DETAILED ACTION
This is in reference to communication received 25 August 2025. Claims 1 – 20 are pending for examination. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 – 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Specifically, claims 1 – 20 are directed toward at least one judicial exception without significantly more. In accordance with the Federal Register Notice: 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, (January 7, 2019), (accessible at https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/FR-2019-01-07/pdf/2018-28282.pdf), the rationale for this determination is explained below:
Claim 30, representative of claims 1 and 8 is directed towards a method, which is a statutory category of invention. Although, claim 30 is directed toward a statutory category of invention, the claim appears to be directed toward a judicial exception namely an abstract idea. Claim 30 recites invention directed to sending a reward to a resident when they qualify to receive the reward based upon certain eligibility criteria. To determine eligibility of the resident to receive an associated reward with the task, tenant (resident) provides their task completion information (e.g., tenant has made the monthly-rental payment); Tenant behavior (e.g., tenant pays rent) is determined; A workflow (e.g., defined business rules on how to handle rents received and determine whether the user should be given a reward) is utilized to that the user has completed the task as per the workflow (e.g., rules) and based upon completion of the task by the tenant, a reward is sent to the tenant, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation covers performance of organizing certain methods of human activity related to advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors but for the recitation of generic computer components. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because, in particular, the claim does not use any processor to perform the recited limitation-1 and limitation-2. For example, applicant has not positively claimed who provides a resident interface to a user computing device, and who stores reward workflow components in components database. Accordingly, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because, in particular, in the represented claims, the claim recites a property management platform (a primary device) receiving an indication for giving a reward to a tenant when said tenant meets certain criteria, renter behavior data is obtained and analyzed to verify that the renter has met the requirements for getting the reward, and based on the results of the analysis, said renter is granted a reward via their user device (secondary device). The primary device and secondary device in both these steps is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e. as a generic device performing generic computer functions of transmitting and receiving information) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Additionally, secondary device transmitting a request to the primary device, and receiving response from the primary device amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity.
The combination of these additional elements is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic device. Accordingly, even in combination, these elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits of practicing the abstract idea. Accordingly, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the represented claims recites the additional elements of property management interface, resident-interface (tenant-interface), an interface engine, a reward engine, a property engine for receiving an indication for giving a reward to a tenant when said tenant meets certain criteria, renter behavior data is obtained and analyzed to verify that the renter has met the requirements for getting the reward, and based on the results of the analysis, said renter is granted a reward via their user device. For the same reason these elements are not sufficient to provide an inventive concept. The Symantec, TLI, and OIP Techs. court decisions cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that mere receipt or transmission of data over a network is a well-understood. Routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here). For these reasons, there is no inventive concept in the claim, and thus the claim is not patent eligible.
As for dependent claims 3 – 7, 9, 12, 14, 17 – 20 and 22, these claims recite limitations that further define the same abstract idea of which tenant activities will be considered for a reward, how the reward will be provided to the tenant, defining expiration time for the reward, allowing user to modify rewards and associated criteria, how the completion of task will be performed, using a QR-code (a commercially available technology) which will be included in the task completed data. These claims do not contain any further additional elements per step 2A, prong 2. Therefore, they are considered patent ineligible for the reasons given above.
As for dependent claims 2, 10, 13, 15, 24, 26, 27 and 29, these claims recite limitations that further define the same abstract idea of conditions upon which a user like landlord will consider offering rewards to (future) tenants, determine which tenant activities will be considered for a reward, how the reward will be provided to the tenant, defining expiration time for the reward, allowing user to modify rewards and associated criteria, how the completion of task will be performed, mode of payment. These claims do not contain any further additional elements per step 2A, prong 2. Therefore, they are considered patent ineligible for the reasons given above.
As for dependent claim 16, 21, 23, 25 and 28, these claims recite invention that further define the same abstract idea of what kind of technology (e.g., pre-configured third-party artificial intelligence environment) will be used to perform the recited limitations. These claims do not contain any further additional elements per step 2A, prong 2. Therefore, they are considered patent ineligible for the reasons given above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 11 and 13, 14, 15, and 26 – 27 and 29 – 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Calogne US Publication 2009/0240565 in view of Shae Bynes published article “5 Strategies To Get Early and On-Time Rent Payments” hereinafter referred to as Bynes and Power2Motivate published article “Power2Motivate Features” hereinafter referred to as Power2Motivate.
Regarding claim 30, Calogne teaches system and method for remote property management (Calogne, An online system and method for tenants and landlords to conduct property rental transactions and property management, while simultaneously assessing the performance of landlords and tenants in an online environment) [Calogne, abstract] comprising:
a components database configured to store a plurality of reward workflow components [Calogne, Fig. 2 and associated disclosure];
a property management platform comprising a memory and at least one processor, wherein the property management platform (Calogne, system 10 includes a client-server module lOA, including a server 12, in communication with a plurality of clients 14 by means of a network 16.) [Calogne, 0027] is configured to:
storing a plurality of reward workflow components in a components database (Calogne teaches plurality of workflow for different tasks) [Calogne, Fig. 2 and associated disclosure];
providing a resident interface configured to receive tenant data and task completion data, the resident interface generated for the user computing device communicatively coupled over at least one network with the server (Calogne, The server 12 contains a plurality of interfaces 30 including a main user interface 36, landlord interface 40, a tenant interface 130, an administrator interface 300, and a third party interface 400.) [Calogne, 0028];
receiving, at the server from the user computing device, via the resident interface, tenant data (Calogne, If the tenant 22 is remitting payment via the system 10, the tenant 22 can submit remittance payments after logging on through the tenant login component 150 and accessing the rental payment component 174, by entering the name of the landlord 186, entering the checking account or credit card, or bank account information and payment amount 188 and submitting it to the system 10.) [Calogne, 0060];
determining, at the server, a tenant behavior based on the tenant data (Calogne, The tenant listings 12B are viewable by tenant payment history or by property address) [Calogne, 0044];
Calogne does not explicitly teach giving rewards to tenants. However, Bynes teaches that a common problem for landlords is collecting on-time rent payments and provides plurality of strategies that focus on rewards to induce positive behavior which is uncommon because most landlords just focus of the punishment for negative behaviors (e.g., lack of payment or late payment) which would require different workflow for managing the strategy.
Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Calogne by adopting teachings of Bynes to ensure timely collection of rent-payments by giving incentives to tenants for their positive behavior.
Calogne in view of Bynes teaches system and method further comprising:
generating, at the server, a reward workflow, wherein the reward workflow is associated with a task and a reward, wherein the reward workflow is based on at least one of the plurality of reward workflow components corresponding to at least one database object in the components database and market data (Bynes, plurality of strategies Strategy #1: Higher rent with monthly discount for on-time payment; Strategy #2: Instead of raising rents each year, lower rents!; Strategy #3: Provide discounts for tenants who will sign up for automatic debit; Strategy #4: Report payments to the credit bureau to help build tenant credit (and deter late payments); Strategy #5: Give a bonus during the time its appreciated the most — the holidays! Which would require different workflow to fulfill the reward as appropriate) [Bynes, page 1, 2];
Calogne in view of Bynes does not explicitly teach associating user with reward workflow. However, Power2Motivate teaches system an method to enable you users (e.g., landlord) to create a nomination that can either be automatically approved, or their wizard will send nomination through to the nominee’s manager for approval and can employ their Metric Manager to create rules based on your customers (e.g., renters) status levels (e.g., workflow for giving rewards based upon renter’s behavior like paying rent by due data) [Power2Motivate, page 3, 4].
Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Calogne in view of Bynes by adopting teachings of Power2Motivate to automate giving rewards to renters who meet requirements of task completion.
Calogne in view of Bynes and Power2Motivate teaches system and method further comprising:
dynamically associating the user with the reward workflow in memory (as responded to above, Bynes teaches plurality of reward strategies), thereby providing access, according to a user access control, to the reward workflow to the user on the server (Power2Motivate, Tracking key metrics is fundamental for all businesses. With the Power2Motivate Metric Manager you can create rules based on your customers status levels, target SKUs and member or product data. Our Nomination Wizard makes it easy. The Wizard will create a nomination that can either be automatically approved, or will send the nomination through to the nominee’s manager for approval.) [Power2Motivate, page 3, 4];
receiving, at the user computing device, via the resident interface, task completion data associated with the reward workflow (Calogne, If the tenant 22 is remitting payment via the system 10, the tenant 22 can submit remittance payments …. Tenant entering the name of the landlord 186, entering the checking account or credit card, or bank account information and payment amount 188 and submitting it to the system 10. The funds are thereby transferred from the designated account for the tenant 22 to the designated account for the landlord 20. Once payment clears, a receipt email 190 is generated by the system 10 and sent to both the tenant 22 and landlord 20.) [Calogne, 0060];
determining, at the server, that the task is complete based on a comparison of the task completion data to the task (Calogne, Once payment clears, a receipt email 190 is generated by the system 10 and sent to both the tenant 22 and landlord 20.) [Calogne, 0060]; and
sending, from the server to the user computing device, based on the determination that the task is complete, the reward via the resident interface (Bynes, provide a $25-50 discount when payments are made on or before the 1st of the month; put $10 in an account for each month the rent is paid on or before the 1st of the month and then match it dollar for dollar and send a holiday bonus check the first week of December.) [Bynes, page 1, 2].
Regarding claim 1, Calogne teaches system and method for remote property management (Calogne, An online system and method for tenants and landlords to conduct property rental transactions and property management, while simultaneously assessing the performance of landlords and tenants in an online environment) [Calogne, abstract] comprising:
a components database configured to store a plurality of reward workflow components [Calogne, Fig. 2 and associated disclosure];
a property management platform comprising a memory and at least one processor, wherein the property management platform (Calogne, system 10 includes a client-server module lOA, including a server 12, in communication with a plurality of clients 14 by means of a network 16.) [Calogne, 0027] is configured to:
Calogne does not explicitly teach giving rewards to tenants. However, Bynes teaches that a common problem for landlords is collecting on-time rent payments and provides plurality of strategies that focus on rewards to induce positive behavior which is uncommon because most landlords just focus of the punishment for negative behaviors (e.g., lack of payment or late payment) which would require different workflow for managing the strategy.
Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Calogne by adopting teachings of Bynes to ensure timely collection of rent-payments by giving incentives to tenants for their positive behavior.
Calogne in view of Bynes teaches system and method further comprising:
receive an indication to give a reward to the renter (Bynes, provide a $25-50 discount when payments are made on or before the 1st of the month; put $10 in an account for each month the rent is paid on or before the 1st of the month and then match it dollar for dollar and send a holiday bonus check the first week of December.) [Bynes, page 1, 2];
Calogne in view of Bynes does not explicitly teach associating user with reward workflow. However, Power2Motivate teaches system an method to enable you users (e.g., landlord) to create a nomination that can either be automatically approved, or their wizard will send nomination through to the nominee’s manager for approval and can employ their Metric Manager to create rules based on your customers (e.g., renters) status levels (e.g., workflow for giving rewards based upon renter’s behavior like paying rent by due data) [Power2Motivate, page 3, 4].
Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Calogne in view of Bynes by adopting teachings of Power2Motivate to automate giving rewards to renters who meet requirements of task completion.
Calogne in view of Bynes and Power2Motivate teaches system and method further comprising:
receive an indication to activate a reward workflow via a property management interface, the property management interface generated for a property manager computing device communicatively coupled over at least one network with the property management platform (Calogne, If the tenant 22 is remitting payment via the system 10, the tenant 22 can submit remittance payments …. Tenant entering the name of the landlord 186, entering the checking account or credit card, or bank account information and payment amount 188 and submitting it to the system 10. The funds are thereby transferred from the designated account for the tenant 22 to the designated account for the landlord 20. Once payment clears, a receipt email 190 is generated by the system 10 and sent to both the tenant 22 and landlord 20.) [Calogne, 0060], wherein the reward workflow includes an action and a cash back reward, and wherein the reward workflow is based on at least one of the plurality of reward workflow components corresponding to at least one database object in the components database and market data (Power2Motivate, Tracking key metrics is fundamental for all businesses. With the Power2Motivate Metric Manager you can create rules based on your customers status levels, target SKUs and member or product data. Our Nomination Wizard makes it easy. The Wizard will create a nomination that can either be automatically approved, or will send the nomination through to the nominee’s manager for approval.) [Power2Motivate, page 3, 4];
activate the reward workflow based on the indication (Power2Motivate, The Wizard will create a nomination that can either be automatically approved, or will send the nomination through to the nominee’s manager for approval.) [Power2Motivate, page 3, 4];
obtain renter behavior data for a renter user indicating the action was performed (Calogne, Once payment clears, a receipt email 190 is generated by the system 10 and sent to both the tenant 22 and landlord 20.) [Calogne, 0060];
dynamically associate the renter user with the reward workflow in the memory, thereby providing access, according to a renter user access control, to the reward workflow to the renter user on the property management platform (Power2Motivate, Tracking key metrics is fundamental for all businesses. With the Power2Motivate Metric Manager you can create rules based on your customers status levels, target SKUs and member or product data. Our Nomination Wizard makes it easy. The Wizard will create a nomination that can either be automatically approved, or will send the nomination through to the nominee’s manager for approval.) [Power2Motivate, page 3, 4]; and
grant, based on the reward workflow being active and the renter behavior data, the cash back reward via a resident interface (Bynes, provide a $25-50 discount when payments are made on or before the 1st of the month; put $10 in an account for each month the rent is paid on or before the 1st of the month and then match it dollar for dollar and send a holiday bonus check the first week of December.) [Bynes, page 1, 2], the resident interface generated for a renter computing device associated with the renter user communicatively coupled over the at least one network with the property management platform (Power2Motivate, We also use P2M for our employee recognition programme called the Orange Spirit Award. This is a customized award based on values and principles and awarded to employees that go above and beyond normal job requirements. Previously, we had a service awards programme in place that was a manual process and now thanks to P2M this is completely automated.") [Power2Motivate, page 10].
Regarding claim 2, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Calogne in view of Bynes and Power2Motivate teaches system and method, wherein the action is at least one of signing a lease, renewing a lease, or paying rent (Bynes, provide a $25-50 discount when payments are made on or before the 1st of the month; put $10 in an account for each month the rent is paid on or before the 1st of the month and then match it dollar for dollar and send a holiday bonus check the first week of December.) [Bynes, page 1, 2].
Regarding claim 3, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Calogne in view of Bynes and Power2Motivate teaches system and method, wherein the resident interface is configured to provide access to at least one of a bank, a credit building service, or a digital wallet (Calogne, If the tenant 22 is remitting payment via the system 10, the tenant 22 can submit remittance payments after logging on through the tenant login component 150 and accessing the rental payment component 174, by entering the name of the landlord 186, entering the checking account or credit card, or bank account information and payment amount 188 and submitting it to the system 10.) [Calogne, 0060].
Regarding claim 4, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Calogne in view of Bynes and Power2Motivate teaches system and method, wherein the property management platform is further configured to obtain tenant data, property data, and market data, wherein the property management interface is configured to display at least one of the tenant data, the property data, or the market data (Calogne, The landlord. 20 may access the property listings 12A via the landlord management tool 56; and either view 58 all of the vacant and occupied units of the property listings 12A which are currently being managed, including the ability to view and manage past, present, and future expenses for each property, and/or change the property listings 12A by adding or deleting 60 entire properties or specific units with a property.) [Calogne, 0039].
Regarding claim 5, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Calogne in view of Bynes and Power2Motivate teaches system and method, wherein the property management platform is further configured to generate a recommended reward workflow based on the tenant data, the property data, and the market data; and display the recommended reward workflow via the property management interface (Power2Motivate, Tracking key metrics is fundamental for all businesses. With the Power2Motivate Metric Manager you can create rules based on your customers status levels, target SKUs and member or product data. Our Nomination Wizard makes it easy. The Wizard will create a nomination that can either be automatically approved, or will send the nomination through to the nominee’s manager for approval.) [Power2Motivate, page 3, 4].
Regarding claim 6, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Calogne in view of Bynes and Power2Motivate teaches system and method, wherein the property management platform is further configured to receive an indication to modify the reward workflow via the property management interface (Power2Motivate, With the Power2Motivate Metric Manager you can create rules based on your customers status levels) [Power2Motivate, page, 4].
Regarding claim 7, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Calogne in view of Bynes and Power2Motivate teaches system and method, wherein the indication to activate the reward workflow includes an active duration (Power2Motivate, With the Power2Motivate Metric Manager you can create rules based on your customers status levels) [Power2Motivate, page, 4].
Regarding claim 8, Calogne teaches system and method for remote property management (Calogne, An online system and method for tenants and landlords to conduct property rental transactions and property management, while simultaneously assessing the performance of landlords and tenants in an online environment) [Calogne, abstract] comprising:
a components database configured to store a plurality of reward workflow components [Calogne, Fig. 2 and associated disclosure];
a property management platform comprising a memory and at least one processor (Calogne, system 10 includes a client-server module lOA, including a server 12, in communication with a plurality of clients 14 by means of a network 16.) [Calogne, 0027] configured to implement:
an interface engine configured to receive tenant data and task completion data (Calogne, If the tenant 22 is remitting payment via the system 10, the tenant 22 can submit remittance payments …. Tenant entering the name of the landlord 186, entering the checking account or credit card, or bank account information and payment amount 188 and submitting it to the system 10. The funds are thereby transferred from the designated account for the tenant 22 to the designated account for the landlord 20. Once payment clears, a receipt email 190 is generated by the system 10 and sent to both the tenant 22 and landlord 20.) [Calogne, 0060];
provide a reward interface on a networked tenant computing device communicatively coupled over at least one network with the property management platform, the reward interface configured to receive tenant data and task completion data (Calogne, The server 12 contains a plurality of interfaces 30 including a main user interface 36, landlord interface 40, a tenant interface 130, an administrator interface 300, and a third party interface 400.) [Calogne, 0028], and
receive, via the reward interface, tenant data from a tenant user operating the networked tenant computing device (Calogne, If the tenant 22 is remitting payment via the system 10, the tenant 22 can submit remittance payments …. Tenant entering the name of the landlord 186, entering the checking account or credit card, or bank account information and payment amount 188 and submitting it to the system 10. The funds are thereby transferred from the designated account for the tenant 22 to the designated account for the landlord 20. Once payment clears, a receipt email 190 is generated by the system 10 and sent to both the tenant 22 and landlord 20.) [Calogne, 0060];
Calogne does not explicitly teach giving rewards to tenants. However, Bynes teaches that a common problem for landlords is collecting on-time rent payments and provides plurality of strategies that focus on rewards to induce positive behavior which is uncommon because most landlords just focus of the punishment for negative behaviors (e.g., lack of payment or late payment) which would require different workflow for managing the strategy.
Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Calogne by adopting teachings of Bynes to ensure timely collection of rent-payments by giving incentives to tenants for their positive behavior.
Calogne in view of Bynes teaches system and method further comprising an interface engine configured to:
a reward engine configured to:
generate a reward workflow wherein the reward workflow is associated with a task and a reward, and wherein the reward workflow is based on at least one of the plurality of reward workflow components corresponding to at least one database object in the components database, market data, and the tenant data (Bynes, plurality of strategies Strategy #1: Higher rent with monthly discount for on-time payment; Strategy #2: Instead of raising rents each year, lower rents!; Strategy #3: Provide discounts for tenants who will sign up for automatic debit; Strategy #4: Report payments to the credit bureau to help build tenant credit (and deter late payments); Strategy #5: Give a bonus during the time its appreciated the most — the holidays! Which would require different workflow to fulfill the reward as appropriate) [Bynes, page 1, 2], and
Calogne in view of Bynes does not explicitly teach associating user with reward workflow. However, Power2Motivate teaches system an method to enable you users (e.g., landlord) to create a nomination that can either be automatically approved, or their wizard will send nomination through to the nominee’s manager for approval and can employ their Metric Manager to create rules based on your customers (e.g., renters) status levels (e.g., workflow for giving rewards based upon renter’s behavior like paying rent by due data) [Power2Motivate, page 3, 4].
Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Calogne in view of Bynes by adopting teachings of Power2Motivate to automate giving rewards to renters who meet requirements of task completion.
Calogne in view of Bynes and Power2Motivate teaches system and method further comprising:
dynamically associate the tenant user with the reward workflow in the memory (as responded to above, Bynes teaches plurality of reward strategies), thereby providing access, according to a tenant user access control, to the reward workflow to the tenant user on the property management platform (Power2Motivate, Tracking key metrics is fundamental for all businesses. With the Power2Motivate Metric Manager you can create rules based on your customers status levels, target SKUs and member or product data. Our Nomination Wizard makes it easy. The Wizard will create a nomination that can either be automatically approved, or will send the nomination through to the nominee’s manager for approval.) [Power2Motivate, page 3, 4]; and
a property engine configured to:
receive, via the reward interface, task completion data associated with the reward workflow (Calogne, If the tenant 22 is remitting payment via the system 10, the tenant 22 can submit remittance payments …. Tenant entering the name of the landlord 186, entering the checking account or credit card, or bank account information and payment amount 188 and submitting it to the system 10. The funds are thereby transferred from the designated account for the tenant 22 to the designated account for the landlord 20. Once payment clears, a receipt email 190 is generated by the system 10 and sent to both the tenant 22 and landlord 20.) [Calogne, 0060],
determine that the task is complete based on a comparison of the task completion data to the task (Calogne, Once payment clears, a receipt email 190 is generated by the system 10 and sent to both the tenant 22 and landlord 20.) [Calogne, 0060], and
send, based on the determination that the task is complete, the reward via the resident interface (Bynes, provide a $25-50 discount when payments are made on or before the 1st of the month; put $10 in an account for each month the rent is paid on or before the 1st of the month and then match it dollar for dollar and send a holiday bonus check the first week of December.) [Bynes, page 1, 2].
Regarding claim 9, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Calogne in view of Bynes and Power2Motivate teaches system and method, wherein the interface engine is further configured to send, via the resident interface, instructions for performing the task (Calogne, If the tenant 22 is remitting payment via the system 10, the tenant 22 can submit remittance payments …. Tenant entering the name of the landlord 186, entering the checking account or credit card, or bank account information and payment amount 188 and submitting it to the system 10. The funds are thereby transferred from the designated account for the tenant 22 to the designated account for the landlord 20. Once payment clears, a receipt email 190 is generated by the system 10 and sent to both the tenant 22 and landlord 20.) [Calogne, 0060].
Regarding claim 10, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Calogne in view of Bynes and Power2Motivate teaches system and method, wherein the task is at least one of to save an amount of money or to make an on-time rent payment, and wherein the reward is a cash reward (Bynes, provide a $25-50 discount when payments are made on or before the 1st of the month; put $10 in an account for each month the rent is paid on or before the 1st of the month and then match it dollar for dollar and send a holiday bonus check the first week of December.) [Bynes, page 1, 2].
Regarding claim 11, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Calogne in view of Bynes and Power2Motivate teaches system and method, wherein the task completion data includes a photograph evidencing completion of the task, a timestamp associated with a time the photograph was taken, and geocoordinates associated with a location the photograph was taken, and wherein the property engine is configured to determine that the task is complete further based on at least one of the timestamp or the geocoordinates (Calogne, Once payment clears, a receipt email 190 is generated by the system 10 and sent to both the tenant 22 and landlord 20. (email has a timestamp)) [Calogne, 0060].
Regarding claim 13, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Calogne in view of Bynes and Power2Motivate teaches system and method, wherein the interface engine is further configured to: (14, 15)
provide a property management interface to receive property data (Calogne, the landlord 20 will submit any and all property information to be included in the system 10. To add or delete 60 a property, the landlord 20 must submit building information 62, including the name and address of the building including street, city, state, country and province (as necessary) and zip code.) [Calogne, 0039], and
receive, via the property management interface, property data indicating an attribute of a property, wherein the reward engine is configured to generate the reward workflow further based on the property data (Bynes, plurality of strategies Strategy #1: Higher rent with monthly discount for on-time payment; Strategy #2: Instead of raising rents each year, lower rents!; Strategy #3: Provide discounts for tenants who will sign up for automatic debit; Strategy #4: Report payments to the credit bureau to help build tenant credit (and deter late payments); Strategy #5: Give a bonus during the time its appreciated the most — the holidays! Which would require different workflow to fulfill the reward as appropriate) [Bynes, page 1, 2].
Regarding claim 14, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Calogne in view of Bynes and Power2Motivate teaches system and method, wherein the determination that the task is complete is further based on a comparison of the task completion data to the property data (Calogne, If the tenant 22 is remitting payment via the system 10, the tenant 22 can submit remittance payments …. Tenant entering the name of the landlord 186, entering the checking account or credit card, or bank account information and payment amount 188 and submitting it to the system 10. The funds are thereby transferred from the designated account for the tenant 22 to the designated account for the landlord 20. Once payment clears, a receipt email 190 is generated by the system 10 and sent to both the tenant 22 and landlord 20.) [Calogne, 0060].
Regarding claim 15, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Calogne in view of Bynes and Power2Motivate teaches system and method, wherein property data is associated with a residence and the attribute of the property as least one of a rent for the residence, a cost of the residence, an occupancy rate of the residence, a delinquency rate of the residence, or an end date of a lease associated with the residence (Calogne, The landlord. 20 may access the property listings 12A via the landlord management tool 56; and either view 58 all of the vacant and occupied units of the property listings 12A which are currently being managed, including the ability to view and manage past, present, and future expenses for each property, and/or change the property listings 12A by adding or deleting 60 entire properties or specific units with a property) [Calogne, 0039].
Regarding claim 26, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Calogne in view of Bynes and Power2Motivate teaches system and method, wherein the tenant data includes financial data extracted from digitized financial transaction information (Calogne, If the tenant 22 is remitting payment via the system 10, the tenant 22 can submit remittance payments after logging on through the tenant login component 150 and accessing the rental payment component 174, by entering the name of the landlord 186, entering the checking account or credit card, or bank account information and payment amount 188 and submitting it to the system 10. The funds are thereby transferred from the designated account for the tenant 22 to the designated account for the landlord 20. Once payment clears, a receipt email 190 is generated by the system 10 and sent to both the tenant 22 and landlord 20 [Calogne, 0060].
Regarding claim 27, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Calogne in view of Bynes and Power2Motivate teaches system and method, wherein the financial data includes at least one of vendor information identifying a vendor of a purchase made by a tenant or stock keeping unit (SKU) information that identifies an item associated with the purchase (Calogne, If the tenant 22 is remitting payment via the system 10, the tenant 22 can submit remittance payments after logging on through the tenant login component 150 and accessing the rental payment component 174, by entering the name of the landlord 186, entering the checking account or credit card, or bank account information and payment amount 188 and submitting it to the system 10. The funds are thereby transferred from the designated account for the tenant 22 to the designated account for the landlord 20. Once payment clears, a receipt email 190 is generated by the system 10 and sent to both the tenant 22 and landlord 20 [Calogne, 0060].
Regarding claim 29, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Calogne in view of Bynes and Power2Motivate teaches system and method, wherein the task is at least one of at least one of referring a prospective tenant, signing a new lease, renewing a lease, providing proof of renter insurance, paying rent on time, taking a tour of a residence, submitting an application for renting a residence, or connecting a financial institution account to the property management platform (Bynes, provide a $25-50 discount when payments are made on or before the 1st of the month; put $10 in an account for each month the rent is paid on or before the 1st of the month and then match it dollar for dollar and send a holiday bonus check the first week of December.) [Bynes, page 1, 2].
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Calogne US Publication 2009/0240565 in view of Shae Bynes published article “5 Strategies To Get Early and On-Time Rent Payments” hereinafter referred to as Bynes, Power2Motivate published article and Chu et al. published article “Applying QR Code Technology to Facilitate Hospital Medical Equipment Repair Management”.
Regarding claim 12, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Calogne in view of Bynes and Power2Motivate does not teach using QR code. However, Chu teaches Quick response (QR) codes provide a rapid, easy, convenient, accurate, and automatic data collection method. With the increasing application and popularization of wireless communication and mobile device technology, two-dimensional barcode technologies have been employed for production, logistics, and sales. To apply the benefits of technology, QR codes can be applied to items of interest, equipment to improve the efficiency of repairs, ensure correction information is received, shorten processing time [Chu, page 1].
Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Calogne in view of Bynes and Power2Motivate by adopting teachings of Chu and use QR code applied to items of interest and equipment to improve the efficiency of repairs, ensure correction information is received, shorten processing time.
Calogne in view of Bynes, Power2Motivate and Chu teaches system and method, wherein the task completion data includes data obtained from a QR code at a location associated with the task (Chu, Quick response (QR) codes provide a rapid, easy, convenient, accurate, and automatic data collection method. With the increasing application and popularization of wireless communication and mobile device technology, two-dimensional barcode technologies have been employed for production, logistics, and sales. To apply the benefits of technology, QR codes can be applied to items of interest, equipment to improve the efficiency of repairs, ensure correction information is received, shorten processing time) [Chu, page 1].
Claims 16 – 23 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Calogne US Publication 2009/0240565 in view of Shae Bynes published article “5 Strategies To Get Early and On-Time Rent Payments” hereinafter referred to as Bynes, Power2Motivate published article and Elmore et al. published document “Characterizing Tenant Behavior for Placement and Crisis Mitigation in Multitenant DBMSs” hereinafter to as Elmore.
Regarding claim 16, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Calogne om view of Bynes and Power2Motivate does not explicitly teach using artificial intelligence (AI) to determine renter behavior. However, Elmore teaches Pythia accurately learns tenant behavior even when multiple tenants share a database process, learns good and bad tenant consolidation plans (or packings), and maintains a per-tenant history to detect behavior changes [Elmore, page 1].
Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Calogne om view of Bynes and Power2Motivate by adopting teachings of Elmore to detect changes in tenant behavior [Elmore, page 1].
Calogne in view of Bynes,Power2Motivate and Elmore teaches system and method, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to implement an artificial intelligence (AI) engine configured to determine a renter behavior based on the tenant data (Elmore, Pythia accurately learns tenant behavior even when multiple tenants share a database process, learns good and bad tenant consolidation plans (or packings), and maintains a per-tenant history to detect behavior changes).
Regarding claim 17, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Calogne in view of Bynes and Power2Motivate teaches system and method, wherein the reward engine is configured to generate the reward workflow further based on the renter behavior (Bynes, provide a $25-50 discount when payments are made on or before the 1st of the month; put $10 in an account for each month the rent is paid on or before the 1st of the month and then match it dollar for dollar and send a holiday bonus check the first week of December.) [Bynes, page 1, 2].
Regarding claim 18, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Calogne in view of Bynes and Power2Motivate teaches system and method, wherein a magnitude of the reward is based on the renter behavior (Bynes, provide a $25-50 discount when payments are made on or before the 1st of the month; put $10 in an account for each month the rent is paid on or before the 1st of the month and then match it dollar for dollar and send a holiday bonus check the first week of December.) [Bynes, page 1, 2].
Regarding claim 19, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Calogne in view of Bynes and Power2Motivate teaches system and method, wherein a type of the reward is based on the renter behavior (Bynes, provide a $25-50 discount when payments are made on or before the 1st of the month; put $10 in an account for each month the rent is paid on or before the 1st of the month and then match it dollar for dollar and send a holiday bonus check the first week of December.) [Bynes, page 1, 2].
Regarding claim 20, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Calogne in view of Bynes and Power2Motivate teaches system and method, wherein the reward workflow is sent, via the resident interface, at a time based on the renter behavior (Power2Motivate, We also use P2M for our employee recognition programme called the Orange Spirit Award. This is a customized award based on values and principles and awarded to employees that go above and beyond normal job requirements. Previously, we had a service awards programme in place that was a manual process and now thanks to P2M this is completely automated.") [Power2Motivate, page 10].
Regarding claim 21, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Calogne in view of Bynes,Power2Motivate and Elmore teaches system and method, wherein the AI engine is further configured to generate, based on the renter behavior, a recommendation identifying an action to perform, wherein the recommendation is associated with improving tenant retention (Elmore, assume we have two tenant databases D1, and D2 colocated at a node with enough resources to serve both tenants. If D1’s throughput is higher than that of D2, the least recently used (LRU) eviction policy, commonly used in buffer pool implementations, will result in D1 stealing cache pages from D2. This is because D1 is accessing more pages, thus making D2’s pages candidates for likely eviction (if tenant is not on identified for eviction, then candidate can be considered to be retained)) [Elmore, page 3], and wherein the interface engine is further configured to provide a property management interface to send the recommendation (Calogne, The landlord 20 is able to send payment notices 90, including past due or default notifications to tenants 22) [Calogne, 0045].
Regarding claim 22, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Calogne in view of Bynes and Power2Motivate teaches system and method, wherein the recommendation is to provide a cash reward, wherein the reward is a cash reward, and wherein the reward engine is further configured to receive, via the property management interface, an indication that the reward workflow is approved (Bynes, plurality of strategies Strategy #1: Higher rent with monthly discount for on-time payment; Strategy #2: Instead of raising rents each year, lower rents!; Strategy #3: Provide discounts for tenants who will sign up for automatic debit; Strategy #4: Report payments to the credit bureau to help build tenant credit (and deter late payments); Strategy #5: Give a bonus during the time its appreciated the most — the holidays! Which would require different workflow to fulfill the reward as appropriate) [Bynes, page 1, 2].
Regarding claim 23, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Calogne in view of Bynes,Power2Motivate and Elmore teaches system and method, wherein the AI engine is further configured to generate, based on the renter behavior, a recommendation identifying an action to perform (Elmore, A tenant’s behavioral change might be due to a change in the query pattern, data access distribution, working set size, access rates, or queries issued on non-indexed attributes while typical queries are on indexed attributes) [Elmore, page 1], wherein the recommendation is associated with a tenant goal, and wherein the resident interface is further configured to send the recommendation (Calogne, The landlord 20 is able to send payment notices 90, including past due or default notifications to tenants 22) [Calogne, 0045].
Regarding claim 24, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Calogne in view of Bynes and Power2Motivate teaches system and method, wherein the tenant data includes an indication that a tenant did not pay rent on time, and wherein the action and the tenant goal are associated with timely paying rent (Calogne, The tenants in default 6-28 days 82, in the preferred embodiment include an amber light next to their name, while those tenants in default over 28 days 84 have a red light next to their name. A tenant 22 that has a history of late rent remittance, along with any and all delinquency, will be reflected in the tenant score 102.) [Calogne. 0044].
Regarding claim 25, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Calogne in view of Bynes,Power2Motivate and Elmore teaches system and method, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to implement an artificial intelligence (AI) engine configured to determine a renter behavior based on the tenant data and the property data (Elmore, Pythia accurately learns tenant behavior even when multiple tenants share a database process, learns good and bad tenant consolidation plans (or packings), and maintains a per-tenant history to detect behavior changes).
Regarding claim 28, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Calogne in view of Bynes,Power2Motivate and Elmore teaches system and method, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to implement an artificial intelligence (AI) engine configured to determine a purchasing pattern of a renter based on the financial data (Elmore, A tenant’s behavioral change might be due to a change in the query pattern, data access distribution, working set size, access rates, or queries issued on non-indexed attributes while typical queries are on indexed attributes) [Elmore, page 1], and wherein the reward engine is configured to generate the reward workflow further based on the purchasing pattern (Power2Motivate, Nomination Wizard will create a nomination that can either be automatically approved) [Power2Motivate, page 3].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's argument that pending claimed amended invention is eligible for patent under 35 USC 101because amended invention cannot be performed in the human mind, and it is integrated into a practical application is acknowledged and considered.
However, upon further review, it is deemed that the amended invention as currently claimed is not eligible for patent under 35 USC 101 and have been responded to in Rejection under 35 USC 101 section.
Applicant's argument that pending claimed amended invention is eligible for patent because cited prior art does not teach claimed limitations is acknowledged and considered.
However, while performing an updated search for the amended invention, new references were identified and cited in this office action. Therefore, applicant’s arguments and concerns are moot under new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NARESH VIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3622
November 18, 2025