DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 18/767,353 filed on 07/09/2024 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Centonza et al. (Pub. No. 2023/0231779 A1 hereinafter Centonza) in view of ETSI TS 128 405 V16.2.0 (2025-01) (Universal Mobile Telecommunications System (UMTS); LTE; 5G; Telecommunication management; Quality of Experience (QoE) measurement collection; Control and configuration (3GPP TS 28.405 version 16.2.0 Release 16); hereinafter NPL).
Regarding claim 1, Centonza teaches “a method performed by a user equipment (UE) supporting a master cell group (MCG) and a secondary cell group (SCG) in a wireless communication system,” as [(Para. 0017), Embodiments of the present disclosure include methods (e.g., procedures) for performing quality of experience (QoE) measurements configured by a wireless network. These exemplary methods can be performed by a user equipment (UE, e.g., wireless device, IoT device, modem, etc. or component thereof)… (Para. 0100), the UE is configured with a Master Cell Group (MCG) and a Secondary Cell Group (SCG)] “the method comprising: receiving at least one application layer measurement configuration information included in a first radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration information for the MCG or included in a second RRC reconfiguration information for the SCG;” [(Para. 0013), RRC signaling is used to configure application layer measurements in UEs and to collect QoE measurement result files from the configured UEs… application layer measurement configuration from the core network (e.g., EPC) or a network operations/administration/maintenance (OAM) function is encapsulated in a transparent container and sent to the serving eNB, which forwards it to a UE in an RRC message. ] “based on the at least one application layer measurement configuration information, transmitting a report message for an application layer measurement report;” [(Para. 0154), The UE responds with an RRCConnectionReconfigurationComplete message. Subsequently, the UE performs the configured QoE measurements and sends a MeasReportAppLayer RRC message to the eNB, including a QoE measurement result file.] “receiving a second RRC reconfiguration message for releasing the SCG;” [(See Para. 0109-0115), Centoza teaches NR dual connectivity scenarios and RRC procedures involving secondary node operations, rendering SCG release procedures obvious].
However, Centonza does not specifically disclose informing, for first application layer measurement configuration information included in the second RRC reconfiguration information for the SCG, an upper layer about a release of the first application layer measurement configuration information; and discarding a first application layer measurement report associated with the first application layer measurement configuration information that is not yet fully submitted to a lower layer for a transmission.
In an analogous art, NPL teaches “informing, for first application layer measurement configuration information included in the second RRC reconfiguration information for the SCG, an upper layer about a release of the first application layer measurement configuration information;” as [(Page 13, Section 4.2.3.1), The RRCConnectionReconfiguration message is including measConfigAppLayer set to discard application layer measurement report information in otherConfig… The Access stratum sends +CAPPLEVMC AT command [5] to the application with the discard request. The application stops the recording session and stops recording of the requested information.] “and discarding a first application layer measurement report associated with the first application layer measurement configuration information that is not yet fully submitted to a lower layer for a transmission” [(Page 13, Section 4.2.3.1), The RRCConnectionReconfiguration message is including measConfigAppLayer set to discard application layer measurement report information in otherConfig.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Centonza to provide an effective technique as taught by NPL to improve Deactivation of measurement collection job in LTE by B sending the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message to relevant UEs [NPL: Page 13].
Regarding claim 2, Centonza teaches “further comprising: second application layer measurement configuration information included in the first RRC reconfiguration information for the MCG,” as [(Para. 0013), RRC signaling is used to configure application layer measurements in UEs and to collect QoE measurement result files from the configured UEs.] “a second application layer measurement report associated with the second application layer measurement configuration information” [(Para. 0170), A UE capable of application layer measurement reporting in RRC_CONNECTED may initiate the procedure when configured with application layer measurement, i.e., when measConfigAppLayer has been configured by E-UTRAN.] “which are configured to report via a signaling radio bearer 5 (SRB 5)” [(Para. 0231), In some embodiments, the RAN node can request the UE to send a pending QoE measurement report over a particular SRB, e.g., SRB4, SRB5, etc.].
However, Centonza does not specifically disclose discarding, and which are not yet fully submitted to lower layers for a transmission.
In an analogous art, NPL teaches “discarding, and which are not yet fully submitted to lower layers for a transmission” as [(Page 13, Section 4.2.3.1), The RRCConnectionReconfiguration message is including measConfigAppLayer set to discard application layer measurement report information in otherConfig… The Access stratum sends +CAPPLEVMC AT command [5] to the application with the discard request. The application stops the recording session and stops recording of the requested information.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Centonza to provide an effective technique as taught by NPL to improve Deactivation of measurement collection job in LTE by B sending the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message to relevant UEs [NPL: Page 13].
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Centonza and NPL, specifically Centonza teaches “further comprising: receiving a third RRC message including configuration information indicating the second application layer measurement report to report via a signaling radio bearer 4 (SRB 4);” as [(Para. 0231), In some embodiments, the RAN node can request the UE to send a pending QoE measurement report over a particular SRB, e.g., SRB4, SRB5, etc.] “and based on the configuration information, transmitting the second application layer measurement via the SRB 4” [(Para. 0231), In some embodiments, the RAN node can request the UE to send a pending QoE measurement report over a particular SRB, e.g., SRB4, SRB5, etc.].
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Centonza and NPL, specifically Centonza teaches “further comprising: in case that the second application layer measurement configuration information is included in the RRC reconfiguration information for the MCG,” as [(Para. 0013), RRC signaling is used to configure application layer measurements in UEs and to collect QoE measurement result files from the configured UEs.] “changing an SRB for the second application layer measurement report from the SRB5 to the SRB4,” [(Para. 0231), In some embodiments, the RAN node can request the UE to send a pending QoE measurement report over a particular SRB, e.g., SRB4, SRB5, etc.]. “and reporting the second application layer measurement report via the SRB4” [(Para. 0231), In some embodiments, the RAN node can request the UE to send a pending QoE measurement report over a particular SRB, e.g., SRB4, SRB5, etc.].
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Centonza and NPL, specifically Centonza teaches “wherein the at least one application layer measurement is associated with a quality of experience (QoE)” as [(Para. 0018), These exemplary methods can include receiving, from the RNN, a request for QoE measurement reports that are available at the UE and that are associated with one or more services provided by the UE application layer. These exemplary methods can also include sending one or more QoE measurement reports to the RNN in accordance with the request.].
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Centonza and NPL, specifically Centonza teaches “further comprising: transmitting a UE capability information message including at least one first information on a QoE streaming measurement report, second information on a QoE multimedia telephony service for an international mobile subscriber identity measurement report, and third information on a QoE virtual reality measurement report” as [(Para. 0149), As shown in FIG. 17A, the UTRAN can send a UE Capability Enquiry message to request the UE to report its application layer measurement capabilities. As shown in FIG. 17B, the UE can provide its application layer measurement capabilities to the UTRAN via a UE Capability Information message, particularly in a “Measurement Capability” IE that includes information related to UE capability to perform the QoE measurement collection for streaming services and/or MTSI services.].
Regarding claim 7, Centonza teaches “a method performed by a base station associated with a master cell group (MCG) in a wireless communication system,” as [(Para. 0272), In particular, FIG. 22 shows a flow diagram of an exemplary method (e.g., procedure) for performing quality of experience (QoE) measurements configured by a wireless network, according to various exemplary embodiments of the present disclosure. The exemplary method can be performed by a UE (e.g., wireless device, IoT device, modem, etc. or component thereof) in communication with a radio access network node (RNN, e.g., base station, eNB, gNB, ng-eNB, en-gNB, etc., or component thereof) in the wireless network (e.g., E-UTRAN, NG-RAN)… (Para. 0104), The network's RRC connection with the UE is handled only by the MeNB, such that SRBs are always configured as MCG bearer type and only use radio resources of the MeNB.] “the method comprising: transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), at least one application layer measurement configuration information included in a first radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration information for the MCG or included in a second RRC reconfiguration information for a secondary cell group (SCG);” [(Para. 0013), application layer measurement configuration from the core network (e.g., EPC) or a network operations/administration/maintenance (OAM) function is encapsulated in a transparent container and sent to the serving eNB, which forwards it to a UE in an RRC message. Application layer measurements made by the UE are encapsulated in a transparent container and sent to the serving eNB in an RRC message... (Para. 0013), RRC signaling is used to configure application layer measurements in UEs and to collect QoE measurement result files from the configured UEs.] “and transmitting, to the UE, a second RRC reconfiguration message for releasing the SCG,” [(Para. 0109-0115), describes various exemplary dual-connectivity (DC) scenarios or configurations… Centoza teaches NR dual connectivity scenarios and RRC procedures involving secondary node operations, rendering SCG release procedures obvious (Para. 0101), An SN provides additional radio resources (e.g., bearers) for radio resource bearers include MCG bearers, SCG bearers, and split bearers that have resources from both MCG and SCG. The reconfiguration, addition, and removal of SCells can be performed by RRC.].
However, Centonza does not specifically teaches wherein for first application layer measurement configuration information included in the second RRC reconfiguration information for the SCG, a release of the first application layer measurement configuration information is informed to an upper layer, and wherein a first application layer measurement report associated with the first application layer measurement configuration information which is not yet fully submitted to a lower layer for a transmission is discarded.
In an analogous art, NPL teaches “wherein for first application layer measurement configuration information included in the second RRC reconfiguration information for the SCG, a release of the first application layer measurement configuration information is informed to an upper layer” as [(Page 13, Section 4.2.3.1), The RRCConnectionReconfiguration message is including measConfigAppLayer set to discard application layer measurement report information in otherConfig… The Access stratum sends +CAPPLEVMC AT command [5] to the application with the discard request] “wherein a first application layer measurement report associated with the first application layer measurement configuration information which is not yet fully submitted to a lower layer for a transmission is discarded” [(Page 13, Section 4.2.3.1), The RRCConnectionReconfiguration message is including measConfigAppLayer set to discard application layer measurement report information in otherConfig… The Access stratum sends +CAPPLEVMC AT command [5] to the application with the discard request. The application stops the recording session and stops recording of the requested information].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Centonza to provide an effective technique as taught by NPL to improve Deactivation of measurement collection job in LTE by B sending the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message to relevant UEs [NPL: Page 13].
Regarding claim 8, Centonza teaches “wherein for second application layer measurement configuration information included in the RRC reconfiguration information for the MCG,” as [(Para. 0013), RRC signaling is used to configure application layer measurements in UEs and to collect QoE measurement result files from the configured UEs.] “a second application layer measurement report associated with the second application layer measurement configuration information” [(Para. 0170), A UE capable of application layer measurement reporting in RRC_CONNECTED may initiate the procedure when configured with application layer measurement, i.e., when measConfigAppLayer has been configured by E-UTRAN.] “which is configured to report via a signaling radio bearer 5 (SRB 5)” [(Para. 0231), In some embodiments, the RAN node can request the UE to send a pending QoE measurement report over a particular SRB, e.g., SRB4, SRB5, etc.].
However, Centonza does not specifically disclose which is not yet fully submitted to lower layers for a transmission is discarded.
In an analogous art, NPL teaches “which is not yet fully submitted to lower layers for a transmission is discarded” as [(Page 13, Section 4.2.3.1), The RRCConnectionReconfiguration message is including measConfigAppLayer set to discard application layer measurement report information in otherConfig… The Access stratum sends +CAPPLEVMC AT command [5] to the application with the discard request. The application stops the recording session and stops recording of the requested information.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Centonza to provide an effective technique as taught by NPL to improve Deactivation of measurement collection job in LTE by B sending the RRCConnectionReconfiguration message to relevant UEs [NPL: Page 14].
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Centonza and NPL, specifically Centonza teaches “further comprising: transmitting, to the UE, a third RRC message including configuration information indicating the second application layer measurement report to report via a signaling radio bearer (SRB 4);” as [(Para. 0231), In some embodiments, the RAN node can request the UE to send a pending QoE measurement report over a particular SRB, e.g., SRB4, SRB5, etc.] “and based on the configuration information, receiving, from the UE, the second application layer measurement via the SRB 4” [(Para. 0231), In some embodiments, the RAN node can request the UE to send a pending QoE measurement report over a particular SRB, e.g., SRB4, SRB5, etc.].
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Centonza and NPL, specifically Centonza teaches “receiving, from the UE, a UE capability information message including at least one first information on a quality of experience (QoE) streaming measurement report, second information on a QoE multimedia telephony service for an international mobile subscriber identity measurement report, and third information on a QoE virtual reality measurement report, wherein the at least one application layer measurement is associated with the QoE” as [(Para. 0149), As shown in FIG. 17A, the UTRAN can send a UE Capability Enquiry message to request the UE to report its application layer measurement capabilities. As shown in FIG. 17B, the UE can provide its application layer measurement capabilities to the UTRAN via a UE Capability Information message, particularly in a “Measurement Capability” IE that includes information related to UE capability to perform the QoE measurement collection for streaming services and/or MTSI services.].
Regarding claim 11, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1, including “the UE comprising: a transceiver;” as [(Centonza: Para. 0353), transceiver circuitry 2472 ] “and a controller” [(Centonza: Para. 0345), controllers].
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 7, including “the base station comprising: a transceiver;” as [(Centonza: Para. 0347), transceiver] “and a controller” [(Centonza: Para. 0345), controllers].
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 8.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 9.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 10.
Conclusion
/NATALI PASCUAL PEGUERO/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463