DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,054,134. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
All limitations of claim 1 of the instant application are found in claim 1 of US Pat No 12,054,134.
All limitations of claim 2 of the instant application are found in claim 2 of US Pat No 12,054,134.
All limitations of claim 3 of the instant application are found in claim 3 of US Pat No 12,054,134.
All limitations of claim 4 of the instant application are found in claim 4 of US Pat No 12,054,134.
All limitations of claim 5 of the instant application are found in claim 5 of US Pat No 12,054,134.
All limitations of claim 6 of the instant application are found in claim 6 of US Pat No 12,054,134.
All limitations of claim 7 of the instant application are found in claim 7 of US Pat No 12,054,134.
All limitations of claim 8 of the instant application are found in claim 8 of US Pat No 12,054,134.
All limitations of claim 9 of the instant application are found in claim 9 of US Pat No 12,054,134.
All limitations of claim 10 of the instant application are found in claim 10 of US Pat No 12,054,134.
All limitations of claim 11 of the instant application are found in claim 11 of US Pat No 12,054,134.
All limitations of claim 12 of the instant application are found in claim 12 of US Pat No 12,054,134.
All limitations of claim 13 of the instant application are found in claim 13 of US Pat No 12,054,134.
All limitations of claim 14 of the instant application are found in claim 14 of US Pat No 12,054,134.
All limitations of claim 15 of the instant application are found in claims 1 and 15 of US Pat No 12,054,134.
All limitations of claim 16 of the instant application are found in claim 1 of US Pat No 12,054,134.
All limitations of claim 17 of the instant application are found in claim 16 of US Pat No 12,054,134.
All limitations of claim 18 of the instant application are found in claim 17 of US Pat No 12,054,134.
All limitations of claim 19 of the instant application are found in claim 18 of US Pat No 12,054,134.
All limitations of claim 20 of the instant application are found in claim 19 of US Pat No 12,054,134.
All limitations of claim 21 of the instant application are found in claim 20 of US Pat No 12,054,134.
All limitations of claim 22 of the instant application are found in claim 21 of US Pat No 12,054,134.
All limitations of claim 23 of the instant application are found in claim 22 of US Pat No 12,054,134.
All limitations of claim 24 of the instant application are found in claim 23 of US Pat No 12,054,134.
All limitations of claim 25 of the instant application are found in claim 24 of US Pat No 12,054,134.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lange, III et al. (US Pub No 2019/0111899).
In regard to claim 22, Lange discloses a brake controller for a towed vehicle braking system (see the Abstract), wherein the towed vehicle has combined brake and turn lights activated by combined light signals from a towing vehicle (for example, see the Abstract and Paragraphs 0005 and 0036), said brake controller configured to generate a braking control signal to the towed vehicle braking system (for example, see Paragraph 0050), the brake controller including:
a module (36, Fig 3) having an inertial sensor (accelerometer IC2, see Fig 4) including plural sensor axes for generating sensor data associated with each sensor axis (being a 3-axis accelerometer, see Paragraph 0028) and a processor (IC1, see Paragraph 0047) for processing said sensor data to estimate a deceleration of the towing vehicle (for example, see Paragraph 0049: "outputs power to the trailer brakes proportionally based on the output from the accelerometer IC2"); and
a loom (see the wires comprising pins 44, especially in Fig 1) including at least one input connector (input plug 30) for electrical connection to a towing vehicle (Paragraph 0022: "input plug 30 enables the brake controller 10 to be readily plugged into a towing vehicle 12") at one end of the loom and an output connector (output plug 24) for electrical connection to a towed vehicle (Paragraph 0022: "output plug 24, substantially identical to the output plug of the towing vehicle 12, enables the trailer wiring plug (not shown) to plug in to the brake controller 10") at an opposed end of the loom (see Figs 3 and 4 and Paragraph 0022: "brake controller housing 20 generally defines a direction that it runs between the towing vehicle 12 and the towed load, with the input plug 30 facing the opposite direction as the output 24 "),
wherein the brake controller is electrically connected to the towing vehicle via the input connector and to the towed vehicle via the output connector (see Paragraph 0022: "An input plug 30 enables the brake controller 10 to be readily plugged into a towing vehicle 12 using the output plug of the towing vehicle 12 as known in the art. An output plug 24, substantially identical to the output plug of the towing vehicle 12, enables the trailer wiring plug (not shown) to plug in to the brake controller 10. "), and
wherein the output connector (24) includes an output socket (the opening best
seen in Fig 2) adapted to receive a plug from an adapter which then receives a plug from the towed vehicle (Paragraph 0022: "output plug 24, substantially identical to the output plug of the towing vehicle 12, enables the trailer wiring plug (not shown) to plug in to the brake controller 10", the physical body of the trailer wiring plug considered to be generally "an adapter" that allows for the electrical components to interface),
whereby the brake controller is configured to generate and output the braking control signal to control activation of brakes of the towed vehicle braking system based on the deceleration of the towing vehicle estimated by the processor (Paragraph 0049: "outputs power to the trailer brakes proportionally based on the output from the accelerometer IC2") and a brake light signal determined by the processor from received combined light signals from the towing vehicle via the input connector (for example, see Paragraphs 0033 and 0036, and claim 8).
In regard to claim 23, Lange discloses the controller of claim 22, wherein the processor (IC1) and the inertial sensor (IC2) are implemented on a Printed Circuit Board (PCB) (38, see Paragraph 0030 and Fig 4) of the module (36, see Figs 3-4 and 10-15), and wherein wire ends of the loom connect electrically to the PCB (see Figs 4 and 14 and Paragraph 0032) and are encapsulated separately to the enclosure containing the PCB (the outward ends of the wires where they connect to 24 and 30 being sealed outside of module 36, see Paragraph 0032: "When potted as shown in FIG. 15, the wires 42 stick out one side, the external antenna 61 sticks out the other side, and the LED light pipe 66 sticks out the top of the potted electronics module 36. By encapsulating the entire electronics module 36, resins can form a complete barrier against such environments offering superior performance under extreme conditions.).
In regard to claim 24, Lange discloses the controller of claim 23, wherein the module and at least part of the wires of the loom that terminate at the PCB are over-moulded or potted, thereby providing insulation and mechanical support to the module (see Figs 14-15 and Paragraph 0032: "When potted as shown in FIG. 15, the wires 42 stick out one side, the external antenna 61 sticks out the other side, and the LED light pipe 66 sticks out the top of the potted electronics module 36. By encapsulating the entire electronics module 36, resins can form a complete barrier against such environments offering superior performance under extreme conditions.").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 10, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cekola et al. (US Pub No 2018/0079375) in view of Smith (US Pub No 2010/0152989).
In regard to claim 1,
Cekola discloses a brake controller for a towed vehicle braking system (see the Abstract), wherein the towed vehicle has combined brake and turn lights activated by combined light signals from a towing vehicle (see Abstract: "The towed vehicle controller operates towed vehicle braking, towed vehicle lighting and towed vehicle battery charge functions."; also see Paragraphs 0035 and 0036), said brake controller configured to generate a braking control signal to the towed vehicle braking system (Paragraph 0009: "operatively and selectively generates a signal to induce braking in a towed vehicle's brakes"), the brake controller including:
a processor (150, Fig 2) for processing said sensor data to estimate a deceleration of the towing vehicle (see Paragraphs 0027 and 0028; also see Paragraph 0046); and
a housing (104, Fig 1) including an input connector (the interface of "CAN H" and "VBA TT" from 112 at the "Connection Component" 106 in Fig 1) for electrical connection to a towing vehicle (see Paragraph 0025: "the connection component 106 may operatively couple the towed vehicle controller 102 with a CAN 140 of the towing vehicle") and an output connector for electrical connection to a towed vehicle (the interface at the "Connection Component" 106 to "TBC OUTPUT" and to lighting elements 116; also see Paragraph 0025),
wherein the housing is adapted to be mounted to the towing vehicle (Paragraph 0022: "The towed vehicle controller may be an original equipment manufactured (OEM) unit that is installed in the towing vehicle at the factory. Alternatively or additionally, the towed vehicle controller may be incorporated into the towing vehicle as an after-market component."),
wherein the brake controller is electrically connected to the towing vehicle via the input connector and to the towed vehicle via the output connector (via the connections of the "Connection Component" 106, see Paragraph 0025), and
wherein the output connector includes an output socket adapted to receive a plug from the towed vehicle ("serial port", see Paragraph 0025),
whereby the brake controller is configured to generate and output the braking control signal to control activation of brakes of the towed vehicle braking system based on a brake light signal determined by the processor from received combined light signals from the towing vehicle via the input connector (Paragraph 0021: "the towed vehicle controller may generate the output signal to the trailer brakes and generate a signal to the brake lights of the trailer to induce activation of the brake lights and brakes of the towed vehicle").
As to features not positively disclosed by Cekola:
As discussed above, Cekola discloses a processor (150) for processing braking data (see Paragraphs 0027 and 0028, especially: "Processor 150 may facilitate operation of the computer executable instructions. In an aspect, the instructions may control charging of the towed vehicle battery 118, brake application of the trailer brakes 114, lighting of the trailer lights 116, and/or user interface devices.")
Additionally, Cekola teaches that an inertial sensor may be used to supply additional data to the processor to be used in determining braking output (see Paragraph 0039 (emphasis added): "As an example, the trailer brake controller component 210 can receive and send signals relating to wheel speeds of the towing (e.g., via the CAN 140) and/or towed vehicle, forces measured by sensors (e.g., accelerometers, gyroscopes, etc.), vehicle state information from ABS, brake-on-off, etc. The trailer brake controller component 210 can also receive signals from the brake pressure transducer (BPT) of the towing vehicle, and can also receive a power signal. In an aspect, the processor 150 may operatively receive the input(s) and generate a brake control output.")
However, Cekola does not positively disclose that such a sensor definitely includes plural sensor axes for generating sensor data associated with each sensor axis or is housed within the housing, or that the processor definitely processes said sensor data to estimate a deceleration of the towing vehicle to send a signal based on the deceleration of the towing vehicle estimated by the processor.
Such features are known in the art, however.
Smith discloses a similar device (brake controller, see the Abstract); and further teaches an inertial sensor includes plural sensor axes for generating sensor data associated with each sensor axis (Paragraph 0059: "any appropriate type of accelerometer, such as an Analog Devices. TM. ADXL213AE accelerometer, a low-cost +/-1.2 g dual axis accelerometer, or any other suitable single, dual or three-axis accelerometer").
Further, Smith teaches that such a sensor can be used to send data to a processor to allow for determining "the towing vehicle's rate of deceleration and then apply the trailer brakes to match" and delivering power to the brakes "in direct relationship to the actual physical deceleration of the towing vehicle" (Paragraph 0059).
In view of the above, as Cekola explicitly teaches that an inertial sensor may be used along with the processor to generate braking data, and as Smith discloses such a multi-axis inertial sensor to be used specifically with a processor of a brake controller to allow for matching the braking of the towed element to the towing element, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to configure the controller of Cekola with such a sensor having the features taught by Smith installed with the processor (i.e. included in the electronics housing) to allow for more precise braking as taught by Smith.
In regard to claim 2,
Cekola modified supra discloses the controller of claim 1.
Cekola does not positively disclose wherein the output socket is further adapted to receive an output adapter that is adapted to receive a further plug from the towed vehicle.
Cekola does teach in general that various electrical connectors or ports can be used between the brake controller and the towed vehicle (for example, see Paragraph 0025).
Examiner takes Official Notice that it is very well known in the art to utilize plugs as electrical connectors and that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art the time the invention was made to configure the controller of Cekola thus.
In regard to claim 3,
Cekola modified supra discloses the controller of claim 1, wherein there is a first and second connection between the controller and the towed vehicle ("TBC Output" and the multi-light connection to 116, see Fig 1).
Cekola does not positively disclose wherein plugs are utilized; however, similarly as set forth above, Examiner takes Official Notice that it is very well known in the art to utilize plugs as electrical connectors and that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art the time the invention was made to configure the controller of Cekola thus.
In regard to claim 4,
Cekola modified supra discloses the controller of claim 1, wherein the input connector (from "CAN H" and "VBATT" from 112 via the connections of the "Connection Component" 106, see Paragraph 0025) wherein the housing is mounted to the towing vehicle (Paragraph 0022).
Cekola does not positively disclose wherein the input connector includes an input plug adapted to be received by a towed vehicle connection socket on the towing vehicle.
However, similarly as set forth above, Examiner takes Official Notice that it is very well known in the art to utilize plugs as electrical connectors and that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art the time the invention was made to configure the controller of Cekola thus.
In regard to claim 5, Cekola modified supra discloses the controller of claim 1, wherein the housing (104) and the output socket (the interface at the "Connection Component" 106 to "TBC OUTPUT" and to lighting elements 116; also see Paragraph 0025 wherein it is described as a port) form a towed vehicle connection socket on the towing vehicle (see Paragraph 0022: "The towed vehicle controller may be an original equipment manufactured (OEM) unit that is installed in the towing vehicle at the factory. Alternatively or additionally, the towed vehicle controller may be incorporated into the towing vehicle as an after-market component.").
In regard to claim 6, Cekola modified supra discloses the controller of claim 1, wherein an input socket (the "serial port", Paragraph 0025, connection at "CAN H" and "CAN L" of 106) is further adapted to receive an input adapter that is adapted to be received by a further socket (any of the plurality of connection points (considered to be generally "sockets") feeding into 114, 118, or 116) on the towed vehicle (any connection considered to be generally "an adapter" as broadly claimed as it allows two things to be adapted or connected to each other).
In regard to claim 10, Cekola modified supra discloses the controller of claim 1, wherein the brake controller further includes power electronics (including, at least, Transceiver 158, Voltage Regulator 216, Circuitry 218), in communication with the processor (see Fig 1), configured to output the braking control signal to control activation of the brakes of the towed vehicle braking system (via "TBC Output" to 114).
In regard to claim 14, Cekola modified supra discloses the controller of claim 1, wherein the processor implements a lighting control module (242, Fig 1) configured to generate and output a towed vehicle brake light signal (via 252) to control activation of brake lights of the towed vehicle when the brake light signal is determined by the processor (for example, see Paragraphs 0021 and 0035).
In regard to claim 15,
Cekola modified supra discloses the controller of claim 1, wherein the brake controller receives power (from 112) via the input connector (the interface of "CAN H" and "VBATT" from 112 at the "Connection Component" 106 in Fig 1) for some or all components of the brake controller and for auxiliary devices of the towed vehicle (Paragraph 0032: "The output/flyback main circuitry 218 may operatively apply power from the towing vehicle battery 112 ( or other power source) to the trailer brakes 114 in accordance with a brake control output from the processor 150.").
Cekola does not positively disclose wherein the input connector includes a fuse; however, Examiner takes Official Notice that it is ubiquitously known throughout the art to configure electrical power circuits with fuses for safety and that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to configure the controller of Cekola thus.
Claims 7-9 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Cekola et al. (US Pub No 2018/0079375) with Smith (US Pub No 2010/0152989) in further view of Lange, III et al. (US Pub No 2019/0111899).
In regard to claim 7,
Cekola modified supra discloses the controller of claim 1.
Cekola generally does not discuss the physical construction of the controller, rather focusing on the schematic nature of the connections; in other words, Cekola does not positively disclose wherein the brake controller further includes pins disposed between the input connector and the output connector, and the processor and the inertial sensor are implemented in a module having a Printed Circuit Board (PCB), wherein the pins terminate at the PCB.
However, Lange discloses a brake controller (see the Abstract) having similar features as Cekola (and Smith), and most importantly discloses physical features of such a controller, including wherein the brake controller further includes pins (from each of 44 leading to 38, best seen in Figs 3 and 4, also see elements 42 in Fig 14) disposed between an input connector (30) and an output connector (24, see Fig 3 and Fig 4 ), and a processor (11 C, see Fig 4 and Paragraph 0027) and a inertial sensor (IC2, see Fig 4 and Paragraph 0028) are implemented in a module (36, see Fig 3) having a Printed Circuit Board (PCB, element 38, see Fig 4 and Paragraph 0029), wherein the pins terminate at the PCB (at least some number of the pins are connected to 38 as seen in Fig 4, also see Fig 14 ).
When assembling the controller of Cekola, some physical elements and arrangements would be necessary, simply using the electrical elements and arrangements already known in the art (the features of Lange noted above) to assemble the controller of Cekola with be an obvious use of known technique to improve similar devices methods, or products) in the same way (MPEP2141 III), and as such, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
In regard to claim 8,
Cekola modified supra discloses the controller of claim 7.
Cekola does not positively discloses wherein the module and the pins that terminate at the PCB are housed within the housing. However, similarly as set forth above:
Cekola generally does not concern itself with the physical construction of the controller, rather focusing on the schematic nature of the connections.
However, Lange discloses a brake controller (see the Abstract) having similar features as Cekola (and Smith), and most importantly discloses physical features of such a controller, including wherein the module discussed above (36, Fig 3) and the pins that terminate at the PCB (38, see Fig 4) are housed within a housing. (20, with halves 32 and 34).
When assembling the controller of Cekola, some physical elements and arrangements would be necessary, simply using the electrical elements and arrangements already known in the art (the features of Lange noted above) to assemble the controller of Cekola with be an obvious use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way (MPEP2141 III), and as such, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
In regard to claim 9,
Cekola modified supra discloses the controller of claim 7.
Cekola does not positively disclose wherein the pins terminate at the PCB into holes in the PCB being sized to provide an interference fit with the pins, thereby providing electrical connection and mechanical support to the PCB. However, similarly as set forth above:
Cekola generally does not concern itself with the physical construction of the controller, rather focusing on the schematic nature of the connections.
However, Lange discloses a brake controller (see the Abstract) having similar features as Cekola (and Smith), and most importantly discloses physical features of such a controller, including wherein the pins terminate at the PCB (as discussed above, see Figs 4 and 14) into holes (best seen in Fig 14) in the PCB being sized to provide an interference fit with the pins (considered to be "interference fit" once held in place with solder as described in Paragraph 0032), thereby providing electrical connection and mechanical support to the PCB.
When assembling the controller of Cekola, some physical elements and arrangements would be necessary, simply using the electrical elements and arrangements already known in the art (the features of Lange noted above) to assemble the controller of Cekola with be an obvious use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way (MPEP 2141 Ill), and as such, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
In regard to claim 18,
Cekola modified supra discloses the controller of claim 1.
Cekola does not positively disclose wherein the processor implements a wireless module configured to provide data communication between the processor and an external computing device.
However, such features are known in the art.
Lange discloses a brake controller (see the Abstract) having similar features as Cekola (and Smith), and most importantly discloses wherein a processor (IC 1) implements a wireless module ( wireless radio 62) configured to provide data communication between the processor and an external computing device (see Paragraph 0005: "the brake controller includes a wireless radio, and can have its input settings, and possibly its output messages, communicated through a smartphone or similar software or hardware application").
Lange teaches that utilizing such a wireless module, thus, allows for the elimination of external controls and display and improved resistance to weather (see Paragraph 0005: "the electronics are potted within a brake controller housing package which is resistant to weather. The housing is designed so the brake controller can be plugged directly in the electrical lines between the towing vehicle and the towed vehicle lights/brakes. Instead of having input controls and a display on the housing,").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to configure the controller of Cekola with a wireless module configured to provide data, such as that taught by Lange, to allow for the elimination of external controls and display as taught by Lange.
In regard to claim 19,
Cekola modified supra discloses the controller of claim 1.
Cekola does not positively disclose wherein the brake controller further includes one or more LEDs and the processor is further configured to illuminate the one or more LEDs to communicate information to a user of the brake controller.
However, such features are known in the art.
Lange discloses a brake controller (see the Abstract) having similar features as Cekola (and Smith), and most importantly discloses wherein the brake controller further includes one or more LEDs (64, see Fig 4) and a processor (IC 1) that is configured to illuminate the one or more LEDs to communicate information to a user of the brake controller (see Paragraph 0030, especially: "For example, LEDs 64 can be used to indicate one or more of whether the brake controller 10 is receiving power").
When assembling the controller of Cekola, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to configure the controller with one or more LEDs and to further configure the processor to illuminate the one or more LEDs to communicate information to a user of the brake controller, as is commonly done in the art with similar devices to allow for a user interface, as demonstrated by Lange.
Conclusion
/JACOB M AMICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747