DETAILED ACTION
1. Applicant's amendments and remarks submitted on August 10, 2026 have been entered. Claims 1 and 9 have been amended. Claims 1-17 are still pending on this application, with claims 1-4, 9-12 and 17 being rejected and claims 5-8 and 13-16 being objected to. All new grounds of rejection were necessitated by the amendments to claims 1 and 9. Accordingly, this action is made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1, 9 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Pub No 2012/0123771 A1 to Chen et al. (“Chen”) in view of US Patent No 10863296 B1 to Thoshkahna et al. (“Thoshkahna”).
As to claim 1, Chen discloses a method of suppressing wind noise of microphone comprising: receiving a plurality of audio signals from a plurality of microphones (see pg. 2, ¶ 0026, ¶ 0032); detecting presences of wind noise and voice in the plurality of audio signals (see pg. 2, ¶ 0034 - ¶ 0035; pg. 3, ¶ 0043 - ¶ 0044); and performing compensation operation on each of the remaining audio signals based on the determined reference signal; and obtaining modified audio signals based on the remaining audio signals on which the compensation operation is performed (see pg. 2, ¶ 0035 - ¶ 0038).
Chen discloses any number of microphones can provide a reference signal (see pg. 2, ¶ 0032), and further can detect whether wind noise is present or absent in a reference signal (see pg. 3, ¶ 0047), but does not expressly disclose determining, as a reference signal, one of the plurality of audio signals in which the presence of wind noise is not detected, the plurality of audio signals including the one of the plurality of audio signals and remaining audio signals. However such a configuration is considered obvious given the teachings of Chen regarding multiple reference signal microphones and wind noise detection, and further as taught by Thoshkahna, which discloses the use of multiple microphones for signal enhancement and noise cancellation, and in particular discloses a microphone signal can be dynamically selected as a reference signal based on speech, acoustic noise, or ambient noise (see col. 6, lines 3-24; col. 16, lines 19-26). The proposed modification is therefore considered obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the motivation being to improve performance by selecting the best reference signal microphone, particularly when multiple reference signal microphones are available, as already taught by Chen, thereby selecting the most appropriate signal for further processing even as environmental factors change over time (Thoshkahna col. 6, lines 3-24).
As to claim 9, Chen discloses an electronic device comprising: a microphone unit configured to collect a plurality of audio signals, wherein the microphone unit includes a plurality of microphones, and each of the microphones collects one of the plurality of audio signals (see pg. 2, ¶ 0026, ¶ 0032); and an audio processor configured to, receive the plurality of audio signals from the plurality of microphones; detect presences of wind noise and voice in the plurality of audio signals (see pg. 2, ¶ 0034 - ¶ 0035; pg. 3, ¶ 0043 - ¶ 0044; pg. 16, ¶ 0172, ¶ 0174); perform a compensation operation on each of the remaining audio signals of the plurality of audio signals, based on the determined reference signal; and obtain modified audio signals based on the remaining audio signals on which the compensation operation is performed (see pg. 2, ¶ 0035 - ¶ 0038).
Chen discloses any number of microphones can provide a reference signal (see pg. 2, ¶ 0032), and further can detect whether wind noise is present or absent in a reference signal (see pg. 3, ¶ 0047), but does not expressly disclose determining, as a reference signal, one of the plurality of audio signals in which the presence of wind noise is not detected, the plurality of audio signals including the one of the plurality of audio signals and remaining audio signals. However such a configuration is considered obvious given the teachings of Chen regarding multiple reference signal microphones and wind noise detection, and further as taught by Thoshkahna, which discloses the use of multiple microphones for signal enhancement and noise cancellation, and in particular discloses a microphone signal can be dynamically selected as a reference signal based on speech, acoustic noise, or ambient noise (see col. 6, lines 3-24; col. 16, lines 19-26). The proposed modification is therefore considered obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the motivation being to improve performance by selecting the best reference signal microphone, particularly when multiple reference signal microphones are available, as already taught by Chen, thereby selecting the most appropriate signal for further processing even as environmental factors change over time (Thoshkahna col. 6, lines 3-24).
As to claim 17, Chen in view of Thoshkahna further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to execute the method of claim 1 (Chen pg. 16, ¶ 0172, ¶ 0175 - ¶ 0176; claim 1 rejection).
4. Claim(s) 2-4 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Thoshkahna, and further in view of US Patent Pub No 2019/0259381 A1 to Ebenezer.
As to claims 2 and 10, Chen in view of Thoshkahna discloses the method and electronic device of respective claims 1 and 9.
Chen in view of Thoshkahna discloses spectral analysis in the wind detection module (Chen pg. 4, ¶ 0053 - ¶ 0054), but does not expressly disclose wherein the detecting the presences of wind noise and voice in the plurality of audio signals comprises: obtaining a frequency spectrum and a power spectrum of each of the plurality of audio signals; extracting features from the plurality of audio signals based on the frequency spectrum and the power spectrum; and detecting the presences of wind noise and voice in the plurality of audio signals based on the extracted features. However such a configuration is known in the art, as taught by Ebenezer, which discloses a similar noise reduction system, and further discloses the system performing spectral processing of the microphone signals and obtaining feature vectors to detect the presence of wind and speech (see figures 9-10; pg. 3, ¶ 0027; pg. 5, ¶ 0035 - ¶ 0036; pg. 6, ¶ 0039; pg. 7, ¶ 0047). The proposed modification is therefore considered obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the motivation being as a matter of design given the nature of wind and speech components in audio signals, particularly the concentration of wind and speech at varying frequencies (Chen pg. 4, ¶ 0053; Ebenezer pg. 5, ¶ 0036), and further as such features and processes are known for detecting wind and voice and are therefore considered merely straightforward possibilities from which a skilled person would select when detecting wind and voice in audio signals (Ebenezer pg. 3, ¶ 0027; pg. 9, ¶ 0069 - ¶ 0070).
As to claims 3 and 11, Chen in view of Thoshkahna and Ebenezer further discloses and wherein the extracted features comprise at least one of low-frequency band energy, zero crossing rate, sub-band centroid, high-frequency band energy, high-frequency band energy ratio and magnitude-square coherence coefficient, and wherein the magnitude-square coherence coefficient is an average of magnitude-square coherence coefficients in a high-frequency band (Ebenezer pg. 3, ¶ 0027 - ¶ 0028; pg. 5, ¶ 0036).
As to claims 4 and 12, Chen in view of Thoshkahna and Ebenezer further discloses wherein the detecting the presences of wind noise and voice in the plurality of audio signals based on the extracted features comprises: for each of the plurality of audio signals, detecting whether there is wind noise based on at least one of the low-frequency band energy, the zero crossing rate and the sub-band centroid (Chen pg. 4, ¶ 0053; Ebenezer pg. 3, ¶ 0027 - ¶ 0028), and detecting whether there is voice based on at least one of the high-frequency band energy, the high-frequency band energy ratio, and the magnitude-square coherence coefficient (Ebenezer pg. 3, ¶ 0027 - ¶ 0028; pg. 5, ¶ 0036).
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 5-8 and 13-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's arguments filed August 10, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Applicant argues Thoshkahna “does not disclose selection of a target signal based on the presence of wind noise not being detected,” and further that “neither Thoshkahna nor Chen, when combined, teach the determination of a reference signal based on the presence of wind noise.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Chen discloses a multi-microphone system where multiple reference microphones can be used, and therefore multiple reference signals can be received (see pg. 2, ¶ 0032). While Chen discloses any number of microphones can be used to receive reference signals, it mainly describes the use of a single reference microphone, and therefore does not disclose selecting one reference signal in particular in instances where a plurality of reference microphone signals are available. Chen therefore does not expressly disclose determining, as a reference signal, one of the plurality of audio signals in which the presence of wind noise is not detected.
Thoshkahna is therefore relied on for disclosing the use of multiple microphones for signal enhancement and noise cancellation, and further for disclosing a microphone signal can be dynamically selected as a reference signal based on factors such as speech, acoustic noise, and/or ambient noise or the like in the environment around the device (see col. 6, lines 3-24; col. 16, lines 19-26). By dynamically selecting the reference signal, the reference signal can change over time based on factors like ambient noise and the environment around the device, ensuring the best available reference signal for further processing can be selected at any given time (Thoshkahna col. 6, lines 3-24).
Chen already teaches detecting the presence or absence of wind noise in a reference signal (see pg. 3, ¶ 0047), and further teaches wind noise being suppressed in a reference signal if wind noise is detected, and no suppression gain is applied if no wind noise is detected (see figures 4 and 8; pg. 3, ¶ 0047; pg. 8, ¶ 0097 - ¶ 0098), in order to provide a wind noise suppressed or wind free reference signal for further use in a noise compensation operation (see figure 3). Given the combined teachings of Chen and Thoshkahna, it would therefore be obvious to dynamically select a reference signal from multiple reference signals, as taught by Thoshkahna, and further to select a reference signal in which no wind noise is detected, in order to provide a reference signal that is wind noise free for a compensation operation, as already taught by Chen.
Conclusion
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SABRINA DIAZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2693
/AHMAD F. MATAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2693