DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim (s) 17 and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (CN 107104293 B) hereinafter Huang.
Regarding claim 17, Huang discloses a superconducting insert for a superconducting cable joint (Fig.1) , the superconducting insert comprising:(a) a first superconducting layer (see layer of 12) having first and second opposing surfaces (top and bottom surfaces of 12); (b) at least one conductive layer (see 211) disposed over the second one of the first and second opposing surfaces of the first superconducting layer (see 211 disposed on bottom surface of 12); and (c) a second superconducting layer (12) disposed over the at least one conductive layer (see 12 disposed on bottom surface of 211).
Regarding claim 20, Huang discloses, in Fig.1, a method for providing a superconducting insert, the method comprising:(a) providing a first normal conductive layer (211;Fig.1) having a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface (see top and bottom surface of 211); (b) disposing a first superconducting layer (bottom 12) below the first surface of the first normal conductive layer (211); and (c) disposing a second superconducting layer (top 12) over the second surface of the first normal conductive layer (top surface of 12).
Regarding claim 21, Huang discloses, in Fig.1, wherein the first normal conductive layer (see 211) is c-shaped (see C chape of 211).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim (s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Baldwin et al. (US 2007/0075811 A1) hereinafter Baldwin.
Regarding claim 18, Huang is silent with respect to wherein the first and second superconducting layers comprise a high temperature superconducting (HTS) tape.
Baldwin discloses a superconducting layer comprise a high temperature superconducting (HTS) tape (14;Fig.1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use the teachings of Baldwin to modify the conductor layers of Huang in order to perform circuit operations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-16 are allowed over prior art of record.
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claims 2-16, The prior art of record neither anticipates norrenders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole eithertaken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach" a first mounting surface configured to accept a first superconducting cable; a second mounting surface configured to accept a second superconducting cable; and a cavity between the first and second mounting surfaces; and (b) an insert disposed in the cavity, wherein the insert comprises a plurality of elements stacked together " in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim 2.
Regarding claim 19, The prior art of record neither anticipates norrenders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole eithertaken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teacha plurality of conductive layers interleaved with a plurality of superconducting layers between the first and second superconducting layers" in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim 17.
Therefore, prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the instantapplication claimed invention as a whole either taken alone or in combination.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PETE LEE whose telephone number is (571) 270-5921. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday (2nd & 4th Friday Off). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Timothy Dole can be reached at (571) 272-2229 The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/PETE T LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847