Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LINDBERG NILSSON et al (U.S. 2022/0028257) and Price et al (2018/0227566)
1. As per claims 1,14,20 Lindberg disclosed an apparatus for object detection, comprising:
at least one memory; and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory, the at least one processor, [An advantage of the aspect is that sensors such as LIDAR and other sensors of the vehicle or the further vehicle, which continuously scan the environment surrounding vehicle, is used to collect scanning information at the first and/or second areas. A further advantage of the aspect is that sensors such as cameras located at an intersection or parking place could be used to collect scanning information at the first and/or second areas] (Paragraph. 0024), is configured to:
detect at least one traffic sign is present on a set of parallel roads based on a set of images and map data [The vehicle 201 according to an aspect comprises a cloud connection or an Internet connection, Advanced Driver Assistance Systems and high-definition maps for more accurate object detection and localization] (Paragraph. 0128);
wherein the current path is part of the set of parallel roads [According to an aspect the estimated instruction comprises information of which roads in the intersection that is it is allowed to drive into. This could for instance be predicted or estimated based on the traffic flow and if vehicles has turned into the different roads] (Paragraph. 0163); and
output a first indication that the at least one traffic sign is valid based on the at least one traffic sign being associated with the current path traveled by the vehicle [identifying a first indication or indicator of the traffic instruction associated with the first area. According to an aspect the first indication or indicator of the traffic instruction associated with the first area are one or more of road signs and/or signs on and/or at the road at the first area. By first indicator is meant something that the driver of a vehicle could see, such as a sign or text, when driving the vehicle to obtain traffic instructions for the area.] (Paragraph. 0034), or a second indication that the at least one traffic sign is invalid based on the at least one traffic sign not being associated with the current path traveled by the vehicle [an aspect comprising the step of comparing the first indication or indicator of the traffic instruction associated with the first area with the second indication or indicator of the traffic instruction associated with the second area to determine that the first and second areas has corresponding traffic instructions] (Paragraph. 0035).
However, Lindberg did not disclose in detail, “identify whether the at least one traffic sign is associated with a current path traveled by a vehicle based on the detection that the at least one traffic sign is present on the parallel roads”.
In the same field of endeavor Price disclosed, “In some embodiments, the vehicle system may have a 3D imaging system mounted to the vehicle body 782 to that allows for a short-throw FOI 708 and/or a short-throw FOV 710 to monitor close objects 724-1 in front of or peripheral to the vehicle body 782. At slow speeds, or in congested areas of travel, the short-throw FOI 708 and/or short-throw FOV 710 may allow the vehicle system to detect and/or recognize close objects 724-1, such as pedestrians, for navigation and/or collision avoidance. For example, the short-throw FOI 708 and/or short-throw FOV 710 may allow for detection of cross-traffic (vehicular or pedestrian) at intersections, recognition of signs adjacent to the road, lane detection, or other features of the road or path the vehicle is traveling” (Paragraph. 0111).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date was made to have incorporated In some embodiments, the vehicle system may have a 3D imaging system mounted to the vehicle body 782 to that allows for a short-throw FOI 708 and/or a short-throw FOV 710 to monitor close objects 724-1 in front of or peripheral to the vehicle body 782. At slow speeds, or in congested areas of travel, the short-throw FOI 708 and/or short-throw FOV 710 may allow the vehicle system to detect and/or recognize close objects 724-1, such as pedestrians, for navigation and/or collision avoidance. For example, the short-throw FOI 708 and/or short-throw FOV 710 may allow for detection of cross-traffic (vehicular or pedestrian) at intersections, recognition of signs adjacent to the road, lane detection, or other features of the road or path the vehicle is traveling as taught by Price in the method and system of Lindberg to optimize the multi-access technologies and telecommunications standards to reduce cost and latency.
2. As per claims 2,15 Lindberg-Price disclosed wherein the at least one processor, , is further configured to:
detect that the vehicle is travelling on the set of parallel roads based on information from the map data or based on recognition from the set of images (Price, Paragraph. 0118). Examiner interpreted the “parallel paths based on the information from the map data” as “anticipated path of travel”. The claims 2,15 has the same motivation as to claim 1.
3. As per claim 3 Lindberg-Price disclosed wherein the at least one processor, , is further configured to:
receive, from a server, the map data containing the information related to the set of parallel roads (Price, Paragraph. 0118). The claim 3 has the same motivation as to claim 1.
4. As per claim 4 Lindberg-Price disclosed wherein the at least one processor, , is further configured to:
capture the set of images via at least one camera, wherein the set of images corresponds to a field-of-view (FOV) of the vehicle (Lindberg, Paragraph. 0092).
5. As per claim 5 Lindberg-Price disclosed wherein the at least one processor, , is further configured to:
fuse the set of images with the map data, wherein detecting the at least one traffic sign is present on the set of parallel roads based on the set of images and the map data comprises detecting the at least one traffic sign is present on the set of parallel roads based on fusion of the set of images with the map data (Price, Paragraph. 0106). The claim 5 has the same motivation as to claim 1.
6. As per claim 6 Lindberg-Price disclosed wherein the at least one processor, , is further configured to:
filter at least one second traffic sign based on at least one of: camera data or lane information, wherein the lane information includes at least one of current path information or upcoming path information (Lindberg, Paragraph. 0092).
7. As per claims 7,17 Lindberg-Price disclosed wherein to output the first indication that the at least one traffic sign is valid based on the at least one traffic sign being associated with the current path traveled by the vehicle (Lindberg, Paragraph. 0010), the at least one processor is configured to:
use the at least one traffic sign for at least one of speed detection, traffic information obtainment, navigation, autonomous driving, or assisted driving (Lindberg, Paragraph. 0029).
8. As per claims 8,18 Lindberg-Price disclosed wherein to output the second indication that the at least one traffic sign is invalid based on the at least one traffic sign not being associated with the current path traveled by the vehicle, the at least one processor (Lindberg, Paragraph. 0035), is configured to:
refrain from using or filtering the at least one traffic sign for at least one of speed detection, traffic information obtainment, navigation, autonomous driving, or assisted driving (Lindberg, Paragraph. 0036).
9 . As per claim 9 Lindberg-Price disclosed wherein the set of parallel roads correspond to at least two roads that are adjacent to each other with at least one different traffic rule (Lindberg, Paragraph. 0151).
10. As per claims 10,19 Lindberg-Price disclosed wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to: detect the current path traveled by the vehicle, wherein identification is further based on the detection of the current path (Lindberg, Paragraph. 0036).
11. As per claim 11 Lindberg-Price disclosed wherein the at least one traffic sign displays a speed limit for at least one road in the set of parallel roads (Lindberg, Paragraph. 0118).
12. As per claim 12 Lindberg-Price disclosed wherein the map data is high-definition (HD) map data (Lindberg, Paragraph. 0091).
13. As per claim 13 Lindberg-Price disclosed further comprising at least one transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, wherein to output the first indication or the second, the at least one processor is configured to::
transmit, via the at least one transceiver, the first indication or the second indication; or store the first indication or the second indication (Lindberg, Paragraph. 0066).
14. As per claim 16 Lindberg-Price disclosed further comprising: capturing the set of images via at least one camera, wherein the set of images corresponds to a field-of-view (FOV) of the vehicle; fusing the set of images with the map data, wherein detecting the at least one traffic sign is present on the set of parallel roads based on the set of images and the map data comprises detecting the at least one traffic sign is present on the set of parallel roads based on fusion of the set of images with the map data; and filtering at least one second traffic sign based on at least one of: camera data or lane information, wherein the lane information includes at least one of current path information or upcoming path information (Price, Paragraph. 0112-0113). The claim 16 has the same motivation as to claim 1.
Response to Arguments
15. Applicant's arguments filed 12/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Response to applicant’s argument as follows.
Applicant argued that prior art did not disclose, “identify whether the at least one traffic sign is associated with a current path traveled by a vehicle based on the detection that the at least one traffic sign is present on the parallel roads”.
As to applicant’s argument Price disclosed, “in some embodiments, the vehicle system may have a 3D imaging system mounted to the vehicle body 782 to that allows for a short-throw FOI 708 and/or a short-throw FOV 710 to monitor close objects 724-1 in front of or peripheral to the vehicle body 782. At slow speeds, or in congested areas of travel, the short-throw FOI 708 and/or short-throw FOV 710 may allow the vehicle system to detect and/or recognize close objects 724-1, such as pedestrians, for navigation and/or collision avoidance. For example, the short-throw FOI 708 and/or short-throw FOV 710 may allow for detection of cross-traffic (vehicular or pedestrian) at intersections, recognition of signs adjacent to the road, lane detection, or other features of the road or path the vehicle is traveling” (Paragraph. 0111). Examiner interpreted the recognition of the signs as detecting the traffic sign.
Applicant argued that prior art did not disclose, “output a first indication that the at least one traffic sign is valid based on the at least one traffic sign being associated with the current path traveled by the vehicle”.
As to applicant’s argument Lindberg disclosed, “identifying a first indication or indicator of the traffic instruction associated with the first area. According to an aspect the first indication or indicator of the traffic instruction associated with the first area are one or more of road signs and/or signs on and/or at the road at the first area. By first indicator is meant something that the driver of a vehicle could see, such as a sign or text, when driving the vehicle to obtain traffic instructions for the area. (Paragraph. 0034). Examiner interpreted the association of traffic instruction with road signs as association of the traffic signs.
Applicant argued that prior art did not disclose, “a second indication that the at least one traffic sign is invalid based on the at least one traffic sign not being associated with the current path traveled by the vehicle”.
As to applicant’s argument Lindberg disclosed, “an aspect comprising the step of comparing the first indication or indicator of the traffic instruction associated with the first area with the second indication or indicator of the traffic instruction associated with the second area to determine that the first and second areas has corresponding traffic instructions” (Paragraph. 0035) and furthermore, “the vehicles 201 and/or sensors 230 mounted at the area may sense pictures and or text on the road or on the road signs 305, indicating e.g. a lane direction, or any other relevant signs for modeling a traffic pattern at the area at one or more road signs, e.g. yield signs such as OK to turn at red etc (Paragraph. 0154).
Applicant argued that prior art did not disclose, “detect at least one traffic sign is present on a set of parallel roads based on a set of images and map data”.
As to applicant’s argument Lindberg disclosed, “The vehicle 201 according to an aspect comprises a cloud connection or an Internet connection, Advanced Driver Assistance Systems and high-definition maps for more accurate object detection and localization” (Paragraph. 0128).
Conclusion
16. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
examiner should be directed to Adnan Mirza whose telephone number is (571)-272-3885.
18. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday to Friday during normal
business hours. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the
examiner’s supervisor, Faris Almatrahi can be reached on (313)-446-4821.
Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published
applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status
information for un published applications is available through Private PAIR only. For
more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you
have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business
Center (EBC) at (866)-217-9197 (toll-free).
/ADNAN M MIRZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667