DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KOLITSIDAS (US 20210296787 A1).
For claim 1. KOLITSIDAS discloses A mobile device ([0076], [0077]) for reducing SAR (Specific Absorption Rate), comprising: a grounding radiation element ([0051], [0055], rear edge 25), coupled to a ground voltage; a feeding radiation element (figures 3-4, [0057], radiating element 41), having a feeding point; a main radiation element (figures 3-4, [0053], meandering sections 36), coupled to the feeding radiation element; a first side radiation element (left-side meandering section 37), coupled to the feeding radiation element, wherein the main radiation element (meandering sections 36) is coupled through the first side radiation element to a first grounding point on the grounding radiation element (rear edge 25); a second side radiation element (right-side meandering section 37), wherein the main radiation element (meandering sections 36) is further coupled through the second side radiation element to a second grounding point on the grounding radiation element (rear edge 25); and a dielectric substrate ([0051], [0056], [0057], dielectric substrate 22), wherein the grounding radiation element, the feeding radiation element, the main radiation element, the first side radiation element, and the second side radiation element are disposed on the dielectric substrate (figures 2-4, [0056], [0057]); wherein an antenna structure is formed by the grounding radiation element, the feeding radiation element, the main radiation element, the first side radiation element, and the second side radiation element ([0001], [0010], [0011]); wherein the main radiation element and the feeding radiation element have a plurality of edge notches ([0011], figures 3-4).
For claim 2. The mobile device as claimed in claim 1, KOLITSIDAS discloses wherein a closed slot region (tuning element 26) is surrounded by the grounding radiation element, the feeding radiation element, the main radiation element, the first side radiation element, and the second side radiation element ([0051]).
For claim 3. The mobile device as claimed in claim 2, KOLITSIDAS discloses wherein the closed slot region substantially has a variable-width U-shape ([0051]).
For claim 4. The mobile device as claimed in claim 2, KOLITSIDAS discloses wherein the closed slot region comprises a first branch portion, a second branch portion, and a widening portion ([0051]: The shape of the tuning element 26 may have different form, such as circular/oval as in Vivaldi or essentially square as in BOR).
For claim 6. The mobile device as claimed in claim 4, KOLITSIDAS discloses wherein the second branch portion of the closed slot region is positioned between the feeding radiation element and the grounding radiation element (figure 4).
For claim 7. The mobile device as claimed in claim 1, KOLITSIDAS discloses wherein the main radiation element has 5 edge notches, and the feeding radiation element has 2 edge notches (figure 4).
For claim 8. The mobile device as claimed in claim 1, KOLITSIDAS discloses wherein each of the edge notches substantially has a rectangular shape (figure 4).
For claim 9. The mobile device as claimed in claim 4, KOLITSIDAS discloses wherein the antenna structure covers a first frequency band, a second frequency band, and a third frequency band ([0071]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KOLITSIDAS (US 20210296787 A1).
For claim 10. The mobile device as claimed in claim 9, KOLITSIDAS discloses wherein the first frequency band is from 2400 MHz to 2500 MHz ([0071]: operating frequency range of 2 GHz to 5.5 GHz).
But fails to mention the second frequency band is from 5150 MHz to 5850 MHz, and the third frequency band is from 5925 MHz to 7125 MHz.
Official notice is taken that antenna operating in these frequency ranges is well known in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques into the art of KOLITSIDAS as to cover more frequency bands to improve utility.
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 5 and 11-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, because none of the references, either alone or in combination, discloses or renders obvious the claims 5 and 11-15.
Conclusion
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300, submitted online via the USPTO's Electronic Filing System-Web (EFS-Web) (Registered eFilers only, Registered users of the USPTO's EFS-Web system may submit a response electronically through EFS-Web at https://efs.uspto.gov/TruePassSample/AuthenticateUserLocalEPF.html), or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
/Rui Meng Hu/
R.H./rh
May 30, 2026
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643