This is the First Office action on the Merits from the examiner in charge of this application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, Figs. 1-22 in the reply filed on 2/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 16-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/18/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “34” has been used to designate both a third panel and spacers, such as shown in Fig. 21. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: page 15, last line “lower ends” should be “upper ends”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15, and 19-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/762,712 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each claims a cabinet, a door comprises: a door liner, a panel assembly comprising a plurality of transparent panels, an insulating material, wherein the panel assembly comprises: a first panel, a second panel, a third panel, wherein a first insulating layer extends outward relative to an end portion of a second insulating layer in a width direction of the door, etc.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by USP 10883305 to Jeong et al (hereinafter Jeong).
Jeong discloses (Claim 1). A refrigerator 1 comprising: a cabinet 10 that defines a storage space; and a door 50 configured to open and close at least a portion of the storage space, wherein the door 50 comprises: a door liner 56 that defines a rear surface of the door 50, the door liner 56 having a liner opening 561, a panel assembly 60 comprising (such as shown in Figs. 18-19) a plurality of transparent panels 61,64,69,65 that are configured to allow a rear space of the door to be visible from an outside of the door, and an insulating material 531 provided inside the door excluding the panel assembly, wherein the panel assembly 60 comprises: a first panel 61 that defines a front surface of the door, a second panel 64 disposed rearward relative to the first panel and spaced apart from the first panel, a third panel 69 disposed rearward relative to the second panel and spaced apart from the second panel, the third panel 69 covering the liner opening 561 (please note: the claimed language does not specify the third panel 69 is in contact with the liner), a first insulating layer disposed between the first panel 61 and the second panel 64, and a second insulating layer disposed between the second panel 64 and the third panel 69, wherein the first insulating layer extends outward relative to an end portion of the second insulating layer in a width direction of the door (Fig. 19 shows the top end of panel 64 is higher than the top end of panel 69), and wherein a width of the first insulating layer is greater than a width of the second insulating layer in the width direction (Fig. 19 shows the top end of panel 64 is higher than the top end of panel 69); (Claim 2). The refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the panel assembly further comprises: a first spacer 63,67 disposed between the first panel 61 and the second panel 64; and a second spacer 66 disposed between the second panel 64 and the third panel 69, and wherein the first spacer is disposed farther from a center of the panel assembly than the second spacer in the width direction; (Claim 4). The refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the door 50 further comprises (such as shown in Fig. 6): an upper frame 54 that defines an upper surface of the door; a lower frame 55 that defines a lower surface of the door; and a side frame (defined at least in part by side portions of out plate 51) that connects the upper frame 54 and the lower frame 55 to each other and defines left and right sides of the door, wherein the door liner 56 is coupled to rear ends of the upper frame 54, the lower frame55 , and the side frame, and wherein the panel assembly 60 is coupled to front ends of the upper frame 54, the lower frame 55, and the side frame via out plate 51; (Claim 5). The refrigerator of claim 4, wherein the first panel 61 and the second panel 64 are supported by the upper frame, the lower frame, and the side frame, and wherein the third panel 69 is supported by the door liner; (Claim 6). The refrigerator of claim 4, wherein the upper frame 54, the lower frame 55, and the side frame define a front opening 511 of the door, and wherein the first panel 61 covers the front opening 511 of the door; (Claim 13). The refrigerator of claim 4, wherein the lower frame 55 defines (such as shown in Figs. 18 & 20) a handle groove that is recessed upward from the lower surface of the door, and wherein a vertical extension line of a rear surface of the third panel 69 passes through the handle groove; (Claim 20). The refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the door further comprises: a main door 40 configured to open and close at least the portion of the storage space, the main door 40 having a door opening; and a sub door 50 disposed at a front side of the main door 40 and configured to open and close the door opening, and wherein the panel assembly 60 is disposed at the sub door 50.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 15, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0003482 to Bae et al (hereinafter Bae) in view of KR 20190137475 to Sunghun et al (hereinafter Sunghun) and JP 2005331221 to Miyamoto et al (hereinafter Miyamoto).
Bae discloses (Claim 1). A refrigerator 1 comprising: a cabinet 10 that defines a storage space; and a door 21 configured to open and close at least a portion of the storage space, wherein the door 21 comprises (such as shown in Figs. 3-4): a door liner 200 that defines a rear surface of the door 21, the door liner 200 having a liner opening 201, a panel assembly 100 comprising a plurality of transparent panels that are configured to allow a rear space of the door to be visible from an outside of the door, and an insulating material 400 provided inside the door 21 excluding the panel assembly 100, wherein the panel assembly comprises: a first panel 110 that defines a front surface of the door, a fourth panel 130 disposed rearward relative to the first panel 110 and spaced apart from the first panel 110, a third panel 120 disposed rearward relative to the fourth panel 130 and spaced apart from the fourth panel 130, the third panel 120 covering the liner opening 201.
The differences being that Bae fails to clearly disclose the limitations in claim 1 of a second panel disposed rearward relative to the first panel and spaced apart from the first panel and between the first panel and the third panel, a first insulating layer disposed between the first panel and the second panel, and a second insulating layer disposed between the second panel and the third panel, wherein the first insulating layer extends outward relative to an end portion of the second insulating layer in a width direction of the door, and wherein a width of the first insulating layer is greater than a width of the second insulating layer in the width direction.
However, Sunghun discloses a refrigerator comprising: a cabinet; a door comprising: a door liner having a liner opening, a panel assembly comprising a plurality of transparent panels that are configured to allow a rear space of the door to be visible form an outside of the door, wherein the panel assembly comprises (such as shown in Fig. 14): a first panel (panel 541 comprises two panels, with the front panel being defined as the first panel) that defines a front surface of the door, a second panel (panel 541 comprises two panels, with the rear panel being defined as the second panel) disposed rearward relative to the first panel and spaced apart from the first panel, a third panel 542 disposed rearward relative to the second panel and spaced apart from the second panel, the third panel 542 covering the liner opening, a second insulating layer disposed between the second panel and the third panel, wherein the second panel extends outward relative to an end portion of the second insulating layer in a width direction of the door, and wherein a width of the second panel is greater than a width of the second insulating layer in the width direction.
Meanwhile, Miyamoto discloses a refrigerator comprising: a cabinet; a door 21 comprising (such as shown in Figs. 5-6): a door liner having a liner opening, a panel assembly comprising a plurality of transparent panels that are configured to allow a rear space of the door to be visible form an outside of the door, wherein the panel assembly comprises a first panel 90a, a second panel 90b, a third panel 90c, a first insulating layer 91 disposed between the first panel 90a and the second panel 90b, and a second insulating layer disposed between the second panel 90b and the third panel 90c.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bae, in view of Sunghun and Miyamoto, such that the first panel 110 comprises a first panel and a second panel, with the second panel disposed rearward relative to the first panel and spaced apart from the first panel, a first insulating layer disposed between the first panel and the second panel, and a second insulating payer disposed between the second panel and the third panel, wherein the first insulating layer extends outward relative to an end portion of the second insulating layer in a width direction of the door, and wherein a width of the first insulating layer is greater than a width of the second insulating layer in the width direction with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility of the refrigerator.
Regarding claim 2, Bae in view of Sunghun and Miyamoto discloses the limitations set forth above. The combination (Miyamoto) further discloses wherein the panel assembly further comprises: a first spacer (inherent such that the panels can be spaced apart from each other to provide insulating layer 91) disposed between the first panel 90a and the second panel 90b; and a second spacer 93 disposed between the second panel 90b and the third panel 90c, and wherein the first spacer is disposed farther from a center of the panel assembly than the second spacer in the width direction.
Regarding claim 3, Bae in view of Sunghun and Miyamoto discloses the limitations set forth above. The combination (Miyamoto) further discloses wherein the first insulating layer 91 is in a vacuum state, wherein the second insulating layer 92 includes insulating gas, and wherein a thickness of the first insulating layer is less than a thickness of the second insulating layer.
Regarding claim 4, Bae in view of Sunghun and Miyamoto discloses the limitations set forth above. The combination (Bae) further discloses wherein the door further comprises (such as shown in Fig. 3): an upper frame 310 that defines an upper surface of the door; a lower frame 340 that defines a lower surface of the door; and a side frame 350,360 that connects the upper frame 310 and the lower frame 340 to each other and defines left and right sides of the door, wherein the door liner 200 is coupled to rear ends of the upper frame, the lower frame, and the side frame, and wherein the panel assembly 100 is coupled to front ends of the upper frame, the lower frame, and the side frame.
Regarding claim 5, Bae in view of Sunghun and Miyamoto discloses the limitations set forth above. The combination (Bae) further discloses wherein the first panel and the second panel are supported by the upper frame 310, the lower frame 340, and the side frame 350,360, and wherein the third panel is supported by the door liner 200.
Regarding claim 6, Bae in view of Sunghun and Miyamoto discloses the limitations set forth above. The combination (Bae) further discloses wherein the upper frame 310, the lower frame 340, and the side frame 350,360 define a front opening of the door, and wherein the first panel 110 covers the front opening of the door.
Regarding claim 7, Bae in view of Sunghun and Miyamoto discloses the limitations set forth above. The combination (Bae) further discloses wherein the door further comprises a heater 394 that is in contact with the second panel and disposed along a perimeter of the first insulating layer.
Regarding claim 15, Bae in view of Sunghun and Miyamoto discloses the limitations set forth above. The combination (Bae) further discloses wherein the door liner 200 comprises a door dike 202 that protrudes rearward from left and right sides of the liner opening 201, wherein the door dike 202 comprises storage member mounting parts 207 that protrude from an inner surface of the door dike 202 toward each other and are configured to support a door storage member, and wherein a front end of the door storage member is located forward relative to a rear end of the lower frame.
Regarding claim 19, Bae in view of Sunghun and Miyamoto discloses the limitations set forth above. The combination (Bae) further discloses wherein a perimeter of the first panel 110 is round (such as shown in Fig. 4), and the first panel extends outward relative to an end portion of the second panel in the width direction.
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae, as modified, as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of USP 10119751 to Choi.
Bae, as modified, discloses all the elements as discussed above except for the limitations recited in the above listed claims.
However, Choi discloses a refrigerator comprising: a cabinet that defines a storage space; and a door 80 configured to open and close at least a portion of the storage space, wherein the door 50 comprises: a door liner 59 that defines a rear surface of the door, the door liner 59, a panel assembly 54 comprising a plurality of transparent panels that are configured to allow a rear space of the door to be visible from an outside of the door, and an insulating material 501 provided inside the door excluding the panel assembly, wherein the panel assembly 54 comprises: a first panel 541 that defines a front surface of the door, a second panel 542 disposed rearward relative to the first panel and spaced apart from the first panel, a third panel 542 disposed rearward relative to the second panel and spaced apart from the second panel, the third panel covering a liner opening, a first insulating layer disposed between the first panel and the second panel, and a second insulating layer disposed between the second panel and the third panel; wherein the door further comprises (such as shown in Fig. 19): an upper frame 57 that defines an upper surface of the door; a lower frame 58 that defines a lower surface of the door; and a side frame 55,56 that connects the upper frame and the lower frame to each other and defines left and right sides of the door, wherein the door liner 59 is coupled to rear ends of the upper frame, the lower frame, and the side frame, and wherein the panel assembly is coupled to front ends of the upper frame, the lower frame, and the side frame; wherein the door 50 further comprises a heater 502 (Fig. 25) that is in contact with the first panel; wherein the side frame 55,56 is made of a metal material and defines a heater groove 5531,5621 that is recessed from the side frame and accommodates the heater 50; wherein the heater comprises: a heating part configured to generate heat, the heating part being in contact with the side frame 55,56 at the left and right sides of the door 50; a power line L (Fig. 27) configured to supply power to the panel, and disposed in a recess of the upper frame.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of Choi, to modify Bae, as modified, to include the limitations in claim 8 of wherein the side frame is made of a metal material and defines a heater groove that is recessed from the side frame and accommodates the heater; claim 9 of wherein the heater comprises: a heating part configured to generate heat, the heating part being in contact with the side frame at the left and right sides of the door; and claim 11 of a power line connected to an end portion of the heater and configured to supply power to the heater; and a connector that is disposed in a recess of the upper frame and connects the power line and the heater to each other with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility of the refrigerator.
Regarding the limitations in claim 9 of a lower connection part connected to lower ends of the heating part at the left and right sides of the door; and an upper connection part connected to upper ends of the heating part at the left and right sides of the door, and wherein an electrical resistance of each of the lower connection part and the upper connection part is less than an electrical resistance of the heating part, and claim 10 of wherein the heater comprises: a heating part that is arranged in a plurality of rows extending along the side frame; and a connection part connected to upper ends of the heating part at the left and right sides of the door, the connection part being configured to supply power to the heating part, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bae, as modified, to comprise a lower connection part connected to lower ends of the heating part at the left and right sides of the door; and an upper connection part connected to upper ends of the heating part at the left and right sides of the door, and wherein an electrical resistance of each of the lower connection part and the upper connection part is less than an electrical resistance of the heating part; wherein the heater comprises: a heating part that is arranged in a plurality of rows extending along the side frame; and a connection part connected to upper ends of the heating part at the left and right sides of the door, the connection part being configured to supply power to the heating part with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility of the refrigerator.
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae, as modified, as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Jeong.
Bae, as modified, discloses all the elements as discussed above including the limitations in claim 13 of wherein the lower frame 340 comprises (Fig. 13) a handle groove that is recessed upward from the lower surface of the door, and claim 14 of a lower support that extends upward from one side of the handle groove and supports a rear surface of the second panel. The differences being that Bae, as modified, fails to clearly disclose the limitations in claim 13 of wherein a vertical extension line of a rear surface of the third panel passes through the handle groove.
However, Jeong discloses (Claim 1). A refrigerator 1 comprising: a cabinet 10 that defines a storage space; and a door 50 configured to open and close at least a portion of the storage space, wherein the door 50 comprises: a door liner 56 that defines a rear surface of the door 50, the door liner 56 having a liner opening 561, a panel assembly 60 comprising (such as shown in Figs. 18-19) a plurality of transparent panels 61,64,69,65 that are configured to allow a rear space of the door to be visible from an outside of the door, and an insulating material 531 provided inside the door excluding the panel assembly, wherein the panel assembly 60 comprises: a first panel 61 that defines a front surface of the door, a second panel 64 disposed rearward relative to the first panel and spaced apart from the first panel, a third panel 69 disposed rearward relative to the second panel and spaced apart from the second panel, the third panel 69 covering the liner opening 561 (please note: the claimed language does not specify the third panel 69 is in contact with the liner), a first insulating layer disposed between the first panel 61 and the second panel 64, and a second insulating layer disposed between the second panel 64 and the third panel 69, wherein the first insulating layer extends outward relative to an end portion of the second insulating layer in a width direction of the door (Fig. 19 shows the top end of panel 64 is higher than the top end of panel 69), and wherein a width of the first insulating layer is greater than a width of the second insulating layer in the width direction (Fig. 19 shows the top end of panel 64 is higher than the top end of panel 69); (Claim 2). The refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the panel assembly further comprises: a first spacer 63,67 disposed between the first panel 61 and the second panel 64; and a second spacer 66 disposed between the second panel 64 and the third panel 69, and wherein the first spacer is disposed farther from a center of the panel assembly than the second spacer in the width direction; (Claim 4). The refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the door 50 further comprises (such as shown in Fig. 6): an upper frame 54 that defines an upper surface of the door; a lower frame 55 that defines a lower surface of the door; and a side frame (defined at least in part by side portions of out plate 51) that connects the upper frame 54 and the lower frame 55 to each other and defines left and right sides of the door, wherein the door liner 56 is coupled to rear ends of the upper frame 54, the lower frame55 , and the side frame, and wherein the panel assembly 60 is coupled to front ends of the upper frame 54, the lower frame 55, and the side frame via out plate 51; (Claim 13). The refrigerator of claim 4, wherein the lower frame 55 defines (such as shown in Figs. 18 & 20) a handle groove that is recessed upward from the lower surface of the door, and wherein a vertical extension line of a rear surface of the third panel 69 passes through the handle groove.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of Jeong, to modify Bae, as modified, to include the limitations in claim 13 of wherein a vertical extension line of a rear surface of the third panel passes through the handle groove with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility of the refrigerator.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure , and all show structures similar to various elements of applicant’s disclosure.
HVT
April 4, 2026
/HANH V TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637