DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendments received in the Office on 09/09/2026, the Office acknowledges the current status of the claims: claims 1, 4, 10-11, 13-17, and 20 have been amended, claims 2, 5-9, and 19 remain the same, claims 3, 12, and 18 have been canceled, claims 21-23 have been added, and no new matter appears to be included.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
A. Applicant’s Argument
Applicant argues “Yang does not disclose that the target resource set is carried in first information”. Applicant further argues “Yang does not state that the resource set that is subsequently determined and to be provided to the second UE is carried in the information received by the first UE”, see Remarks pages 2-6.
B. Examiner’s Response
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Yang clearly teaches in figure 2 and pars. 0035-0039 the first UE determining the resources that satisfy the requirements according to the information received by the first UE and sending the resource set report. Wherein, the resource set report indicates a set of candidate resources and the set of resources are selected according to the required information. Moreover, the “information received by the first UE” that determines a resource set report contains Type A and/or Type B configurations. Whereas par. 0074 teaches when the first UE obtains a Type A configuration from a second UE the Type A configuration indicates bitmap sequence with five bits to indicate five corresponding resource sets. Thus, when the first UE receives a Type A configuration that includes a bitmap sequence with five bits to indicate five corresponding resource sets, then the first UE determines a target resource set according to the bitmap sequence with five bits to indicate five corresponding resource sets, it reads as the Type A configuration includes the target resource set. Moreover, the resource set report sent from the first UE also clearly contains the selected target resource set. Therefore, using the broadest possible reasoning the Type A configuration and/or the resource set report reads as the first information because the target resource set is carried in them.
C. Applicant’s Argument
Applicant argues “Yang does not disclose that the first information contains at least one information bit, and the at least one information bit indicated the type information of the resource in the target resource set”, see Remarks pages 6-7.
D. Examiner’s Response
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Yang clearly teaches in par. 0074 that the Type A configuration indicates bitmap sequence with five bits to indicate five corresponding resource sets. Wherein, the Type A configuration reads as the first information, see above B. Examiner’s Response, and the bitmap sequence with five bits reads as at least one information bit. Examiner respectfully notes, as contextual background to the cited portions recorded in the Office action mailed, paragraphs 0069-0071 in which Yang describes the Type A configuration may include the configuration of the resource set report format. Whereas the resource set report format indicates a required resource set, the first UE may report the specified resource set. To indicate the required resource set, the resource set index may be used to identify the target resource set(s), or, a bitmap sequence may be used to indicate the target resource sets in a resource set list one-by-one. In some embodiments, the required resource set may use one bit to indicate whether or not that required resource set needs to be reported to the second UE. Thus, the Type A configuration that includes the resource set report format that uses one bit to indicate whether or not that required resource set needs to be reported to the second UE reads as at least one information bit indicated the type information of the resource in the target resource set. Furthermore, see above B. Examiner’s Response for further explanation of the Type A configuration including the target resource set.
E. Applicant’s Argument
Applicant argues “Yang does not disclose that the first information contains at least one parameter, and the at least one parameter indicates the type information of the resources in the target resource set”, see Remarks pages 7-9.
F. Examiner’s Response
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Yang clearly teaches in pars. 0046-0051 the Type A configurations may include a configuration of sensing parameters and a configuration of sensing resource pool. Wherein, the Type A configuration reads as the first information, see above B. Examiner’s Response, and the configuration of sensing parameters and/or the configuration of sensing resource pool reads as at least one parameter using the broadest reasonable interpretation. Moreover, the configuration of sensing resource pool may assign one or more SL resource pools which can be used for sensing and the configuration of sensing parameters may include candidate resource period, candidate resource size, priority, Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) threshold, retransmission number, retransmission interval, quantity of candidate resources in a resource set, quantity of resources for one service, and/or a time window. Whereas, using the broadest reasonable interpretation the configuration of sensing resource pool that assigns one or more SL resource pools sensing reads as the configuration of sensing resource pool the at least one parameter indicates the type information of the resources in the target resource set. Moreover, the configuration of sensing parameters that includes candidate resource period, candidate resource size, priority, Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) threshold, retransmission number, retransmission interval, quantity of candidate resources in a resource set, quantity of resources for one service, and/or a time window, all reads as “type information of the resources in the target resource set”. Furthermore, see above B. Examiner’s Response for further explanation of the Type A configuration including the target resource set.
G. Applicant’s Argument
Applicant argues claims 10 and 16 and dependent claims are patentable for at least the reasons described above, see Remarks page 10.
H. Examiner’s Response
Examiner respectfully disagrees for reasons above.
Examiner respectfully maintains the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-11, 13-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (US20230007630 hereinafter Yang).
Regarding claim 1. Yang teaches the method for wireless communication, comprising: determining, by a first terminal device, type information of resources in a target resource set to be provided to a second terminal device (fig. 2 and pars. 0035-0040, teaches the first UE determining resources that satisfy the requirements according to the information received by the first UE. Moreover, the first UE subsequently transmits the resource set report to the second UE. Furthermore, the resource set report includes Type A and/or Type B configurations. Wherein, Type A and/or Type B configurations include one or more resource pools from which the set of resources may be selected. Whereas the resource set report including Type A and/or Type B configurations reads as type information of resources in a target resource set),
wherein the target resource set is used by the second terminal device to perform resource selection (fig. 2 and pars. 0035-0038, teaches the resource set report indicates a set of candidate resources and the set of resources are selected according to the required information or the resource set report indicates a set of blacklist resources and the set of resources are selected according to the required information. Wherein, since the second UE considers the candidate resources or the blacklist resources for its SL transmission it is obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art that the second UE would select a resource for its SL transmission when the second UE considers the candidate resources or the blacklist resources. Par. 0003, teaches Sidelink (SL)), and
the target resource set contains at least one of: a type of resources suitable for use by the second terminal device (fig. 2 and pars. 0035-0038, teaches the resource set report indicates a Type A configuration which includes a set of candidate resources and the set of resources are selected according to the required information. The candidate resources may be considered to be used by the second UE for its SL transmission) or a type of resources unsuitable for use by the second terminal device (fig. 2 and pars. 0035-0038, teaches the resource set report indicates a Type B configuration which includes a set of blacklist resources and the set of resources are selected according to the required information. The blacklist resources may be considered not to be used by the second UE for its SL transmission. Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language (or), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art);
wherein the target resource set is carried in first information (fig. 2 and pars. 0035-0039, teaches the first UE obtains information to form a resource set report, then a resource set may be determined by the first UE, by determining resources that satisfy the requirements according to the information received by the first UE. Wherein, the information to form a resource set report contains the requirements of the resource set report and may include Type A and/or Type B configurations. Moreover, par. 0074, teaches when the first UE obtains a Type A configuration from a second UE the Type A configuration indicates bitmap sequence with five bits to indicate five corresponding resource sets, thus the target resource set is carried in first information),
wherein the first information contains at least one information bit (par. 0074, teaches when the first UE obtains a Type A configuration from a second UE the Type A configuration indicates bitmap sequence with five bits to indicate five corresponding resource sets), and
the at least one information bit indicates the type information of the resources in the target resource set (par. 0074, teaches when the first UE obtains a Type A configuration from a second UE the Type A configuration indicates bitmap sequence with five bits to indicate five corresponding resource sets); or
the first information contains at least one parameter (Interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record. However, Yang teaches in pars. 0046-0048, teaches the Type A configurations may include a configuration of sensing parameters and a configuration of sensing resource pool), and the at least one parameter indicates the type information of the resources in the target resource set (Interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record. However, Yang teaches in pars. 0046-0051, teaches the Type A configurations may include a configuration of sensing resource pool and a configuration of sensing parameters. Wherein, the configuration of sensing resource pool may assign one or more SL resource pools which can be used for sensing and the configuration of sensing parameters may include candidate resource period, candidate resource size, priority, Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) threshold, retransmission number, retransmission interval, quantity of candidate resources in a resource set, quantity of resources for one service, and/or a time window. Thus, the assigned SL resource pools for sensing reads as the type information of the resources in the target resource set).
Regarding claim 2. Yang teaches the method for claim 1. Yang further teaches determining, by the first terminal device, the type information of the resources in the target resource set to be provided to the second terminal device (fig. 2 and pars. 0035-0040, see above claim 1) comprises:
determining, by the first terminal device according to resources acquired by the first terminal device (fig. 2 and pars. 0035-0039, teaches the first UE obtains information to form a resource set report, then a resource set may be determined by the first UE, by determining resources that satisfy the requirements according to the information received by the first UE. Wherein, the information to form a resource set report contains the requirements of the resource set report and may include Type A and/or Type B configurations. Moreover, par. 0074, teaches when the first UE obtains a Type A configuration from a second UE the Type A configuration indicates bitmap sequence with five bits to indicate five corresponding resource sets. Furthermore, pars. 0093-0094, teaches when the first UE obtains a Type B configuration, the Type B configuration may include one blacklist resource criterion set. Thus, when the first UE determines the resources that satisfy the requirements according to the information received, the first UE determines according to resources acquired),
the type information of the resources in the target resource set to be provided to the second terminal device (fig. 2 and pars. 0035-0039, teaches the first UE obtains information to form a resource set report, then a resource set may be determined by the first UE, by determining resources that satisfy the requirements according to the information received by the first UE. Wherein, the information to form a resource set report contains the requirements of the resource set report and may include Type A and/or Type B configurations. Finally, the first UE subsequently transmits the resource set report to the second UE).
Regarding claim 4. Yang teaches the method for claim 1. Yang further teaches in a case where the target resource set only contains one type of resources and the first information is carried in a first media access control control element (MAC CE) (par. 0069, teaches the first UE may obtain the type A configuration via MAC layer signaling (e.g., MAC CE). Wherein, fig. 2 and pars. 0035-0039, teaches the first UE obtains information to form a resource set report, then a resource set may be determined by the first UE, by determining resources that satisfy the requirements according to the information received by the first UE. Wherein, the information to form a resource set report contains the requirements of the resource set report and may include Type A and/or Type B configurations. Thus, when the first UE obtains only the type A configuration via MAC layer signaling (e.g., MAC CE) it reads as in a case where the target resource set only contains one type of resources and the first information is carried in a first media access control control element (MAC CE)),
the first MAC CE contains a first part and a second part (pars. 0046-0047, teaches the Type A configurations may include a plurality of parts, such as an indication that a first UE may perform SL resource sensing and report a candidate resource set, a configuration of resources for the resource set report, a configuration of sensing resource pool, etc. Wherein, the “indication that a first UE may perform SL resource sensing and report a candidate resource set” reads as the first part and the “configuration of resources for the resource set report” reads as the second part within the context of this passage),
wherein the first part indicates the type information of the resources in the target resource set (pars. 0046-0047, teaches the Type A configurations may be used to indicate that a first UE may perform SL resource sensing and report a candidate resource set. Wherein, fig. 2 and pars. 0035-0038 teaches the first UE may be configured in two ways, Type A configuration where the first UE reports a set of candidate resources and the set of resources are selected or a Type B configuration where the first UE reports a set of blacklist resources and the set of resources. Thus, the Type A configuration including an indication that a first UE may perform SL resource sensing and report a candidate resource set, would read as the first part indicates the type information of the resources in the target resource set), and the second part is used to carry the target resource set (pars. 0046-0047, teaches the Type A configurations may include a configuration of resources for the resource set report).
Regarding claim 5. Yang teaches the method for claim 1. Yang further teaches determining, by the first terminal device, the type information of the resources in the target resource set to be provided to the second terminal device (fig. 2 and pars. 0035-0038, see above claim 1) comprises:
determining, by the first terminal device according to second indication information transmitted by the second terminal device (fig. 2 and pars. 0035-0038, teaches the first UE may obtain the information to form a resource set report from the second UE. Wherein, the information to form a resource set report contains the requirements of the resource set report and may include Type A and/or Type B configurations. Furthermore, the resource set may be determined by the first UE, by determining resources that satisfy the requirements according to the information received. Wherein, the information to form a resource set report including Type A and/or Type B configurations reads as the second indication information),
the type information of the resources in the target resource set to be provided to the second terminal device (fig. 2 and pars. 0035-0038, teaches the first UE may obtain the information to form a resource set report from the second UE. Wherein, the information to form a resource set report contains the requirements of the resource set report and may include Type A and/or Type B configurations. Wherein, depending on the Type A/B configuration received in the information to form a resource set report the resource set report either contains a set of candidate resources or a set of blacklist resources that are provided to the second UE),
wherein the second indication information instructs the first terminal device to provide resources suitable for use by the second terminal device (fig. 2 and pars. 0035-0038, teaches the first UE may obtain the information to form a resource set report. Wherein, when the first UE receives a Type A configuration the first UE sends a report including a set of candidate resources to the second UE for its SL transmission), or
the second indication information instructs the first terminal device to provide resources unsuitable for use by the second terminal device (fig. 2 and pars. 0035-0038, teaches the first UE may obtain the information to form a resource set report. Wherein, when the first UE receives a Type B configuration the first UE sends a report including a set of blacklist resources to the second UE for the second UE to not consider for its SL transmission. Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language (or), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art).
Regarding claim 6. Yang teaches the method for claim 5. Yang further teaches in a case where the second terminal device is allowed to directly perform transmission resource selection from the resource set to be provided by the first terminal device (fig. 2 and pars. 0035-0038, teaches the resource set report indicates a Type A configuration which includes a set of candidate resources and the set of resources are selected according to the required information. The candidate resources may be considered to be used by the second UE for its SL transmission. Wherein, it is obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art that the second UE would select a resource from the provided candidate resources for the SL transmission. Furthermore, pars. 0033-0035, teaches the transmitting UE (Tx UE) may select a suitable resource for its SL transmission and the second UE may be an Tx UE),
the second indication information instructs the first terminal device to provide the resources suitable for use by the second terminal device (fig. 2 and pars. 0035-0038, teaches the first UE may obtain the information to form a resource set report from the second UE. Wherein, the information to form a resource set report contains the requirements of the resource set report and may include Type A and/or Type B configurations. Whereas, when the first UE receives a Type A configuration the first UE sends a report including a set of candidate resources to the second UE for its SL transmission); and/or in a case where the second terminal device is not allowed to directly perform transmission resource selection from the resource set to be provided by the first terminal device (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), the second indication information instructs the first terminal device to provide the resources unsuitable for use by the second terminal device (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record).
Regarding claim 7. Yang teaches the method for claim 5. Yang further teaches the second indication information is carried in coordination information request signaling (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), or the second indication information is carried in sidelink control information (SCI) (fig. 2 and pars. 0035-0038, teaches the first UE may obtain the information to form a resource set report from the second UE. Wherein, the information to form a resource set report contains the requirements of the resource set report and may include Type A and/or Type B configurations. Whereas the information to form a resource set report including Type A and/or Type B configurations reads as the second indication information Wherein, par. 0069 teaches the first UE may obtain the Type A configuration via SCI and MAC layer signaling (e.g., MAC CE), Par. 0032, teaches SL control information (SCI)).
Regarding claim 8. Yang teaches the method for claim 1. Yang further teaches the target resource set is suitable for use by the second terminal device (fig. 2 and pars. 0035-0038, teaches the resource set report indicates a set of candidate resources and the set of resources are selected according to the required information or the resource set report indicates a set of blacklist resources and the set of resources are selected according to the required information. Wherein, since the second UE considers the candidate resources or the blacklist resources for its SL transmission it is obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art that the second UE would select a resource for its SL transmission when the second UE considers the candidate resources or the blacklist resources), and the resources in the target resource set are preferentially selected by the second terminal device in a case where the second terminal device selects resources for transmitting sidelink (SL) data (fig. 2 and pars. 0035-0038, teaches the resource set report indicates a Type A configuration which includes a set of candidate resources and the set of resources are selected according to the required information. The candidate resources may be considered to be used by the second UE for its SL transmission. Wherein, it is obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art that the second UE would select a resource from the provided candidate resources for the SL transmission. Furthermore, pars. 0033-0035, teaches the transmitting UE (Tx UE) may select a suitable resource for its SL transmission and the second UE may be an Tx UE. Whereas the language “select a suitable resource for its SL transmission” reads as select the resources in the target resource set preferentially in a case where the second terminal device selects resources for transmitting sidelink (SL) data).
Regarding claim 9. Yang teaches the method for claim 1. Yang further teaches the target resource set is unsuitable for use by the second terminal device, and the resources in the target resource set are not selected by the second terminal device during resource selection of the second terminal device (fig. 2 and pars. 0035-0038, teaches the resource set report indicates a Type B configuration which includes a set of blacklist resources and the set of resources are selected according to the required information. The blacklist resources may be considered not to be used by the second UE for its SL transmission).
Regarding claim 10. Yang teaches the apparatus for a terminal device (fig. 1B and pars. 0018-0021, teaches UE 104a), comprising: a transceiver (fig. 1B and pars. 0018-0021, teaches UE 104a comprises a UE transceiver module 130a); a processor coupled to the transceiver (fig. 1B and pars. 0018-0021, teaches UE 104a comprises a UE processor module 136a, each module being coupled and interconnected with one another); and a memory storing a computer program which, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal device (fig. 1B and pars. 0018-0026, teaches UE 104a comprises a UE memory module 134a which may include a cache memory for storing temporary variables or other intermediate information during execution of instructions to be executed by processor modules) to:
determine type information of resources in a target resource set to be provided to another terminal device (fig. 2 and pars. 0035-0040, teaches the first UE determining resources that satisfy the requirements according to the information received by the first UE. Wherein, the first UE subsequently transmits the resource set report to the second UE. Wherein, the resource set report includes Type A and/or Type B configurations. Moreover, Type A and/or Type B configurations include one or more resource pools from which the set of resources may be selected. Furthermore, the resource set report including Type A and/or Type B configurations reads as type information of resources in a target resource set. Whereas, the second UE reads as another terminal device),
wherein the target resource set is used by said another terminal device to perform resource selection (fig. 2 and pars. 0035-0038, teaches the resource set report indicates a set of candidate resources and the set of resources are selected according to the required information or the resource set report indicates a set of blacklist resources and the set of resources are selected according to the required information. Wherein, since the second UE considers the candidate resources or the blacklist resources for its SL transmission it is obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art that the second UE would select a resource for its SL transmission when the second UE considers the candidate resources or the blacklist resources. Whereas, the second UE reads the said another terminal device. Par. 0003, teaches Sidelink (SL)), and
the target resource set contains at least one of: a type of resources suitable for use by said another terminal device (fig. 2 and pars. 0035-0038, teaches the resource set report indicates a Type A configuration which includes a set of candidate resources and the set of resources are selected according to the required information. The candidate resources may be considered to be used by the second UE for its SL transmission)
or a type of resources unsuitable for use by said another terminal device (fig. 2 and pars. 0035-0038, teaches the resource set report indicates a Type B configuration which includes a set of blacklist resources and the set of resources are selected according to the required information. The blacklist resources may be considered not to be used by the second UE for its SL transmission. Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language (or), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art);
wherein the target resource set is carried in first information (fig. 2 and pars. 0035-0039, teaches the first UE obtains information to form a resource set report, then a resource set may be determined by the first UE, by determining resources that satisfy the requirements according to the information received by the first UE. Wherein, the information to form a resource set report contains the requirements of the resource set report and may include Type A and/or Type B configurations. Moreover, par. 0074, teaches when the first UE obtains a Type A configuration from a second UE the Type A configuration indicates bitmap sequence with five bits to indicate five corresponding resource sets, thus the target resource set is carried in first information),
wherein the first information contains at least one information bit (par. 0074, teaches when the first UE obtains a Type A configuration from a second UE the Type A configuration indicates bitmap sequence with five bits to indicate five corresponding resource sets), and
the at least one information bit indicates the type information of the resources in the target resource set (par. 0074, teaches when the first UE obtains a Type A configuration from a second UE the Type A configuration indicates bitmap sequence with five bits to indicate five corresponding resource sets); or the first information contains at least one parameter (Interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record. However, Yang teaches in pars. 0046-0048, teaches the Type A configurations may include a configuration of sensing parameters and a configuration of sensing resource pool), and the at least one parameter indicates the type information of the resources in the target resource set (Interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record. However, Yang teaches in pars. 0046-0051, teaches the Type A configurations may include a configuration of sensing resource pool and a configuration of sensing parameters. Wherein, the configuration of sensing resource pool may assign one or more SL resource pools which can be used for sensing and the configuration of sensing parameters may include candidate resource period, candidate resource size, priority, Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) threshold, retransmission number, retransmission interval, quantity of candidate resources in a resource set, quantity of resources for one service, and/or a time window. Thus, the assigned SL resource pools for sensing reads as the type information of the resources in the target resource set).
Regarding claim 11. Yang teaches the apparatus for claim 10. Yang further teaches the computer program executed by the processor to cause the terminal device to determine the type information of the resources in the target resource set to be provided to said another terminal device is executed by the processor to cause the terminal device (figs. 1B & 2 and pars. 0018-0026 & 0035-0040, see above claim 10) to:
determine, according to resources acquired by the terminal device (fig.2 and pars. 0035-0039, teaches the first UE obtains information to form a resource set report, then a resource set may be determined by the first UE, by determining resources that satisfy the requirements according to the information received by the first UE. Wherein, the information to form a resource set report contains the requirements of the resource set report and may include Type A and/or Type B configurations. Moreover, par. 0074, teaches when the first UE obtains a Type A configuration from a second UE the Type A configuration indicates bitmap sequence with five bits to indicate five corresponding resource sets. Furthermore, pars. 0093-0094, teaches when the first UE obtains a Type B configuration, the Type B configuration may include one blacklist resource criterion set. Thus, when the first UE determines the resources that satisfy the requirements according to the information received, the terminal device determines according to resources acquired), the type information of the resources in the target resource set to be provided to said another terminal device (fig.2 and pars. 0035-0039, teaches the first UE obtains information to form a resource set report, then a resource set may be determined by the first UE, by determining resources that satisfy the requirements according to the information received by the first UE. Wherein, the information to form a resource set report contains the requirements of the resource set report and may include Type A and/or Type B configurations. Finally, the first UE subsequently transmits the resource set report to the second UE).
Regarding claim 13. Yang teaches the apparatus for claim 10. Yang further the computer program executed by the processor to cause the terminal device to determine the type information of the resources in the target resource set to be provided to said another terminal device is executed by the processor to cause the terminal device (figs. 1B & 2 and pars. 0018-0026 & 0035-0038, see above claim 10) to:
determine, according to second indication information transmitted by said another terminal device (fig. 2 and pars. 0035-0038, teaches the first UE may obtain the information to form a resource set report from the second UE. Wherein, the information to form a resource set report contains the requirements of the resource set report and may include Type A and/or Type B configurations. Furthermore, the resource set may be determined by the first UE, by determining resources that satisfy the requirements according to the information received. Wherein, the information to form a resource set report including Type A and/or Type B configurations reads as the second indication information),
the type information of the resources in the target resource set to be provided to said another terminal device (fig. 2 and pars. 0035-0038, teaches the first UE may obtain the information to form a resource set report from the second UE. Wherein, the information to form a resource set report contains the requirements of the resource set report and may include Type A and/or Type B configurations. Wherein, depending on the Type A/B configuration received in the information to form a resource set report the resource set report either contains a set of candidate resources or a set of blacklist resources that are provided to the second UE),
wherein the second indication information instructs the terminal device to provide resources suitable for use by said another terminal device (fig. 2 and pars. 0035-0038, teaches the first UE may obtain the information to form a resource set report. Wherein, when the first UE receives a Type A configuration the first UE sends a report including a set of candidate resources to the second UE for its SL transmission), or
the second indication information instructs the terminal device to provide resources unsuitable for use by said another terminal device (fig. 2 and pars. 0035-0038, teaches the first UE may obtain the information to form a resource set report. Wherein, when the first UE receives a Type B configuration the first UE sends a report including a set of blacklist resources to the second UE for the second UE to not consider for its SL transmission. Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language (or), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art).
Regarding claim 14. Yang teaches the apparatus for claim 10. Yang further teaches the target resource set is suitable for use by said another terminal device (fig. 2 and pars. 0035-0038, teaches the resource set report indicates a set of candidate resources and the set of resources are selected according to the required information or the resource set report indicates a set of blacklist resources and the set of resources are selected according to the required information. Wherein, since the second UE considers the candidate resources or the blacklist resources for its SL transmission it is obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art that the second UE would select a resource for its SL transmission when the second UE considers the candidate resources or the blacklist resources), and the resources in the target resource set are preferentially selected by said another terminal device in a case where said another terminal device selects resources for transmitting sidelink (SL) data (fig. 2 and pars. 0035-0038, teaches the resource set report indicates a Type A configuration which includes a set of candidate resources and the set of resources are selected according to the required information. The candidate resources may be considered to be used by the second UE for its SL transmission. Wherein, it is obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art that the second UE would select a resource from the provided candidate resources for the SL transmission. Furthermore, pars. 0033-0035, teaches the transmitting UE (Tx UE) may select a suitable resource for its SL transmission and the second UE may be an Tx UE. Whereas the language “select a suitable resource for its SL transmission” reads as select the resources in the target resource set preferentially in a case where the said another terminal device selects resources for transmitting sidelink (SL) data).
Regarding claim 15. Yang teaches the apparatus for claim 10. Yang further teaches the target resource set is unsuitable for use by said another terminal device, and the resources in the target resource set are not selected by said another terminal device during resource selection of said another terminal device (fig. 2 and pars. 0035-0038, teaches the resource set report indicates a Type B configuration which includes a set of blacklist resources and the set of resources are selected according to the required information. The blacklist resources may be considered not to be used by the second UE for its SL transmission).
Regarding claim 16. Yang teaches the apparatus for a terminal device (fig. 1B and pars. 0018-0021, teaches UE 104b), comprising: a transceiver (fig. 1B and pars. 0018-0021, teaches UE 104b comprises a UE transceiver module 130b); a processor coupled to the transceiver (fig. 1B and pars. 0018-0021, teaches UE 104b comprises a UE processor module 136b, each module being coupled and interconnected with one another); and a memory storing a computer program which, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal device (fig. 1B and pars. 0018-0026, teaches UE 104b comprises a UE memory module 134b which may include a cache memory for storing temporary variables or other intermediate information during execution of instructions to be executed by processor modules) to:
receive first information from another terminal device, wherein the first information contains a target resource set (fig. 2 and pars. 0035-0040, teaches the first UE determining resources that satisfy the requirements according to the information received by the first UE. Wherein, the first UE subsequently transmits the resource set report to the second UE. Whereas the resource set report includes Type A and/or Type B configurations. Moreover, Type A and/or Type B configurations include one or more resource pools from which the set of resources may be selected. Furthermore, the resource set report including Type A and/or Type B configurations reads as type information of resources in a target resource set. Wherein, it is obvious the second UE (the terminal device) is receiving the resource set report from the first UE (the another device)),
the target resource set is used by the terminal device to perform resource selection (fig. 2 and pars. 0035-0038, teaches the resource set report indicates a set of candidate resources and the set of resources are selected according to the required information or the resource set report indicates a set of blacklist resources and the set of resources are selected according to the required information. Wherein, since the second UE considers the candidate resources or the blacklist resources for its SL transmission it is obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art that the second UE would select a resource for its SL transmission when the second UE considers the candidate resources or the blacklist resources. Par. 0003, teaches Sidelink (SL)), and
the target resource set contains at least one of: a type of resources suitable for use by the terminal device (fig. 2 and pars. 0035-0038, teaches the resource set report indicates a Type A configuration which includes a set of candidate resources and the set of resources are selected according to the required information. The candidate resources may be considered to be used by the second UE for its SL transmission) or a type of resources unsuitable for use by the terminal device (fig. 2 and pars. 0035-0038, teaches the resource set report indicates a Type B configuration which includes a set of blacklist resources and the set of resources are selected according to the required information. The blacklist resources may be considered not to be used by the second UE for its SL transmission. Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language (or), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art);
wherein the target resource set is carried in first information (fig. 2 and pars. 0035-0039, teaches the first UE obtains information to form a resource set report, then a resource set may be determined by the first UE, by determining resources that satisfy the requirements according to the information received by the first UE. Wherein, the information to form a resource set report contains the requirements of the resource set report and may include Type A and/or Type B configurations. Moreover, par. 0074, teaches when the first UE obtains a Type A configuration from a second UE the Type A configuration indicates bitmap sequence with five bits to indicate five corresponding resource sets, thus the target resource set is carried in first information),
wherein the first information contains at least one information bit (par. 0074, teaches when the first UE obtains a Type A configuration from a second UE the Type A configuration indicates bitmap sequence with five bits to indicate five corresponding resource sets), and
the at least one information bit indicates the type information of the resources in the target resource set (par. 0074, teaches when the first UE obtains a Type A configuration from a second UE the Type A configuration indicates bitmap sequence with five bits to indicate five corresponding resource sets); or
the first information contains at least one parameter (Interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record. However, Yang teaches in pars. 0046-0048, teaches the Type A configurations may include a configuration of sensing parameters and a configuration of sensing resource pool), and the at least one parameter indicates the type information of the resources in the target resource set (Interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record. However, Yang teaches in pars. 0046-0051, teaches the Type A configurations may include a configuration of sensing resource pool and a configuration of sensing parameters. Wherein, the configuration of sensing resource pool may assign one or more SL resource pools which can be used for sensing and the configuration of sensing parameters may include candidate resource period, candidate resource size, priority, Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) threshold, retransmission number, retransmission interval, quantity of candidate resources in a resource set, quantity of resources for one service, and/or a time window. Thus, the assigned SL resource pools for sensing reads as the type information of the resources in the target resource set).
Regarding claim 17. Yang teaches the apparatus for claim 16. Yang further teaches type information of resources in the target resource set is determined based on resources acquired by said another terminal device (fig.2 and pars. 0035-0039, teaches the first UE obtains information to form a resource set report, then a resource set may be determined by the first UE, by determining resources that satisfy the requirements according to the information received by the first UE. Wherein, the information to form a resource set report contains the requirements of the resource set report and may include Type A and/or Type B configurations. Moreover, par. 0074, teaches when the first UE obtains a Type A configuration from a second UE the Type A configuration indicates bitmap sequence with five bits to indicate five corresponding resource sets. Furthermore, pars. 0093-0094, teaches when the first UE obtains a Type B configuration, the Type B configuration may include one blacklist resource criterion set. Thus, when the first UE determines the resources that satisfy the requirements according to the information received (Type A and/or Type B configurations), the type information of resources in the target resource set is determined based on resources acquired by the said another terminal device).
Regarding claim 19. Yang teaches the apparatus for claim 16. Yang further teaches the target resource set is suitable for use by the terminal device, and the computer program is further executed by the processor to cause the terminal device to: select the resources in the target resource set preferentially in a case where the terminal device selects resources for transmitting sidelink (SL) data (fig. 2 and pars. 0035-0038, teaches the resource set report indicates a Type A configuration which includes a set of candidate resources and the set of resources are selected according to the required information. The candidate resources may be considered to be used by the second UE for its SL transmission. Wherein, it is obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art that the second UE would select a resource from the provided candidate resources for the SL transmission. Furthermore, pars. 0033-0035, teaches the transmitting UE (Tx UE) may select a suitable resource for its SL transmission and the second UE may be an Tx UE. Whereas the language “select a suitable resource for its SL transmission” reads as select the resources in the target resource set preferentially in a case where the terminal device selects resources for transmitting sidelink (SL) data).
Regarding claim 20. Yang teaches the apparatus for claim 16. Yang further teaches the target resource set is unsuitable for use by the terminal device, and the computer program is further executed by the processor to cause the terminal device (fig. 1B and pars. 0018-0026 & 0035-0038, see above claim 16) to: avoid selecting the resources in the target resource set during resource selection (fig. 2 and pars. 0035-0040, teaches the resource set report indicates a Type B configuration which includes a set of blacklist resources and the set of resources are selected according to the required information. The blacklist resources may be considered not to be used by the second UE for its SL transmission. Wherein, it is obvious to one skilled in the art that the terminal avoids the blacklisted resources when selecting the resource for its SL transmission).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRACY LAUREN RAIMONDO/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474