DETAILED ACTION
INFORMATION CONCERNING RESPONSES
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on August 26, 2026, in response to PTO Office Action mailed on July 2, 2026. The Applicant’s remarks and amendments to the claims and/or the specification were considered with the results that follow.
In response to the last Office Action, claims 1 and 12 have been amended. As a result, claims 1-21 are now pending in this application.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on August 26, 2026, in response to PTO Office Action mailed on July 2, 2026, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Hence, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further review a new ground of rejection has been made in view of Ban et al. (Patent Number US 8,582,446 B2).
REJECTIONS BASED ON PRIOR ART
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 3-9, 11-12, 14-19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lee (Publication Number US 2012/0246350 A1) in view of Zhu et al. (Publication Number US 2020/0235563 A1) and Ban et al. (Patent Number US 8,582,446 B2).
As per claim 1, Lee discloses “A host device, coupled to an electronic device, comprising: an input/output (I/O) port comprising a first I/O pin and a second I/O pin, wherein the first I/O pin and the second I/O pin are coupled to the electronic device (accessory 60 that is connected to mobile terminal 70 through pin 13 and pin 14; FIG. 5).” Lee discloses “a controller coupled to the first I/O pin and the second I/O pin and configured to drive the electronic device using a configuration parameter set (where the controller 71 compares a voltage input to recognize an identification; Paragraph 0072).” While Lee discloses the use of a analog to digital converter connected to a pin [see pin 13 connected to ADC 78; FIG. 5], Lee does not disclose multiple pins connected to ADC as disclosed in the limitation “and an analog-to-digital converter coupled to the first I/O pin and the second I/O pin and configured to sample a first data signal on the first I/O pin to obtain a first voltage value and further to sample a second data signal on the second I/O pin to obtain a second voltage value, wherein the controller receives the first voltage value and the second voltage value and changes the configuration parameter set according to the first voltage value and the second voltage value.”
Zhu et al. discloses multiple pins connected to ADC as disclosed in the limitation “and an analog-to-digital converter coupled to the first I/O pin and the second I/O pin and configured to sample a first data signal on the first I/O pin to obtain a first voltage value and further to sample a second data signal on the second I/O pin to obtain a second voltage value (in prior art systems pin CC1 and pin CC2 are both connected to ADC [FIG. 4], with the voltages compared to reference voltages to determine connector power-on status; Paragraph 0007).”
Lee and Zhu et al. are analogous art in that they in the field of device connections using the USB protocol.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of Lee and Zhu et al. in order to enhance protection for USB connectors particular as it pertains to power [Paragraph 0007].
While Zhu et al. discloses [the configuration parameter is the connector power-on status; Paragraph 0007], Lee and Zhu et al. do not disclose “wherein the controller receives the first voltage value and the second voltage value, calculates a voltage difference between the first voltage value and the second voltage value, determines whether the voltage difference is within a first predetermined voltage range corresponding to the configuration parameter set, and changes the configuration parameter set to another parameter set when the voltage difference is not within the first predetermined voltage range.”
Ban et al. discloses “wherein the controller receives the first voltage value and the second voltage value, calculates a voltage difference between the first voltage value and the second voltage value, determines whether the voltage difference is within a first predetermined voltage range corresponding to the configuration parameter set (a calculating unit that performs said calculating; a comparing unit that performs said determining that the calculated direct current voltage difference is outside of the predetermined parameter range by comparing the calculated direct current voltage difference with the predetermined parameter range; Claim 3), and changes the configuration parameter set to another parameter set when the voltage difference is not within the first predetermined voltage range (a reset unit that performs said resetting; a routing table generating unit that performs said generating and said regenerating; and a configuration change sending unit that performs said sending; Claim 3).”
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of Lee and Zhu with elements of Ban et al. to ensure quality of service of a transmission pathway [Column 1, lines 50-54].
As per claim 3, Zhu et al. discloses “The host device as claimed in claim 1 (as disclosed by Lee, Zhu et al., and Ban et al. above), the controller provides a plurality of predetermined parameter sets which correspond to a plurality of predetermined voltage ranges respectively, and wherein the controller changes the configuration parameter set according to a plurality of predetermined voltage ranges, the first voltage value and the second voltage value (in the context of determining the voltages for multiple pins (in this example pins CC1 and CC2); Paragraph 0007).”
As per claim 4, Lee discloses “The host device as claimed in claim 1 (as disclosed by Lee, Zhu et al., and Ban et al. above), wherein: the controller provides a plurality of predetermined parameter sets which correspond to a plurality of predetermined voltage ranges respectively, in response to that the controller uses one of the plurality of predetermined parameter sets as the configuration parameter set to drive the electronic device (steps 91, 92, 94, 96, and 97; FIG. 7), the controller obtains the difference voltage value according to the first voltage value and the second voltage value and determines whether the difference voltage value is within a first predetermined voltage range in the plurality of predetermined voltage ranges which corresponds to the one of the plurality of predetermined parameter sets to generate a determination result (steps 91, 92, 94, 96, and 97; FIG. 7), and in response to the determination result indicating that the difference voltage value is not within the first predetermined voltage range, the controller uses one of the others of the plurality of predetermined parameter sets as the configuration parameter set for driving the electronic device (steps 91, 92, 94, 96, and 97 [FIG. 7]. See also process where differing voltage causes the system to recognize the connected device as a data cable (step 53) or an adapter (step 57); FIG. 4).”
As per claims 5 and 15, Lee discloses “The host device as claimed in claim 4 (as disclosed by Lee, Zhu et al., and Ban et al. above), wherein in response to the determination result indicating that the difference voltage value is within the first predetermined voltage range, the controller uses the one of the plurality of predetermined parameter sets as the configuration parameter set for driving the electronic device (step 56 to step 60 that also includes steps 57 and 59; FIG. 4).”
As per claims 6 and 16, Zhu et al. discloses “The host device as claimed in claim 4 (as disclosed by Lee, Zhu et al., and Ban et al. above), wherein: the controller defines a plurality of predetermined voltage values corresponding to the plurality of predetermined voltage ranges respectively, the controller defines a voltage interval to define the plurality of predetermined voltage values in a predetermined sequence, and in response to the determination result indicating that the difference voltage value is not within the first predetermined voltage range, according to the difference voltage value, the predetermined voltage value corresponding to the first predetermined voltage range, and the voltage interval, the controller uses one of the others of the plurality of predetermined parameter sets as the configuration parameter set for driving the electronic device (steps 1001 to 1005 it pertains to comparing a received voltage signal to a reference voltage; FIG. 10).”
As per claims 7 and 17, Lee discloses “The host device as claimed in claim 6 (as disclosed by Lee, Zhu et al., and Ban et al. above), wherein the controller defines the plurality of predetermined voltage values from the minimum to the maximum in the predetermined sequence, and a voltage interval is defined between any two adjacent predetermined voltage value (range of rated power; Paragraphs 0056-0057).”
As per claim 8, Lee discloses “The host device as claimed in claim 1 (as disclosed by Lee, Zhu et al., and Ban et al. above), wherein in response to that the controller operates in a handshake stage to communicate with the electronic device, the controller samples the first data signal on the first I/O pin to obtain the first voltage value (at the start when voltage is applied through VBUS line at step 51 to steps 52 to 57 with signal determination at step 52 and voltage determination at step 56; FIG. 4).”
Zhu et al. discloses sampling signals from another pin concurrently as disclosed in the limitation “and further to samples the second data signal on the second I/O pin to obtain the second voltage value (in prior art systems pin CC1 and pin CC2 are both connected to ADC [FIG. 4], with the voltages compared to reference voltages to determine connector power-on status; Paragraph 0007).”
As per claim 9, Lee discloses “The host device as claimed in claim 8 (as disclosed by Lee, Zhu et al., and Ban et al. above), wherein: the first I/O pin and the second I/O pin are coupled to an I/O port of electronic device, in response to that the controller operates in the handshake stage and a terminal resistor is connected to the I/O port of the electronic device, the sample the first data signal on the first I/O pin to obtain the first voltage value (see resistor connected to the 3.3V terminal for pin 13; FIG. 5; Paragraphs 0066-0068).”
Zhu et al. discloses sampling signals from another pin concurrently as disclosed in the limitation “and further to sample the second data signal on the second I/O pin to obtain the second voltage value (in prior art systems pin CC1 and pin CC2 are both connected to ADC [FIG. 4], with the voltages compared to reference voltages to determine connector power-on status; Paragraph 0007).”
As per claims 11 and 21, Lee discloses “The host device as claimed in claim 1 (as disclosed by Lee, Zhu et al., and Ban et al. above), wherein the first data signal and the second data signal are a differential pair of signals (Paragraphs 0056 and 0062).”
As per claim 12, Lee discloses “A driving method for an electronic device, comprising inserting an electronic device to a host device, wherein an input/output (I/O) port of the host device comprises a first I/O pin and a second I/O pin which are coupled to the electronic device (accessory 60 that is connected to mobile terminal 70 through pin 13 and pin 14; FIG. 5).” Lee discloses “driving the electronic device using a configuration parameter set (where the controller 71 compares a voltage input to recognize an identification; Paragraph 0072).”
While Lee discloses the use of a analog to digital converter connected to a pin [see pin 13 connected to ADC 78; FIG. 5], Lee does not disclose multiple pins connected to ADC as disclosed in the limitation “sampling a first data signal on the first I/O pin to obtain a first voltage value and a second data signal on the second I/O pin to obtain a second voltage value” and “and changing the configuration parameter set according to the first voltage value and the second voltage value.”
Zhu et al. discloses multiple pins connected to ADC as disclosed in the limitation “sampling a first data signal on the first I/O pin to obtain a first voltage value and a second data signal on the second I/O pin to obtain a second voltage value (in prior art systems pin CC1 and pin CC2 are both connected to ADC [FIG. 4], with the voltages compared to reference voltages to determine connector power-on status; Paragraph 0007).”
Lee and Zhu et al. are analogous art in that they in the field of device connections using the USB protocol.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of Lee and Zhu et al. in order to enhance protection for USB connectors particular as it pertains to power [Paragraph 0007].
While Zhu et al. discloses [the configuration parameter is the connector power-on status; Paragraph 0007], Lee and Zhu et al. do not disclose “and changing the configuration parameter set according to a difference between the first voltage value and the second voltage value, wherein changing the configuration parameter set comprises: calculating a voltage difference between the first voltage value and the second voltage value, determining whether the voltage difference is within a first predetermined voltage range corresponding to the configuration parameter set, and changing the configuration parameter set to another parameter set when the voltage difference is not within the first predetermined voltage range.”
Ban et al. discloses “and changing the configuration parameter set according to a difference between the first voltage value and the second voltage value, wherein changing the configuration parameter set comprises: calculating a voltage difference between the first voltage value and the second voltage value, determining whether the voltage difference is within a first predetermined voltage range corresponding to the configuration parameter set (a calculating unit that performs said calculating; a comparing unit that performs said determining that the calculated direct current voltage difference is outside of the predetermined parameter range by comparing the calculated direct current voltage difference with the predetermined parameter range; Claim 3), and changing the configuration parameter set to another parameter set when the voltage difference is not within the first predetermined voltage range (a reset unit that performs said resetting; a routing table generating unit that performs said generating and said regenerating; and a configuration change sending unit that performs said sending; Claim 3).”
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of Lee and Zhu with elements of Ban et al. to ensure quality of service of a transmission pathway [Column 1, lines 50-54].
As per claim 14, Lee discloses “The driving method as claimed in claim 12 (as disclosed by Lee, Zhu et al., and Ban et al. above), wherein: a plurality of predetermined parameter sets which correspond to a plurality of predetermined voltage ranges respectively are provided, driving the electronic device using a configuration parameter set comprises: driving the electronic device using one of the plurality of predetermined parameter sets as the configuration parameter set (steps 91, 92, 94, 96, and 97; FIG. 7).” Lee discloses “determining whether the difference voltage value is within a first predetermined voltage range in the plurality of predetermined voltage ranges which corresponds to the one of the plurality of predetermined parameter sets (steps 91, 92, 94, 96, and 97; FIG. 7), and in response to that the difference voltage value is not within the first predetermined voltage range, using one of the others of the plurality of predetermined parameter sets as the configuration parameter set for driving the electronic device (steps 91, 92, 94, 96, and 97 [FIG. 7]. See also process where differing voltage causes the system to recognize the connected device as a data cable (step 53) or an adapter (step 57); FIG. 4).”
Zhu et al. discloses “changing the configuration parameter set according to the voltage value and the second voltage value comprises: obtaining the difference voltage value according to the first voltage value and the second voltage value (in the context of determining the voltages for multiple pins (in this example pins CC1 and CC2); Paragraph 0007).”
As per claim 18, Zhu et al. discloses “The driving method as claimed in claim 12 (as disclosed by Lee, Zhu et al., and Ban et al. above), further comprising: performing a handshake stage to communicate with the electronic device, wherein in the handshake stage, the first data signal on the first I/O pin is sampled, and the second data signal on the second I/O pin is sampled (in the context of determining the voltages for multiple pins (in this example pins CC1 and CC2); Paragraph 0007).”
As per claim 19, Lee discloses “The driving method as claimed in claim 18 (as disclosed by Lee, Zhu et al., and Ban et al. above), wherein: the first I/O pin and the second I/O pin are coupled to an I/O port of electronic device, in the handshake stage, a terminal resistor is connected to the I/O port of the electronic device, and in the handshake stage, the first data signal on the first I/O pin is sampled and the second data signal on the second I/O pin is sampled (see resistor connected to the 3.3V terminal for pin 13; FIG. 5; Paragraphs 0066-0068).”
Claims 2, 10, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lee (Publication Number US 2012/0246350 A1), Zhu et al. (Publication Number US 2020/0235563 A1), and Ban et al. (Patent Number US 8,582,446 B2) in view of Lin et al. (Publication Number US 2008/0222341 A1).
As per claims 2 and 13, Lee, Zhu et al., and Ban et al. disclose “The host device as claimed in claim 1 (as disclosed by Lee, Zhu et al., and Ban et al. above).” However, Lee, Zhu et al., and Ban et al. do not specifically disclose “wherein the electronic device is a USB OTG (On-The-Go) device.”
Lin et al. discloses “wherein the electronic device is a USB OTG (On-The-Go) device (Paragraph 0016).”
Lee, Zhu et al., and Lin et al. are analogous art in that they disclose the use of USB.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of Lee, Zhu et al., and Ban et al. with elements of Lin et al. to provide a way for USB devices to break off from the USB host [Paragraph 0004].
As per claims 10 and 20, Lee, Zhu et al., and Ban et al. disclose “The host device as claimed in claim 8 (as disclosed by Lee, Zhu et al., and Ban et al. above).” However, Lee, Zhu et al., and Ban et al. do not disclose “The host device as claimed in claim 8, wherein the handshake stage is a high-speed handshake process.”
Lin et al. discloses “The host device as claimed in claim 8, wherein the handshake stage is a high-speed handshake process (Paragraph 0026).”
Lee, Zhu et al., and Lin et al. are analogous art in that they disclose the use of USB.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements of Lee, Zhu et al., and Ban et al. with elements of Lin et al. to provide a way for USB devices to break off from the USB host [Paragraph 0004].
RELEVENT ART CITED BY THE EXAMINER
The following prior art made of record and relied upon is citied to establish the level of skill in the applicant’s art and those arts considered reasonably pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See MPEP 707.05(c).
The following references teach data transfer as they pertain to voltage analyzers and range determination:
U.S. PATENT NUMBERS:
2005/0206241 A1 – [Paragraph 0051]
2020/0233770 A1 – [Paragraph 0104]
2024/0395480 A1 – [Paragraph 0113]
CONCLUDING REMARKS
Conclusions
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.W.Y/Examiner, Art Unit 2181 September 22, 2026
/IDRISS N ALROBAYE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2181