DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on 2/9/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there would not be a serious search burden. This is not found persuasive because the method and apparatus have divergent subject matter would require significantly different search strategies, as set forth in the Restriction Requirement.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 2/9/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 20140157527 by Corradini et al.
As to claim 1, Corradini discloses a dispenser for treating a textile, the dispenser comprising a dispenser body 10 with a wall extending along a longitudinal axis from a closed end to an open end defining an interior cavity (fig. 1).; an applicator assembly coupleable to the open end, the assembly comprising an applicator body 12 defining an outer surface with a central orifice 16 (fig. 2), and a plurality of projections 14 extending from and arranged on at least a first portion (e.g. central) and a second portion (e.g. outer) of the outer surface of the applicator body, the projections on the first portion (e.g. the central ring of projections, fig. 2) having a size and/or shape that differs from the projections on the second portion (e.g. outer ring of projections, fig. 2), wherein when assembled, the dispenser body can be oriented in a first orientation such that a composition is flowable from the open end through the central orifice 16 and capable of being massaged into a textile using the projections on the first portion or orientable into a second orientation for massaging the textile using the projections on the second portion.
As to claim 2, Corradini discloses that the outer surface is convex with the first portion defining a substantially planar surface through which the central orifice extends and oriented substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, and the second portion defining first and second (e.g. left and right as shown) angled surfaces adjacent to and converging toward the planar surface (fig. 4).
As to claim 3, Corradini disclose that the projections comprise a first plurality of projections radially spaces around the central orifice on the planar surface, a second plurality of projections on the first angled surface, and a third plurality of projections on the second angled surface, wherein the size and/or shape of the first projections differs from the size and/or shape of the second and third projections (see annotated fig. 2 below).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Third projections)][AltContent: textbox (First projections)][AltContent: textbox (Second projections)][AltContent: oval]
As to claim 4, Corradini discloses that the first and second angled surfaces are angled at approximately a 45 degree angle and converging toward the planar surface, wherein the dispenser body is orientable into approximately a 90 degree angle in the first orientation and into approximately a 45 degree angle in the second orientation (see fig. 4).
As to claim 7, Corradini discloses that its projections may be a thermoplastic elastomer (para. 19). The claimed limitation that the projections are overmolded onto the applicator body is not structurally defined and is a method of production not given patentable weight as to the structure of the claimed dispenser. Patentability is determined based on the product, not the process. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). As such, this claim is anticipated even though Corradini does not disclose a production method.
As to claim 8, Corradini discloses that the dispenser body has a non-rigid and depressible gripping region that allows for flow of the composition upon application of pressure (para. 37).
As to claim 9, Corradini discloses that the applicator assembly is permanently coupled to or removable from the dispenser body in the assembled configuration (figs. 1 and 4).
As to claim 10, Corradini discloses a cap 18 engageable with the applicator assembly (fig. 1), the cap defining a central projection that aligns with and covers the central orifice to prevent flow of the composition (fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 20140157527 by Corradini et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 20120324653 by Chawla et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 20240367870 by Struthers et al., and U.S. Patent Application Publication 20040005186 by Ueda et al.
As to claim 5 and 6, Corradini does not explicitly teach that its projections have the claimed shapes and relative sizes, but does teach that its projections may vary in size and shape (fig. 5; paras. 15, 55). It was further recognized in prior art that projections may be of various shapes, including hemispherical and elongated hemispherical, of various relative sizes and that the particular shapes and sizes are design choices to achieve a desired usability and performance of a dispenser. See Chawla, paras. 134-135; Struthers, para. 41; and Ueda, para. 27. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the claimed shapes and relative sizes to have been obvious since prior art teaches a wide range of different shapes and sizes of projections for dispensers and explicitly recognizes that the shapes and sizes may vary as a design choice that one of ordinary skill in the art could readily implement for a desired, expected outcome. Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious at its effective filing date.
Conclusion
/SPENCER E. BELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711