This Final-Office action is in response to the Amendment filed on 7/15/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 15, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0003482 to Bae et al (hereinafter Bae) in view of KR 20190137475 to Sunghun Lee et al (hereinafter Sunghun) and JP 2005331221 to Miyamoto et al (hereinafter Miyamoto).
Bae discloses (Claim 1). A refrigerator 1 comprising: a cabinet 10 that defines a storage space; and a door 21 configured to open and close at least a portion of the storage space, wherein the door 21 comprises (such as shown in Figs. 3-4): a door liner 200 that defines a rear surface of the door 21, the door liner 200 having a liner opening 201, a panel assembly 100 comprising a plurality of transparent panels that are configured to allow a rear space of the door to be visible from an outside of the door, and an insulating material 400 provided inside the door 21 excluding the panel assembly 100, wherein the panel assembly comprises: a first panel 110 that defines a front surface of the door, a fourth panel 130 disposed rearward relative to the first panel 110 and spaced apart from the first panel 110, a third panel 120 disposed rearward relative to the fourth panel 130 and spaced apart from the fourth panel 130, the third panel 120 covering the liner opening 201.
The differences being that Bae fails to clearly disclose the limitations in claim 1 of a second panel disposed rearward relative to the first panel and spaced apart from the first panel and between the first panel and the third panel, a first spacer disposed between the first panel and the second panel and extending along perimeters of the first panel and the second panel, a second spacer disposed between the second panel and the third panel and extending along perimeters of the second panel and the third panel, a first insulating layer defined by the first panel, the second panel, and the first spacer, the first insulating layer being in a vacuum state, and a second insulating layer defined by the second panel, the third panel, and the second spacer and disposed rearward relative to the first insulating layer, the second insulating layer including insulating gas, wherein the first panel and the second panel extend outward relative to the third panel, wherein the first spacer is disposed farther from a center of the panel assembly than the second spacer in each of a width direction and a longitudinal direction of the door, wherein an end portion of the first insulating layer is located outward relative to a corresponding end portion of the second insulating layer in each of the width direction and the longitudinal direction, and wherein a thickness of the first insulating layer is less than a thickness of the second insulating layer, a width of the first insulating layer is greater than a width of the second insulating layer, and a length of the first insulating layer is greater than a length of the second insulating layer.
However, Sunghun discloses a refrigerator comprising: a cabinet; a door comprising: a door liner having a liner opening, a panel assembly comprising a plurality of transparent panels that are configured to allow a rear space of the door to be visible form an outside of the door, wherein the panel assembly comprises (such as shown in Fig. 14): a first panel (panel 541 comprises two panels, with the front panel being defined as the first panel) that defines a front surface of the door, a second panel (panel 541 comprises two panels, with the rear panel being defined as the second panel) disposed rearward relative to the first panel and spaced apart from the first panel, a third panel 542 disposed rearward relative to the second panel and spaced apart from the second panel, the third panel 542 covering the liner opening, a first insulating layer defined by the first panel and the second panel, a second insulating layer disposed between the second panel and the third panel, a second spacer 543, wherein the first panel and the second panel extend outward relative to the third panel, wherein an end portion of the first insulating layer is located outward relative to a corresponding end portion of the second insulating layer in each of the width direction and the longitudinal direction, and wherein a thickness of the first insulating layer is less than a thickness of the second insulating payer, a width of the first insulating layer is greater than a width of the second insulating layer, and a length of the first insulating layer is greater than a length of the second insulating layer.
Meanwhile, Miyamoto discloses a refrigerator comprising: a cabinet; a door 21 comprising (such as shown in Figs. 5-6): a door liner having a liner opening, a panel assembly comprising a plurality of transparent panels that are configured to allow a rear space of the door to be visible form an outside of the door, wherein the panel assembly comprises a first panel 90a, a second panel 90b, a third panel 90c, a first insulating layer 91 defined by the first panel 90a, the second panel 90b, and a first spacer (inherent such that the panels can be spaced apart from each other to provide insulating layer 91), the first insulating layer 91 being in a vacuum state, and a second insulating layer 92 defined by the second panel, the third panel, and a second spacer 93 and disposed rearward relative to the first insulating layer 91, the second insulating layer 92 including insulating gas.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bae, in view of Sunghun and Miyamoto, to include the limitations in claim 1 of the first panel 110 comprises a first panel and a second panel, the second panel disposed rearward relative to the first panel and spaced apart from the first panel and between the first panel and the third panel, a first spacer disposed between the first panel and the second panel and extending along perimeters of the first panel and the second panel, a second spacer disposed between the second panel and the third panel and extending along perimeters of the second panel and the third panel, a first insulating layer defined by the first panel, the second panel, and the first spacer, the first insulating layer being in a vacuum state, and a second insulating layer defined by the second panel, the third panel, and the second spacer and disposed rearward relative to the first insulating layer, the second insulating layer including insulating gas, wherein the first panel and the second panel extend outward relative to the third panel, wherein the first spacer is disposed farther from a center of the panel assembly than the second spacer in each of a width direction and a longitudinal direction of the door, wherein an end portion of the first insulating layer is located outward relative to a corresponding end portion of the second insulating layer in each of the width direction and the longitudinal direction, and wherein a thickness of the first insulating layer is less than a thickness of the second insulating layer, a width of the first insulating layer is greater than a width of the second insulating layer, and a length of the first insulating layer is greater than a length of the second insulating layer with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility of the refrigerator.
Regarding claim 4, Bae in view of Sunghun and Miyamoto discloses the limitations set forth above. The combination (Bae) further discloses wherein the door further comprises (such as shown in Fig. 3): an upper frame 310 that defines an upper surface of the door; a lower frame 340 that defines a lower surface of the door; and a side frame 350,360 that connects the upper frame 310 and the lower frame 340 to each other and defines left and right sides of the door, wherein the door liner 200 is coupled to rear ends of the upper frame, the lower frame, and the side frame, and wherein the panel assembly 100 is coupled to front ends of the upper frame, the lower frame, and the side frame.
Regarding claim 5, Bae in view of Sunghun and Miyamoto discloses the limitations set forth above. The combination (Bae) further discloses wherein the first panel and the second panel are supported by the upper frame 310, the lower frame 340, and the side frame 350,360, and wherein the third panel is supported by the door liner 200.
Regarding claim 6, Bae in view of Sunghun and Miyamoto discloses the limitations set forth above. The combination (Bae) further discloses wherein the upper frame 310, the lower frame 340, and the side frame 350,360 define a front opening of the door, and wherein the first panel 110 covers the front opening of the door.
Regarding claim 7, Bae in view of Sunghun and Miyamoto discloses the limitations set forth above. The combination (Bae) further discloses wherein the door further comprises a heater 394 that is in contact with the second panel and disposed along a perimeter of the first insulating layer.
Regarding claim 15, Bae in view of Sunghun and Miyamoto discloses the limitations set forth above. The combination (Bae) further discloses wherein the door liner 200 comprises a door dike 202 that protrudes rearward from left and right sides of the liner opening 201, wherein the door dike 202 comprises storage member mounting parts 207 that protrude from an inner surface of the door dike 202 toward each other and are configured to support a door storage member, and wherein a front end of the door storage member is located forward relative to a rear end of the lower frame.
Regarding claim 19, Bae in view of Sunghun and Miyamoto discloses the limitations set forth above. The combination (Bae) further discloses wherein a perimeter of the first panel 110 is round (such as shown in Fig. 4), and the first panel extends outward relative to an end portion of the second panel in the width direction.
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae, as modified, as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of USP 10119751 to Choi.
Bae, as modified, discloses all the elements as discussed above except for the limitations recited in the above listed claims.
However, Choi discloses a refrigerator comprising: a cabinet that defines a storage space; and a door 80 configured to open and close at least a portion of the storage space, wherein the door 50 comprises: a door liner 59 that defines a rear surface of the door, the door liner 59, a panel assembly 54 comprising a plurality of transparent panels that are configured to allow a rear space of the door to be visible from an outside of the door, and an insulating material 501 provided inside the door excluding the panel assembly, wherein the panel assembly 54 comprises: a first panel 541 that defines a front surface of the door, a second panel 542 disposed rearward relative to the first panel and spaced apart from the first panel, a third panel 542 disposed rearward relative to the second panel and spaced apart from the second panel, the third panel covering a liner opening, a first insulating layer disposed between the first panel and the second panel, and a second insulating layer disposed between the second panel and the third panel; wherein the door further comprises (such as shown in Fig. 19): an upper frame 57 that defines an upper surface of the door; a lower frame 58 that defines a lower surface of the door; and a side frame 55,56 that connects the upper frame and the lower frame to each other and defines left and right sides of the door, wherein the door liner 59 is coupled to rear ends of the upper frame, the lower frame, and the side frame, and wherein the panel assembly is coupled to front ends of the upper frame, the lower frame, and the side frame; wherein the door 50 further comprises a heater 502 (Fig. 25) that is in contact with the first panel; wherein the side frame 55,56 is made of a metal material and defines a heater groove 5531,5621 that is recessed from the side frame and accommodates the heater 50; wherein the heater comprises: a heating part configured to generate heat, the heating part being in contact with the side frame 55,56 at the left and right sides of the door 50; a power line L (Fig. 27) configured to supply power to the panel, and disposed in a recess of the upper frame.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of Choi, to modify Bae, as modified, to include the limitations in claim 8 of wherein the side frame is made of a metal material and defines a heater groove that is recessed from the side frame and accommodates the heater; claim 9 of wherein the heater comprises: a heating part configured to generate heat, the heating part being in contact with the side frame at the left and right sides of the door; and claim 11 of a power line connected to an end portion of the heater and configured to supply power to the heater; and a connector that is disposed in a recess of the upper frame and connects the power line and the heater to each other with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility of the refrigerator.
Regarding the limitations in claim 9 of a lower connection part connected to lower ends of the heating part at the left and right sides of the door; and an upper connection part connected to upper ends of the heating part at the left and right sides of the door, and wherein an electrical resistance of each of the lower connection part and the upper connection part is less than an electrical resistance of the heating part, and claim 10 of wherein the heater comprises: a heating part that is arranged in a plurality of rows extending along the side frame; and a connection part connected to upper ends of the heating part at the left and right sides of the door, the connection part being configured to supply power to the heating part, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bae, as modified, to comprise a lower connection part connected to lower ends of the heating part at the left and right sides of the door; and an upper connection part connected to upper ends of the heating part at the left and right sides of the door, and wherein an electrical resistance of each of the lower connection part and the upper connection part is less than an electrical resistance of the heating part; wherein the heater comprises: a heating part that is arranged in a plurality of rows extending along the side frame; and a connection part connected to upper ends of the heating part at the left and right sides of the door, the connection part being configured to supply power to the heating part with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility of the refrigerator.
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae, as modified, as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of USP 10883305 to Jeong et al (hereinafter Jeong).
Bae, as modified, discloses all the elements as discussed above including the limitations in claim 13 of wherein the lower frame 340 comprises (Fig. 13) a handle groove that is recessed upward from the lower surface of the door, and claim 14 of a lower support that extends upward from one side of the handle groove and supports a rear surface of the second panel. The differences being that Bae, as modified, fails to clearly disclose the limitations in claim 13 of wherein a vertical extension line of a rear surface of the third panel passes through the handle groove.
However, Jeong discloses (Claim 1). A refrigerator 1 comprising: a cabinet 10 that defines a storage space; and a door 50 configured to open and close at least a portion of the storage space, wherein the door 50 comprises: a door liner 56 that defines a rear surface of the door 50, the door liner 56 having a liner opening 561, a panel assembly 60 comprising (such as shown in Figs. 18-19) a plurality of transparent panels 61,64,69,65 that are configured to allow a rear space of the door to be visible from an outside of the door, and an insulating material 531 provided inside the door excluding the panel assembly, wherein the panel assembly 60 comprises: a first panel 61 that defines a front surface of the door, a second panel 64 disposed rearward relative to the first panel and spaced apart from the first panel, a third panel 69 disposed rearward relative to the second panel and spaced apart from the second panel, the third panel 69 covering the liner opening 561 (please note: the claimed language does not specify the third panel 69 is in contact with the liner), a first insulating layer disposed between the first panel 61 and the second panel 64, and a second insulating layer disposed between the second panel 64 and the third panel 69, wherein the first insulating layer extends outward relative to an end portion of the second insulating layer in a width direction of the door (Fig. 19 shows the top end of panel 64 is higher than the top end of panel 69), and wherein a width of the first insulating layer is greater than a width of the second insulating layer in the width direction (Fig. 19 shows the top end of panel 64 is higher than the top end of panel 69); (Claim 2). The refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the panel assembly further comprises: a first spacer 63,67 disposed between the first panel 61 and the second panel 64; and a second spacer 66 disposed between the second panel 64 and the third panel 69, and wherein the first spacer is disposed farther from a center of the panel assembly than the second spacer in the width direction; (Claim 4). The refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the door 50 further comprises (such as shown in Fig. 6): an upper frame 54 that defines an upper surface of the door; a lower frame 55 that defines a lower surface of the door; and a side frame (defined at least in part by side portions of out plate 51) that connects the upper frame 54 and the lower frame 55 to each other and defines left and right sides of the door, wherein the door liner 56 is coupled to rear ends of the upper frame 54, the lower frame55 , and the side frame, and wherein the panel assembly 60 is coupled to front ends of the upper frame 54, the lower frame 55, and the side frame via out plate 51; (Claim 13). The refrigerator of claim 4, wherein the lower frame 55 defines (such as shown in Figs. 18 & 20) a handle groove that is recessed upward from the lower surface of the door, and wherein a vertical extension line of a rear surface of the third panel 69 passes through the handle groove.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of Jeong, to modify Bae, as modified, to include the limitations in claim 13 of wherein a vertical extension line of a rear surface of the third panel passes through the handle groove with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility of the refrigerator.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant’s arguments on pages 11-12 that Miyamoto fails to disclose the limitations in claim 1 of "an end portion of the first insulating layer is located outward relative to a corresponding end portion of the second insulating layer in each of the width direction and the longitudinal direction," where "a thickness of the first insulating layer is less than a thickness of the second insulating layer," "a width of the first insulating layer is greater than a width of the second insulating layer," and "a length of the first insulating layer is greater than a length of the second insulating layer,", the examiner respectfully take the position that, as stated in the above-noted rejection, Miyamoto alone may not disclose said limitations, but Bae, in view of Sunghun and Miyamoto, discloses all said limitations.
In response to applicant’s argument on page 12, first full paragraph, the examiner respectfully take the position that Bae, in view of Sunghun and Miyamoto, clearly discloses positioning the spacers at different locations so that the corresponding end portions of the vacuum and insulating gas layers are offset from one another.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
HVT
August 11, 2026
/HANH V TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637