DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–6, 9–11, 13, and 15–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Schmitz et al. (US 9,221,776 B2).
Claim 1: Schmitz teaches a method for epoxidation of an olefin comprising contacting a feed containing olefin, oxygen, and a halide-containing moderator with a silver-based epoxidation catalyst at a first temperature and first optimum moderator concentration; increasing the reaction temperature to a second temperature; and increasing the moderator concentration to a second optimum concentration according to: M2 = M1(1+r)T2-T1 where r is a temperature-dependent moderator-control factor (Schmitz, col. 5, Summary; col. 6, lines 5–29; col. 11–13, Example; Figs. 1–3). Schmitz further teaches experimentally determining optimum ethyl chloride concentrations as the reaction temperature increases, with a moderator-control factor of 3.9%, thereby maintaining optimum catalyst performance (col. 12–13, Example; Figs. 2–3; also see col. 6, lines 24-45; col. 6, lines 5-28).
Schmitz does not expressly teach determining the first and second optimum moderator concentrations by maintaining a ΔEa of 30–300 kJ/mol, wherein ΔEa is the difference between activation energies associated with removing and depositing halide on the catalyst surface.
However, the exponential relationship of Schmitz corresponds to an effective Arrhenius activation-energy parameter: ∆Ea,eff = RT1T2ln(1+r)
Using Schmitz's experimentally determined r=0.039, representative operating temperatures yield effective ΔEa values of approximately 82–90 kJ/mol, within the claimed range.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to characterize and optimize the temperature-dependent moderator concentrations of Schmitz using a suitable Arrhenius-type activation-energy parameter within the claimed range, since Schmitz already teaches that the optimum moderator concentration depends exponentially on temperature and that controlling this relationship maintains optimum catalyst selectivity. Selection of an effective parameter corresponding to the disclosed experimental behavior would have been routine optimization with a reasonable expectation of obtaining optimum catalyst performance.
Claims 2–5: Schmitz's experimentally determined moderator-control factor yields calculated effective ΔEa values within the ranges of 50–120 kJ/mol (claim 2), 70–90 kJ/mol (claim 3), and 75–85 kJ/mol (claim 4, for suitable temperatures). The resulting values are also close to about 80 kJ/mol (claim 5). Selecting a suitable value within the known effective range would have been obvious to optimize moderator concentration and catalyst selectivity (Schmitz, col. 12–13, Example; Figs. 1–3).
Claim 6: Schmitz teaches a highly selective silver-based epoxidation catalyst and reports an ethylene oxide selectivity of 85.5% at 227°C (col. 6, lines 28-40; col. 12, lines 30-46, Example).
Claim 9: Schmitz teaches a silver-containing catalyst promoted with rhenium (col. 6, lines 35-50; col. 7, lines 1–19).
Claim 10: Schmitz teaches rhenium in amounts of approximately 10–10,000 ppm by weight of the total catalyst, including amounts within the claimed range (col. 7, lines 8–18).
Claim 11: Schmitz teaches alkali metal promoters, including cesium and other alkali metals (col. 7, lines 19–45).
Claim 13: Schmitz teaches additional metal promoters including tungsten, molybdenum, chromium, titanium, hafnium, zirconium, vanadium, tantalum, and niobium (col. 8, lines 10–35).
Claim 15: Schmitz teaches ethylene as the olefin, producing ethylene oxide (col. 6, Detailed Description; col. 11–12, Example; claim 3).
Claims 16–17: Schmitz teaches epoxidation temperatures of 190–300°C, preferably 220–280°C, and increasing reaction temperature during operation, including temperatures overlapping the claimed first and second temperature ranges (col. 6, operating conditions; col. 6, lines 45-58; col. 12, lines 30-57; Example; claim 4). Selecting suitable temperatures within the disclosed ranges would have been obvious to maintain the desired epoxidation production rate and catalyst performance.
Claim 18: Schmitz teaches moderator concentrations of approximately 0.001–100 ppmv and exemplifies ethyl chloride at 1.1 ppm at 227°C, with the concentration increased as temperature rises (col. 6, operating conditions; col. 12–13, Example). These concentrations overlapped the claimed ranges.
Claim 19: Schmitz teaches ethylene concentrations of 5–40% and oxygen concentrations of 3–15%, including an example employing approximately 25% ethylene and 7% oxygen (col. 11–12, Example; claim 5).
Claim 20: Schmitz teaches halocarbon moderators including methyl chloride, ethyl chloride, ethylene dichloride, and vinyl chloride (col. 9–10, moderator description; claim 6). Ethyl chloride is specifically employed in the Example.
Claims 7–8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Schmitz et al. (US 9,221,776 B2) in view of Evans et al. (US 8,546,592 B2).
Claim 7: Schmitz teaches a supported silver-containing epoxidation catalyst (col. 7, lines 1–12), but does not specify the claimed silver loading of up to 45 wt.% in its general catalyst description.
Evans teaches silver contents of 50–500 g/kg catalyst, preferably 100–400 g/kg (5–40 wt.%), and exemplifies catalysts containing approximately 13% and 27% silver by weight (Evans, catalyst description and Examples; col. 10, lines 45-52; col. 12, lines 35-65; col. 11, lines 1-10; col. 12, lines 35-47, and col. 15, lines 30-37).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize a silver loading within the claimed range in the catalyst of Schmitz, since Evans teaches such loadings as suitable for silver-based olefin epoxidation catalysts, with a reasonable expectation of obtaining an effective epoxidation catalyst.
Claim 8: Schmitz teaches an alpha-alumina catalyst support (col. 6–7, carrier description). Evans further teaches alpha-alumina supports having BET surface areas below 20 m²/g, particularly 0.1–10 m²/g (Evans, catalyst support description; col. 10, lines 29-45).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize an alpha-alumina support having the claimed BET surface area in the process of Schmitz, since Evans teaches such supports as suitable for silver-based epoxidation catalysts.
Claims 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Schmitz et al. (US 9,221,776 B2) in view of Evans et al. (US 8,546,592 B2), as applied to the preceding claims, and further in view of Lauritzen et al. (US 4,874,879).
Claim 12: Schmitz teaches a silver-based epoxidation catalyst comprising rhenium and cesium, and further teaches lithium as a suitable additional alkali metal promoter (Schmitz, col. 7, lines 10–35; col. 8, lines 1–10). Evans teaches silver-containing epoxidation catalysts having silver loadings within the claimed range of up to 45 wt.%, including a catalyst containing approximately 13 wt.% silver, cesium, lithium, tungsten, and rhenium (Evans, Examples).
Schmitz in view of Evans does not specifically exemplify the lithium-and-cesium combination in the particular moderator-control process of Schmitz. However, Lauritzen teaches that lithium and cesium may be used together as alkali metal promoters and exemplifies a silver catalyst containing cesium, lithium, rhenium, and sulfate (Lauritzen, col. 1, lines 5-12; col. 2, lines 8–31; col. 4, lines 1-8; Example).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize lithium and cesium together in the silver-containing catalyst of the modified process of Schmitz, since Lauritzen teaches their combined use as suitable promoters for silver-based ethylene epoxidation catalysts, with a reasonable expectation of obtaining an effective epoxidation catalyst.
Regarding claim 14, Schmitz teaches a silver-containing epoxidation catalyst comprising rhenium and cesium, optionally lithium, and additional promoters including tungsten (Schmitz, col. 7, lines 8–35; col. 8, lines 10–22).
Schmitz does not specifically exemplify a catalyst comprising the complete combination of Re, Li, Cs, W, and S.
Evans teaches silver-containing epoxidation catalysts having silver loadings within the claimed range of up to 45 wt.%, including an example containing approximately 13 wt.% silver promoted with cesium, lithium, tungsten, and rhenium (Evans, col. 15, lines 30–37).
However, Schmitz in view of Evans does not specifically exemplify the complete combination of Re, Li, Cs, W, and S.
Lauritzen teaches silver-based epoxidation catalysts comprising rhenium and alkali metal promoters, including lithium and cesium, with additional co-promoters selected from sulfur, molybdenum, tungsten, chromium, and mixtures thereof (Lauritzen, col. 2, lines 10–31). Lauritzen further exemplifies a silver catalyst containing cesium, lithium, rhenium, and sulfate (Lauritzen, col. 4, lines 1–8, Example).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize sulfur together with rhenium, lithium, cesium, and tungsten in the silver-containing catalyst of the modified process of Schmitz, since Lauritzen teaches these components as suitable promoters for silver-based ethylene epoxidation catalysts, including mixtures thereof, with a reasonable expectation of obtaining an effective promoted epoxidation catalyst.
Conclusion
/TAM M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771