Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/21/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, 11-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao ( US20240422621A1), hereinafter Rao in view of Yang (US20240172049A1), hereinafter Yang.
Regarding to claim 1 ,
Rao teaches A method, comprising: determining, by a user equipment (UE), for a plurality of traffic flows, a respective set of statistical parameters for communication with a base station, the plurality of traffic flows corresponding to an application supported by the UE; and ([0383] WTRU may send one or more indications (e.g., in RRC, MAC CE, and/or UCI) to a network. ...[0386] WTRU may provide and/or indicate the statistical information in assistance information to a base station).
Rao does not explicitly teaches transmitting, by the UE, to the base station, one or more messages indicating the statistical parameters for the plurality of traffic flows in a UE assistance information (UAI) signaling.
Yang teaches transmitting, by the UE, to the base station, one or more messages indicating the statistical parameters for the plurality of traffic flows in a UE assistance information (UAI) signaling. (fig. 2 ) and ([0032] UE 101 transmits traffic related information to the BS 111 ... traffic related information is transmitted using an RRC message ... RRC message may be a UE assistance information message )
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Yang to the teaching of Rao. The motivation for such an addition would be to help determine allocation ([0018] Yang )
Regarding to claim 2,
Rao and Yang teaches the method of claim 1,
Rao does not explicitly teaches wherein the plurality of traffic flows comprise traffic flows grouped together into sets of traffic flows according to at least one of traffic characteristics or transmission conditions, for traffic to be sent on the traffic flows included in a set.
Yang teaches wherein the plurality of traffic flows comprise traffic flows grouped together into sets of traffic flows according to at least one of traffic characteristics or transmission conditions, for traffic to be sent on the traffic flows included in a set. (fig. 2 ) and ([0032] UE 101 transmits traffic related information to the BS 111 ... traffic related information is transmitted using an RRC message ... RRC message may be a UE assistance information message ) and ([0030] UE 101 collects downlink (DL) traffic information from a peer UE ... periodicity ... latency requirement ... packet size standard deviation [0048] the traffic related information may indicate a labeling scheme such as a flow label .... the traffic related information can be used to group IP flows.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Yang to the teaching of Rao. The motivation for such an addition would be to help determine allocation ([0018] Yang ).
Regarding to claim 3,
Rao and Yang teaches the method of claim 2,
Rao does not explicitly teaches wherein the traffic characteristics comprise at least one of a traffic type, a data rate, a data burstiness, or a data periodicity, and wherein the transmission conditions comprise at least one of a latency condition, a packet loss condition, a power consumption condition, or a jitter condition.
Yang teaches wherein the traffic characteristics comprise at least one of a traffic type, a data rate, a data burstiness, or a data periodicity, and wherein the transmission conditions comprise at least one of a latency condition, a packet loss condition, a power consumption condition, or a jitter condition. (fig. 2 ) and ([0032] UE 101 transmits traffic related information to the BS 111 ... traffic related information is transmitted using an RRC message ... RRC message may be a UE assistance information message ) and ([0030] UE 101 collects downlink (DL) traffic information from a peer UE ... periodicity ... latency requirement ... packet size standard deviation [0048] the traffic related information may indicate a labeling scheme such as a flow label .... the traffic related information can be used to group IP flows.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Yang to the teaching of Rao. The motivation for such an addition would be to help determine allocation ([0018] Yang )
Regarding to claim 4 ,
Rao and Yang teaches the method of claim 1,
Rao further teaches wherein the UE determines the statistical parameters according to a type of the application supported by the UE. ( [0241-0253] WTRU may send information on a number of PDUs expected (e.g., per ADU) in one or more flows per-application. The information on number of PDUs (e.g., per ADU) may (e.g., also) include statistical information including any of mean, min, max, and/or standard deviation values. )
Regarding to claim 5,
Rao and Yang teaches the method of claim 4,
Rao further teaches wherein statistical parameters of the plurality of traffic flows for a first application supported by the UE, is different from statistical parameters of the plurality of traffic flows for a second application supported by the UE. ( [0241-0253] WTRU may send information on a number of PDUs expected (e.g., per ADU) in one or more flows per-application. The information on number of PDUs (e.g., per ADU) may (e.g., also) include statistical information including any of mean, min, max, and/or standard deviation values. )
Regarding to claim 6,
Rao and Yang teaches the method of claim 1,
Rao further teaches wherein the plurality of traffic flows comprises a first set of one or more traffic flows and a second set of one or more traffic flows. ([0241-0253 ]Characteristics and/or parameters of data and/or traffic associated with the data flows per-application ... a WTRU may send information on a number of PDUs expected (e.g., per ADU) in one or more flows per-application. The information on number of PDUs (e.g., per ADU) may (e.g., also) include statistical information including any of mean, min, max, and/or standard deviation values.)
Regarding to claim 7,
Rao and Yang teaches the method of claim 6,
Rao further teaches wherein the statistical parameters for the first set is different from the statistical parameters for the second set. ([0241-0253 ]Characteristics and/or parameters of data and/or traffic associated with the data flows per-application ... a WTRU may send information on a number of PDUs expected (e.g., per ADU) in one or more flows per-application. The information on number of PDUs (e.g., per ADU) may (e.g., also) include statistical information including any of mean, min, max, and/or standard deviation values.)
Regarding to claim 9,
Rao and Yang teaches the method of claim 1,
Rao further teaches wherein the statistical parameters comprise at least one of a periodicity, a jitter range, a preferred connected mode discontinuous reception periodicity, a preferred uplink configuration grant offset, one or more forward error correction parameters, or one or more preferred packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) duplication configuration parameters. ([0386] statistical information (e.g., average, standard deviation, minimum, maximum) ... information may (e.g., also) indicate the parameters (e.g., offset values, periodicity)
Regarding to claim 14,
Rao and Yang teaches the method of claim 1,
Rao further teaches wherein the one or more processors determine the statistical parameters according to a type of the application supported by the wireless communication device. ([0240] a WTRU (e.g., XR WTRU) may send information associated with an application supported in WTRU to the network ... [0250] Characteristics and/or parameters of data and/or traffic associated with the data flows per-application ... [0252] For example, a WTRU may send information on a number of PDUs expected (e.g., per ADU) in one or more flows per-application. The information on number of PDUs (e.g., per ADU) may (e.g., also) include statistical information including any of mean, min, max, and/or standard deviation values.)
Regarding to claim 15,
Rao and Yang teaches the method of claim 14,
Rao further teaches wherein statistical parameters of the plurality of traffic flows for a first application supported by the wireless communication device, is different from statistical parameters of the plurality of traffic flows for a second application supported by the wireless communication device. ([0240] a WTRU (e.g., XR WTRU) may send information associated with an application supported in WTRU to the network ... [0250] Characteristics and/or parameters of data and/or traffic associated with the data flows per-application ... [0252] For example, a WTRU may send information on a number of PDUs expected (e.g., per ADU) in one or more flows per-application. The information on number of PDUs (e.g., per ADU) may (e.g., also) include statistical information including any of mean, min, max, and/or standard deviation values.)
Claim(s) [11-13, 16-17, and 19] (apparatus ,UE) and [20] (apparatus ,BS) are rejected under the same reasoning as claim(s) [2-3, 6-7, and 9] (method, UE), where Rao Teaches both device and method for UE and BS (0003, 0031, and 0033)
Claim(s) 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao and Yang in view of Xue (US 20230283624 A1), hereinafter Xue.
Regarding to claim 8,
Rao and Yang teaches the method of claim 1,
Rao and Yang does not explicitly teaches wherein a first set of the statistical parameters is determined for a first set of traffic flows of the plurality of traffic flows, and wherein a second set of statistical parameters is determined for a second set of traffic flows of the plurality of traffic flows
Xue further teaches wherein a first set of the statistical parameters is determined for a first set of traffic flows of the plurality of traffic flows, and wherein a second set of statistical parameters is determined for a second set of traffic flows of the plurality of traffic flows. ([0027] downlink traffic related information may be per IP flow ....[0030] DL traffic flow parameters selected from a list of periodicity, offset, reliability requirement, latency requirement, average packet size, and packet size standard deviation. )
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Xue to the teaching of Rao and Yang. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve reliability ([0007] Xue).
Claim(s) [18] (apparatus ,UE) is rejected under the same reasoning as claim(s) [8] (method, UE), where Rao Teaches both device and method for UE and BS (0003, 0031, and 0033)
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao and Yang in view of Rao (US 20260082388), hereinafter Rao2388 and further in view of Stoica (US 20260088930 A1), hereinafter Stoica.
Rao and Yang teaches the method of claim 1,
Rao and Yang does not explicitly teaches wherein a first set of statistical parameters for a first set of the plurality of traffic flows comprise a respective periodicity, a respective jitter range, and a preferred connected mode discontinuous reception periodicity, a second set of statistical parameters for a second set of the plurality of traffic flows comprise a respective periodicity, a respective jitter range, and a preferred uplink configuration grant offset, and a third set of statistical parameters for a third set of the plurality of traffic flows comprise one or more forward error correction parameters and one or more preferred packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) duplication configuration parameters.
Rao2388 teaches, a first set of statistical parameters for a first set of the plurality of traffic flows comprise a respective periodicity, a respective jitter range, and a preferred connected mode discontinuous reception periodicity, ([0391] WTRU may be configured to support and/or trigger dynamic activation/deactivation of multiple CDRX configurations/parameters ... The CDRX configurations may be associated with one or more traffic flows supported by WTRU during DL reception and/or UL transmission ... information sent to a network may include traffic characteristics and/or parameters of traffic associated with QoS flows per application ... Such traffic characteristics may include the one or more periodicity values of the flow. ... a WTRU may send information related to jitter in UL and/or in DL. Such jitter information may be sent on a per-flow) a second set of statistical parameters for a second set of the plurality of traffic flows comprise a respective periodicity, a respective jitter range, and a preferred uplink configuration grant offset, and ([0391] WTRU may be configured to support and/or trigger dynamic activation/deactivation of multiple CDRX configurations/parameters ... The CDRX configurations may be associated with one or more traffic flows supported by WTRU during DL reception and/or UL transmission ... information sent to a network may include traffic characteristics and/or parameters of traffic associated with QoS flows per application ... Such traffic characteristics may include the one or more periodicity values of the flow. ... a WTRU may send information related to jitter in UL and/or in DL. Such jitter information may be sent on a per-flow) and ([0310] WTRU may be adjusted and may include at least one of the following: start slot/symbol offset, number of PUSCH occasions per slot .... ) a third set of statistical parameters for a third set of the plurality of traffic flows comprise ([0191] For a SDAP/PDCP AS layer, such parameters may include 1-to-1, 1-to-M or N-to-M mapping configurations; markings, indications, and/or IDs to apply (e.g., associated with handling QoS flows, PDU sets, association information between UL and DL PDUs/PDU sets); .... For a PDCP AS layer, such parameters may include.... packet duplication configuration)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Rao2388 to the teaching of Rao and Yang. The motivation for such an addition would be improving reliability during transmissions ([0343] Rao2388).
Rao and Yang and Rao2388 does not explicitly teaches comprise one or more forward error correction parameters
Stoica teaches comprise one or more forward error correction parameters ([0214] FEC configuration parameters ... are used together with the QoS flow requirements ... of a PDU set flow to determine a minimum number of PDUs out of the encoded PDU set that are necessary to be transmitted correctly. ...set to match or exceed the reciprocal value of the PER or PSER requirements associated to the QoS flow of the PDU set.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Stoica to the teaching of Rao and Yang and Rao2388. The motivation for such an addition would be improve the efficiency of transmission of PDU sets in a wireless communication network. ([0003] Stoica ).
Conclusion
/VAN TA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/YEE F LAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465