and the second elongated strip of material.
Sasaki does not teach wherein the plurality of rise portions and the plurality of fall portions further comprise a plurality of longitudinal cuts configured to form louvers.
Wölk teaches (see Fig. 3) the plurality of rise portions and the plurality of fall portions (fin portions 4b) further comprise a plurality of longitudinal cuts (see cuts forming gills 7) configured to form louvers (gills 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sasaki to include the gills of Wölk, in order to improve heat transfer (Col. 2, lines 10-20).
Regarding claim 22, Sasaki discloses the limitations of claim 21, and Sasaki further discloses comprising a third bridge portion (21) that extends from the second of the first transitions of the first elongated strip and to a second of the plurality of fourth transitions within the second elongated strip, with the second of the fourth transitions disposed rearwardly of the first of the fourth transitions along the second elongate strip.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki (JP2003042677A) in view of Wölk (US7147047B2) and Kawamura (WO2021002474A1).
Regarding claims 11-12, Sasaki teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Sasaki does not teach the adjacent first transitions within the first elongated strip are disposed at a first distance apart from each other along the longitudinal axis, and wherein the adjacent second transitions are disposed at the first distance apart from each other, wherein a second distance measured in parallel to the longitudinal axis between a first transition and an adjacent third transition is between about 10% to 30% of the first distance, wherein a distance from the first transition to the second transition is about half of the first distance along the longitudinal axis.
Kawamura teaches (see Fig. 1) the adjacent first transitions within the first elongated strip are disposed at a first distance apart from each other along the longitudinal axis, and wherein the adjacent second transitions are disposed at the first distance apart from each other, wherein a second distance measured in parallel to the longitudinal axis between a first transition and an adjacent third transition is between about 10% to 30% of the first distance (see Pf and offset, defined by Pf/4, or 25%), wherein a distance from the first transition to the second transition is about half of the first distance along the longitudinal axis.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified to include the distances of Kawamura, as it has been held obvious to try when choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (see MPEP 2143).
Claim(s) 17-18 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki (JP2003042677A) in view of Wölk (US7147047B2) and Fukuda (WO9930098A1).
Regarding claim 17, Sasaki teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Sasaki does not teach wherein a bridge extends from the first transition of the first elongated strip to the closest neighboring third transition of the second elongated strip, wherein the first and the second elongated strips are arranged such that a bridge extends from every other first transition to a neighboring every other third transition.
Fukuda teaches wherein a bridge extends from the first transition of the first elongated strip to the closest neighboring third transition of the second elongated strip, wherein the first and the second elongated strips are arranged such that a bridge extends from every other first transition to a neighboring every other third transition, and the adjacent first and third transitions to the every other first and third transitions do not have a bridge that connects them (see alternating connecting portions 63, Fig. 7b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sasaki to include every other transitions do not have bridges as taught by Fukuda, in order to reduce weight while maintaining strength (Page 5).
Regarding claim 18, Sasaki teaches the limitations of claim 17, and Fukuda further teaches a second bridge portion that extends from the second transition of the first elongated strip to a closest neighboring fourth transition of the second elongated strip, wherein the first and second elongated strips are arranged such that a second bridge extends from every other second transition to a neighboring fourth transitions (see alternating connecting portions 63, Fig. 7b).
Regarding claim 23, Sasaki teaches the limitations of claim 21, and Sasaki does not teach the plurality of second transitions within the first elongate strip and the plurality of third transitions within the second elongate strip do not connect with any of the first, second, or third bridge portions.
Fukuda teaches the plurality of second transitions within the first elongate strip and the plurality of third transitions within the second elongate strip do not connect with any bridge portions (see Fig. 7a/7c).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sasaki to include the bridge configuration as taught by Fukuda, in order to reduce weight while maintaining strength (Page 5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the newly added limitations, Examiner contends, as detailed above, the limitations are taught by Sasaki in view of Wölk.
Regarding Kawamura, Applicant argues the reference is non-analogous.
In response to applicant's argument that Kawamura is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of applicant’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. As Kawamura is directed to a fin device configured to be used within a heat exchanger for transferring thermal energy, it meets both prongs. It is noted Applicant has provided no reasoning or analysis to support this position.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC S RUPPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763