1. This communication is responsive to the application filed.
2. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. Claims 1, 8 and 18 are independent claims. This action is made Non-Final.
Double Patenting
4. Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12/,067,331. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are substantially similar.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claim(s) 1, 3-12 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ajmera et al (“Ajmera” US 2016/0323666).
Regarding claim 1, Ajmera discloses a computer-implemented method for providing selective control of an acoustic environment of a user (see the Abstract), the computer-implemented method comprising:
determining, by a computing system comprising one or more computing devices, a selected audio source of a plurality of audio sources in an environment of a user based at least in part on a selection user input performed at a peripheral device, the peripheral device in communication with the computing system, wherein the selection user input comprises directing the peripheral device toward the selected audio source (see paragraphs [0030]-[0032]; e.g. allowing the user to select a direction or area in his or her proximity on the display to determine the desired audio source);
receiving, by the computing system, data descriptive of a configuration user input performed at the peripheral device, the configuration user input indicative of an intent to configure a selective filtering level of the selected audio source, the selective filtering level comprising a degree of noise cancelling (see fig 3, 308 and 309; e.g., after audio selection, the attenuator 308 determines, at 309, which signals to attenuate and which signals to amplify); and
in response to receiving the configuration user input, configuring, by the computing system, the selective filtering level of the selected audio source based at least in part on the configuration user input (see fig 3; e.g., the cognitive agent receives complex noisy audio input and separates the received audio into separate audio streams based on source, and can then determine which stream the user desires to focus on based on various factors; after audio selection, the attenuator 308 determines, at 309, which signals to attenuate and which signals to amplify).
Regarding claim 3, Ajmera discloses wherein the configuration user input comprises a scroll gesture (see paragraphs [0029]-[0031]; e.g., gesture recognition).
Regarding claim 4, Ajmera discloses wherein determining the selected audio source of the plurality of audio sources comprises selecting, as the selected audio source, an audio source of the plurality of audio sources that is nearest a center of a field of view of a sensor of the peripheral device (see paragraphs [0030]-[0032]; e.g. allowing the user to select a direction or area in his or her proximity on the display to determine the desired audio source).
Regarding claim 5, Ajmera discloses wherein determining the selected audio source of the plurality of audio sources comprises cycling through the plurality of audio sources (see paragraph [0030]; e.g. gesture recognition).
Regarding claim 6, Ajmera discloses wherein the selective filtering level is at least one of a degree and a percentage of noise cancelled from the environment of the user (see fig 3; e.g., the cognitive agent receives complex noisy audio input and separates the received audio into separate audio streams based on source, and can then determine which stream the user desires to focus on based on various factors; after audio selection, the attenuator 308 determines, at 309, which signals to attenuate and which signals to amplify).
Regarding claim 7, Ajmera discloses wherein the selective filtering level is a relative volume of the selected audio source (see fig 3; e.g., the cognitive agent receives complex noisy audio input and separates the received audio into separate audio streams based on source, and can then determine which stream the user desires to focus on based on various factors; after audio selection, the attenuator 308 determines, at 309, which signals to attenuate and which signals to amplify).
Regarding claim 9, Ajmera discloses wherein the computing device comprises a mobile device (see fig 1 where the mobile device is shown).
Regarding claim 14, Ajmera discloses wherein the one or more user input components comprise one or more touch-sensitive surfaces (see paragraph [0030]; e.g. gesture recognition; haptics).
Regarding claim 15, Ajmera discloses wherein the computing device comprises one or more orientations systems defining a direction of the computing device, and wherein the selection user input comprises directing the direction of the computing device toward the selected audio source (see paragraphs [0030]-[0032]; e.g. allowing the user to select a direction or area in his or her proximity on the display to determine the desired audio source).
Claims 8, 10-12 and 16-17 are similar in scope to claims 1, 6-7, 2 and 4-5, respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 18-20 are similar in scope to claims 1 and 4-5, respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim(s) 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ajmera in view of Geng et al (“Geng” CN 110351624).
Regarding claim 2, Ajmera does not expressly disclose wherein the peripheral device comprises a wireless earphone case.
However, Geng discloses wherein the peripheral device comprises a wireless earphone case (see figs 1-5; e.g., earphone case). It would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective date of the present invention to include Geng’s teachings in Ajmera’s user interface as a well-known alternative in the art producing a predictable result.
Regarding claim 13, Ajmera does not expressly disclose wherein the one or more cavities are configured to form electrical contact with the one or more wireless earphones when the one or more wireless earphones are inserted into the one or more cavities.
However, Geng discloses wherein the one or more cavities are configured to form electrical contact with the one or more wireless earphones when the one or more wireless earphones are inserted into the one or more cavities (see paragraphs [0032]-[0050]; e.g., the headphone 8 is placed inside the headphone holder 6 of the headphone case and secured by the magnet 7, the charging tabs at the bottom of the headphone 8 are in contact with the pogopin charging pins 16, and the sensors inside the headphone case 1 are used for functional augmentation, and the corresponding sensors are provided as required.). It would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective date of the present invention to include Geng’s teachings in Ajmera’s user interface as a well-known alternative in the art producing a predictable result.
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kumar et al (US 2019/0019491).
/RASHAWN N TILLERY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174