DETAILED ACTION
Current Status of 18/767,228
3. This Office Action is responsive to the claims of 9 July 2024.
4. Claims 1-15 have been examined on the merits.
Priority
6. The effective filing date is 16 January 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
7. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 9 January 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
8. Claims 1-5, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. The instant claims 1-4, 8 and 10 cite “subject” which includes a variety of subjects- non-vertebrates, newborns, and animals (see para 24). It is unclear how one could practice the method on these populations because they can’t tell you they’re experiencing an SSD. In addition, claims 2-5 cite improving, increasing, decreasing sensitivity and reducing pain, it is unclear how the subject of non-vertebrates, newborns, and animals can express that in a manner that would be understood to one attempting to practice the method. The artisan would not be able to practice the claims.
9. Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 12 recite the limitation “about 1% and 15% by weight” and claim 13 cites “about 1% and 6% by weight”, but the base(s) that the percentages are referred to is/are missing, thus rendering the claims indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claim(s) 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PERRICONE (US9439926B2) in view of HANSEN (WO2020198252 A1) further in view of ANSEL (Ansel, H.C. et al. Pharmaceutical Dosage Forms and Drug Delivery Systems, Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, 7th ed.,1999, pages 48-53).
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art
PERRICONE teaches a method of administering a composition to treat/prevent the sexual dysfunction (e.g. claims 1 and 15), and it’s administered to the penis (e.g. claims 4 and 18), or vulva (e.g. claims 3 and 17).
HANSEN teaches a topical formulation for treatment of peripheral neuropathy using an effective amount of pirenzepine, pirenzepine free base, and pirenzepine salt (claim 2). Peripheral neuropathy generally refers to a disorder that affects one or a combination of the motor, sensory or autonomic nerves (para [0003], p 1). Peripheral neuropathy as used therein is defined as a disorder resulting from damage to peripheral nerves. It may be acquired, caused by diseases of the nerves or as the result of systemic illness (para [0045], p 9). Peripheral neuropathy has also been associated with erectile dysfunction (para [0046], p 9).
ANSEL teaches the effective dose of a drug may vary, depending on the dosage form and the route of administration. Varying rates and degrees of absorption can occur from drug administration from the rectum, gastrointestinal tract, sublingually, via the skin and from other sites. Therefore, for a given drug, different dosage forms and routes of administration are routinely studied through clinical studies to determine the effective dosage (p 53).
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue
PERRICONE teaches a method of administering a composition to treat/prevent the sexual dysfunction (e.g. claims 1 and 15) for both men and women, but doesn’t teach a composition or method of use of pirenzepine in particular.
HANSEN teaches a topical formulation for treatment of peripheral neuropathy using an effective amount of pirenzepine, pirenzepine free base, and pirenzepine salt (claim 2).
It is worth noting that HANSEN explicitly teaches peripheral neuropathy include erectile dysfunction and specific neuralgias at any location of the body (para [0055], p 12).
ANSEL teaches different dosage forms and routes of administration are routinely studied through clinical studies to determine the effective dosage for a given drug (p 53).
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art
The level of ordinary skill in the art is represented by an artisan who has
sufficient background in the development of method of use of pirenzepine for treatment of sexual dysfunction and possesses the technical knowledge necessary to make adjustments to the administered composition to optimize/enhance the treatment outcomes. Said artisan has also reviewed the problems in the art regarding pirenzepine and understands the solutions that are widely-known in the art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness
11. The instant claims are prima facie obvious over PERRICONE and HANSEN in view of ANSEL.
Regarding claims 1 and 7-11, the artisan would be motivated to modify PERRICONE’s method by introducing pirenzepine to treat sexual dysfunction since HANSEN explicitly teaches peripheral neuropathy include erectile dysfunction and specific neuralgias at any location of the body. The composition can take the form of a gel, a cream, a lotion, an ointment, a solution, a solid “stick, etc. that can be rubbed or sprayed onto the skin, e.g., onto the penis, vulva, or other suitable portion of the skin (Lns 33-36, Col 2). Certain Perricone’s compositions may be applied to the genital perineal region or penis or portion thereof of a male subject to treat erectile dysfunction, to the vulva of a female subject to treat sexual dysfunction, e.g. FSAD (or to any other portion at or near the genital perineal region in male or female subjects) (Lns 8-13, Col 4). Since HANSEN teaches using an effective amount of pirenzepine for treatment of peripheral neuropathy including erectile dysfunction, painful scar and specific neuralgias at any location of the body (para [0055], p 12), it’s logic to extend the pirenzepine treatment to the anogenitals as HANSEN suggested. So, it’s obvious to add pirenzepine to PERRICONE’s method to reach the instant claims 1 and 7-11.
12. Regarding claims 2-6, PERRICONE teaches compositions of the invention are effective in promoting subjective arousal (e.g. feelings of arousal, e.g. excitement and/or pleasure) as well as genital arousal (e.g. swelling of the vulva or vaginal lubrication) in females (Lns 31-35, Col 3). A composition as described therein is used to treat sexual
dysfunction or other conditions such as those described therein. To “treat a disorder means to reduce or eliminate a sign or symptom of the disorder, to stabilize the disorder, and/or to reduce or slow further progression of the disorder (Lns 42-47, Col 2).
Therefore, claims 2-6 are obvious over PERRICONE in view of HANSEN.
13. Regarding claims 14 and 15, it’s obvious for an artisan after the teachings are in the combined art to use the pirenzepine in the method of Perricone, the artisan would modify the concentrations, dosage forms, route of administrations, etc. because those are routinely selected by the artisan based on a variety of factors (patient preference, patient ability, etc.- all are known in the art as taught by ANSEL’s teaching that different dosage forms and routes of administration are routinely studied through clinical studies to determine the effective dosage for a given drug (p 53) with expectations for success.
Claims 14 and 15 are obvious over PERRICONE and HANSEN in view of ANSEL.
Double Patenting
15. Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 26-28 of copending Application No. 17/593,792 in view of HOLLOWAY. (Holloway E. “Sexual Problems in Diabetes” Medicine, Volume 47, Issue 2, February 2019, 106-109)
Reference Application ‘792 discloses a method of treating Pages peripheral neuropathy including diabetic neuropathy and infectious disease (such as HIV) induced peripheral neuropathy by administrating pirenzepine (claims 26-28 of 01/22/2026). HOLLOWAY teaches that sexual problems are prevalent in both men and women diabetes patients (introduction, p 106). It would be obvious to treat sexual dysfunction with the drug (pirenzepine) because ‘792 teaches it is used for neuropathy and diabetic neuropathy is a species within that genus of neuropathies that would benefit from treating sexual dysfunction because it is highly prevalent.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
16. No claims are presently allowable as written.
/B.T./Examiner, Art Unit 1625 /Andrew D Kosar/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1625