DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the following communications: the response filed on 07/14/2026.
Claims 1-18 are presented for Examination. Claim 1 is independent. Claims 19-20 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 07/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112, First paragraph and Second paragraph withdrawn due to amendment of claims.
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to new combinations of references including new prior art being used in the current rejection. The new grounds of rejection are necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103(a) as being unpatentable over US20120133308A1 (Elenga et al.) in view of US20040237529A1 (Da Silva; “Silva”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Elenga et al teach that an actuator comprising:
a housing (402 in Fig. 4A; ¶[0028]: "The LRVM includes a cylindrical housing 402 within which a solid, cylindrical mass 404, or weight, can move linearly along the inner, hollow, cylindrically shaped chamber 406 within the cylindrical housing or tube 402");
a moving element (404 in Fig. 4A; ¶ [0028]: "a solid, cylindrical mass 404, or weight, can move linearly along the inner, hollow, cylindrically shaped chamber 406"); and
Elenga et al is silent with respect to the specific provision of that a drive component that causes the moving element to oscillate over an arc such that during one cycle of the oscillation, the moving element produces both a centrifugal force and a force tangential to the arc, non-centrifugal force wherein the force tangential to the arc is associated with the moving element reversing direction along the arc.
But Silva teaches that a drive component that causes the moving element to oscillate over an arc such that during one cycle of the oscillation, the moving element produces both a centrifugal force and a force tangential to the arc, non-centrifugal force wherein the force tangential to the arc is associated with the moving element reversing direction along the arc (Fig.7A-Fig7B, ¶[0131]-[0132]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in art, before the effective filing date of the invention. Because Elenga recognizes the limitations of traditional vibration modules (¶ [0005]-[0009]) and seeks more efficient vibration-generating unitsSilva specifically addresses efficiency improvements in dynamic performance with unbalanced masses (¶[0134]: "to achieve the best dynamic performance goal for the transfer of energy between rotating and inertial forces according to each application.").
Regarding claims 2 and 6, Elenga et al fail but Silva teaches that wherein the magnitude of the centrifugal force oscillates (Fig.7A).
Regarding claim 3, Elenga et al fail but Silva teaches that wherein the magnitude of the centrifugal force oscillates between a value of zero and a maximum value (Fig.7B).
Regarding claim 4, Elenga et al fail but Silva teaches that wherein the magnitude
of the non-centrifugal force oscillates (¶[0133]).
Regarding claim 5, Elenga et al fail but Silva teaches that wherein the direction of the non-centrifugal force alternates between a first direction and a second direction opposite the first direction (Fig.7A).
Regarding claims 7-8, Elenga et al fail to teach but Silva teaches these relationships through the harmonic equations (¶[0102).
Regarding claim 9, Elenga et al teach that wherein the moving element oscillates on an arc-shaped path without making a complete circle (Fig. 8A-8C showing arc-shaped oscillation; ¶[0029]: "the weight linearly oscillates back and forth within the cylindrical housing 402").
Regarding claim 10, Both Elenga et al and Silva fail to teach that wherein arc-shaped path subtends an angle of between thirty degrees and seventy degrees but this is a matter of design choice and optimization that would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of both references regarding oscillation angles and force generation.
Regarding claims 11-12, These claims define the moving element structure. Elenga teaches various moving element configurations including platforms and weights (¶[0039]-[0040]: various implementations with different moving mass configurations).
Regarding claim 13, Elenga et al teach that wherein the drive component comprises: a magnet that moves with the moving element; and a coil separate from the moving element (¶[0028]: "The weight is a magnet in the described implementation of the linear-resonant vibration module to which current application is directed, with polarity indicated by the '+' sign 410 on the right-hand end and the '-' sign 412 on the left-hand end of the weight 404"; ¶[0028]: "Finally, a coil of conductive wire 420 is positioned at the mid-point of the cylindrical housing").
Regarding claims 14-16, These claims further define the drive component arrangement. Elenga teaches various coil and magnet configurations for driving oscillation (¶[0040]-[0042]: different coil arrangements and electromagnetic configurations).
Regarding claim 17, Elenga et al teach that wherein the actuator is incorporated into an electronic device, appliance, or system to provide haptic signals to a user (¶[0002]: "The current application is related to vibration-generating devices and, in particular, to vibration modules that can be incorporated into a wide variety of different types of electromechanical devices and systems to produce vibrations of selected amplitudes and frequencies over a wide range of amplitude/frequency space").
Regarding claim 18, Elenga et al teach that further comprising two springs attached to the moving element and to the housing (¶[0039]: "Note that, in place of the end magnets 1002 and 1004, mechanical springs may alternatively be used).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUHAMMAD S ISLAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837