CTFR 18/767,357 CTFR 80694 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This final action is in response to Applicant’s filing dated March 4, 2026. Claims 1-3, 5-15 and 17-22 are currently pending and have been considered, as provided in more detail below. Claims 1-2, 13-14 and 19 have been amended. Claims 4 and 16 have been cancelled and claims 21-22 have been newly added. *Examiner Note: Claim language is bolded . Cited References and Applicant’s arguments are italicized . Examiner interpretations are preceded with an asterisk *. Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed 3/4/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding Applicant’s remarks on pages 14-17 of the response that “ None of Westhauser, He, Binder, Jorgensen, or Metzen, alone or in any combination, teaches or suggests this specific combination of features: using an airflow meter on the air supply fan of a vehicle heat-pump system to obtain airflow measurements when the fan is in a freewheeling mode, and comparing those measurements with model-based airflow data for that same thermal unit and air supply unit in order to determine condition data indicative of a blockage of the thermal unit ”, the Examiner respectfully does not agree. Applicant’s arguments improperly attack the cited references individually rather than addressing the combined teachings of the references. The rejection does not rely upon any single reference to disclose every claimed feature and one cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller , 642 F.2d 413, 208 USP Q 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). This rejection properly relies on the collective teachings of Westhauser, He, Binder, Jorgensen and Metzen under 35 U.S.C. §103. Westhauser is being relied upon to teach a heat pump system (Fig. 1, 10 and see at least para. [0052] of Westhauser which discloses “ a heat pump 10 ”) of a vehicle (Fig. 1, 200 and see at least para. [0052] of Westhauser which discloses “ a motor vehicle 200 having a heat pump 10 ”) , the heat pump system further comprising an air supply unit (Fig. 1, 13 and see at least para. [0052] of Westhauser which discloses “ A fan 13 is assigned to the heat exchanger 11 of the heat pump 10, which fan is designed to conduct an air flow through the heat exchanger 11”, * fan 13 corresponds to the air supply unit). Westhauser teaches that pressure loss caused by ice formation reduces “ the amount of air conveyed ” (see at least para. [0015] of Westhauser) and changes the operating characteristics of the fan, including the power consumption and speed (see para. [0015]-[0016] of Westhauser). The determination of threshold values associated with airflow-related parameters that indicate relative air speed using calculation models or simulations is also taught by Westhauser (see at least para. [0018] of Westhauser which discloses “ the threshold value… is determined as a function of a parameter, the parameter being an indicator of a current relative air speed of the ambient air in relation to the motor vehicle ” and see at least para. [0021] of Westhauser which discloses that “ The dependency of the threshold value on the parameter can be determined with a calculation model or simulations ”). The calculation model and simulations therefore generate airflow-related threshold values and expected operating values associated with relative air speed through the heat exchanger and fan arrangement, which reasonably constitute model data indicative of airflow through the thermal unit and the air supply unit. Thus, Westhauser teaches model-derived airflow-related operating values and measured airflow-indicative operating data used to determine blockage-related conditions associated with the heat exchanger. Applicant argues that Westhauser does not disclose freewheeling airflow measurements. … Westhauser also uses fan power/speed as proxies for icing on the heat exchanger; it does not disclose an airflow meter measuring airflow through the thermal unit and air supply unit, nor does it disclose model data "indicative of an air flow through the thermal unit and the air supply unit" and a determination of "condition data indicative of a blockage of the thermal unit" based on a comparison of that model data with measured airflow data.” However, the rejection does not rely upon Westhauser alone for teaching a freewheeling operational mode. Instead, Jorgensen is explicitly relied upon to demonstrate the operation of a vehicle fan in a freewheeling mode (see at least col. 3 ln. 30-34 of Jorgensen which discloses “ when freewheeling (that is, not being forcibly driven by the motor) so that it is particularly adapted for use in a vehicle ”). Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are improper because they attach Westhauser for allegedly disclosing a feature for which it is not being cited. In this connection, Applicant argues that Jorgensen is the only reference that explicitly discusses "freewheeling" operation of a vehicle fan, but it uses that concept for an entirely different purpose and does not perform any airflow measurement or blockage determination in that freewheeling state. This argument is not persuasive and is irrelevant. Jorgensen expressly teaches the structural/operational feature of a vehicle fan operating in a freewheeling mode, and that feature is being used in the rejection for that same operational state and not for Jorgensen’s ultimate goal. Obviousness is not limited to whether the prior art uses the feature for the same final objective as the claimed invention and it is adequate that the reference teaches the feature and that a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to apply it to teach the claims under the broadest reasonable interpretation. The manner in which Jorgensen uses freewheeling does not negate its disclosure of the freewheeling fan state and it does not prevent a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention from applying this known operating state to obtain diagnostic airflow measurements in the claimed heat-pump system. Applicant asserts that “ Binder does not describe any heat-pump system, any airflow meter on a vehicle fan, any freewheeling mode of a fan, or any model of airflow through a thermal unit and air supply unit. At most, Binder shows that generic sensor readings can be processed remotely, but it does not suggest using freewheeling fan airflow measurements, in combination with model data of a heat-pump airflow path, to determine blockage condition data of a thermal unit ”. However, Examiner respectfully disagrees because Binder is being relied upon for teaching airflow measurement using airflow sensors/anemometers (see at least para. [0084] of Binder which discloses “ an indicator for the air flow measurements. An anemometer is an air flow sensor primarily for measuring wind speed, and may be cup anemometer, a windmill anemometer, hot-wire anemometer such as CCA (Constant-Current Anemometer), CVA (Constant-Voltage Anemometer) and CTA (Constant-Temperature Anemometer). Sonic anemometers use ultrasonic sound waves to measure wind velocity. Air flow may be measured by a pressure anemometer ”). Binder teaches the use of airflow-measuring sensors and model-based sensor comparison. The rejection does not rely upon Binder to disclose the entire heat-pump system or freewheeling operational mode. Applicant also argues that “ while He supplies context for vehicle heat-pump systems, it does not fill the gap in Westhauser and Jorgensen regarding freewheeling airflow measurement and model-based blockage diagnostics ” and that “ Metzen therefore cannot supply the specific freewheeling measurement and model-based blockage determination that are central to claim 1 ”. The Examiner disagrees with this argument because He and Metzen are both relied upon for teaching (1) a thermal unit of the heat pump system (see at least para. [0044] of He which discloses “ the thermal management heat pump system 10 of the present disclosure includes a cabin thermal management loop 12 on the refrigerant side and an ESS thermal management loop 14 and power electronics thermal management loop 16 ” and see at least para. [0025] of He which discloses “ the non-transitory computer readable medium stored in a memory and executed by a processor to carry out the thermal management heat pump method steps includes: given a cabin thermal management loop ”) and (2) modeling based on input data of a machine learning algorithm (see at least para. [0026] of Metzen which discloses “ a heat pump of a heating system depending on the output value of the machine learning system (12). The machine learning system (12) can then be configured to determine which mode of operation of the building control system is desired based on the acquired user response ”); respectively. He and Metzen are not being cited to teach the freewheeling airflow measurement and model-based blockage diagnostics. Applicant’s arguments improperly attack He and Metzen for failing to disclose limitations for which they are not being cited. As discussed above and below in detail, Jorgensen is explicitly relied upon to demonstrate the operation of a vehicle fan in a freewheeling mode (see at least col. 3 ln. 30-34 of Jorgensen which discloses “ when freewheeling (that is, not being forcibly driven by the motor) so that it is particularly adapted for use in a vehicle ”). Applicant’s argument regarding “ a very particular diagnostic technique that leverages the unique airflow behavior of a freewheeling vehicle fan within a modeled heat-pump airflow path ” is not commensurate with the scope of the claims, since the claims do not recite specialized diagnostic techniques based on the freewheeling behavior. Instead, the claims broadly recite that at least one airflow measurement is performed while the fan u nit operates in a freewheeling mode and that blockage condition data is determined based at least on model data and measured data. The combined teaching of the cited references, at least suggest such functionality, under the broadest reasonable interpretation. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the rejection under 35 USC 103 is maintained as outlined below. Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejections under 101 have been considered but they are not persuasive. The Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s citations to the August 4, 2025 memorandum and Ex Parte Desjardins. However, when claims are evaluated as a whole under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claims remain directed to collecting information, analyzing the information using mathematical concepts and mental processes and determining condition data indicative of blockage based on the analysis. The Applicant argues that the claim recites a highly specific technical diagnostic technique involving freewheeling airflow behavior. However, the claim itself does not recite any particular airflow analysis algorithm, specialized mathematical technique, improved airflow model architecture or specific technical mechanism by which freewheeling measurements improve diagnostic accuracy. Instead, the claim broadly recites receiving model data, receiving measured data during a freewheeling operational mode and determining condition data based on those inputs. The amendment merely further clarifies how the airflow meter measures the air flow and does not control the heat pump or vehicle. There is no practical application of the condition data. Therefore, when considered individually and as a combination, the additional elements do not transform the abstract idea into patent-eligible subject matter. In this connection, the rejection under 35 USC 101 is maintained as outlined below . Response to Amendment Regarding the rejection under 35 USC 101, the amendments made to the claims fail to overcome the rejections. The rejection under 35 USC 101 are maintained as outlined below. Regarding the rejection under 35 USC 103, the amendments made to the claims fail to overcome the prior art. The rejection under 35 USC 103 is maintained as outlined below. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 07-04-01 AIA 07-04 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows: Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title. Claims 1-3, 5-15 and 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. 101 Analysis – Step 1 Regarding Step 1 of the Revised Guidance, it must be considered whether the claims are directed to one of the four statutory classes of invention. In the instant case, claims 1-3 and 5-12 are directed to a method for determining condition data indicative of a blockage of a thermal unit of a heat pump system (i.e., a process); claims 13-15 and 17-18 are directed to a non-transitory computer readable media (i.e., a manufacture/article of manufacture); and claims 19-22 are directed to a vehicle (i.e., a machine). Therefore, claims 1-3, 5-15 and 17-22 are within at least one of the four statutory categories (processes, machines, manufactures and compositions of matter). See MPEP 2106.03. 101 Analysis – Step 2A, Pro ng 1 Regarding Prong 1 of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite a judicial exception (subject matter that falls within one of the follow groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) mental processes, and/or c) certain methods of organizing human activity). Independent claim 1 includes limitations that recite an abstract idea (bolded below) and will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejection. Claim 1 recites: A method for determining condition data indicative of a blockage of a thermal unit of a heat pump system of a vehicle, the heat pump system further comprising an air supply unit, the method comprising: receiving , by a controller comprising a processor , model data indicative of an air flow through the thermal unit and the air supply unit, wherein the model data is based on a model of the heat pump system ; receiving , by the controller , measured data indicative of the air flow through the thermal unit and the air supply unit, wherein the measured data is measured via an airflow meter of the air supply unit, and wherein at least one measurement by the airflow meter is performed in a freewheeling mode of a fan unit as the air supply unit of the heat pump system; and determining, by the controller, the condition data indicative of the blockage of the thermal unit based at least on the model data and the measured data . The Examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitations constitute judicial exceptions in terms of a “mental process” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim limitations can be “performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper”. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III). The independent claim 1 recites the limitations of receiving model data indicative of an air flow ; receiving measured data indicative of the air flow ; and determining the condition data based at least on the model data and the measured data . The receiving and determining limitations, as drafted, are simple processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of “ a thermal unit ”, “ a heat pump system of a vehicle ”, “ an air supply unit ”, “ a controller ”, “ a processor ”, and “ an airflow meter ”. That is, other than reciting “ a thermal unit ”, “ a heat pump system of a vehicle ”, “ an air supply unit ”, “ a controller ”, “ a processor ”, and “ an airflow meter ”, nothing in the claim elements precludes the steps from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for “ a thermal unit ”, “ a heat pump system of a vehicle ”, “ an air supply unit ”, “ a controller ”, “ a processor ”, and “ an airflow meter ” language, the claim encompasses a person determining condition data based on received data and forming a simple judgement. Specifically, the claim merely uses airflow data to make a determination. Additionally, the “determining” step is not too complicated to be performed with the aid of pen and paper. Accordingly, the claim recites at least one abstract idea. The mere nominal recitation of a controller, processor or airflow meter does not take the claim limitations out of the mental process grouping. These elements are treated as generic computers/sensors that don’t add a technological improvement. Thus the claim recites a mental process. 101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong 2 evaluation: Practical Application - No In Step 2A, Prong two of the 2019 PEG, a claim is to be evaluated whether, as a whole, it integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application. As noted in MPEP 2106.04(d), it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements such as: merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.” The Office submits that the foregoing underlined limitation(s) recite additional elements that do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application. In the instant application, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract ideas are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”): In Claim 1: A method for determining condition data indicative of a blockage of a thermal unit of a heat pump system of a vehicle, the heat pump system further comprising an air supply unit, the method comprising: receiving , by a controller comprising a processor , model data indicative of an air flow through the thermal unit and the air supply unit, wherein the model data is based on a model of the heat pump system ; receiving , by the controller , measured data indicative of the air flow through the thermal unit and the air supply unit, wherein the measured data is measured via an airflow meter of the air supply unit, and wherein at least one measurement by the airflow meter is performed in a freewheeling mode of a fan unit as the air supply unit of the heat pump system; and determining, by the controller, the condition data indicative of the blockage of the thermal unit based at least on the model data and the measured data . The claim recites the additional elements of “ a thermal unit ”, “ a heat pump system of a vehicle ”, “ an air supply unit ”, “ a controller ”, “ a processor ”, and “ an airflow meter ”. The processor is recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a means of gathering individual data), and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. These additional elements that are claimed are just general data gathering and there is no concrete technical element present to improve the system. In this case, the generic controller, generic processor and generic airflow meter are recited only for data collection and data processing, which is insufficient to integrate the idea into a practical application. Furthermore, there is no improvement to the heat pump system as the claim does not change how the thermal unit, fan or airflow meter physically operates and it only interprets data about the elements. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. 101 Analysis – Step 2B evaluation: Inventive Concept: - No In Step 2B of the 2019 PEG, the claim(s) is to be evaluated as to whether the claim, as a whole, amounts to significantly more than the recited exception, i.e., whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, adds an inventive concept to the claim. See MPEP 2106.05. As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claim amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception on a generic computer cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B, MPEP 2106.05(f). Under the 2019 PEG, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B. Here, the step of receiving, by a controller comprising a processor, model data was considered to be insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A, and thus they are re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if they are more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The background recites that the data processing means or the computer, respectively, may comprise one or more of a processor and it is a general purpose processor. Additionally, the specification does not provide any indication that processors are anything other than a conventional, basic processor. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), and the cases cited therein, including Intellectual Ventures I, LLC v. Symantec Corp. , 838 F.3d 1307, 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2016), TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610 (Fed. Cir. 2016), and OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc. , 788 F.3d 1359, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2015), indicate that mere collection or receipt of data over a network is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here). Further, the Federal Circuit in Trading Techs. Int’l v. IBG LLC , 921 F.3d 1084, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2019), and Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Erie Indemnity Co. , 850 F.3d 1315, 1331 (Fed. Cir. 2017), for example, indicated that the mere displaying of data is a well understood, routine, and conventional function. Accordingly, a conclusion that the receiving step is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer . Thus, claims 1, 13 and 19 are ineligible . 101 Analysis – Dependent Claims Dependent claims 2-3, 5-12, 14-15, 17-18 and 20-22 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claims to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of the dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application [these dependent claims inherit the abstract idea set forth in claims 1, 13 and 19. No other technology or action has been recited in claims 2-3, 5-12, 14-15, 17-18 and 20-22 to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application nor to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Thus, claims 2-3, 5-12, 14-15, 17-18 and 20-22 also do not confer eligibility on the claimed invention and are ineligible for reasons stated above and for similar reasons to claims 1, 13 and 19. Therefore, dependent claims 2-3, 5-12, 14-15, 17-18 and 20-22 are not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of independent claims 1, 13 and 19. Therefore, claims 2-3, 5-12, 14-15, 17-18 and 20-22 are also ineligible under 35 USC §101. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-3, 5-9, 12-15 and 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westhauser (US 2022/0258566 A1) in view of He (US 2022/0396118 A1) and further in view of Binder (US 2021/0075861 A1) and further in view of Jorgensen (US 4,962,734 A) . Regarding claim 1, Westhauser discloses A method for determining condition data (see at least para. [0008] of Westhauser which discloses “ a method for determining the formation of ice on an evaporator of a cooling device, the cooling device having a fan driven by an electric motor for air to flow through the evaporator. In the method, the change in an operating parameter of the motor operating the fan is measured ”, *This corresponds to a method for determining condition data) indicative of a blockage (see at least para. [0015] of Westhauser which discloses “ If a layer of ice forms on the heat exchanger, the pressure loss on the air side at the heat exchanger increases ”, *This layer of ice corresponds to a blockage. Still, see at least para. [0015] of Westhauser which discloses “ With increasing pressure losses, the amount of air conveyed decreases. If the speed of the fan is kept constant, the electrical energy requirement and thus the power consumption of the fan decrease with a significantly increased pressure loss. The electrical power consumption of the fan indicates the amount of air being conveyed and thus the efficiency of the heat pump. If the air mass flows are too low, the heat pump can no longer be operated efficiently and a defrosting process must be initiated ” and see at least para. [0016] of Westhauser which discloses “ By monitoring the power consumption of the fan and comparing it with a threshold value, in particular a power consumption threshold value, it can therefore advantageously be determined whether and when a defrosting process should be initiated for the heat exchanger ”, *The initiating of the defrosting process corresponds to the result of determining condition data indicative of a blockage) of a thermal unit (Fig. 1, 11 and see at least para. [0052] of Westhauser which discloses “ The heat pump 10 comprises a heat exchanger 11 for absorbing heat ”, *The heat exchanger corresponds to a thermal unit since it functions to transfer thermal energy) of a heat pump system (Fig. 1, 10 and see at least para. [0052] of Westhauser which discloses “ a heat pump 10 ”) of a vehicle (Fig. 1, 200 and see at least para. [0052] of Westhauser which discloses “ a motor vehicle 200 having a heat pump 10 ”) , the heat pump system further comprising an air supply unit (Fig. 1, 13 and see at least para. [0052] of Westhauser which discloses “ A fan 13 is assigned to the heat exchanger 11 of the heat pump 10, which fan is designed to conduct an air flow through the heat exchanger 11”, * fan 13 corresponds to the air supply unit) , the method comprising: receiving, by a controller (see at least para. [0007] of Westhauser which discloses “ a controller ” and “ The fan control unit is designed to monitor the operating point of the fan and to forward a defrost initiation signal to a controller ” and see at least para. [0053] which describes “ a computing unit 19 of a device 20 ” which corresponds to a controller) comprising a processor (Fig. 1, 19 and see at least para. [0053] of Westhauser which discloses “ a computing unit 19 of a device 20 for defrosting the heat exchanger 11. The computing unit 19 first determines a current speed threshold value and/or a current power consumption threshold value on the basis of at least one of the parameters driving speed, distance signal, vehicle position, or outside air temperature ” and see at least para. [0054] of Westhauser which discloses “ the computing unit 19 instructs the device 20 to perform a defrosting process for the heat exchanger 11 ”, *The computing unit 19 corresponds to the controller comprising a processor, as recited) , model data (see at least para. [0012] of Westhauser which discloses “it is further provided that the threshold value is determined as a function of a parameter, the parameter being an indicator of a current relative air speed of the ambient air in relation to the motor vehicle ” and see at least para. [0021] of Westhauser which discloses “ a calculation model or simulations ”, *This corresponds to model data) indicative of an air flow (see at least para. [0052] of Westhauser which discloses “ an air flow through the heat exchanger 11 ”) through the thermal unit (Fig. 1, 11 and see at least para. [0052] of Westhauser which discloses “ The heat pump 10 comprises a heat exchanger 11 for absorbing heat ”, *The heat exchanger corresponds to a thermal unit since it functions to transfer thermal energy and see at least para. [0020] of Westhauser which discloses “ the initiation of a defrosting process is additionally made dependent on exceeding or falling below a threshold value, in particular a power consumption threshold value or a speed threshold value, on a further parameter which is an indicator of a current relative air speed of the ambient air in relation to the motor vehicle ”) and the air supply unit (Fig. 1, 13 and see at least para. [0052] of Westhauser which discloses “ A fan 13 is assigned to the heat exchanger 11 of the heat pump 10, which fan is designed to conduct an air flow through the heat exchanger 11”) , wherein the model data is based on a model of the heat pump system (see at least para. [0012] of Westhauser which discloses “it is further provided that the threshold value is determined as a function of a parameter, the parameter being an indicator of a current relative air speed of the ambient air in relation to the motor vehicle ” and see at least para. [0011] of Westhauser which discloses “ a defrosting process of a heat exchanger of a heat pump of a motor vehicle, which method is insensitive to external parameters influencing the air flow ”. Also, see at least para. [0021] of Westhauser which discloses “ The dependency of the threshold value on the parameter can be determined with a calculation model or simulations. In addition, it is possible to provide a table or a characteristic field from which the respectively suitable threshold value can be taken for normal driving situations and external circumstances that influence the current relative air speed ”. Westhauser further discloses receiving model-derived data indicative of airflow through the thermal unit and the air supply unit (see at least para. [0021] which discloses that threshold values dependent on relative air speed may be determined using “a calculation model or simulations”. The calculation model and simulations generate expected operating values and threshold values associated with airflow conditions through the heat exchanger and fan system, which r easonably correspond to model data indicative of airflow through the thermal unit and air supply unit. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, relating operating parameters, relative airspeed and threshold values corresponds to modeling expected airflow behavior through the heat exchange and fan) receiving, by the controller (see at least para. [0007 of Westhauser which discloses “ The fan control unit is designed to monitor the operating point of the fan and to forward a defrost initiation signal to a controller when a threshold value is undershot or exceeded ”) , measured data (see at least para. [0020] of Westhauser which discloses “ the initiation of a defrosting process is additionally made dependent on exceeding or falling below a threshold value, in particular a power consumption threshold value or a speed threshold value, on a further parameter which is an indicator of a current relative air speed of the ambient air in relation to the motor vehicle ” and at least para. [0021] of Westhauser which discloses “ The dependency of the threshold value on the parameter can be determined with a calculation model or simulations. In addition, it is possible to provide a table or a characteristic field from which the respectively suitable threshold value can be taken for normal driving situations and external circumstances that influence the current relative air speed of the ambient air in relation to the motor vehicle ”) indicative of the air flow through the thermal unit and the air supply unit (see at least para. [0008] of Westhauser which discloses “ the cooling device having a fan driven by an electric motor for air to flow through the evaporator. In the method, the change in an operating parameter of the motor operating the fan is measured ”) , the air supply unit (Fig. 1, 13 and see at least para. [0052] of Westhauser which discloses “ A fan 13 is assigned to the heat exchanger 11 of the heat pump 10, which fan is designed to conduct an air flow through the heat exchanger 11”) ; and determining, by the controller (see at least para. [0007] of Westhauser which discloses “ a controller ” and “ The fan control unit is designed to monitor the operating point of the fan and to forward a defrost initiation signal to a controller ” and see at least para. [0053] which describes “ a computing unit 19 of a device 20 ” which examiner interprets as a controller) , the condition data indicative of the blockage (see at least para. [0015] of Westhauser which discloses “ If a layer of ice forms on the heat exchanger, the pressure loss on the air side at the heat exchanger increases ”, *Examiner interprets this layer of ide to be indicative of a blockage. Still, see at least para. [0015] of Westhauser which discloses “ With increasing pressure losses, the amount of air conveyed decreases. If the speed of the fan is kept constant, the electrical energy requirement and thus the power consumption of the fan decrease with a significantly increased pressure loss. The electrical power consumption of the fan indicates the amount of air being conveyed and thus the efficiency of the heat pump. If the air mass flows are too low, the heat pump can no longer be operated efficiently and a defrosting process must be initiated ” and see at least para. [0016] of Westhauser which discloses “ By monitoring the power consumption of the fan and comparing it with a threshold value, in particular a power consumption threshold value, it can therefore advantageously be determined whether and when a defrosting process should be initiated for the heat exchanger ”, *Examiner interprets the initiating of the defrosting process to be the result of determining condition data indicative of a blockage) of the thermal unit (Fig. 1, 11 and see at least para. [0052] of Westhauser which discloses “ The heat pump 10 comprises a heat exchanger 11 for absorbing heat ”, *Examiner interprets the heat exchanger to be a thermal unit since it functions to transfer thermal energy) based at least on the model data and the measured data (see at least para. [0020] of Westhauser which discloses “ the initiation of a defrosting process is additionally made dependent on exceeding or falling below a threshold value, in particular a power consumption threshold value or a speed threshold value, on a further parameter which is an indicator of a current relative air speed of the ambient air in relation to the motor vehicle ” and at least para. [0021] of Westhauser which discloses “ The dependency of the threshold value on the parameter can be determined with a calculation model or simulations. In addition, it is possible to provide a table or a characteristic field from which the respectively suitable threshold value can be taken for normal driving situations and external circumstances that influence the current relative air speed of the ambient air in relation to the motor vehicle ”). Westhauser further discloses model-derived data indicative of airflow through the thermal unit and the air supply unit (see at least para. [0018] of Westhauser which discloses “ the threshold value… is determined as a function of a parameter, the parameter being an indicator of a current relative air speed of the ambient air in relation to the motor vehicle ” and see at least para. [0021] of Westhauser which discloses that “ The dependency of the threshold value on the parameter can be determined with a calculation model or simulations ”). The calculation model and simulations therefore generate airflow-related threshold values and expected operating values associated with relative air speed through the heat exchanger and fan arrangement, which reasonably constitute model data indicative of airflow through the thermal unit and the air supply unit. While Westhauser may not explicitly disclose the phrase a thermal unit of the heat pump system , Westhauser does discloses a heat exchanger that is considered to function as a thermal unit (Fig. 1, 11 and see at least para. [0052] of Westhauser which discloses “ The heat pump 10 comprises a heat exchanger 11 for absorbing heat ”, *Examiner interprets the heat exchanger to be a thermal unit since it functions to transfer thermal energy). However, in the same field of endeavor, He discloses a thermal unit of the heat pump system (see at least para. [0044] of He which discloses “ the thermal management heat pump system 10 of the present disclosure includes a cabin thermal management loop 12 on the refrigerant side and an ESS thermal management loop 14 and power electronics thermal management loop 16 ” and see at least para. [0025] of He which discloses “ the non-transitory computer readable medium stored in a memory and executed by a processor to carry out the thermal management heat pump method steps includes: given a cabin thermal management loop ”) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Westhauser’s to be used in a thermal unit of the heat pump system , as taught in He with a reasonable expectation of success in order to facilitate the effective management of an electric vehicle’s heat pump system. See para. [0005] and para. [0044] of He for motivation. Westhauser, as modified by He, may not explicitly disclose wherein the measured data is measured via an airflow meter. However, in the same field of endeavor, Binder discloses wherein the measured data is measured via an airflow meter (see at least para. [0084] of Binder which discloses “ an indicator for the air flow measurements. An anemometer is an air flow sensor primarily for measuring wind speed, and may be cup anemometer, a windmill anemometer, hot-wire anemometer such as CCA (Constant-Current Anemometer), CVA (Constant-Voltage Anemometer) and CTA (Constant-Temperature Anemometer). Sonic anemometers use ultrasonic sound waves to measure wind velocity. Air flow may be measured by a pressure anemometer ”). Binder teaches the use of airflow-measuring sensors and model-based sensor comparison. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Westhauser, as modified by He, to include wherein the measured data is measured via an airflow meter , as taught by Binder with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the accuracy of the measuring means to facilitate improved energy efficiency of heat pump systems. See para. [0084] of Binder for motivation. Westhauser, as modified by He and Binder, discloses wherein a measurement by the airflow meter (see at least para. [0084] of Binder which discloses “ an indicator for the air flow measurements. An anemometer is an air flow sensor primarily for measuring wind speed, and may be cup anemometer, a windmill anemometer, hot-wire anemometer such as CCA (Constant- Current Anemometer), CVA (Constant-Voltage Anemometer) and CTA (Constant-Temperature Anemometer). Sonic anemometers use ultrasonic sound waves to measure wind velocity. Air flow may be measured by a pressure anemometer ”) . Westhauser, as modified by He and Binder may not explicitly disclose that at least one airflow measurement is performed while a fan unit operates in a freewheeling mode. However, Jorgensen discloses a freewheeling mode of a fan unit (see at least col. 3 ln. 30- 34 of Jorgensen which discloses “ when freewheeling (that is, not being forcibly driven by the motor) so that it is particularly adapted for use in a vehicle ”). Jorgensen teaches a vehicle fan operating in freewheeling mode. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify operation of the fan unit of Westhauser, as modified by He and Binder, such that at least one airflow measurement is performed while the fan unit operates in the freewheeling mode taught by Jorgensen, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to permit airflow characterization during a condition in which the fan is not actively driven by the motor and airflow through the heat pump system to influence fan movement, thereby facilitating detection of airflow restriction or blockage conditions within the heat pump system. See col. 3 ln. 30-34 of Jorgensen for motivation. Regarding claim 2, Westhauser, as modified by He and Binder and Jorgensen, discloses wherein at least one measurement of the airflow meter is performed in a propelled mode of the fan unit as the air supply unit of the heat pump system (see at least para. [0618] of Binder which discloses “ Propellers (as well as screws, fans, nozzles, or rotors) are used to move on or through a fluid or air, such as in watercrafts and aircrafts ” and see at least para. [0339] of Binder which discloses “ A windmill anemometer combines a propeller and a tail on the same axis, to obtain wind speed and direction measurements ”) . Regarding claim 3, Westhauser, as modified by He and Binder and Jorgensen, discloses wherein the measured data (see at least para. [0020] of Westhauser which discloses “ the initiation of a defrosting process is additionally made dependent on exceeding or falling below a threshold value, in particular a power consumption threshold value or a speed threshold value, on a further parameter which is an indicator of a current relative air speed of the ambient air in relation to the motor vehicle ” and at least para. [0021] of Westhauser which discloses “ The dependency of the threshold value on the parameter can be determined with a calculation model or simulations. In addition, it is possible to provide a table or a characteristic field from which the respectively suitable threshold value can be taken for normal driving situations and external circumstances that influence the current relative air speed of the ambient air in relation to the motor vehicle ”) comprises at least information of a rotational speed of the fan unit (see at least para. [0052] of Westhauser which discloses “ The speed of the fan 13 can be determined by means of a speed sensor 14. The power consumption of the fan 13 is read out via a bus signal ”) , wherein the information of the rotational speed of the fan unit comprises of one or more of a first partial rotational speed value or a second partial rotational speed value (see at least para. [0017] of Westhauser which discloses “ by monitoring the speed of the fan and comparing it with a threshold value, in particular a speed threshold value, it can advantageously be determined whether and when a defrosting process should be initiated for the heat exchanger ”) . Regarding claim 5, Westhauser, as modified by He and Binder and Jorgensen, discloses wherein the method is carried out during a driving state, in particular a driving state (see at least para. [0021] of Westhauser which discloses “ it is possible to provide a table or a characteristic field from which the respectively suitable threshold value can be taken for normal driving situations and external circumstances that influence the current relative air speed of the ambient air in relation to the motor vehicle ”) with a predefined driving speed range, of the vehicle (see at least para. [0024] of Westhauser which discloses “ If the motor vehicle is moved at a high driving speed, the relative air speed of the ambient air in relation to the motor vehicle increases. As a result, the power consumption of the fan can decrease while the speed is kept constant, without icing up of the heat exchanger being the cause of the decrease in power consumption ”) . Regarding claim 6, Westhauser, as modified by He and Binder and Jorgensen, discloses wherein the condition data comprises one or more of icing information (see at least para. [0024] of Westhauser which discloses “the power consumption of the fan can decrease while the speed is kept constant, without icing up of the heat exchanger”) of a blockage of the thermal unit (see at least para. [0015] of Westhauser which discloses “ If a layer of ice forms on the heat exchanger, the pressure loss on the air side at the heat exchanger increases ”, *Examiner interprets this layer of ide to be indicative of a blockage. Still, see at least para. [0015] of Westhauser which discloses “ With increasing pressure losses, the amount of air conveyed decreases. If the speed of the fan is kept constant, the electrical energy requirement and thus the power consumption of the fan decrease with a significantly increased pressure loss. The electrical power consumption of the fan indicates the amount of air being conveyed and thus the efficiency of the heat pump. If the air mass flows are too low, the heat pump can no longer be operated efficiently and a defrosting process must be initiated ” and see at least para. [0016] of Westhauser which discloses “ By monitoring the power consumption of the fan and comparing it with a threshold value, in particular a power consumption threshold value, it can therefore advantageously be determined whether and when a defrosting process should be initiated for the heat exchanger ”, *Examiner interprets the initiating of the defrosting process to be the result of determining condition data indicative of a blockage) or clogging information of a blockage of the thermal unit (see at least para. [0015] of Westhauser which discloses “ If a layer of ice forms on the heat exchanger, the pressure loss on the air side at the heat exchanger increases. With increasing pressure losses, the amount of air conveyed decreases. If the speed of the fan is kept constant, the electrical energy requirement and thus the power consumption of the fan decrease with a significantly increased pressure loss. The electrical power consumption of the fan indicates the amount of air being conveyed and thus the efficiency of the heat pump. If the air mass flows are too low, the heat pump can no longer be operated efficiently and a defrosting process must be initiated ”) . Regarding claim 7, Westhauser, as modified by He and Binder and Jorgensen, discloses further comprising: providing, by the controller, control data based on at least the condition data for controlling an air regulator of the heat pump system to unblock the thermal unit (see at least para. [0022] of Westhauser which discloses “ A defrosting process is preferably initiated when the power consumption falls below the threshold value, in particular the power consumption threshold value, and/or when the speed exceeds the threshold value, in particular the speed threshold value. However, it can also be provided that a defrosting process is initiated when the power consumption exceeds the threshold value, in particular the power consumption threshold value, and/or when the speed falls below the threshold value, in particular the speed threshold value ”) . Regarding claim 8, Westhauser, as modified by He and Binder and Jorgensen, discloses wherein the control data is further configured to control one or more of a de-icing of the heat pump system or to re-perform the method following a de-icing of the heat pump system (see at least para. [0032] of Westhauser which discloses “ it can be provided that the threshold value is determined as a function of a dew point temperature of the air at the heat exchanger and/or for the defrosting process to be initiated only when the temperature of the air at the heat exchanger falls below the dew point temperature ” and see at least para. [0037] of Westhauser which discloses “ it can be provided that the fan is operated for a short period of time at an increased or a decreased speed to determine whether a defrosting process should be initiated ”) . Regarding claim 9, Westhauser, as modified by He and Binder and Jorgensen, discloses wherein the model data comprises at least one target value for the measured data and the determining of the condition data is at least based on a comparison (see at least para. [0016] of Westhauser which discloses “ By monitoring the power consumption of the fan and comparing it with a threshold value, in particular a power consumption threshold value, it can therefore advantageously be determined whether and when a defrosting process should be initiated for the heat exchanger ”) of the measured data with the model data (see at least para. [0017] of Westhauser which discloses “ by monitoring the speed of the fan and comparing it with a threshold value, in particular a speed threshold value, it can advantageously be determined whether and when a defrosting process should be initiated for the heat exchanger ”) . Regarding claim 12, Westhauser, as modified by He and Binder and Jorgensen, discloses further comprising: based on the condition data (see at least para. [0008] of Westhauser which discloses “ a method for determining the formation of ice on an evaporator of a cooling device, the cooling device having a fan driven by an electric motor for air to flow through the evaporator. In the method, the change in an operating parameter of the motor operating the fan is measured ”, *Examiner interprets this as a method for determining condition data) , determining, by the controller (see at least para. [0007] of Westhauser which discloses “ a controller ” and “ The fan control unit is designed to monitor the operating point of the fan and to forward a defrost initiation signal to a controller ” and see at least para. [0053] which describes “ a computing unit 19 of a device 20 ” which examiner interprets as a controller) , a blockage (see at least para. [0015] of Westhauser which discloses “ If a layer of ice forms on the heat exchanger, the pressure loss on the air side at the heat exchanger increases ”, *Examiner interprets this layer of ide to be indicative of a blockage. Still, see at least para. [0015] of Westhauser which discloses “ With increasing pressure losses, the amount of air conveyed decreases. If the speed of the fan is kept constant, the electrical energy requirement and thus the power consumption of the fan decrease with a significantly increased pressure loss. The electrical power consumption of the fan indicates the amount of air being conveyed and thus the efficiency of the heat pump. If the air mass flows are too low, the heat pump can no longer be operated efficiently and a defrosting process must be initiated ” and see at least para. [0016] of Westhauser which discloses “ By monitoring the power consumption of the fan and comparing it with a threshold value, in particular a power consumption threshold value, it can therefore advantageously be determined whether and when a defrosting process should be initiated for the heat exchanger ”, *Examiner interprets the initiating of the defrosting process to be the result of determining condition data indicative of a blockage) of the thermal unit (Fig. 1, 11 and see at least para. [0052] of Westhauser which discloses “ The heat pump 10 comprises a heat exchanger 11 for absorbing heat ”, *Examiner interprets the heat exchanger to be a thermal unit since it functions to transfer thermal energy) . Regarding claim 13, Westhauser discloses executable instructions (see at least para. [0054] of Westhauser which discloses “ the computing unit 19 instructs the device 20 to perform ”, *Examiner interprets this a executable instructions) that, when executed (see at least para. [0054] of Westhauser which discloses “ the corresponding threshold value, the computing unit 19 instructs the device 20 to perform a defrosting process for the heat exchanger 11 ”, *Examiner interprets this as executing instructions) by a processor (Fig. 1, 19 and see at least para. [0053] of Westhauser which discloses “ a computing unit 19 of a device 20 for defrosting the heat exchanger 11. The computing unit 19 first determines a current speed threshold value and/or a current power consumption threshold value on the basis of at least one of the parameters driving speed, distance signal, vehicle position, or outside air temperature ” and see at least para. [0054] of Westhauser which discloses “ the computing unit 19 instructs the device 20 to perform a defrosting process for the heat exchanger 11 ”, *Examiner interprets the computing unit 19 to be evidence of the controller comprising a processor, as recited) , facilitate performance of operations (see at least para. [0054] of Westhauser which discloses “ computing unit 19 instructs the device 20 to perform a defrosting process for the heat exchanger ”, *Examiner interprets this as facilitating performance of operations) , comprising: receiving model data (see at least para. [0012] of Westhauser which discloses “it is further provided that the threshold value is determined as a function of a parameter, the parameter being an indicator of a current relative air speed of the ambient air in relation to the motor vehicle ” and see at least para. [0021] of Westhauser which discloses “ a calculation model or simulations ”, *Examiner interprets this to be model data) indicative of an air flow (see at least para. [0052] of Westhauser which discloses “ an air flow through the heat exchanger 11 ”) through a thermal unit (Fig. 1, 11 and see at least para. [0052] of Westhauser which discloses “ The heat pump 10 comprises a heat exchanger 11 for absorbing heat ”, *Examiner interprets the heat exchanger to be a thermal unit since it functions to transfer thermal energy) of a heat pump system (Fig. 1, 10 and see at least para. [0052] of Westhauser which discloses “ a heat pump 10 ”) of a vehicle (Fig. 1, 200 and see at least para. [0052] of Westhauser which discloses “ a motor vehicle 200 having a heat pump 10 ”) and an air supply unit (Fig. 1, 13 and see at least para. [0052] of Westhauser which discloses “ A fan 13 is assigned to the heat exchanger 11 of the heat pump 10, which fan is designed to conduct an air flow through the heat exchanger 11”, *Examiner interprets fan 13 to be the air supply unit) of the heat pump system, wherein the model data is based on a model of the heat pump system (see at least para. [0012] of Westhauser which discloses “it is further provided that the threshold value is determined as a function of a parameter, the parameter being an indicator of a current relative air speed of the ambient air in relation to the motor vehicle ” and see at least para. [0011] of Westhauser which discloses “ a defrosting process of a heat exchanger of a heat pump of a motor vehicle, which method is insensitive to external parameters influencing the air flow ”. Also, see at least para. [0021] of Westhauser which discloses “ The dependency of the threshold value on the parameter can be determined with a calculation model or simulations. In addition, it is possible to provide a table or a characteristic field from which the respectively suitable threshold value can be taken for normal driving situations and external circumstances that influence the current relative air speed ”. Westhauser further discloses receiving model-derived data indicative of airflow through the thermal unit and the air supply unit (see at least para. [0021] which discloses that threshold values dependent on relative air speed may be determined using “a calculation model or simulations”. The calculation model and simulations generate expected operating values and threshold values associated with airflow conditions through the heat exchanger and fan system, which r easonably correspond to model data indicative of airflow through the thermal unit and air supply unit. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, relating operating parameters, relative airspeed and threshold values corresponds to modeling expected airflow behavior through the heat exchange and fan) ; receiving measured data (see at least para. [0020] of Westhauser which discloses “ the initiation of a defrosting process is additionally made dependent on exceeding or falling below a threshold value, in particular a power consumption threshold value or a speed threshold value, on a further parameter which is an indicator of a current relative air speed of the ambient air in relation to the motor vehicle ” and at least para. [0021] of Westhauser which discloses “ The dependency of the threshold value on the parameter can be determined with a calculation model or simulations. In addition, it is possible to provide a table or a characteristic field from which the respectively suitable threshold value can be taken for normal driving situations and external circumstances that influence the current relative air speed of the ambient air in relation to the motor vehicle ”) indicative of the air flow through the thermal unit and the air supply unit (see at least para. [0008] of Westhauser which discloses “ the cooling device having a fan driven by an electric motor for air to flow through the evaporator. In the method, the change in an operating parameter of the motor operating the fan is measured ”) , the air supply unit (Fig. 1, 13 and see at least para. [0052] of Westhauser which discloses “ A fan 13 is assigned to the heat exchanger 11 of the heat pump 10, which fan is designed to conduct an air flow through the heat exchanger 11”) ; and determining condition data indicative of a blockage (see at least para. [0015] of Westhauser which discloses “ If a layer of ice forms on the heat exchanger, the pressure loss on the air side at the heat exchanger increases ”, *Examiner interprets this layer of ide to be indicative of a blockage. Still, see at least para. [0015] of Westhauser which discloses “ With increasing pressure losses, the amount of air conveyed decreases. If the speed of the fan is kept constant, the electrical energy requirement and thus the power consumption of the fan decrease with a significantly increased pressure loss. The electrical power consumption of the fan indicates the amount of air being conveyed and thus the efficiency of the heat pump. If the air mass flows are too low, the heat pump can no longer be operated efficiently and a defrosting process must be initiated ” and see at least para. [0016] of Westhauser which discloses “ By monitoring the power consumption of the fan and comparing it with a threshold value, in particular a power consumption threshold value, it can therefore advantageously be determined whether and when a defrosting process should be initiated for the heat exchanger ”, *Examiner interprets the initiating of the defrosting process to be the result of determining condition data indicative of a blockage) of the thermal unit (Fig. 1, 11 and see at least para. [0052] of Westhauser which discloses “ The heat pump 10 comprises a heat exchanger 11 for absorbing heat ”, *Examiner interprets the heat exchanger to be a thermal unit since it functions to transfer thermal energy) based at least on the model data and the measured data (see at least para. [0020] of Westhauser which discloses “ the initiation of a defrosting process is additionally made dependent on exceeding or falling below a threshold value, in particular a power consumption threshold value or a speed threshold value, on a further parameter which is an indicator of a current relative air speed of the ambient air in relation to the motor vehicle ” and at least para. [0021] of Westhauser which discloses “ The dependency of the threshold value on the parameter can be determined with a calculation model or simulations. In addition, it is possible to provide a table or a characteristic field from which the respectively suitable threshold value can be taken for normal driving situations and external circumstances that influence the current relative air speed of the ambient air in relation to the motor vehicle ”) . Westhauser further discloses model-derived data indicative of airflow through the thermal unit and the air supply unit (see at least para. [0018] of Westhauser which discloses “ the threshold value… is determined as a function of a parameter, the parameter being an indicator of a current relative air speed of the ambient air in relation to the motor vehicle ” and see at least para. [0021] of Westhauser which discloses that “ The dependency of the threshold value on the parameter can be determined with a calculation model or simulations ”). The calculation model and simulations therefore generate airflow-related threshold values and expected operating values associated with relative air speed through the heat exchanger and fan arrangement, which reasonably constitute model data indicative of airflow through the thermal unit and the air supply unit. While Westhauser may not explicitly disclose the phrase a thermal unit of the heat pump system , Westhauser does discloses a heat exchanger that is considered to function as a thermal unit (Fig. 1, 11 and see at least para. [0052] of Westhauser which discloses “ The heat pump 10 comprises a heat exchanger 11 for absorbing heat ”, *Examiner interprets the heat exchanger to be a thermal unit since it functions to transfer thermal energy). Westhauser may not explicitly disclose A non-transitory machine-readable medium, comprising executable instructions. However, in the same field of endeavor, He discloses A non-transitory machine-readable medium (see at least para. [0065] of He which discloses “a non-transitory computer-readable medium”) , comprising executable instructions (see at least para. [0065] of He which discloses “ The processor 102 is a hardware device for executing software instructions embodied in a non-transitory computer-readable medium. The processor 102 may be any custom made or commercially available processor, a central processing unit (CPU), an auxiliary processor among several processors associated with a server, a semiconductor-based microprocessor (in the form of a microchip or chipset), or generally any device for executing software instructions ”); and a thermal unit of the heat pump system (see at least para. [0044] of He which discloses “ the thermal management heat pump system 10 of the present disclosure includes a cabin thermal management loop 12 on the refrigerant side and an ESS thermal management loop 14 and power electronics thermal management loop 16 ” and see at least para. [0025] of He which discloses “ the non-transitory computer readable medium stored in a memory and executed by a processor to carry out the thermal management heat pump method steps includes: given a cabin thermal management loop ”) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the computing unit and device of Westhauser’ s data processing system to include A non-transitory machine-readable medium, comprising executable instructions , as taught in He with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve a controller by using software stored on a known medium in the thermal management system so that maintenance can be improved. See para. [0065] of He for motivation. Also, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Westhauser’ s to be used in a thermal unit of the heat pump system , as taught in He with a reasonable expectation of success in order to facilitate the effective management of an electric vehicle’s heat pump system. See para. [0005] and para. [0044] of He for motivation. Westhauser, as modified by He, may not explicitly disclose wherein the measured data via an anemometer. However, in the same field of endeavor, Binder discloses wherein the measured data via an anemometer (see at least para. [0084] of Binder which discloses “ an indicator for the air flow measurements. An anemometer is an air flow sensor primarily for measuring wind speed, and may be cup anemometer, a windmill anemometer, hot-wire anemometer such as CCA (Constant-Current Anemometer), CVA (Constant-Voltage Anemometer) and CTA (Constant-Temperature Anemometer). Sonic anemometers use ultrasonic sound waves to measure wind velocity. Air flow may be measured by a pressure anemometer ”). Binder teaches the use of airflow-measuring sensors and model-based sensor comparison. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the computing unit and device of Westhauser’ s data processing system, as modified by He, to include wherein the measured data via an anemometer , as taught by Binder with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the accuracy of the measuring means to facilitate improved energy efficiency of heat pump systems. See para. [0084] of Binder for motivation. Westhauser, as modified by He and Binder, discloses wherein a measurement by the anemometer (see at least para. [0084] of Binder which discloses “ an indicator for the air flow measurements. An anemometer is an air flow sensor primarily for measuring wind speed, and may be cup anemometer, a windmill anemometer, hot-wire anemometer such as CCA (Constant-Current Anemometer), CVA (Constant-Voltage Anemometer) and CTA (Constant-Temperature Anemometer). Sonic anemometers use ultrasonic sound waves to measure wind velocity. Air flow may be measured by a pressure anemometer ”) . Westhauser, as modified by He and Binder may not explicitly disclose that at least one airflow measurement is performed while a fan unit operates in a freewheeling mode. However, Jorgensen discloses a freewheeling mode of a fan unit (see at least col. 3 ln. 30- 34 of Jorgensen which discloses “ when freewheeling (that is, not being forcibly driven by the motor) so that it is particularly adapted for use in a vehicle ”). Jorgensen teaches a vehicle fan operating in freewheeling mode. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify operation of the fan unit of Westhauser, as modified by He and Binder, such that at least one airflow measurement is performed while the fan unit operates in the freewheeling mode taught by Jorgensen, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to permit airflow characterization during a condition in which the fan is not actively driven by the motor and airflow through the heat pump system to influence fan movement, thereby facilitating detection of airflow restriction or blockage conditions within the heat pump system. See col. 3 ln. 30-34 of Jorgensen for motivation. Regarding claim 14, Westhauser, as modified by He and Binder and Jorgensen, discloses wherein at least one measurement of the anemometer is performed in a propelled mode of the fan unit as the air supply unit of the heat pump system (see at least para. [0618] of Binder which discloses “ Propellers (as well as screws, fans, nozzles, or rotors) are used to move on or through a fluid or air, such as in watercrafts and aircrafts ” and see at least para. [0339] of Binder which discloses “ A windmill anemometer combines a propeller and a tail on the same axis, to obtain wind speed and direction measurements ”) . Regarding claim 15, Westhauser, as modified by He and Binder and Jorgensen, discloses wherein the measured data (see at least para. [0020] of Westhauser which discloses “ the initiation of a defrosting process is additionally made dependent on exceeding or falling below a threshold value, in particular a power consumption threshold value or a speed threshold value, on a further parameter which is an indicator of a current relative air speed of the ambient air in relation to the motor vehicle ” and at least para. [0021] of Westhauser which discloses “ The dependency of the threshold value on the parameter can be determined with a calculation model or simulations. In addition, it is possible to provide a table or a characteristic field from which the respectively suitable threshold value can be taken for normal driving situations and external circumstances that influence the current relative air speed of the ambient air in relation to the motor vehicle ”) comprises at least information of a rotational speed of the fan unit (see at least para. [0052] of Westhauser which discloses “ The speed of the fan 13 can be determined by means of a speed sensor 14. The power consumption of the fan 13 is read out via a bus signal ”) , wherein the information of the rotational speed of the fan unit comprises of one or more of a first partial rotational speed value or a second partial rotational speed value (see at least para. [0017] of Westhauser which discloses “ by monitoring the speed of the fan and comparing it with a threshold value, in particular a speed threshold value, it can advantageously be determined whether and when a defrosting process should be initiated for the heat exchanger ”) . Regarding claim 17, Westhauser, as modified by He and Binder and Jorgensen, discloses wherein the operations are performed during a driving state of the vehicle, in particular a driving state (see at least para. [0021] of Westhauser which discloses “ it is possible to provide a table or a characteristic field from which the respectively suitable threshold value can be taken for normal driving situations and external circumstances that influence the current relative air speed of the ambient air in relation to the motor vehicle ”) with a predefined driving speed range, of the vehicle (see at least para. [0024] of Westhauser which discloses “ If the motor vehicle is moved at a high driving speed, the relative air speed of the ambient air in relation to the motor vehicle increases. As a result, the power consumption of the fan can decrease while the speed is kept constant, without icing up of the heat exchanger being the cause of the decrease in power consumption ”) . Regarding claim 18, Westhauser, as modified by He and Binder and Jorgensen, discloses wherein the condition data comprises one or more of icing information (see at least para. [0024] of Westhauser which discloses “the power consumption of the fan can decrease while the speed is kept constant, without icing up of the heat exchanger”) of a blockage of the thermal unit (see at least para. [0015] of Westhauser which discloses “ If a layer of ice forms on the heat exchanger, the pressure loss on the air side at the heat exchanger increases ”, *Examiner interprets this layer of ide to be indicative of a blockage. Still, see at least para. [0015] of Westhauser which discloses “ With increasing pressure losses, the amount of air conveyed decreases. If the speed of the fan is kept constant, the electrical energy requirement and thus the power consumption of the fan decrease with a significantly increased pressure loss. The electrical power consumption of the fan indicates the amount of air being conveyed and thus the efficiency of the heat pump. If the air mass flows are too low, the heat pump can no longer be operated efficiently and a defrosting process must be initiated ” and see at least para. [0016] of Westhauser which discloses “ By monitoring the power consumption of the fan and comparing it with a threshold value, in particular a power consumption threshold value, it can therefore advantageously be determined whether and when a defrosting process should be initiated for the heat exchanger ”, *Examiner interprets the initiating of the defrosting process to be the result of determining condition data indicative of a blockage) or clogging information of a blockage of the thermal unit (see at least para. [0015] of Westhauser which discloses “ If a layer of ice forms on the heat exchanger, the pressure loss on the air side at the heat exchanger increases. With increasing pressure losses, the amount of air conveyed decreases. If the speed of the fan is kept constant, the electrical energy requirement and thus the power consumption of the fan decrease with a significantly increased pressure loss. The electrical power consumption of the fan indicates the amount of air being conveyed and thus the efficiency of the heat pump. If the air mass flows are too low, the heat pump can no longer be operated efficiently and a defrosting process must be initiated ”) . Regarding claim 19, Westhauser discloses A vehicle (Fig. 1, 200 and see at least para. [0052] of Westhauser which discloses “ a motor vehicle 200 having a heat pump 10 ”) , comprising: at least one processor (Fig. 1, 19 and see at least para. [0053] of Westhauser which discloses “ a computing unit 19 of a device 20 for defrosting the heat exchanger 11. The computing unit 19 first determines a current speed threshold value and/or a current power consumption threshold value on the basis of at least one of the parameters driving speed, distance signal, vehicle position, or outside air temperature ” and see at least para. [0054] of Westhauser which discloses “ the computing unit 19 instructs the device 20 to perform a defrosting process for the heat exchanger 11 ”, *Examiner interprets the computing unit 19 to be evidence of the controller comprising a processor, as recited) ; executable instructions (see at least para. [0054] of Westhauser which discloses “the computing unit 19 instructs the device 20 to perform”, *Examiner interprets this a executable instructions) that, when executed (see at least para. [0054] of Westhauser which discloses “ the corresponding threshold value, the computing unit 19 instructs the device 20 to perform a defrosting process for the heat exchanger 11 ”, *Examiner interprets this as executing instructions) that, when executed (see at least para. [0054] of Westhauser which discloses “ the corresponding threshold value, the computing unit 19 instructs the device 20 to perform a defrosting process for the heat exchanger 11 ”, *Examiner interprets this as executing instructions) by the at least one processor, facilitate performance of operations, comprising: receiving model data (see at least para. [0012] of Westhauser which discloses “it is further provided that the threshold value is determined as a function of a parameter, the parameter being an indicator of a current relative air speed of the ambient air in relation to the motor vehicle ” and see at least para. [0021] of Westhauser which discloses “ a calculation model or simulations ”, *Examiner interprets this to be model data) indicative of an air flow (see at least para. [0052] of Westhauser which discloses “ an air flow through the heat exchanger 11 ”) through a thermal unit (Fig. 1, 11 and see at least para. [0052] of Westhauser which discloses “ The heat pump 10 comprises a heat exchanger 11 for absorbing heat ”, *Examiner interprets the heat exchanger to be a thermal unit since it functions to transfer thermal energy) of a heat pump system (Fig. 1, 10 and see at least para. [0052] of Westhauser which discloses “ a heat pump 10 ”) of a vehicle (Fig. 1, 200 and see at least para. [0052] of Westhauser which discloses “ a motor vehicle 200 having a heat pump 10 ”) and an air supply unit (Fig. 1, 13 and see at least para. [0052] of Westhauser which discloses “ A fan 13 is assigned to the heat exchanger 11 of the heat pump 10, which fan is designed to conduct an air flow through the heat exchanger 11”, *Examiner interprets fan 13 to be the air supply unit) of the heat pump system, wherein the model data is based on a model of the heat pump system (see at least para. [0012] of Westhauser which discloses “it is further provided that the threshold value is determined as a function of a parameter, the parameter being an indicator of a current relative air speed of the ambient air in relation to the motor vehicle ” and see at least para. [0011] of Westhauser which discloses “ a defrosting process of a heat exchanger of a heat pump of a motor vehicle, which method is insensitive to external parameters influencing the air flow ”. Also, see at least para. [0021] of Westhauser which discloses “ The dependency of the threshold value on the parameter can be determined with a calculation model or simulations. In addition, it is possible to provide a table or a characteristic field from which the respectively suitable threshold value can be taken for normal driving situations and external circumstances that influence the current relative air speed ”. Westhauser further discloses receiving model-derived data indicative of airflow through the thermal unit and the air supply unit (see at least para. [0021] which discloses that threshold values dependent on relative air speed may be determined using “a calculation model or simulations”. The calculation model and simulations generate expected operating values and threshold values associated with airflow conditions through the heat exchanger and fan system, which r easonably correspond to model data indicative of airflow through the thermal unit and air supply unit. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, relating operating parameters, relative airspeed and threshold values corresponds to modeling expected airflow behavior through the heat exchange and fan.)) ; receiving measured data (see at least para. [0020] of Westhauser which discloses “ the initiation of a defrosting process is additionally made dependent on exceeding or falling below a threshold value, in particular a power consumption threshold value or a speed threshold value, on a further parameter which is an indicator of a current relative air speed of the ambient air in relation to the motor vehicle ” and at least para. [0021] of Westhauser which discloses “ The dependency of the threshold value on the parameter can be determined with a calculation model or simulations. In addition, it is possible to provide a table or a characteristic field from which the respectively suitable threshold value can be taken for normal driving situations and external circumstances that influence the current relative air speed of the ambient air in relation to the motor vehicle ”) indicative of the air flow through the thermal unit and the air supply unit (see at least para. [0008] of Westhauser which discloses “ the cooling device having a fan driven by an electric motor for air to flow through the evaporator. In the method, the change in an operating parameter of the motor operating the fan is measured ”) , the air supply unit (Fig. 1, 13 and see at least para. [0052] of Westhauser which discloses “ A fan 13 is assigned to the heat exchanger 11 of the heat pump 10, which fan is designed to conduct an air flow through the heat exchanger 11”) ; and determining condition data indicative of the blockage (see at least para. [0015] of Westhauser which discloses “ If a layer of ice forms on the heat exchanger, the pressure loss on the air side at the heat exchanger increases ”, *Examiner interprets this layer of ide to be indicative of a blockage. Still, see at least para. [0015] of Westhauser which discloses “ With increasing pressure losses, the amount of air conveyed decreases. If the speed of the fan is kept constant, the electrical energy requirement and thus the power consumption of the fan decrease with a significantly increased pressure loss. The electrical power consumption of the fan indicates the amount of air being conveyed and thus the efficiency of the heat pump. If the air mass flows are too low, the heat pump can no longer be operated efficiently and a defrosting process must be initiated ” and see at least para. [0016] of Westhauser which discloses “ By monitoring the power consumption of the fan and comparing it with a threshold value, in particular a power consumption threshold value, it can therefore advantageously be determined whether and when a defrosting process should be initiated for the heat exchanger ”, *Examiner interprets the initiating of the defrosting process to be the result of determining condition data indicative of a blockage) of the thermal unit (Fig. 1, 11 and see at least para. [0052] of Westhauser which discloses “ The heat pump 10 comprises a heat exchanger 11 for absorbing heat ”, *Examiner interprets the heat exchanger to be a thermal unit since it functions to transfer thermal energy) based at least on the model data and the measured data (see at least para. [0020] of Westhauser which discloses “ the initiation of a defrosting process is additionally made dependent on exceeding or falling below a threshold value, in particular a power consumption threshold value or a speed threshold value, on a further parameter which is an indicator of a current relative air speed of the ambient air in relation to the motor vehicle ” and at least para. [0021] of Westhauser which discloses “ The dependency of the threshold value on the parameter can be determined with a calculation model or simulations. In addition, it is possible to provide a table or a characteristic field from which the respectively suitable threshold value can be taken for normal driving situations and external circumstances that influence the current relative air speed of the ambient air in relation to the motor vehicle ”) . Westhauser further discloses model-derived data indicative of airflow through the thermal unit and the air supply unit (see at least para. [0018] of Westhauser which discloses “ the threshold value… is determined as a function of a parameter, the parameter being an indicator of a current relative air speed of the ambient air in relation to the motor vehicle ” and see at least para. [0021] of Westhauser which discloses that “ The dependency of the threshold value on the parameter can be determined with a calculation model or simulations ”). The calculation model and simulations therefore generate airflow-related threshold values and expected operating values associated with relative air speed through the heat exchanger and fan arrangement, which reasonably constitute model data indicative of airflow through the thermal unit and the air supply unit. While Westhauser may not explicitly disclose the phrase a thermal unit of the heat pump system , Westhauser does discloses a heat exchanger that is considered to function as a thermal unit (Fig. 1, 11 and see at least para. [0052] of Westhauser which discloses “ The heat pump 10 comprises a heat exchanger 11 for absorbing heat ”, *Examiner interprets the heat exchanger to be a thermal unit since it functions to transfer thermal energy). Westhauser may not explicitly disclose and at least one memory that stores executable instructions. However, in the same field of endeavor, He discloses at least one memory (Fig. 14, 110 and see at least para. [0065] of Hu which discloses “ the memory 110 ” and see at least para. [0065] of Hu which discloses “ the processor 102 is configured to execute software stored within the memory 110, to communicate data to and from the memory 110, and to generally control operations of the control system 100 pursuant to the software instructions ”) that stores executable instructions (see at least para. [0067] of He which discloses “ executable instructions for implementing logical functions ”); and a thermal unit of the heat pump system (see at least para. [0044] of He which discloses “ the thermal management heat pump system 10 of the present disclosure includes a cabin thermal management loop 12 on the refrigerant side and an ESS thermal management loop 14 and power electronics thermal management loop 16 ” and see at least para. [0025] of He which discloses “ the non-transitory computer readable medium stored in a memory and executed by a processor to carry out the thermal management heat pump method steps includes: given a cabin thermal management loop ”) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle of Westhauser to include at least one memory that stores executable instructions , as taught in He with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve a controller by using software stored on a known medium in the thermal management system so that maintenance can be improved. See para. [0065] of He for motivation. Also, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Westhauser’s to be used in a thermal unit of the heat pump system , as taught in He with a reasonable expectation of success in order to facilitate the effective management of an electric vehicle’s heat pump system. See para. [0005] and para. [0044] of He for motivation. Westhauser, as modified by He, may not explicitly disclose wherein the measured data is measured via revolutions per minute sensor. However, in the same field of endeavor, Binder discloses wherein the measured data is measured via revolutions per minute sensor (see at least para. [0325] of Binder which discloses “ An angular rate sensor may be a tachometer (a.k.a. RPM gauge and revolution-counter), used to measure the rotation speed of a shaft, an axle or a disk, commonly by units of RPM (Revolutions per Minute) annotating the number of full rotations completed in one minute around the axis ”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle of Westhauser, as modified by He, to include wherein the measured data is measured via revolutions per minute sensor , as taught by Binder with a reasonable expectation of success in order to properly keep track of measured data that may contain measured values. See para. [0325] of Binder for motivation. Regarding claim 20, Westhauser, as modified by He and Binder and Jorgensen, discloses wherein the heat pump system comprises a seal (see at least para. [0400] of Binder which discloses a “ seal, which keeps the air in the upper portion of the cylinder ”) configured to provide a sealed connection between the thermal unit and the air supply unit (see at least para. [0317] of Binder which discloses “ the difference between two pressures is measured, or may be a sealed pressure sensor where the pressure is measured relative to some fixed pressure ”) . Regarding claim 21, Westhauser, as modified by He and Binder and Jorgensen, discloses wherein at least one measurement of the measured data is performed in a propelled mode of a fan unit as air supply unit of the heat pump system (see at least para. [0618] of Binder which discloses “ Propellers (as well as screws, fans, nozzles, or rotors) are used to move on or through a fluid or air, such as in watercrafts and aircrafts ” and see at least para. [0339] of Binder which discloses “ A windmill anemometer combines a propeller and a tail on the same axis, to obtain wind speed and direction measurements ”) . Regarding claim 22 Westhauser, as modified by He and Binder and Jorgensen, discloses wherein the measured data (see at least para. [0020] of Westhauser which discloses “ the initiation of a defrosting process is additionally made dependent on exceeding or falling below a threshold value, in particular a power consumption threshold value or a speed threshold value, on a further parameter which is an indicator of a current relative air speed of the ambient air in relation to the motor vehicle ” and at least para. [0021] of Westhauser which discloses “ The dependency of the threshold value on the parameter can be determined with a calculation model or simulations. In addition, it is possible to provide a table or a characteristic field from which the respectively suitable threshold value can be taken for normal driving situations and external circumstances that influence the current relative air speed of the ambient air in relation to the motor vehicle ”) comprises at least information of a rotational speed of the fan unit (see at least para. [0052] of Westhauser which discloses “ The speed of the fan 13 can be determined by means of a speed sensor 14. The power consumption of the fan 13 is read out via a bus signal ”) , wherein the information of the rotational speed of the fan unit comprises of one or more of a first partial rotational speed value or a second partial rotational speed value (see at least para. [0017] of Westhauser which discloses “ by monitoring the speed of the fan and comparing it with a threshold value, in particular a speed threshold value, it can advantageously be determined whether and when a defrosting process should be initiated for the heat exchanger ”) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westhauser (US 2022/0258566 A1) in view of He (US 2022/0396118 A1) in view of Binder (US 2021/0075861 A1) and in view of Jorgensen (US 4,962,734 A) and further in view of Metzen (US 2019/0370683 A1) . Regarding claim 10, Westhauser, as modified by He and Binder and Jorgensen, discloses wherein the model (see at least para. [0021] of Westhauser which discloses “ a calculation model or simulations ”, *Examiner interprets this to be model data) of the heat pump system (Fig. 1, 10 and see at least para. [0052] of Westhauser which discloses “ a heat pump 10 ” and see at least para. [0044] of He which discloses “ the thermal management heat pump system 10 of the present disclosure includes a cabin thermal management loop 12 on the refrigerant side and an ESS thermal management loop 14 and power electronics thermal management loop 16 ” and see at least para. [0025] of He which discloses “ the non-transitory computer readable medium stored in a memory and executed by a processor to carry out the thermal management heat pump method steps includes: given a cabin thermal management loop ”). Westhauser, as modified by He and Binder and Jorgensen may not explicitly disclose modeling based on input data of a machine learning algorithm. However, Metzen discloses modeling based on input data of a machine learning algorithm (see at least para. [0026] of Metzen which discloses “ a heat pump of a heating system depending on the output value of the machine learning system (12). The machine learning system (12) can then be configured to determine which mode of operation of the building control system is desired based on the acquired user response ”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to model the heat pump system of Westhauser, as modified by He and Binder and Jorgensen based on input data of a machine learning algorithm as taught in Metzen with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the efficiency of the heat pump system so that decision making may be enhanced. See para. [0026] of Metzen for motivation. Regarding claim 11, the combination of Westhauser in view of He, Binder and Metzen and Jorgensen discloses the a machine learning algorithm (see at least para. [0026] of Metzen which discloses “ a heat pump of a heating system depending on the output value of the machine learning system (12). The machine learning system (12) can then be configured to determine which mode of operation of the building control system is desired based on the acquired user response ”). Metzen further discloses wherein the machine learning algorithm is trained (see at least para. [0017] of Metzen which discloses “ the trained machine learning system determines an output value based on a detected sensor value. A control variable can be determined dependent on the output value of the trained machine learning system ”) at least by one or more of measured fan data, the condition data, reference data of the vehicle, or usage data of the vehicle (see at least para. [0033] of Metzen which discloses “ the machine learning system (12) is trained based on the supplied training data, which comprises training/input values and output values. The training of the machine learning system (12) can be carried out as described in the following example. The machine learning system (12) determines an output value based on each of the multiplicity of training input values ”) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the machine learning algorithm of Westhauser as modified by He, Binder and Jorgensen and Metzen to include training of the machine learning algorithm by one or more of measured fan data, the condition data, reference data of the vehicle, or usage data of the vehicle, as further taught in Metzen with a reasonable expectation of success in order to expand the efficiency of heat pump systems by effectively determining condition data indicative of a thermal unit’s blockage. Additional Prior Art 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ensberg (US 10,690,366) discloses a system and method is disclosed herein for determining heat exchanger blockage based upon monitored ram fan motor current or power. Lab or field data may be utilized to determine an estimated pressure ratio for a ram fan in relation to both the current or power provided to the ram fan and a corrected speed of the ram fan. Based on this determined relationship, during operation of the ram fan, the current or power provided to the ram fan and the speed of the ram fan may be monitored to determine a surge margin of the ram fan. The determined surge margin may be used to determine a heat exchanger blockage level. Nair (US 2008/0198896A1) which discloses systems that may utilize pressure sensor based airflow sensing in an effort to detect filter blockage. For airflow ranges seen in electronics enclosures, a pressure sensor with low measurement range is required. These sensors are large and susceptible to shock and vibration. They are also sensitive to mounting orientation. With smaller circuitry, the larger sensors become unwieldy and inaccurate. They may also fail to properly detect whether the filter is clogged to the point where cooling is no longer effective. Again, when the filter is clogged, the air flow rate through the cabinet may be less than optimal even at the highest fan speed resulting in component failure, thermal stress, or degradation which may not be detectable . Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DANA IVEY whose telephone number is (313)446-4896. The examiner can normally be reached 9-5:30 EST Monday-Friday. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jelani Smith can be reached at 571-270-3969. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DANA D IVEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3662 /D.D.I/May 21, 2026 /JELANI A SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/767,357 Page 2 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/767,357 Page 3 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/767,357 Page 4 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/767,357 Page 5 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/767,357 Page 6 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/767,357 Page 7 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/767,357 Page 8 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/767,357 Page 9 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/767,357 Page 10 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/767,357 Page 11 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/767,357 Page 12 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/767,357 Page 13 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/767,357 Page 14 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/767,357 Page 15 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/767,357 Page 16 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/767,357 Page 17 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/767,357 Page 18 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/767,357 Page 19 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/767,357 Page 20 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/767,357 Page 21 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/767,357 Page 22 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/767,357 Page 23 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/767,357 Page 24 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/767,357 Page 25 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/767,357 Page 26 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/767,357 Page 27 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/767,357 Page 28 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/767,357 Page 29 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/767,357 Page 30 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/767,357 Page 31 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/767,357 Page 32 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/767,357 Page 33 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/767,357 Page 34 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/767,357 Page 35 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/767,357 Page 36 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/767,357 Page 37 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/767,357 Page 38 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/767,357 Page 39 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/767,357 Page 40 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/767,357 Page 41 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/767,357 Page 42 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/767,357 Page 43 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/767,357 Page 44 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/767,357 Page 45 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/767,357 Page 46 Art Unit: 3662