DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 26 is objected to because of the following informalities: “voltage; and activating a light source” should read --voltage; and d) activating a light source--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the body” in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the body” in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitations “a light source”, “light pulses”, and “a processor”. It is unclear whether the light source, light pulses, and processor are intended to be the same or different from those of parent claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-9, 11, 13-16, 19, 21, and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0309522 (Fullerton et al.).
Regarding claim 1, Fullerton teaches an apparatus for detecting a marker (1040) implanted within tissue that includes an energy converter (1052) coupled to a circuit for changing a configuration of an antenna (1044) of the marker (1040) ([0249]; [0256]; [0261]; [0264]; [0266]; Figures 62-65), the apparatus comprising:
5a set of transmit electrodes coupled to a signal generator for transmitting a drive current into tissue around the marker (1040) (“one or more antennas” including transmit antenna, [0250]; probe 1020 includes signal generator, [0253]);
a set of receive electrodes configured to detect voltage signals within the tissue corresponding to impedance of the tissue in response to the drive current (“one or more antennas” including receive antenna, [0250]; probe 1020 includes signal generator, [0253]);
a light source for delivering light pulses into the body to cause the energy converter (1052) to 10activate and deactivate the circuit to change the configuration of the antenna (1044) of the marker (1040) ([0261]; [0264]-[0267]); and
a processor coupled to the receive electrodes for processing the voltage signals to identify changes in the impedance that are synchronized with the light pulses to determine whether the marker (1040) is operating properly ([0253]; indication of identity/location of tag construed as proper operation, [0270]-[0271]).
Regarding claim 3, Fullerton teaches an output device coupled to the processor that provides an indication when the processor determined that the marker (1040) is operating properly (“display…for displaying information to a user of the probe 1020”, [0254]).
Regarding claim 5, Fullerton teaches an actuator for activating the light source to deliver the light pulses, the processor configured to process the detected voltage signals 10before activating the light source to determine a threshold voltage and to process the detected voltage signals after the light source is activated to identify changes relative to the threshold voltage ([0251]; [0253]; [0270]-[0271]).
Regarding claim 6, Fullerton teaches the signal generator is configured to generate an alternating current between about three and three hundred kilohertz (3-300 kHz) for causing the transmit electrodes to transmit the drive current ([0250]; [0253]).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Fullerton teaches the transmit electrodes and the receive electrodes are provided on a patient contact surface (1032), and wherein the light source is configured to 20deliver the light pulses from the patient contact surface (1032); wherein the patient contact surface (1032) is flat (see Figure 62; [0250]-[0251]).
Regarding claim 9, Fullerton teaches a system for localization of a target tissue region within tissue (abstract; [0249]), comprising:
a marker (1040) sized for implantation within tissue comprising an energy converter (1052) coupled to a circuit for changing a configuration of an antenna (1044) of the marker (1040) ([0249]; [0256]; [0261]; [0264]; [0266]; Figures 62-65); and
an apparatus (Figure 62, probe, 1020) comprising 5a set of transmit electrodes coupled to a signal generator for transmitting a drive current into tissue around the marker (1040) (“one or more antennas” including transmit antenna, [0250]; probe 1020 includes signal generator, [0253]), a set of receive electrodes configured to detect voltage signals within the tissue corresponding to impedance of the tissue in response to the drive current (“one or more antennas” including receive antenna, [0250]; probe 1020 includes signal generator, [0253]), a light source for delivering light pulses into the body to cause the energy converter (1052) to 10activate and deactivate the circuit to change the configuration of the antenna of the marker (1040) ([0261]; [0265]-[0267]), and a processor coupled to the receive electrodes for processing the voltage signals to identify changes in the impedance that are synchronized with the light pulses to determine whether the marker (1040) is operating properly ([0253]; indication of identity/location of tag construed as proper operation, [0270]-[0271]).
Regarding claim 11, Fullerton teaches an output device coupled to the processor that provides an indication when the processor determined that the marker (1040) is operating properly (“display…for displaying information to a user of the probe 1020”, [0254]).
Regarding claim 13, Fullerton teaches an actuator for activating the light source to deliver the light pulses, the processor configured to process the detected voltage signals 10before activating the light source to determine a threshold voltage and to process the detected voltage signals after the light source is activated to identify changes relative to the threshold voltage ([0251]; [0253]; [0270]-[0271]).
Regarding claim 14, Fullerton teaches the signal generator is configured to generate an alternating current between about three and three hundred kilohertz (3-300 kHz) for causing the transmit electrodes to transmit the drive current ([0250]; [0253]).
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Fullerton teaches the transmit electrodes and the receive electrodes are provided on a patient contact surface (1032), and wherein the light source is configured to 20deliver the light pulses from the patient contact surface (1032); wherein the patient contact surface (1032) is flat (see Figure 62; [0250]-[0251]).
Regarding claim 19, Fullerton teaches a method for localization of a target tissue region within tissue (abstract; [0267]-[0268]), comprising:
implanting a marker (Figures 62-64, tag, 1040) within tissue, the marker (1040) comprising an energy converter (Figure 65, power converter, 1052), and a circuit coupled to the energy converter (1052) and an antenna (Figures 62-65, wire, 1044) ([0249]; [0256]; [0261]; [0264]-[0266]);
placing an apparatus (Figure 62, probe, 1020) adjacent tissue oriented towards the marker (1040) ([0267]); and
activating the apparatus (1020) to a) transmit a drive current via drive electrodes into the tissue (“one or more antennas” including transmit antenna, [0250]; probe 1020 includes signal generator, [0253]; [0267]), b) receive voltage signals from the tissue via receive electrodes corresponding to impedance of the tissue (“one or more antennas” including receive antenna, [0250]; probe 1020 includes signal generator, [0253]; [0267]), c) deliver light pulses into the tissue such that the energy converter (1052) transforms the light pulses to activate and deactivate the circuit to change a configuration of the antenna (1044) [0261]; [0264]-[0267]), and d) 20determine whether changes in the received voltage signals are synchronized with the light pulses to determine whether the marker (1040) is operating properly ([0253]; indication of identity/location of tag construed as proper operation, [0267]; [0270]-[0271]).
Regarding claim 21, Fullerton teaches the apparatus provides an output indicating whether the marker (1040) is operating properly (“display…for displaying information to a user of the probe 1020”, [0254]).
Regarding claim 23, Fullerton teaches the apparatus (1020) initially activates the light source to deliver the light pulses before activating the light source to determine a threshold voltage and process the detected voltage signals after the light source is activated to identify changes relative to the threshold voltage ([0261]; [0266]-[0267]; [0270]-[0271]).
Regarding claim 24, Fullerton teaches the apparatus (1020) comprises a signal generator that generates an alternating current between about three and three hundred kilohertz (3-300 kHz) for causing the transmit electrodes to transmit the drive current ([0250]; [0253]; [0267]).
Regarding claim 25, Fullerton teaches the transmit electrodes and the receive electrodes are provided on a patient contact surface (1032) of the apparatus (1020) and the light source is configured to 20deliver the light pulses from the patient contact surface (1032), and wherein placing the apparatus (1020) comprises placing the patient contact surface against the patient’s skin before activating the apparatus (1020) (see Figure 62; [0250]-[0251]; [0267]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 12, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0309522 (Fullerton et al.).
Regarding claims 4, 12, and 22, Fullerton teaches all the limitations of claim 3, 11, or 22. Fullerton does not expressly teach the output device includes at least one of a light and a speaker providing an output.
However, Fullerton teaches an alternative embodiment of an output device (38) coupled to a processor (36) that provides an indication when the processor determines a marker (26) is operating properly ([0111]-[0113]; [0119]-[0121]; [0126]-[0128]; Figure 10); wherein the output device (38) comprises at least one of a light that is activated and a speaker emitting a predetermined sound ([0126]-[0128]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the output device of Figure 62 Fullerton to include a light and a speaker communicating visual and auditory information, respectively, to a practitioner as taught by Figure 10 of Fullerton, because Fullerton teaches providing such a light and speaker enables the provision of “spatial information, operation parameters”, sound or visual output indicating “when the probe 30 reaches a predetermined threshold distance from the marker, e.g., a desired margin, or may be activated when successively closer distances are achieved” ([0127]).
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 23-26 of prior U.S. Patent No. 11,350,846. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-of U.S. Patent No. 11,350,846. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the instant application is merely broader in scope than all that is recited in claim 1 of the ‘846 patent. That is, claim 1 is anticipated by claim 1 of the ‘846 patent. Similarly, claim 9 is anticipated by claim 7 of the ‘846 patent. Claim 19 is anticipated by claim 17 of the ‘846 patent. Once applicant has received a patent for a species or a more specific embodiment, applicant is not entitled to a patent for the generic or broader invention (see In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993)). Claims 2-8, 10-18, and 20-25 of the instant application are anticipated by claims 1-22 of the ‘846 patent, by the same reasoning.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2014/0309522 (Fullerton et al.): apparatus, system, method for localizing markers in a patient’s body
/CARRIE R DORNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791