DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the base film must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim(s) 1-10. No new matter should be entered. Moreover, the supplying current must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim 2. In addition, “a section where intervals of light emitting devices are different” must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim 5. Furthermore, the “external power source” must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim 8. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 recites the limitation " the base film" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For purposes of a prompt examination the examiner reads this claim 1 as the following:
A light emitting module comprising: a light transmissive layer transmitting light; and a film disposed on at least a surface of the light transmissive layer, an electrode layer disposed on the film; and a plurality of light emitting devices disposed on the film and electrically connected to the electrode layer, where in the electrode layer cover 50% or less of an extent of the [[
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation " the base film" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation " the low transmittance layer" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as based on a disclosure which is not enabling. The disclosure does not enable one of ordinary skill in the art to practice the invention without a section where intervals of light emitting devices are different, which is/are critical or essential to the practice of the invention but not included in the claim(s). See In re Mayhew, 527 F.2d 1229, 188 USPQ 356 (CCPA 1976). Drawings as filed do not show a section where intervals of light emitting devices are different
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as based on a disclosure which is not enabling. The disclosure does not enable one of ordinary skill in the art to practice the invention without an external power source, which is critical or essential to the practice of the invention but not included in the claim(s). See In re Mayhew, 527 F.2d 1229, 188 USPQ 356 (CCPA 1976). Drawings as filed do not show any external power sources.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(1) as being anticipated by Takahashi et al., US 2022/0130925 (corresponding to US 12,245,615).
In re Claim 11, Takahashi discloses a light emitting module 10 (Fig. 2) comprising: a film (1, 2, 3, 4, 5) comprising a base film 3, an electrode (2R, 2G, 2B) disposed on the base film 3, and a plurality of light emitting devices (10R, 10G, 10B) disposed on the electrode (2R, 2G, 2B), wherein the base film 3 has light transmittance and the light emitting module 100 is configured to display at least one shape, character, emoticon, or picture through the plurality of light emitting devices (Figs. 1- 12; [0003 – 0054]).
In re Claim 12, Takahashi discloses the light emitting module according to claim 11, wherein the base film 3 has flexibility ([0038-0040]).
In re Claim 13, Takahashi discloses the light emitting module according to claim 11, further comprising: at least one light transmissive layer 6, wherein the film (1, 2, 3, 4, 5) is disposed on at least a (lower) surface of the light transmissive layer 6 (Fig. 2).
In re Claim 14, Takahashi discloses the light emitting module according to claim 11, further comprising: a molding layer 8 formed on the plurality of light emitting devices (10R, 10G, 10B) (Fig. 2).
In re Claim 15, Takahashi discloses a light emitting system 100 (Fig. 2) comprising a light emitting module, the light emitting module comprising: a film (1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6) comprising a base film 3, an electrode (2R, 2G, 2B) disposed on the base film 3, and a plurality of light emitting devices (10R, 10G, 10B) disposed on the electrode (2R, 2G, 2B), wherein the base film 3 has light transmittance and the light emitting module 100 displays at least one shape, character, emoticon, or picture through the plurality of light emitting devices (10R, 10G, 10B) (Figs. 1- 12; [0003 – 0054]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al., US 2022/0130925 (corresponding to US 12,245,615).
In re Claim 1, Takahashi discloses a light emitting module 100 (Fig. 2) comprising: a light transmissive layer (3, 6) transmitting light; and a film 4 disposed on at least a surface of the light transmissive layer (3, 6) , an electrode layer (2R, 2G, 2B) disposed on the film 4; and a plurality of light emitting devices (10R, 10G, 10B) disposed on the film 4 and electrically connected to the electrode layer (2R, 2G, 2B) (Figs. 1- 12; [0003 – 0054]). Takahashi does not specify that the electrode layer (2R, 2G, 2B) cover 50% or less of an extent of the [[
The difference between the Applicant’s Claim 1 and Takahashi’s reference id in the specified ratio of the area covered by the electrode layer (2R, 2G, 2B) and the film 4.
It is known in the art that the area covered by the electrode layer is a result effective variable – because a mass of the electrode layer depends on it. Due to high level of knowledge and skills of personal capable to operate very sophisticated and expensive equipment in semiconductor technology, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice of one of ordinary skill in the semiconductor art to use the electrode layer that covers 50% or less of an extent of the [[In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984) (MPEP2144.04.IV.A).
In re Claim 3, Takahashi discloses the light emitting module according to claim 1, wherein the light transmissive layer (3, 6) is formed in a double structure and the film 4 is disposed between two light transmissive layers (3, 6) (10R, 10G, 10B)
In re Claim 4, Takahashi discloses the light emitting module according to claim 1, wherein the light emitting devices (10R, 10G, 10B) are disposed at regular intervals (10R, 10G, 10B)
In re Claim 6, Takahashi discloses the light emitting module according to claim 1, wherein the film 4 and the light transmissive layer (3, 6) differ from each other in terms of at least one of an index of refraction, gloss, thermal conductivity, and electrical conductivity (Figs. 1- 12; [0003 – 0054]).
In re Claim 7, Takahashi discloses all limitations of Claim 7 except for that the film 4 has a light transmittance of 50% or more. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the film 4 has a light transmittance of 50% or more since it was known in the art that it decreases undesirable light loses. (MPEP2144.I.)
In re Claim 9, Takahashi discloses the light emitting module according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of light emitting devices (10R, 10G, 10B) is individually operated or is configured to be divided into individually operated different regions (Figs. 1- 12; [0003 – 0054]).
In re Claim 10, Takahashi discloses the light emitting module according to claim 1, wherein a distance between the adjacent light emitting devices (10R, 10G, 10B) of plurality of light emitting devices (10R, 10G, 10B) is greater than a length or a width of each of the respective adjacent light emitting devices (10R, 10G, 10B) (Figs. 2, 8, 9-12).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kwon at al., US 2023/0214034 (corresponding to US 11,720,196).
In re Claim 2, Takahashi discloses all limitations of Claim 2 except for that an electrode 5 (Fig. 2) formed as a mesh-shaped thin plate.
Kwon teaches a light emitting module (Figs. 1 and 2) wherein electrode 151 formed as a mesh-shaped thin plate (Figs, 1-2, [0077-0085]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to substitute of Takahashi’s electrode by Kwon’s electrode formed as a mesh-shaped thin plate, to provide a display device in which a light extraction efficiency is improved and a visibility is improved, as taught by Kwon ([0009]).
Claims 16 - 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi as applied to claim 15 above.
In re Claim 16, Takahashi discloses all limitations of Claim 16 except for that at least a surface of the light emitting system 100 has a light transmittance of 50% or more. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the film 4 has a light transmittance of 50% or more since it was known in the art that it decreases undesirable light loses. (MPEP2144.I.)
In re Claim 17, the phrase “at least a surface of the film adjoins a glass for automobiles” merely represents an intended use or a manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed and does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus of Takahashi. See MPEP 2114. II. MANNER OF OPERATING THE DEVICE DOES NOT DIFFERENTIATE APPARATUS CLAIM FROM THE PRIOR ART. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
In re Claim 18, the phrase “at least two or more of the plurality of light emitting devices is operated to function as an emergency lamp or a brake lamp of an automobile” merely represents an intended use or a manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed and does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus of Takahashi. See MPEP 2114. II. MANNER OF OPERATING THE DEVICE DOES NOT DIFFERENTIATE APPARATUS CLAIM FROM THE PRIOR ART. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
In re Claim 19, the phrase “a region of the light emitting module functioning as an emergency lamp of an automobile and a region of the light emitting module functioning as a brake lamp of the automobile” merely represents an intended use or a manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed and does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus of Takahashi. See MPEP 2114. II. MANNER OF OPERATING THE DEVICE DOES NOT DIFFERENTIATE APPARATUS CLAIM FROM THE PRIOR ART. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Conclusion
/NIKOLAY K YUSHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893